Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/14/2024, 06/18/2025, 12/03/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, this submission of the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
2. The amendment filed 03/05/2026 has been entered. Currently, claims 1, 3-26, and 28-51 remain pending in the application. Independent claims 1, 26, and 50 were amended by the Applicant without the addition of new matter to include further narrowing limitations. Also, claims 2 and 27 have been cancelled. Lastly, a new 35 USC 112(B) rejection is recited below based on Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s amendment to independent claims 1, 26, and 50 is sufficient to overcome the previous 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103 rejections recited in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 12/15/2025.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks Page 15, Paragraph 3 to Page 18, Paragraph 1; Page 24, Paragraph 2 to Page 26, Paragraph 1 and Page 30, Paragraph 3 to Page 31, Paragraph 1 filed 3/05/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, the amended claims have changed the scope of the claims and upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of new and current prior art of the record: Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951), Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904), Martin (DE 102019126180 A1), Chen (CN 218489526 U), Jungman (US Patent No. 0217621), Jawed (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20230381047), Cochran (US Patent Pub. No. 20180328780), Cheney (US 4827496 A), Brown (US Patent No. 3901228), Koroknyai (U.S. Patent No. 11654329), Newkirk et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20240325224), Bresnahan (U.S. Patent No. 2144962), and Faulise (US Patent No. 6045192).
5. Applicant’s argument (Remarks, Page 15, Paragraph 3 to Page 18, Paragraph 1; Page 24, Paragraph 2 to Page 26, Paragraph 1 and Page 30, Paragraph 3 to Page 31, Paragraph 1) and amendment of “cycling between upright position and stowed cavity position” as amended into independent claims 1, 26, and 50. This amendment is persuasive in overcoming the previous prior art of record which doesn’t have cavity stowing; however, the amended claim of cycling are now further rejected by Martin (DE 102019126180 A1) as recited below.
6. Applicant makes the argument that “Carmody in view of Line is conclusory statement of ‘improvement through an enhanced’ is not an articulated objective reason for combination under Levengood MPEP 2143.01(IV) and requires substantial redesign and reconstruction of Carmody’s ‘permanent or removability fixed base plate 108’ to even allow a stowing and multiple upright positions in view of Line” (Remarks, Page 18, Paragraph 2 to Page 22, Paragraph 2 ; Page 26, Paragraph 2 to Page 30, Paragraph 2 ; Page 31, Paragraph 2 to Page 39, Paragraph 1).
In response to Applicant’s argument (Remarks, Page 18, Paragraph 2 to Page 22, Paragraph 2 ; Page 26, Paragraph 2 to Page 30, Paragraph 2 ; Page 31, Paragraph 2 to Page 39, Paragraph 1)of a “Levengood MPEP 2143.01(IV) mere conclusory statement” and that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). See MPEP 2144.I In this case, a secondary reference, Line, provides support/motivation for the modification as recited by the following expected advantageous benefits: improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced connection between the base and footpad allowing for both slidable telescoping movement as well as pivotal movement for providing a desirable stowed configuration as well as operation configuration of the footpad relative to the base for increased support throughout the user’s leg (Line, Paragraph 31); see also In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983). See also Dystar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick, 464 F.3d 1356, 1368, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1651 (Fed. Cir. 2006); MPEP 2144.II. Thereby, these suggestions of predictable results and improvements given by the secondary reference, Line, applied to the primary reference, Carmody, does not teach away from Carmody or change the principle of operation/intended purpose in Carmody for foot and calf plate securement during imaging. Especially since Carmody recites in Paragraph 60: “Once the patient 102 is properly positioned in the device 100 and the device 100 is secured to the patient 102, preliminary adjustments to the device 100 may be made. Adjustments to the device 100 may include adjustments to the orientation of the foot plate 116, the placement of the foot plate 116 relative to the base portion 114 and the calf plate 140, and the position and orientation of the calf plate 140. As an example, the foot plate 116 may be adjusted across multiple planes to provide the desired angle for the images. Likewise, adjustments to the position of the foot plate 116 and the calf plate 140 relative to the base portion 114 may allow for customization of the device 100 that is specific to a height and build of the patient 102. More specifically, adjustments to the position of the calf plate 140 along the height 194 of the foot plate 116 allow for proper placement of the leg of the patient 102 with respect to the weighting apparatus 110 and the imaging device 104. Additionally, adjustments to the orientation of the load strap 166, as well as the fit of the leg restraint belt 152, the waist belt 112, and the suspenders 202 may also be made. It should be understood that the health care provider may be required to alter the position of the patient 102 relative to the device 100 and adjust various components of the device 100 any number of times”. Therefore, Carmody in view of Line does not violate MPEP 2143.01(I-VI), and rather Carmody’s Paragraphs 33, 36, 42, and 60 welcome the modification with Line for angular and positional adjustments, unlike a Levengood MPEP 2143.01(IV) where there was no primary reference welcoming suggestion nor secondary reference expected advantageous motivations. Moreover, there is no major reconstruction since Carmody welcomes the adjustment and the exact size and physical dimensions are not fully bodily incorporated rather routinely modified by one of ordinary skill to capture the structural benefits of the pivoting and adjustment of Line into Carmody; see MPEP 2143.01(I-VI). See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); see MPEP 2145.III. Lastly, Carmody Paragraph 31 describing the “removably or permanently attached” does not affect the combination with Line, and even helps support the combination by allowing for removable with pivoting assemblies.
7. Applicant makes the argument that “neither the calf plate of Carmody nor the calf support 16 of Line are configured to support a foot thereon” (Remarks, Page 22, Paragraph 2 to Page24, Paragraph 1). Also “there is no articulated reason to include Brown’s calf plate with the heel cup but rather has mere conclusory Levengood MPEP 2143(IV) statement” (Remarks, Page 50, Paragraph 2 to Page 51, Paragraph 1).
In response to Applicant’s argument (Remarks, Page 22, Paragraph 2 to Page24, Paragraph 1), Carmody’s Figure 5A shows a plantar foot positioned on foot plate with the user’s posterior heel of the foot on the base. Furthermore, Line Paragraph 31 and Figure 3-5 recites “the extension 20 is fully extended such that the lower legs or feet of an occupant can be supported on the extension 20.” In response to Applicant’s argument (Remarks, Page 50, Paragraph 2 to Page 51, Paragraph 1) regarding the combination with Brown, in this case the primary reference, Carmody suggests and approves of the combination, while the secondary reference, Brown, provides the expected motivation advantageous to combine, to thereby not violate any of MPEP 2143.01(I-VI), including Levengood MPEP 2143.01(IV). Hence, the combination with Brown is motivated by Carmody in view of Line as a whole, for improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base providing increased comfort to a wearer with a recess heel cup of the calf plate for desirable support of the user’s dorsal heel region reducing sores (Brown, Col. 3, lines 1-5).
8. Applicant makes the argument that “there is no motivation to include Cheney’s strap when Carmody’s device already is strap secured to the patient and by violating ‘mere conclusory Levengood MPEP 2143(IV) statement’.” (Remarks, Page 48, Paragraph 1 to Page 49, Paragraph 1).
In response to Applicant’s argument (Remarks, Page 48, Paragraph 1 to Page 49, Paragraph 1), although Carmody already has securement via a calf strap, there is still no foot strap as taught by Cheney, wherein additional securement provides extra foot specific increased immobilization during imaging in both Carmody and Cheney. Furthermore, in response to Applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). See MPEP 2144.I In this case, the secondary reference, Cheney, provides support/motivation for the modification as recited by the following expected advantageous benefits: improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced footpad allowing for selective tightening of the user’s foot against the footpad for increased control, immobilization, and support throughout imaging (Cheney, Col. 2, lines 60-63); see also In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983). See also Dystar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick, 464 F.3d 1356, 1368, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1651 (Fed. Cir. 2006); MPEP 2144.II Carmody is welcoming of the combination with Cheney, does not teach away, and does not become inoperable, with expected motivation advantages provided by Cheney such that the combination does not violate any of MPEP 2143.01(I-VI).
9. Overall, Examiner notes that Applicant may amend the claims to potentially overcome the current and new prior art of record. For example, by reciting positive limitations such as the – plurality of locking slots each above the long slot and superiorly above the corner slot-- to overcome Chen, Jungman, and Jawed. Additionally, Newkirk has elevator 64 on side but not exactly similar to Applicant’s position. Also Newkirk has only one side swingout so can amend "at least one swingout" to read –plurality—such that the multiple elevators and swingouts would overcome Newkirk. Furthermore, any negative limitation such as –not—or –without— to teach away from Carmody, Line, and any other prior art of record. Lastly, transitional phrases such as –consisting— or –consisting essentially of-- in the preamble/body to distinguish from the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 44 recites the limitation “the base plate including a heelcup configured to hold the foot in position atop the base plate”. However, claim 44 depends on claim 26 which in contradiction recites “the calfplate supports the foot thereon”. Therefore it is unclear how the calfplate and the baseplate can both have the heel foot supporting surface. For examination purposes, claim 44 is not being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1, 11, 21, 26-27, 36, 41, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904 ) and in further view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Carmody discloses a system 108 (Paragraphs 30, 33, 36, 42-43, 57, 60 and Figure 5A, simulate weight bearing system 108 for X-ray, MRI, CT imaging with adjustable upright foot plate 116 and base 114,140 comprising base plate 114 and adjustable calf plate 140 on bed planar surface 106) for creating a simulated foot position, comprising: a base 114,140 being configured for placement on a planar surface 106 while to support a foot thereon; and a footpad 116 securable with the base in an upright position, the footpad 116 being configured to receive the foot thereagainst, whereby the footpad 116 maintains the foot in a simulated foot position during a procedure.
