DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsuan et al. (US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2005/0212132 A1).
[Re claim 13] Hsuan discloses the die (310/310a), comprising: a circuit (314/314a); a via (318/318a) disposed on a lateral side of the die; a metal line (324/324a) disposed on a bottom side of the die; and an electrical connection (322/322a) positioned in the via for coupling the metal line and a substrate (340) (see figures 3A-5 and paragraph [0036]-[0042]).
[Re claim 14] Hsuan discloses the die comprising: a second via (318/318a) disposed on the lateral side of the die (310/310a); a second metal line (324/324a) disposed on the bottom side of the die; and a second electrical connection (322/322a) positioned in the second via for coupling the second metal line and the substrate (see figure 3F, 4F, 5 and paragraph [0038]-[0042]). Hsuan discloses plurality of via (318/318a) and each via connected to metal line (324/324a). Therefore, the examiner consider that Hsuan teaches the die comprising a second via and a second metal line and second electrical connection.
[Re claim 20] Hsuan discloses the die comprising: a third via (318/318a) disposed on the lateral side of the die; a third metal line (324/324a) disposed on the bottom side of the die; and a third electrical connection (322/322a) positioned in the third via for coupling the third metal line and the substrate (see figure 3F, 4F, 5 and paragraph [0038]-[0042]). Hsuan discloses plurality of via (318/318a) and each via connected to metal line (324/324a). Therefore, the examiner consider that Hsuan teaches the die comprising a third via, a third metal line and third electrical connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 1-12 allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 1 allowable because of the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the device, wherein a die disposed on the substrate in a vertical orientation, the die comprising: a via disposed on a lateral side of the die; a metal line disposed on a bottom side of the die; and an electrical connection positioned in the via for coupling the metal line and the substrate. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 1 allowable because of the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the circuit, wherein a die comprising a filter disposed on the substrate in a vertical orientation such that a height of the die is greater than a width or a length of the die, the die comprising: a via disposed on a lateral side of the die; a metal line disposed on a bottom side of the die; and an electrical connection positioned in the via for coupling the metal line and the substrate. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 2-6 and 8-12 depend from claim 1 or 7 so they are allowable for the same reason.
Conclusion
/KYOUNG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817