DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 3/14/2024. Claims 1-13 are pending for prosecution below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) file on 3/14/2024 has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,3,6,7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al, (Kim), (USNO.2009/0021965).
As for claim 1, Kim discloses and shows Fig. 1 an electronic device for executing a power transfer method, the electronic device comprising: a battery; a charging circuit (via ref’s controller) configured to, when an external power source is input, convert an input voltage of the external power source into a charging voltage for charging the battery; a first conversion circuit configured to convert one of a discharging voltage and the charging voltage of the battery into a supply voltage according to a conversion ratio (via driving power controller); a second conversion circuit (ref’s DC-DC converter) configured to convert the supply voltage and supply the converted supply voltage to a load; and a processor (via ref’s controller) configured to control the charging circuit and the first conversion circuit, wherein the processor is configured to enable the charging voltage to be input to the first conversion circuit when the external power source is input and enable the discharging voltage to be input to the first conversion circuit when the external power source is not input (par.[0036,0042]).
As for claim 2, Kim discloses and shows Fig. 1 the processor is configured to identify (via combination with power detection unit) a magnitude of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage and determine the conversion ratio by comparing the magnitude of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage to a set voltage magnitude (par.[0041]).
As for claim 3, Kim discloses and shows Fig. 1 processor is configured to determine (via combination with power detection unit) that the conversion ratio when the magnitude of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage is greater than or equal to the set voltage magnitude is less than the conversion ratio when the magnitude of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage is less than the set voltage magnitude (par.[0041])
As for claim 6, Kim discloses and shows Fig. 1 a power transfer method comprising: based on a determination that an external power source is input, converting an input voltage of the external power source into a charging voltage for charging a battery (via ref’s controller); converting (via ref’s controller) one of a discharging voltage or the charging voltage of the battery input to a first conversion circuit into a supply voltage according to a conversion ratio (via driving power controller); and converting the supply voltage in a second conversion circuit (ref’s DC-DC converter) and supplying the converted supply voltage to a load, wherein the converting of one of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage of the battery into the supply voltage comprises enabling the charging voltage to be input to the first conversion circuit when the external power source is input and enabling the discharging voltage to be input to the first conversion circuit when the external power source is not input (par.[0036]).
As for claim 7, Kim discloses and shows Fig. 1 identifying a magnitude of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage (via combination controller and power detection unit), wherein the converting of one of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage of the battery into the supply voltage comprises determining the conversion ratio by comparing the magnitude of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage to a set voltage magnitude.
As for claim 11, Kim discloses and shows Fig. 1 an electronic device for executing a power transfer method, the electronic device comprising: a battery; a charging circuit configured to receive an input voltage from an external power source and to convert the input voltage into a charging voltage for charging the battery; a first conversion circuit configured to convert a discharging voltage and the charging voltage of the battery into a supply voltage; a second conversion circuit (ref’s DC-DC converter) configured to convert the supply voltage into a load voltage and supply the load voltage to a load; and a processor (via ref’s controller) configured to control the charging circuit and the first conversion circuit, wherein the processor is configured to enable the charging voltage to be input to the first conversion circuit when the external power source is connected to the electronic device and to enable the discharging voltage to be input to the first conversion circuit when the external power source is not connected to the electronic device, and wherein the first conversion circuit is configured to selectively operate at one of two or more conversion ratios (via driving power controller) (par.[0036])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4,5,8-10,12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bastami, (USNO.2013/0076301).
As for claim 4, Kim discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a first conversion circuit comprises a plurality of switches and a plurality of capacitors, and the processor is configured to charge each of the plurality of capacitors with the supply voltage and control operation of the plurality of switches to output the supply voltage charged in the plurality of capacitors
Bastami discloses a first conversion circuit comprises a plurality of switches and a plurality of capacitors, and the processor is configured to charge each of the plurality of capacitors with the supply voltage and control operation of the plurality of switches to output the supply voltage charged in the plurality of capacitors (par.[0033,0036-0037])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Kim by using a first conversion circuit comprises a plurality of switches and a plurality of capacitors, and the processor is configured to charge each of the plurality of capacitors with the supply voltage and control operation of the plurality of switches to output the supply voltage charged in the plurality of capacitors for advantages such as providing the ability to mentain a charging voltage (abstract), as taught by Bastami.
As for claim 5, Kim in combination with Bastami discloses processor is configured to determine the conversion ratio by controlling operation of the plurality of switches
As for claim 8, Kim in combination with Bastami discloses converting of one of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage of the battery into the supply voltage comprises determining that the conversion ratio when the magnitude of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage is greater than or equal to the set voltage magnitude is less than the conversion ratio when the magnitude of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage is less than the set voltage magnitude (par.[0025,0032-0034]).
As for claim 9, Kim in combination with Bastami discloses the first conversion circuit comprises a plurality of switches and a plurality of capacitors, and the converting of the supply voltage comprises: charging each of the plurality of capacitors with the supply voltage by controlling the plurality of switches; and outputting the supply voltage charged in the plurality of capacitors by controlling the plurality of switches
As for claim 10, Kim in combination with Bastami discloses converting of the supply voltage comprises determining the conversion ratio by controlling operation of the plurality of switches
As for claim 12, Kim in combination with Bastami discloses the processor is configured to identify a magnitude of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage and determine the conversion ratio by comparing the magnitude of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage to a set voltage magnitude.
As for claim 13, Kim in combination with Bastami discloses the processor is configured to determine that the conversion ratio when the magnitude of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage is greater than or equal to the set voltage magnitude is less than the conversion ratio when the magnitude of the discharging voltage or the charging voltage is less than the set voltage magnitude.
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859