However, Carmody fails to explicitly disclose (1) the base defines a cavity therein; and the footpad being pivotally securable with the base whereby the footpad is rotatable relative to the base while being insertable within the cavity of the base in a stowed position; (2) the footpad for cycling between the upright position and the stowed position.
Line teaches an analogous base (see annotated Figure 3 below, base comprising calf plate 16 and base plates therebelow that provides telescopic cavity as well as pivoting with foot rest 20) including a cavity (Figure 3, cavity for telescoping on the base plates) therein; and the analogous footpad 20 (Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footrest 20 telescopingly/slidably stowed as well as pivotally connected to calf plate 16 and base plate) being pivotally securable with the analogous base whereby the analogous footpad 20 is rotatable relative to the analogous base while being insertable within the cavity of the base in a stowed position (Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, stowed telescopic position).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a connection of the footpad with the base of Carmody, so that the base includes a cavity therein; and the footpad being pivotally securable with the base whereby the footpad is rotatable relative to the base while being insertable within the cavity of the base in a stowed position, as taught by Line, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced connection between the base and footpad allowing for both slidable telescoping movement as well as pivotal movement for providing a desirable stowed configuration as well as operation configuration of the footpad relative to the base for increased user convenience (Line, Paragraph 31).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line fails to explicitly disclose (2) the footpad for cycling between the upright position and the stowed position.
Martin teaches an analogous base plate 5a,5b (Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9 and Figures 1 and 6: calf base plate 5a,5b, pivotally and telescopically connected to foot plate 5c,5d, where foot plate 5c,5d pivots upright via 5D and telescopes via 5C as cyclically desired by user) with the analogous footpad 5C,5D for cycling between the analogous upright position and the analogous stowed position.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a pivoting direction of the footpad relative to the calf base plate during procedure of Carmody in view of Line, so that the footpad cycles between the upright position and the stowed position, as taught by Martin, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced pivoting between the base and footpad allowing for both slidable telescoping movement as well as directional pivotal movement in the upright direction towards the anterior side of the user for plantar foot surface placement while the user’s rest their calf against the calf plate, and allowing for desirable telescoping stowing away and congruent angular adjustment as cyclically desired by the user (Martin, Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above in claim 1 and further discloses the footpad (Carmody: Paragraphs 33, 36, 42, 60, footpad 116; Line: Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, pivotal 81 securement of foot 20 ; Martin: Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9 and Figures 1 and 6: pivotal securement of footpad 5C,5D in upright anterior direction) being pivotally securable with the base (Carmody: Paragraphs 33, 36, 42, 60, base 114,140; Line: Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, pivotal 81 securement of foot 20 with base 16 ; Martin: Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9 and Figures 1 and 6: pivotal securement of footpad 5C,5D in upright anterior direction with base 5B,5A) such that the analogous upright position of the analogous footpad 20 includes multiple upright positions (Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, multiple angular pivotal positions about axis 81; Martin: Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9 and Figures 1 and 6: adjustable upright anterior angles with base 5B,5A) having different angles that provide the analogous footpad 20 with multiple analogous foot positions.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above and further discloses the base (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 33, 36, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A: base 114,140; Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, base with calf plate and base plate making cavity for footplate 20; Martin, Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9 and Figures 1 and 6: bottom surface of base 5B,5A define base plate and top surface of base 5B,5A define calf plate forming a telescopic cavity opening therebetween for foot plate 5c,5d ) comprising: a base plate (Carmody: 114 ; Line: base plate of base; Martin, base surface of tube shape 5B,5A ) ; and a calfplate (Carmody: calf plate 140 ; Line: calf plate 16 of base is configurable to allow a user’s posterior heel of a foot to rest thereon; Martin, top surface of tube shape 5B,5A is configurable to allow a user’s posterior heel of a foot to rest thereon) securable with the base plate.
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin fails to explicitly disclose the calfplate being configured to support the foot thereon.
Line further teaches the analogous calfplate 16 (Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, calf plate 16 extending to support heel of foot while footrest 20 supports plantar foot region) being configured to support the foot thereon (calf plate 16 of base is configurable to allow a user’s posterior heel of a foot to rest thereon)
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a dimension of the calf plate of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that the calf plate of Carmody is sized to receive a foot placed thereon, as taught by Line, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced calf plate that supports a calf as well as at user’s heel of a foot for desirable increased support throughout the user’s leg (Line, Paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 26, Carmody discloses a system108 (Paragraphs 30, 33, 36, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, simulate weight bearing system 108 for X-ray, MRI, CT imaging with upright foot plate 116 and base 114,140 comprising base plate 114 and calf plate 140 placed on bed planar surface 106) for creating a simulated foot position, comprising: a base plate 114 configured for placement on a planar surface 106; a calfplate 140 securable with the base plate 114; and a footpad 116 securable with the base plate 114 in an upright position, the footpad 116 being configured to receive the foot thereagainst, whereby the footpad 116 maintains the foot in a simulated foot position when the base plate 114 is placed on the planar surface 106.
However, Carmody fails to explicitly disclose (1) whereby the base plate and the calfplate define a cavity therebetween; the calfplate supports the foot thereon; and the footpad being pivotally securable with the base plate whereby the footpad is rotatable relative to the base plate while being insertable within the cavity between the base plate and the calfplate in a stowed position; (2) the footpad for cycling between the upright position and the stowed position.
Line teaches an analogous calf plate (see annotated Figure 3 below, calf plate 16 and base plates therebelow that provides telescopic cavity as well as pivoting with foot rest 20) and analogous base plate including a cavity (Figure 3, cavity for telescoping on the base plates) therebetween; the analogous calfplate supports the foot thereon (calf plate 16 is configurable to allow a user’s posterior heel of a foot to rest thereon) ; and the analogous footpad 20 (Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footrest 20 telescopingly/slidably stowed as well as pivotally connected to calf plate 16 and base plate) being pivotally securable with the analogous base whereby the analogous footpad 20 is rotatable relative to the analogous base plate while being insertable within the cavity between the base plate and calf plate in a stowed position (Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, stowed telescopic position).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a connection of the footpad with the base plate and calf plate of Carmody, so that the base plate and the calfplate define a cavity therebetween; the calfplate supports the foot thereon; and the footpad being pivotally securable with the base plate whereby the footpad is rotatable relative to the base plate while being insertable within the cavity between the base plate and the calfplate in a stowed position, as taught by Line, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced connection between the base and footpad allowing for both slidable telescoping movement as well as pivotal movement for providing a desirable stowed configuration as well as operation configuration of the footpad relative to the base for increased user convenience (Line, Paragraph 31).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line fails to explicitly disclose (2) the footpad for cycling between the upright position and the stowed position.
Martin teaches an analogous base and calf plate 5a,5b (Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9 and Figures 1 and 6: calf base plate 5a,5b, pivotally and telescopically connected to foot plate 5c,5d, where foot plate 5c,5d pivots upright via 5D and telescopes via 5C as cyclically desired by user. Top surface of tube shape 5B,5A is configurable to allow a user’s posterior heel of a foot to rest thereon. Bottom surface of base 5B,5A define base plate and top surface of base 5B,5A define calf plate forming a telescopic cavity opening therebetween for foot plate 5c,5d) telescopically and pivotally attached with the analogous footpad 5C,5D for cycling between the analogous upright position and the analogous stowed position.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a pivoting direction of the footpad relative to the calf base plate during procedure of Carmody in view of Line, so that the footpad cycles between the upright position and the stowed position, as taught by Martin, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced pivoting between the base and footpad allowing for both slidable telescoping movement as well as directional pivotal movement in the upright direction towards the anterior side of the user for plantar foot surface placement while the user’s rest their calf against the calf plate, and allowing for desirable telescoping stowing away and congruent angular adjustment as cyclically desired by the user (Martin, Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above in claim 1 and further discloses the footpad (Carmody: Paragraphs 33, 36, 42, 60, footpad 116; Line: Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, pivotal 81 securement of foot 20 ; Martin: Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9 and Figures 1 and 6: pivotal securement of footpad 5C,5D in upright anterior direction) being pivotally securable with the base (Carmody: Paragraphs 33, 36, 42, 60, base 114,140; Line: Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, pivotal 81 securement of foot 20 with base 16 ; Martin: Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9 and Figures 1 and 6: pivotal securement of footpad 5C,5D in upright anterior direction with base 5B,5A) such that the analogous upright position of the analogous footpad 20 includes multiple upright positions (Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, multiple angular pivotal positions about axis 81; Martin: Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9 and Figures 1 and 6: adjustable upright anterior angles with base 5B,5A) having different angles that provide the analogous footpad 20 with multiple analogous foot positions.
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above. Carmody further discloses wherein the simulated foot position 108 (Paragraphs 30, 33, 36, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, simulate weight bearing system 108 for X-ray, MRI, CT imaging with adjustable upright foot plate 116 and base 114,140 comprising base plate 114 and adjustable calf plate 140) comprises a simulated weightbearing foot position.
