DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the remarks dated 7/24/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 pending in the Application. Claim 7 previously cancelled by Applicant. Claims 11-13 new.
In view of the amendments to the claims, the previous claim objections dated 9/10/2025 are withdrawn.
In view of the amendments to the claims, the previous rejection of claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roberts (US 4,890,416)(hereinafter Roberts).
RE Claim 1: Roberts discloses a device for blocking small creatures from crawling, the device comprising:
a cable connecting part (23) configured to surround and tightly secure to at least one cable (col 3, ln 15-30);
an annular fending part (22) extending radially outward from the cable connecting part (col 3, ln 15-30)(Figs 1-5),
the annular fending part and the cable connecting part together defining a fending space around the at least one cable (Figs 1-5),
a filled material (col 4, ln 10-25) disposed within the fending space, wherein the filled material blocks the small creatures from passing through the fending space (col 4, ln 10-25); and
a plurality of supporting elements positioned within the fending space to stabilize the filled material and retain the filled material in the fending space (retaining rings and mounting means per col 4, ln 1-15);
wherein the plurality of supporting elements (24 on the right side formed from 34 and 45 as first supporting element, 24 on the left side formed from 34 and 45 as second supporting element) are substantially equally spaced along a circumferential direction of the fending space (24 on right and 24 on left each span half the circumference of the fending space as seen in Fig 5).
RE Claim 8: Roberts discloses the device of Claim 1, as previously discussed wherein the fending space comprises a smooth surface disposed along the circumferential direction at an opening, the smooth surface to impede the small creatures from climbing beyond the fending space (the exterior surface is smooth).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Braun (US 2011/0154718 A1)(hereinafter Braun).
RE Claim 2: Roberts discloses the device of claim 1 as previously discussed.
Roberts further teaches wherein the cable connecting part comprises at least one through hole for clamping and fixing the at least one cable (aperture through 23 for mounting to 21).
Roberts does not explicitly teach wherein the annular fending part and the cable connecting part are removably connected.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Roberts such that the annular fending part and the cable connecting part are removably connected, since it has been held that if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to a first component to which a second component is applied, it would be obvious to make the second component removable for that purpose. See MPEP 2144 citing In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349. This would be done for enhancing maintenance and reusability.
Furthermore, Braun teaches a device for blocking small creatures from crawling comprising an annular fending part, fending space, and a surface thereof (analogous art). Braun further teaches wherein the annular fending part and the cable connecting part are removably connected (via 19 and 16; para 0025-0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Roberts in view of Braun such that the annular fending part and the cable connecting part are removably connected as taught by Braun for the benefit of enhancing maintenance and reusability of parts.
RE Claim 3: Roberts as modified discloses the device of claim 2 as previously discussed.
Roberts further discloses wherein the annular fending part comprises a slot hole and the at least one through hole extends from a side wall of the cable connecting part such that insertion of the cable connecting part into the slot hole causes closure of an opening of the at least one through holes at the side wall (Figs 6-7).
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts in view of Braun as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Klein (US 7,793,461 B2)(hereinafter Klein).
RE Claim 4 (as best understood): Roberts as modified discloses the device of Claim 3 as previously discussed.
Roberts as modified does not explicitly teach the cable connecting part is made of silicone materials.
However, Klein teaches a device for blocking passage of insects with a cable connecting part (analogous art).
Klein further teaches wherein the cable connecting part is made of silicone materials (col 6, ln 40-43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Roberts as modified in view of Klein such that the cable connecting part is made of silicone materials as taught by Braun for the advantages of economic and durable construction (col 6, ln 40-43).
Roberts further discloses the cable connecting part conforming rightly to an outer surface of the at least one cable upon insertion into the slot hole (col 3, ln 15-30)(Figs 1-5).
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Klein.