Regarding claim 50, Carmody discloses a method 108 (Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, method using simulate weight bearing system 108 for X-ray, MRI, CT imaging with upright telescoping foot plate 116 and base 114,140 comprising base plate 114 and calf plate 140 placed on planar bed surface 106) for creating a simulated foot position, comprising: placing a foot atop a base 114,140 when the base 114,140 is placed on a planar surface 106; a footpad 116 secured with the base114,140 at an upright position against the foot such that the footpad 116 maintains the foot in a simulated foot position; and performing imaging of the foot during a procedure when the footpad 116 is in the upright position maintaining the foot in the simulated foot position.
Although Carmody further discloses weight bearing with adjustability of a calf plate of the base and the foot plate (Paragraph 33, 36, and 42), Carmody is silent (1) the base including a cavity therein, a footpad pivotally secured with the base between a stowed position whereby the footpad Is slidable into the cavity of the base; (2) cycling between a stowed position whereby the footpad is slidable into the cavity of the base and to an upright position whereby the footpad is slidable from the cavity of the base while being rotatable against the foot.
Line teaches an analogous base (see annotated Figure 3 below, base comprising calf plate 16 and base plates therebelow that provides telescopic cavity as well as pivoting with foot rest 20) and including a cavity (Figure 3, cavity for telescoping on the base plates) therein; and the analogous footpad 20 (Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footrest 20 telescopingly/slidably stowed as well as pivotally connected to calf plate 16 and base plate) pivotally secured with the analogous base between an analogous stowed position whereby the footpad Is slidable into the cavity of the base.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a connection of the footpad with the base plate and calf plate of Carmody, so that the base including a cavity therein, a footpad pivotally secured with the base between a stowed position whereby the footpad Is slidable into the cavity of the base, as taught by Line, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced connection between the base and footpad allowing for both slidable telescoping movement as well as pivotal movement for providing a desirable stowed configuration as well as operation configuration of the footpad relative to the base for increased user convenience (Line, Paragraph 31).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line fails to explicitly disclose (2) cycling between a stowed position whereby the footpad is slidable into the cavity of the base and to an upright position whereby the footpad is slidable from the cavity of the base while being rotatable against the foot.
Martin teaches an analogous base plate 5a,5b (Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9 and Figures 1 and 6: calf base plate 5a,5b, pivotally and telescopically connected to foot plate 5c,5d, where foot plate 5c,5d pivots upright via 5D and telescopes via 5C as cyclically desired by user. Top surface of tube shape 5B,5A is configurable to allow a user’s posterior heel of a foot to rest thereon. Bottom surface of base 5B,5A define base plate and top surface of base 5B,5A define calf plate forming a telescopic cavity opening therebetween for foot plate 5c,5d) and the analogous footpad 5C,5D for cycling between an analogous stowed position whereby the analogous footpad 5C,5D is slidable into the analogous cavity of the analogous base 5A,5B and to an analogous upright position whereby the analogous footpad 5C,5D is slidable from the analogous cavity of the analogous base 5A,5B while being rotatable against the foot
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a pivoting direction of the footpad relative to the calf base plate during procedure of Carmody in view of Line, so that the footpad cycles between the upright position and the stowed position, as taught by Martin, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced pivoting between the base and footpad allowing for both slidable telescoping movement as well as directional pivotal movement in the upright direction towards the anterior side of the user for plantar foot surface placement while the user’s rest their calf against the calf plate, and allowing for desirable telescoping stowing away and congruent angular adjustment as cyclically desired by the user (Martin, Page 3/18, Paragraphs 2, 6-9).
12. Claim 3-10 and 28-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 26, respectively, and in further view of Chen (CN 218489526 U) and Jungman (US Patent No. 0217621).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein: the base, including: at least a first base slot communicating with a first corner slot; and the footpad including: at least a first lower pin insertable into the first base slot, thereby securing the footpad with the base; (2) the at least a first locking slot configured to provide the upright position for the footpad, and at least a first middle pin configured to fit within the first locking slot.
Chen teaches an analogous base 1,101,102 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base comprising frame 1,101,102 with base slots 1021,1022 receiving first lower pin 3011,3012 of foot plate 3 in stowed and operating configuration as well as upper pin 3013,3014 of foot plate 3 in stowed configuration. Also there is a first corner slot 103 extending perpendicular to the base slot 1021,1022 for receiving the first lower pin 3011,3012 in operating configuration ) , including: at least a first base slot 1021 and a second base slot 1022 communicating with a first corner slot 103 and a second corner slot 103, respectively; and the analogous footpad 3 including: at least a first lower pin 3011 and a second lower pin 3012 and a first upper pin 3013 and a second upper pin 3014 insertable into the first base slot 1021 , thereby securing the analogous footpad 3 with the analogous base 1,101,102; and at least a first locking slot 10211 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013 on a left/first side) and a second locking slot 10211 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5second locking slot for pin 3014 on opposite second/right side).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the pivoting (Line: 81) and telescoping/sliding/moving (Line: 80) connection between the footpad and the base of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, for a connection of the base, including: at least a first and second base slot communicating with a first and second corner slot; and the footpad including: at least a first and second lower pin and a first and second upper pin insertable into the first base slot, thereby securing the footpad with the base; and at least a first and second locking slot of Chen, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base-footpad pivoting and moving connection that is performed via a track base slot of the base and associated lower and upper end pins at the sides of the footpad for desirable sliding as well as pivoting within the track slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen fails to explicitly disclose (2)the at least a first locking slot configured to provide the upright position for the footpad, and at least a first middle pin configured to fit within the first locking slot.
Jungman teaches an analogous foot position system (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) comprising at least an analogous first locking slot b (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b”) configured to provide the analogous upright position (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 1-2) for the similar slidable and pivotable pad B (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, sliding and pivoting pad plate B), and at least a first middle pin c (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, lug pin c is located more middle adjacent to lower pin D) and a second middle pin c (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side pin c) configured to fit within the analogous first locking slot b and analogous second locking slot b (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side locking slot b) , respectively.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a pivotal connection between the locking slots with base slots (Chen: 1021,1022) and footpad therein of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen, so that base slot also includes the first locking slot configured to provide the upright position for the footpad and at least a first and second middle pin configured to fit within the first and second locking slot, respectively, as taught by Jungman, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base-footpad pivotal connection allowing for pivotal adjustment via additional middle pins within the locking slots for increased support of the footpad in desired position (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) traversing the first base slot 1021 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20 stowable and partially deployable; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3 stowable and partially deployable) from the stowed position to a partial deployment position; the footpad pivoting while the first lower pin (Chen: 3011) seats within the first corner slot (Chen: 103) moves the footpad from the partial deployment position to the upright position; and the first middle c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, lug pin c) inserting into the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ) locks the footpad with the base (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base 114,140 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1,101,102) in the upright position.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3) including at least a first upper pin 3013 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) configured to fit within the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the first middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, middle lug pin c) exiting the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ) unlocks the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3) from the base (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base 114,140 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1,101,102); the footpad pivoting while the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) exits the first corner slot 103 Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad from the upright position to the partial deployment position; the first lower pin (Chen: 3011) traversing the first base slot (Chen: 1021) moves the footpad from the partial deployment position to the stowed position; and the first upper pin 3013 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) inserting into the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ) locks the footpad with the base in the stowed position.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the base (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base 114,140 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1,101,102), including: the second base slot 1022 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) communicating with the second corner slot 103 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) opposite from the first base slot 1021 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5), and the second locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3014; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ) opposite from the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ), the second locking slot being configured to provide the upright position for the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3); and the footpad including: the second lower pin 3012 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) opposite from the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) , the second lower pin (Chen: 3012) being insertable into the second base slot (Chen: 1022), thereby securing the footpad with the base; and the second middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side middle pin c) opposite from the first middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2), the second middle pin being configured to fit within the second locking slot.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second lower pin (Chen: 3012) traversing respectively the first base slot 1021 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second base slot 1022 ((Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20 stowable and partially deployable; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3 stowable and partially deployable) from the stowed position to a partial deployment position; the footpad pivoting while the first lower pin and the second lower pin seat respectively within the first and second corner slots 103,103 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad from the partial deployment position to the upright position; and the first middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) and the second middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) inserting respectively into the first and second locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slots 10211,10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slots notches “b” on left and right side) locks the footpad with the base (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base 114,140 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1,101,102) in the upright position.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3) including a second upper pin 3014 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) opposite from the first upper pin (Chen: 3013), the second upper pin configured to fit within the second locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the first middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) and the second middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) exiting respectively the first and second locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slots 10211,10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slots notches “b” ) unlocks the footpad(Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footpad 20 ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3) from the base (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base 114,140 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1,101,102); the footpad pivoting while the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second lower pin (Chen: 3012) exit respectively the first and second corner slots 103,103 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad from the upright position to the partial deployment position; the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second lower pin (Chen: 3012) traversing respectively the first base slot 1021 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second base slot 1022 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad from the partial deployment position to the stowed position; and the first upper pin3013 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second upper pin 3014 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5)inserting respectively into the first and second locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slots 10211,10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slots notches “b” ) locks the footpad with the base in the stowed position.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein: the base plate, including: at least a first base slot communicating with a first corner slot; and the footpad including: at least a first lower pin insertable into the first base slot, thereby securing the footpad with the base; (2) the at least a first locking slot configured to provide the upright position for the footpad, and at least a first middle pin configured to fit within the first locking slot.
Chen teaches an analogous base plate 1 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1,101,102 comprising base plate frame 1 with base slots 1021,1022 receiving first lower pin 3011,3012 of foot plate 3 in stowed and operating configuration as well as upper pin 3013,3014 of foot plate 3 in stowed configuration. Also there is a first corner slot 103 extending perpendicular to the base slot 1021,1022 for receiving the first lower pin 3011,3012 in operating configuration ) , including: at least a first base slot 1021 and a second base slot 1022 communicating with a first corner slot 103 and a second corner slot 103, respectively; and the analogous footpad 3 including: at least a first lower pin 3011 and a second lower pin 3012 and a first upper pin 3013 and a second upper pin 3014 insertable into the first base slot 1021 , thereby securing the analogous footpad 3 with the analogous base plate 1; and at least a first locking slot 10211 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013 on a left/first side) and a second locking slot 10211 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5second locking slot for pin 3014 on opposite second/right side).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the pivoting (Line: 81) and telescoping/sliding/moving (Line: 80) connection between the footpad and the base of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, for a connection of the base, including: at least a first and second base slot communicating with a first and second corner slot; and the footpad including: at least a first and second lower pin and a first and second upper pin insertable into the first base slot, thereby securing the footpad with the base; and at least a first and second locking slot of Chen, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base-footpad pivoting and moving connection that is performed via a track base slot of the base and associated lower and upper end pins at the sides of the footpad for desirable sliding as well as pivoting within the track slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen fails to explicitly disclose (2)the at least a first locking slot configured to provide the upright position for the footpad, and at least a first middle pin configured to fit within the first locking slot.
Jungman teaches an analogous foot position system (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) comprising at least an analogous first locking slot b (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b”) configured to provide the analogous upright position (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 1-2) for the similar slidable and pivotable pad B (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, sliding and pivoting pad plate B), and at least a first middle pin c (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, lug pin c is located more middle adjacent to lower pin D) and a second middle pin c (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side pin c) configured to fit within the analogous first locking slot b and analogous second locking slot b (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side locking slot b) , respectively.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a pivotal connection between the locking slots with base slots (Chen: 1021,1022) and footpad therein of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen, so that base slot also includes the first locking slot configured to provide the upright position for the footpad and at least a first and second middle pin configured to fit within the first and second locking slot, respectively, as taught by Jungman, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base-footpad pivotal connection allowing for pivotal adjustment via additional middle pins within the locking slots for increased support of the footpad in desired position (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) traversing the first base slot 1021 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20 stowable and partially deployable; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3 stowable and partially deployable) from the stowed position to a partial deployment position; the footpad pivoting while the first lower pin (Chen: 3011) seats within the first corner slot (Chen: 103) moves the footpad from the partial deployment position to the upright position; and the first middle c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, lug pin c) inserting into the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ) locks the footpad with the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1) in the upright position.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3) including at least a first upper pin 3013 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) configured to fit within the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the first middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, middle lug pin c) exiting the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ) unlocks the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3) from the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1); the footpad pivoting while the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) exits the first corner slot 103 Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad from the upright position to the partial deployment position; the first lower pin (Chen: 3011) traversing the first base slot (Chen: 1021) moves the footpad from the partial deployment position to the stowed position; and the first upper pin 3013 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) inserting into the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ) locks the footpad with the base in the stowed position.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1), including: the second base slot 1022 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) communicating with the second corner slot 103 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) opposite from the first base slot 1021 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5), and the second locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3014; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ) opposite from the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ), the second locking slot being configured to provide the upright position for the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3); and the footpad including: the second lower pin 3012 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) opposite from the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) , the second lower pin (Chen: 3012) being insertable into the second base slot (Chen: 1022), thereby securing the footpad with the base; and the second middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side middle pin c) opposite from the first middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2), the second middle pin being configured to fit within the second locking slot.
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second lower pin (Chen: 3012) traversing respectively the first base slot 1021 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second base slot 1022 ((Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20 stowable and partially deployable; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3 stowable and partially deployable) from the stowed position to a partial deployment position; the footpad pivoting while the first lower pin and the second lower pin seat respectively within the first and second corner slots 103,103 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad from the partial deployment position to the upright position; and the first middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) and the second middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) inserting respectively into the first and second locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slots 10211,10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slots notches “b” on left and right side) locks the footpad with the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1) in the upright position.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3) including a second upper pin 3014 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) opposite from the first upper pin (Chen: 3013), the second upper pin configured to fit within the second locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the first middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) and the second middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) exiting respectively the first and second locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slots 10211,10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slots notches “b” ) unlocks the footpad(Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footpad 20 ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3) from the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1); the footpad pivoting while the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second lower pin (Chen: 3012) exit respectively the first and second corner slots 103,103 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad from the upright position to the partial deployment position; the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second lower pin (Chen: 3012) traversing respectively the first base slot 1021 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second base slot 1022 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad from the partial deployment position to the stowed position; and the first upper pin3013 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second upper pin 3014 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5)inserting respectively into the first and second locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slots 10211,10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slots notches “b” ) locks the footpad with the base in the stowed position.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein: the base plate, including: at least a first base slot communicating with a first corner slot; and the footpad including: at least a first lower pin insertable into the first base slot, thereby securing the footpad with the base plate; (2) the at least a first locking slot configured to provide the upright position for the footpad, and at least a first middle pin configured to fit within the first locking slot.
Chen teaches an analogous base plate 1 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1,101,102 comprising base plate frame 1 with base slots 1021,1022 receiving first lower pin 3011,3012 of foot plate 3 in stowed and operating configuration as well as upper pin 3013,3014 of foot plate 3 in stowed configuration. Also there is a first corner slot 103 extending perpendicular to the base slot 1021,1022 for receiving the first lower pin 3011,3012 in operating configuration ) , including: at least a first base slot 1021 and a second base slot 1022 communicating with a first corner slot 103 and a second corner slot 103, respectively; and the analogous footpad 3 including: at least a first lower pin 3011 and a second lower pin 3012 and a first upper pin 3013 and a second upper pin 3014 insertable into the first base slot 1021 , thereby securing the analogous footpad 3 with the analogous base plate 1; and at least a first locking slot 10211 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013 on a left/first side) and a second locking slot 10211 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5second locking slot for pin 3014 on opposite second/right side).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the pivoting (Line: 81) and telescoping/sliding/moving (Line: 80) connection between the footpad and the base plate of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, for a connection of the base plate, including: at least a first and second base slot communicating with a first and second corner slot; and the footpad including: at least a first and second lower pin and a first and second upper pin insertable into the first base slot, thereby securing the footpad with the base plate; and at least a first and second locking slot of Chen, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base-footpad pivoting and moving connection that is performed via a track base slot of the base and associated lower and upper end pins at the sides of the footpad for desirable sliding as well as pivoting within the track slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen fails to explicitly disclose (2)the at least a first locking slot configured to provide the upright position for the footpad, and at least a first middle pin configured to fit within the first locking slot.
Jungman teaches an analogous foot position system (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) comprising at least an analogous first locking slot b (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b”) configured to provide the analogous upright position (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 1-2) for the similar slidable and pivotable pad B (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, sliding and pivoting pad plate B), and at least a first middle pin c (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, lug pin c is located more middle adjacent to lower pin D) and a second middle pin c (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side pin c) configured to fit within the analogous first locking slot b and analogous second locking slot b (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side locking slot b) , respectively.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a pivotal connection between the locking slots with base slots (Chen: 1021,1022) and footpad therein of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen, so that base slot also includes the first locking slot configured to provide the upright position for the footpad and at least a first and second middle pin configured to fit within the first and second locking slot, respectively, as taught by Jungman, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base-footpad pivotal connection allowing for pivotal adjustment via additional middle pins within the locking slots for increased support of the footpad in desired position (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) traversing the first base slot 1021 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20 stowable and partially deployable; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3 stowable and partially deployable) from the stowed position to a partial deployment position; the footpad pivoting while the first lower pin (Chen: 3011) seats within the first corner slot (Chen: 103) moves the footpad from the partial deployment position to the upright position; and the first middle c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, lug pin c) inserting into the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ) locks the footpad with the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1) in the upright position.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3) including at least a first upper pin 3013 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) configured to fit within the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the first middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, middle lug pin c) exiting the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ) unlocks the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3) from the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1); the footpad pivoting while the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) exits the first corner slot 103 Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad from the upright position to the partial deployment position; the first lower pin (Chen: 3011) traversing the first base slot (Chen: 1021) moves the footpad from the partial deployment position to the stowed position; and the first upper pin 3013 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) inserting into the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ) locks the footpad with the base in the stowed position.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base plate 1), including: the second base slot 1022 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) communicating with the second corner slot 103 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) opposite from the first base slot 1021 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5), and the second locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3014; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ) opposite from the first locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ), the second locking slot being configured to provide the upright position for the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3); and the footpad including: the second lower pin 3012 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) opposite from the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) , the second lower pin (Chen: 3012) being insertable into the second base slot (Chen: 1022), thereby securing the footpad with the base plate; and the second middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side middle pin c) opposite from the first middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2), the second middle pin being configured to fit within the second locking slot.