RE Claim 5: Roberts discloses the device of Claim 1 as previously discussed and further discloses wherein the annular fending part and the cable connecting part are integrally formed (Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Roberts such that the cable connecting part is integrally formed with the at least one cable, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144 citing Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). This would be done to for the benefit of secure connection to the cable and prevention of displacement along the cable.
Furthermore, Klein discloses a device for blocking passage of insects with a cable connecting part (analogous art)(reference previously discussed in this action).
Klein further discloses the cable connecting part and the cable are integrally formed (Fig 29; col 3, ln 65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Roberts in view of Klein such that the cable connecting part is integrally formed with the at least one cable as taught by Klein for the advantages of secure connection and prevention of displacement along the cable.
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hui (US 8,745,917 B2)(hereinafter Hui).
RE Claim 6: Roberts discloses the device of Claim 1 as previously discussed and further discloses wherein the filled material comprises a liquid (col 4, ln 10-20)(chemical composition that impregnates pad).
Roberts does not explicitly teach the filled material is water.
However, Hui teaches a device for control of insects with a filler material (analogous art).
Hui further teaches the filler material is water (solution of water and boric acid per abstract and col 3, ln 50-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Roberts in view of Hui such that the filler material is water as taught by Hui for the advantages of for controlling toxicity levels.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Braun.
RE Claim 9: Roberts discloses the device of claim 1 as previously discussed.
Roberts does not explicitly teach wherein an anti-skid part is disposed on a surface of the annular fending part adjacent to the fending space, the anti-skid part is to provide a gripping surface for handling the device.
However, Braun teaches a device for blocking small creatures from crawling comprising an annular fending part, fending space, and a surface thereof (analogous art). Braun further teaches wherein an anti-skid part (ridges formed by 19 provide grip) is disposed on a surface of the annular fending part adjacent to the fending space (Fig 1), the anti-skid part is to provide a gripping surface for handling the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Roberts in view of Braun such that an anti-skid part is disposed on a surface of the annular fending part adjacent to the fending space, the anti-skid part is to provide a gripping surface for handling the device as taught by Braun for the benefit of improved grip during attachment and positioning on the at least one cable.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Simpson et al. (US 2016/0198692 A1)(hereinafter Simpson).
RE Claim 10: Braun discloses the device of Claim 1 as previously discussed.
Roberts does not explicitly teach the annular fending part is made of transparent materials for observing status of the filled materials.
However, Simpson teaches an animal barrier for inhibiting crawling of insects (analogous art) comprising an annular fending part (Fig 1).
Simpson further teaches the annular fending part is made of transparent materials (para 0052, 0086) for observing status of the filled materials.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Roberts in view of Simpson such that the annular fending part is made of transparent materials for observing status of the filled materials as taught by Simpson for the advantages of viewing contents within the device (para 0052, 0086).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding Roberts (US 4,890,416)(hereinafter Roberts) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
RE Claim 1: Applicant’s argument that Roberts does not teach the plurality of supporting elements are substantially equally spaced along a circumferential direction of the fending space” is not persuasive.
In Roberts, the retaining means 24 are the supporting elements. In this interpretation of the reference, there are two supporting elements: (1) 24 on the right side formed from 34 and 45 as first supporting element and (2) 24 on the left side formed from 34 and 45 as second supporting element. They are along a circumferential direction of the fending space as they each wrap around the circumference of the device. This is also seen in Fig 5. Regarding the placement – (“substantially equally spaced”): The retaining means 24 on the right half takes up 50 percent of the device and the retaining means 24 on left half takes up the remaining 50 percent of the device.
Applicant's arguments regarding claims 12-13 are persuasive.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose, either alone or in combination, the details of wherein each of the plurality of supporting elements is a stiffener extending along a radial direction from an inner wall of the annular fending part towards a center of the annular fending part, along with the remaining limitations of the claim.
This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
These documents present alternative designs similar in scope which illustrate relevant features in comparison to the Applicant’s submission. The cited prior art include various electrical deterrents for pests.
/MARIA E GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 3644