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second lower pin (Chen: 3012) traversing respectively the first base slot 1021 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second base slot 1022 ((Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20 stowable and partially deployable; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3 stowable and partially deployable) from the stowed position to a partial deployment position; the footpad pivoting while the first lower pin and the second lower pin seat respectively within the first and second corner slots 103,103 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad from the partial deployment position to the upright position; and the first middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) and the second middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) inserting respectively into the first and second locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slots 10211,10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slots notches “b” on left and right side) locks the footpad with the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base plate 1) in the upright position.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31, foot pad 20; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3) including a second upper pin 3014 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) opposite from the first upper pin (Chen: 3013), the second upper pin configured to fit within the second locking slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the first middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) and the second middle pin c (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) exiting respectively the first and second locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slots 10211,10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slots notches “b” ) unlocks the footpad(Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footpad 20 ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3) from the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1); the footpad pivoting while the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second lower pin (Chen: 3012) exit respectively the first and second corner slots 103,103 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad from the upright position to the partial deployment position; the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second lower pin (Chen: 3012) traversing respectively the first base slot 1021 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second base slot 1022 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) moves the footpad from the partial deployment position to the stowed position; and the first upper pin3013 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5) and the second upper pin 3014 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5)inserting respectively into the first and second locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slots 10211,10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slots notches “b” ) locks the footpad with the base plate in the stowed position.
Claims 12-15 and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951 in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1), as applied to claims 11 and 36, respectively, and in further view of Chen (CN 218489526 U) and Jungman (US Patent No. 0217621) and Jawed (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20230381047).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described but fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein: the base, including a first locking slot; and the footpad including: at least a first lower pin pivotally securing the footpad with the base; (2) at least a first middle pin configured to fit within the first locking slot; (3) there are a plurality of first locking slots to provide the multiple upright positions for the footpad.
Chen teaches an analogous base 1,101,102 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base comprising frame 1,101,102 with base slots 1021,1022 receiving first lower pin 3011,3012 of foot plate 3 in stowed and operating configuration as well as upper pin 3013,3014 of foot plate 3 in stowed configuration. Also there is a first corner slot 103 extending perpendicular to the base slot 1021,1022 for receiving the first lower pin 3011,3012 in operating configuration ) including: at least a first base slot 1021 and a second base slot 1022 communicating with a first corner slot 103 and a second corner slot 103, respectively, the analogous base 1,101,102 including a first locking slot 10211 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013 on a first left side of the base 1) and a second locking slot 10211 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3014 on an opposite/second/right side); and the analogous footpad 3 including: at least a first lower pin 3011 and a second lower pin 3012 pivotally securing the analogous footpad 3 with the analogous base1,101,102.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the pivoting (Line: 81) and telescoping/sliding/moving (Line: 80) connection between the footpad and the base of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, for a connection of the base, including: at least a first and second base slot communicating with a first and second corner slot; and the footpad including: at least a first and second lower pin insertable into the first base slot, thereby securing the footpad with the base; and at least first and second locking slot of Chen, such that the footpad including the at least first lower pin pivotally secures the footpad with the base, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base-footpad pivoting and moving connection that is performed via a track base slot of the base and associated lower and upper end pins at the sides of the footpad for desirable sliding as well as pivoting within the track slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen fails to explicitly disclose (2) at least a first middle pin configured to fit within the first locking slot; (3) there are a plurality of first locking slots to provide the multiple upright positions for the footpad.
Jungman teaches an analogous foot position system (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) in analogous upright position (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 1-2) comprising at least a first middle pin c (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, lug pin c is located more middle adjacent to lower pin D) and a second middle pin c (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side pin c) configured to fit within the analogous first locking slot b (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b”) and analogous second locking slot b (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side locking slot b) , respectively.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a pivotal connection between the locking slots with base slots (Chen: 1021,1022) and footpad therein of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen, so that base slot also includes the first locking slot configured to provide the upright position for the footpad and at least a first and second middle pin configured to fit within the first and second locking slot, respectively, as taught by Jungman, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base-footpad pivotal connection allowing for pivotal adjustment via additional middle pins within the locking slots for increased support of the footpad in desired position (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman fails to explicitly disclose (3) there are a plurality of first locking slots to provide the multiple upright positions for the footpad.
Jawed teaches an analogous footpad 1 (Paragraph 17, Figure 3-4 and 7-8) and analogous base 5 (Paragraph 17 and Figure 3-4 and 7-8) with the analogous first and second locking slots 30 (Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, base notch slots 30 for receiving pin 34 for angular adjustment) each comprising a plurality of first and second locking slots 30 (Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, plurality of base notch slots 30 for receiving first and second pins 36,37 for angular adjustment) to provide the analogous multiple upright positions for the analogous footpad 1.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second locking slots of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman, so that each of the first and second locking slots each comprising a plurality of first locking slots to provide the multiple upright positions for the footpad, as taught by Jawed, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base-footpad pivotal connection allowing for pivotal adjustment via plurality of first and second locking slots to receive the associated pins within the locking slots for increased support of the footpad relative to the base in incremental angular adjustment positions (Jawed, Paragraphs 17 and 26).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman in view of Jawed discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footpad 20 pivoting about base to multiple upright positions; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3 pivoting about base 1 via slot and pin mechanism 1021,1022 3013,3014; Jawed, Paragraphs 17, 26, Figure 3-4 and 7-8, footpad 1 pivoting about base 5 to multiple upright positions via locking slot and pin mechanism 30, 36,37) pivoting about the base (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base 114,140 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1,101,102; Jawed, Paragraphs 17, 26, Figure 3-4 and 7-8, base 5) moves the footpad among the multiple upright positions; and the first middle pin (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, middle lug pin c inserting into locking slot notch b; Jawed Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, base notch slots 30 for receiving pin 34 for angular adjustment) inserting into one of the plurality of first locking slots locks (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ; Jawed, Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, plurality of base notch slots 30) the footpad with the base in one of the multiple upright positions.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman in view of Jawed discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the base (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base 114,140 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1,101,102; Jawed, Paragraphs 17, 26, Figure 3-4 and 7-8, base 5), including a plurality of second locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, opposite side locking slot 10211 for unstowed upright position; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side locking slot notch “b” for unstowed upright configuration; Jawed, Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, plurality of base notch slots 30 on opposite side for upright positions) opposite from the plurality of first locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ; Jawed, Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, plurality of base notch slots 30), the plurality of second locking slots being configured to provide the multiple upright positions for the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footpad 20 pivoting about base to multiple upright positions; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3 pivoting about base 1 via slot and pin mechanism 1021,1022 3013,3014; Jawed, Paragraphs 17, 26, Figure 3-4 and 7-8, footpad 1 pivoting about base 5 to multiple upright positions via locking slot and pin mechanism 30, 36,37) ; and the footpad including: the second lower pin 3012 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, opposite/second/right lower pin 3012 for pivotal slot 1021-pin 3012 connection of footpad 3 and base 1) opposite from the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, first/left lower pin 3011 for pivotal slot 1021-pin 3011 connection of footpad 3 and base 1) , the second lower pin pivotally securing the footpad with the base, and the second middle pin (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite/second/right middle lug pin c inserting into locking slot notch b; Jawed Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, base notch slots 30 for receiving pin 37 for angular adjustment) opposite from the first middle pin (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, first/left middle lug pin c inserting into locking slot notch b; Jawed Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, base notch slots 30 for receiving pin 34 for angular adjustment) , the second middle pin being configured to fit within one of the plurality of second locking slots.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman in view of Jawed discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footpad 20 pivoting about base to multiple upright positions; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3 pivoting about base 1 via slot and pin mechanism 1021,1022 3013,3014; Jawed, Paragraphs 17, 26, Figure 3-4 and 7-8, footpad 1 pivoting about base 5 to multiple upright positions via locking slot and pin mechanism 30, 36,37) pivoting about the base (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base 114,140 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1,101,102; Jawed, Paragraphs 17, 26, Figure 3-4 and 7-8, base 5) moves the footpad among the multiple upright positions; and the first middle pin (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, first/left middle lug pin c inserting into locking slot notch b; Jawed Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, base notch slots 30 for receiving pin 34 for angular adjustment) and the second middle pin (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite/second/right middle lug pin c inserting into locking slot notch b; Jawed Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, base notch slots 30 for receiving pin 37 for angular adjustment) inserting respectively into one of the plurality of first locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ; Jawed, Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, plurality of base notch slots 30) and second locking slots locks (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, opposite side locking slot 10211 for unstowed upright position; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side locking slot notch “b” for unstowed upright configuration; Jawed, Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, plurality of base notch slots 30 on opposite side for upright positions) the footpad with the base in one of the multiple upright positions.
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described but fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein: the base plate, including a first locking slot; and the footpad including: at least a first lower pin pivotally securing the footpad with the base; (2) at least a first middle pin configured to fit within the first locking slot; (3) there are a plurality of first locking slots to provide the multiple upright positions for the footpad.
Chen teaches an analogous base plate 1 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base 1,101,102 comprising base plate 1 with base slots 1021,1022 receiving first lower pin 3011,3012 of foot plate 3 in stowed and operating configuration as well as upper pin 3013,3014 of foot plate 3 in stowed configuration. Also there is a first corner slot 103 extending perpendicular to the base slot 1021,1022 for receiving the first lower pin 3011,3012 in operating configuration ) including: at least a first base slot 1021 and a second base slot 1022 communicating with a first corner slot 103 and a second corner slot 103, respectively, the analogous base plate 1including a first locking slot 10211 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3013 on a first left side of the base plate 1) and a second locking slot 10211 (Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211 for upper pin 3014 on an opposite/second/right side); and the analogous footpad 3 including: at least a first lower pin 3011 and a second lower pin 3012 pivotally securing the analogous footpad 3 with the analogous base plate 1.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the pivoting (Line: 81) and telescoping/sliding/moving (Line: 80) connection between the footpad and the base plate of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, for a connection of the base plate, including: at least a first and second base slot communicating with a first and second corner slot; and the footpad including: at least a first and second lower pin insertable into the first base slot, thereby securing the footpad with the base plate; and at least first and second locking slot of Chen, such that the footpad including the at least first lower pin pivotally secures the footpad with the base plate, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base-footpad pivoting and moving connection that is performed via a track base slot of the base plate and associated lower and upper end pins at the sides of the footpad for desirable sliding as well as pivoting within the track slot (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen fails to explicitly disclose (2) at least a first middle pin configured to fit within the first locking slot; (3) there are a plurality of first locking slots to provide the multiple upright positions for the footpad.
Jungman teaches an analogous foot position system (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2) in analogous upright position (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 1-2) comprising at least a first middle pin c (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, lug pin c is located more middle adjacent to lower pin D) and a second middle pin c (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side pin c) configured to fit within the analogous first locking slot b (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b”) and analogous second locking slot b (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side locking slot b) , respectively.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a pivotal connection between the locking slots with base slots (Chen: 1021,1022) and footpad therein of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen, so that base slot also includes the first locking slot configured to provide the upright position for the footpad and at least a first and second middle pin configured to fit within the first and second locking slot, respectively, as taught by Jungman, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base-footpad pivotal connection allowing for pivotal adjustment via additional middle pins within the locking slots for increased support of the footpad in desired position (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman fails to explicitly disclose (3) there are a plurality of first locking slots to provide the multiple upright positions for the footpad.
Jawed teaches an analogous footpad 1 (Paragraph 17, Figure 3-4 and 7-8) and analogous base plate 5 (Paragraph 17 and Figure 3-4 and 7-8) with the analogous first and second locking slots 30 (Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, base notch slots 30 for receiving pin 34 for angular adjustment) each comprising a plurality of first and second locking slots 30 (Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, plurality of base notch slots 30 for receiving first and second pins 36,37 for angular adjustment) to provide the analogous multiple upright positions for the analogous footpad 1.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second locking slots of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman, so that each of the first and second locking slots each comprising a plurality of first locking slots to provide the multiple upright positions for the footpad, as taught by Jawed, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base-footpad pivotal connection allowing for pivotal adjustment via plurality of first and second locking slots to receive the associated pins within the locking slots for increased support of the footpad relative to the base in incremental angular adjustment positions (Jawed, Paragraphs 17 and 26).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman in view of Jawed discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footpad 20 pivoting about base to multiple upright positions; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3 pivoting about base 1 via slot and pin mechanism 1021,1022 3013,3014; Jawed, Paragraphs 17, 26, Figure 3-4 and 7-8, footpad 1 pivoting about base 5 to multiple upright positions via locking slot and pin mechanism 30, 36,37) pivoting about the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base plate ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base plate 1; Jawed, Paragraphs 17, 26, Figure 3-4 and 7-8, base plate 5) moves the footpad among the multiple upright positions; and the first middle pin (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, middle lug pin c inserting into locking slot notch b; Jawed Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, base notch slots 30 for receiving pin 34 for angular adjustment) inserting into one of the plurality of first locking slots locks (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ; Jawed, Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, plurality of base notch slots 30) the footpad with the base plate in one of the multiple upright positions.
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman in view of Jawed discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base plate ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base plate 1; Jawed, Paragraphs 17, 26, Figure 3-4 and 7-8, base plate 5), including a plurality of second locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, opposite side locking slot 10211 for unstowed upright position; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side locking slot notch “b” for unstowed upright configuration; Jawed, Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, plurality of base notch slots 30 on opposite side for upright positions) opposite from the plurality of first locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ; Jawed, Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, plurality of base notch slots 30), the plurality of second locking slots being configured to provide the multiple upright positions for the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footpad 20 pivoting about base to multiple upright positions; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3 pivoting about base 1 via slot and pin mechanism 1021,1022 3013,3014; Jawed, Paragraphs 17, 26, Figure 3-4 and 7-8, footpad 1 pivoting about base 5 to multiple upright positions via locking slot and pin mechanism 30, 36,37) ; and the footpad including: the second lower pin 3012 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, opposite/second/right lower pin 3012 for pivotal slot 1021-pin 3012 connection of footpad 3 and base 1) opposite from the first lower pin 3011 (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, first/left lower pin 3011 for pivotal slot 1021-pin 3011 connection of footpad 3 and base 1) , the second lower pin pivotally securing the footpad with the base plate, and the second middle pin (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite/second/right middle lug pin c inserting into locking slot notch b; Jawed Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, base notch slots 30 for receiving pin 37 for angular adjustment) opposite from the first middle pin (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, first/left middle lug pin c inserting into locking slot notch b; Jawed Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, base notch slots 30 for receiving pin 34 for angular adjustment) , the second middle pin being configured to fit within one of the plurality of second locking slots.
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Chen in view of Jungman in view of Jawed discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein: the footpad (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, footpad 116 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footpad 20 pivoting about base to multiple upright positions; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, footpad 3 pivoting about base 1 via slot and pin mechanism 1021,1022 3013,3014; Jawed, Paragraphs 17, 26, Figure 3-4 and 7-8, footpad 1 pivoting about base 5 to multiple upright positions via locking slot and pin mechanism 30, 36,37) pivoting about the base plate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and see annotated Figure 3 above, base plate ; Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, base plate 1; Jawed, Paragraphs 17, 26, Figure 3-4 and 7-8, base plate 5) moves the footpad among the multiple upright positions; and the first middle pin (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, first/left middle lug pin c inserting into locking slot notch b; Jawed Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, base notch slots 30 for receiving pin 34 for angular adjustment) and the second middle pin (Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite/second/right middle lug pin c inserting into locking slot notch b; Jawed Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, base notch slots 30 for receiving pin 37 for angular adjustment) inserting respectively into one of the plurality of first locking slots (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, locking slot 10211; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, locking slot notch “b” ; Jawed, Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, plurality of base notch slots 30) and second locking slots locks (Chen, Page 4/25, last 3 Paragraphs, Page 5/25, last 4 Paragraphs, and Figures 1-5, opposite side locking slot 10211 for unstowed upright position; Jungman, Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraphs 1-4 and Figures 2, opposite side locking slot notch “b” for unstowed upright configuration; Jawed, Paragraph 26, Figures 3-4 and 7-8, plurality of base notch slots 30 on opposite side for upright positions) the footpad with the base plate in one of the multiple upright positions.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904 ) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Cochran (US Patent Pub. No. 20180328780).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose the footpad including at least one radiopaque trim piece.
Cochran teaches an analogous simulated foot position system (Paragraphs 35-36 and Figure 3, foot imaging system with footpad 30 having radiopaque perimeter trim 32 and radiolucent center 38 for imaging user’s feet) wherein the analogous footpad 30 includes at least one radiopaque trim piece32.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a perimeter area of the footpad of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that the footpad includes at least one radiopaque trim piece, as taught by Cochran, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced footpad having a translucent center area for allowing imaging rays to pass therethrough while providing a perimeter of radiopaque trim as a marker without interference of surrounding structures, thereby increasing image contrast of the isolated desired foot region with increased accuracy (Cochran, Paragraphs 11, 35-36).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904 ) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Cheney (US 4827496 A).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose the footpad including a first strap slot and a second strap slot configured to receive a strap therethrough that affixes the foot to the footpad.
Cheney teaches an analogous simulated foot position system 10,12 (Col. 2, lines 17-45, 60-63 and Figure 1, calf/heel support 10 and footpad 12 for surgical imaging and footpad having pair of slots to receive strap 62 to tighten foot within footpad 12) with the analogous footpad 12 including a first strap slot and a second strap slot configured to receive a strap 62 therethrough that affixes the foot to the footpad 12.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the footpad of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that the footpad includes a first strap slot and a second strap slot configured to receive a strap therethrough that affixes the foot to the footpad, as taught by Cheney, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced footpad allowing for selective tightening of the user’s foot against the footpad for increased control, immobilization, and support throughout imaging (Cheney, Col. 2, lines 60-63).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904 ) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Brown (US Patent No. 3901228).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose the base including a heelcup configured to hold the foot in position atop the base.
Brown teaches an analogous foot position system (Col. 2, lines 40-65, Col. 3, lines 1-5, and Figures 1 and 3, post-surgical foot rest 7 and lower leg rest 9 with circular cup depression 10 for holding dorsal heel) the analogous leg plate 1,10 of the analogous base (Figure 3, Lower surface of 1,10 contacting planar bed 2) including a heelcup 10 configured to hold the foot in position atop the analogous leg plate 1,10 of the analogous base.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the calf plate (140) of the base of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that the base includes a heelcup configured to hold the foot in position atop the base, as taught by Brown, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base providing increased comfort to a wearer with a recess heel cup of the calf plate for desirable support of the user’s dorsal heel region reducing sores (Brown, Col. 3, lines 1-5).
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904 ) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Zagone (US Patent Pub. No. 20030224912).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above and further discloses the base (Paragraphs 30, 33, 36, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 against planar surgical bed/table 106) against a planar surface but fails to explicitly disclose the base including a first strap slot and a second strap slot configured to receive a strap therethrough that affixes the base to the planar surface that prevents movement of the base.
Zagone teaches an analogous foot position system 22,40 (Paragraphs 16, 19, and Figure 1, footpad 22 with base 40, with base 40 having a pair of slot openings 46 to receive strap 18 for securing base to planar bed 16) with the analogous base40 including a first strap slot 46 and a second strap slot 46 configured to receive a strap 18 therethrough that affixes the analogous base40 to the analogous planar surface 16 that prevents movement of the analogous base40 .
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base on the planar surface of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that the base includes a first strap slot and a second strap slot configured to receive a strap therethrough that affixes the base to the planar surface that prevents movement of the base, as taught Zagone, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base having a pair of strap slots for tightening the base to the planar surface to provide stability when the base is mounted to the surface (Zagone, Paragraph 16).
Claims 22 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904 ) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1), as applied to claim 21 and 26, respectively, and in further view of Brown (US Patent No. 3901228)
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose the calfplate including a heelcup configured to hold the foot in position atop the calfplate.
Brown teaches an analogous foot position system (Col. 2, lines 40-65, Col. 3, lines 1-5, and Figures 1 and 3, post-surgical foot rest 7 and lower leg rest 9 with circular cup depression 10 for holding dorsal heel) the analogous leg plate 1,10 of the analogous base (Figure 3, Lower surface of 1,10 contacting planar bed 2) including a heelcup 10 configured to hold the foot in position atop the analogous leg plate 1,10 of the analogous base.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the calf plate (140) of the base of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that the calfplate includes a heelcup configured to hold the foot in position atop the calfplate, as taught by Brown, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base providing increased comfort to a wearer with a recess heel cup of the calf plate for desirable support of the user’s dorsal heel region reducing sores (Brown, Col. 3, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose the calfplate including a heelcup configured to hold the foot in position atop the calfplate.
Brown teaches an analogous foot position system (Col. 2, lines 40-65, Col. 3, lines 1-5, and Figures 1 and 3, post-surgical foot rest 7 and lower leg rest 9 with circular cup depression 10 for holding dorsal heel) the analogous leg plate 1,10 of the analogous base (Figure 3, Lower surface of 1,10 contacting planar bed 2) including a heelcup 10 configured to hold the foot in position atop the analogous leg plate 1,10 of the analogous base.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the calf plate (140) of the base of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that the calfplate includes a heelcup configured to hold the foot in position atop the calfplate, as taught by Brown, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base providing increased comfort to a wearer with a recess heel cup of the calf plate for desirable support of the user’s dorsal heel region reducing sores (Brown, Col. 3, lines 1-5).
Claims 23, 47, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904 ) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1), as applied to claims 21, 26, and 50, respectively, and in further view of Koroknyai (U.S. Patent No. 11654329).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose the calfplate being pivotally securable with the base plate, whereby the calfplate moves between a flat position and an elevated position.
Koroknyai teaches an analogous foot position system 100 (Col. 4, lines 18-45 and Col. 5, lines 1-30 and Figures 2-3, foot position system 100 with calf plate 104, upright footpad 112, and base plate 106, wherein the base plate 106 and calf plate 104 are pivotally connected 116 at one end as well as secured by an elevator 118 at the other end to hold in the pivoted position. When elevator 118 is not engaged the plates 104,106 are stacked flat on top of one another) with the analogous calfplate 104 being pivotally securable with the analogous base plate 106, whereby the calfplate 104 moves between a flat position and an elevated position.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a connection between the calf plate (Carmody: 140) and base plate (Carmody: 114) of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that there is a pivotal connection at one end of the base plate and calf plate and an elevator to hold the pivoted position, so that the calfplate being pivotally securable with the base plate, whereby the calfplate moves between a flat position and an elevated position, as taught by Koroknyai, in in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced connection between the calf plate and base plate allowing for pivoting at one end thereat as well the elevator for supporting the pivoting position or returning back to a stowed flat position for desirable user application and storage (Koroknyai, Col. 4, lines 18-45 and Col. 5, lines 1-30).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose the calfplate being pivotally securable with the base plate, whereby the calfplate moves between a flat position and an elevated position.
Koroknyai teaches an analogous foot position system 100 (Col. 4, lines 18-45 and Col. 5, lines 1-30 and Figures 2-3, foot position system 100 with calf plate 104, upright footpad 112, and base plate 106, wherein the base plate 106 and calf plate 104 are pivotally connected 116 at one end as well as secured by an elevator 118 at the other end to hold in the pivoted position. When elevator 118 is not engaged the plates 104,106 are stacked flat on top of one another) with the analogous calfplate 104 being pivotally securable with the analogous base plate 106, whereby the calfplate 104 moves between a flat position and an elevated position.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a connection between the calf plate (Carmody: 140) and base plate (Carmody: 114) of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that there is a pivotal connection at one end of the base plate and calf plate and an elevator to hold the pivoted position, so that the calfplate being pivotally securable with the base plate, whereby the calfplate moves between a flat position and an elevated position, as taught by Koroknyai, in in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced connection between the calf plate and base plate allowing for pivoting at one end thereat as well the elevator for supporting the pivoting position or returning back to a stowed flat position for desirable user application and storage (Koroknyai, Col. 4, lines 18-45 and Col. 5, lines 1-30).
Regarding claim 51, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above. Carmody further discloses a calf plate 140 (Paragraphs 30, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A) and base plate 114.
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin fails to explicitly disclose (1) placing a foot atop a base comprises placing the foot atop the calfplate; (2) moving the calfplate of the base pivotally secured with the base plate of the base to an elevated position.
Line further teaches placing a foot atop the analogous base (Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, footrest 20 telescopingly/slidably stowed as well as pivotally connected to base comprising a calf plate 16 and base plate) comprises placing the foot atop the analogous calfplate 16 (Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, calf plate 16 extending to support heel of foot while footrest 20 supports plantar foot region).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a dimension of the calf plate of Carmody in view of line, so that the calf plate of Carmody is sized to receive a foot placed thereon, as taught by Line, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced calf plate that supports a calf as well as at user’s heel of a foot for desirable increased support throughout the user’s leg (Line, Paragraph 31).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin fails to explicitly disclose (2) moving the calfplate of the base pivotally secured with the base plate of the base to an elevated position.
Koroknyai teaches an analogous foot position system 100 (Col. 4, lines 18-45 and Col. 5, lines 1-30 and Figures 2-3, foot position system 100 with calf plate 104, upright footpad 112, and base plate 106, wherein the base plate 106 and calf plate 104 are pivotally connected 116 at one end as well as secured by an elevator 118 at the other end to hold in the pivoted position. When elevator 118 is not engaged the plates 104,106 are stacked flat on top of one another) with moving the analogous calfplate104 of the base 104,106 pivotally secured with the analogous base plate 106 of the analogous base104,106 to an elevated position.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a connection between the calf plate (Carmody: 140) and base plate (Carmody: 114) of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that there is a pivotal connection at one end of the base plate and calf plate and an elevator to hold the pivoted position, so that the calfplate being pivotally securable with the base plate, whereby the calfplate moves between a flat position and an elevated position, as taught by Koroknyai, in in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced connection between the calf plate and base plate allowing for pivoting at one end thereat as well the elevator for supporting the pivoting position or returning back to a stowed flat position for desirable user application and storage (Koroknyai, Col. 4, lines 18-45 and Col. 5, lines 1-30).
Claims 24 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1) in view of Koroknyai (U.S. Patent No. 11654329), as applied to claim 23 and 47, respectively, and in further view of Newkirk et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20240325224) and Bresnahan (U.S. Patent No. 2144962).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai discloses the invention as described above and further discloses at least one elevator118 (Col. 4, lines 18-45 and Col. 5, lines 1-30 and Figures 2-3, the base plate 106 and calf plate 104 are pivotally connected at one end as well as secured by an elevator 118 at the other end to hold in the pivoted position. When elevator 118 is not engaged the plates 104,106 are stacked flat on top of one another) for forming the elevated position and the flat position.
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein: the base plate including at least one swingout moveable between a stowed position and a support position, whereby, when the swingout of the base plate resides in the support position, the elevator and swingout locating the calfplate; (2) the calfplate including the at least one elevator; the elevator of the calfplate engages the swingout thereby locating the calfplate in the elevated position, and, when the swingout of the base plate resides in the stowed position, the elevator of the calfplate bypasses the swingout thereby locating the calfplate in the flat position..
Newkirk teaches an analogous base plate 40 (Paragraphs 41-43 and Figure 4, base support 40 with stowable swingout 92 having engaging elevator portion 64 at coupling 94 of plate 90) including at least one swingout 92 moveable between a stowed position and a support position, whereby, when the swingout 92 of the base plate 40 resides in the support position, the analogous elevator 64 and swingout 64 locating and supporting the similar leg plate 90.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a connection between the elevator, calf plate, and base plate of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai, so that baseplate includes at least one swingout moveable between a stowed position and a support position, whereby, when the swingout of the baseplate resides in the support position, the elevator and swingout locating the leg plate, as taught by Newkirk, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced connection between the calf plate-elevator-base plate that allows for a stowed swingout to angularly swingout from the side of the base plate to then support the leg plate for increased support and desirable stowing and unstowing mechanism between the plates (Newkirk, Paragraphs 41-43).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai in view of Newkirk fails to explicitly disclose (2) the calfplate including the at least one elevator; the elevator of the calfplate engages the swingout thereby locating the calfplate in the elevated position, and, when the swingout of the base plate resides in the stowed position, the elevator of the calfplate bypasses the swingout thereby locating the calfplate in the flat position.
Bresnahan teaches the similar leg plate B (Col. 1, lines 35-55 and Col. 2, lines 1-15 and Figures 1-2, upper leg plate B pivoting relative to base plate A via pivot 7 and has elevator C on leg plate B to engage base plate A when in a support position from a flat stowed position) including the at least one analogous elevator C.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a position of the elevator from the base swingout of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai in view of Newkirk, so that the elevator is part of the leg plate, as taught by Bresnahan, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced calf plate having the elevator such that the elevator is fastened to the leg plate as opposed to the base plate to allow for desirable control and engagement of the elevator therefrom (Bresnahan, Col. 1, lines 35-55 and Col. 2, lines 1-15).
Therefore, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai in view of Newkirk in view of Bresnahan further discloses the elevator (Koroknyai, Col. 4, lines 18-45 and Col. 5, lines 1-30 and Figures 2-3, calf plate 104 and base plate 106 are pivotally adjustable at one end and have engaging elevator 118 at other end for holding pivoted position or not engaging elevator 118 to bring plates 106,104 to stacked flat configuration ; Newkirk, Paragraphs 41-43 and Figure 4, elevator 64 of swingout 92; Bresnahan, Col. 1, lines 35-55 and Col. 2, lines 1-15 and Figures 1-2, elevator c on leg plate 9 to engage base plate A) of the calfplate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 33, 36, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, calf plate 140 adjustably connected to base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, calf plate 16 extending to support heel of foot while footrest 20 supports plantar foot region ; Koroknyai, Col. 4, lines 18-45 and Col. 5, lines 1-30 and Figures 2-3, calf plate 104 and base plate 106 are pivotally adjustable at one end and have engaging elevator 118 at other end for holding pivoted position or not engaging elevator 118 to bring plates 106,104 to stacked flat configuration ) engages the swingout (Newkirk, Paragraphs 41-43 and Figure 4, swingout 92) thereby locating the calfplate in the elevated position, and, when the swingout of the base plate resides in the stowed position, the elevator of the calfplate bypasses (Modification of Carmody in view of Koroknyai in view of Newkirk: modifying calf plate 140 of Carmody to be pivotally adjustable as taught by Koroknyai, to include elevator 118 and pivot pin 116 between calf plate and base plate for stacked flat as well as pivoted positions, wherein the calf plate is supported in the pivoted position by the engaged elevator via a corresponding swingout as taught by the swingout 92 of Newkirk, and thereby the elevator is not engaged when the swingout in the combination of Carmody in view of Koroknyai in view of Newkirk is stowed) the swingout thereby locating the calfplate in the flat position.
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai discloses the invention as described above and further discloses at least one elevator118 (Col. 4, lines 18-45 and Col. 5, lines 1-30 and Figures 2-3, the base plate 106 and calf plate 104 are pivotally connected at one end as well as secured by an elevator 118 at the other end to hold in the pivoted position. When elevator 118 is not engaged the plates 104,106 are stacked flat on top of one another) for forming the elevated position and the flat position.
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai fails to explicitly disclose (1) wherein: the base plate including at least one swingout moveable between a stowed position and a support position, whereby, when the swingout of the base plate resides in the support position, the elevator and swingout locating the calfplate; (2) the calfplate including the at least one elevator; the elevator of the calfplate engages the swingout thereby locating the calfplate in the elevated position, and, when the swingout of the base plate resides in the stowed position, the elevator of the calfplate bypasses the swingout thereby locating the calfplate in the flat position..
Newkirk teaches an analogous base plate 40 (Paragraphs 41-43 and Figure 4, base support 40 with stowable swingout 92 having engaging elevator portion 64 at coupling 94 of plate 90) including at least one swingout 92 moveable between a stowed position and a support position, whereby, when the swingout 92 of the base plate 40 resides in the support position, the analogous elevator 64 and swingout 64 locating and supporting the similar leg plate 90.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a connection between the elevator, calf plate, and base plate of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai, so that baseplate includes at least one swingout moveable between a stowed position and a support position, whereby, when the swingout of the baseplate resides in the support position, the elevator and swingout locating the leg plate, as taught by Newkirk, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced connection between the calf plate-elevator-base plate that allows for a stowed swingout to angularly swingout from the side of the base plate to then support the leg plate for increased support and desirable stowing and unstowing mechanism between the plates (Newkirk, Paragraphs 41-43).
However, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai in view of Newkirk fails to explicitly disclose (2) the calfplate including the at least one elevator; the elevator of the calfplate engages the swingout thereby locating the calfplate in the elevated position, and, when the swingout of the base plate resides in the stowed position, the elevator of the calfplate bypasses the swingout thereby locating the calfplate in the flat position.
Bresnahan teaches the similar leg plate B (Col. 1, lines 35-55 and Col. 2, lines 1-15 and Figures 1-2, upper leg plate B pivoting relative to base plate A via pivot 7 and has elevator C on leg plate B to engage base plate A when in a support position from a flat stowed position) including the at least one analogous elevator C.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a position of the elevator from the base swingout of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai in view of Newkirk, so that the elevator is part of the leg plate, as taught by Bresnahan, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced calf plate having the elevator such that the elevator is fastened to the leg plate as opposed to the base plate to allow for desirable control and engagement of the elevator therefrom (Bresnahan, Col. 1, lines 35-55 and Col. 2, lines 1-15).
Therefore, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai in view of Newkirk in view of Bresnahan further discloses the elevator (Koroknyai, Col. 4, lines 18-45 and Col. 5, lines 1-30 and Figures 2-3, calf plate 104 and base plate 106 are pivotally adjustable at one end and have engaging elevator 118 at other end for holding pivoted position or not engaging elevator 118 to bring plates 106,104 to stacked flat configuration ; Newkirk, Paragraphs 41-43 and Figure 4, elevator 64 of swingout 92; Bresnahan, Col. 1, lines 35-55 and Col. 2, lines 1-15 and Figures 1-2, elevator c on leg plate 9 to engage base plate A) of the calfplate (Carmody, Paragraphs 30, 33, 36, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, calf plate 140 adjustably connected to base plate 114 ; Line, Paragraph 31 and Figure 3, calf plate 16 extending to support heel of foot while footrest 20 supports plantar foot region ; Koroknyai, Col. 4, lines 18-45 and Col. 5, lines 1-30 and Figures 2-3, calf plate 104 and base plate 106 are pivotally adjustable at one end and have engaging elevator 118 at other end for holding pivoted position or not engaging elevator 118 to bring plates 106,104 to stacked flat configuration ) engages the swingout (Newkirk, Paragraphs 41-43 and Figure 4, swingout 92) thereby locating the calfplate in the elevated position, and, when the swingout of the base plate resides in the stowed position, the elevator of the calfplate bypasses (Modification of Carmody in view of Koroknyai in view of Newkirk: modifying calf plate 140 of Carmody to be pivotally adjustable as taught by Koroknyai, to include elevator 118 and pivot pin 116 between calf plate and base plate for stacked flat as well as pivoted positions, wherein the calf plate is supported in the pivoted position by the engaged elevator via a corresponding swingout as taught by the swingout 92 of Newkirk, and thereby the elevator is not engaged when the swingout in the combination of Carmody in view of Koroknyai in view of Newkirk is stowed) the swingout thereby locating the calfplate in the flat position.
Claims 25 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1) in view of Koroknyai (U.S. Patent No. 11654329), as applied to claims 23 and 47, respectively, and in further view of Faulise (US Patent No. 6045192).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose the calfplate including a latch whereby, when the calfplate resides in the flat position, the latch engages the base plate thereby locking the calfplate with the base plate.
Faulise teaches the analogous calfplate 14 (Col. 2, lines 20-24, 35-67 and Figures 8-9, calf plate 14 in flat stowed position with plate 12 via corresponding engagement cantilever latches) including a latch (see Annotated Figure 9 below) whereby, when the analogous calfplate 14 resides in the analogous flat position (Figure 8), the latch engages the similar plate 12 thereby locking the analogous calfplate 14 with the similar plate.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add to the base plate and calf plate of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai, a coupling latch of Faulise therebetween, wherein the calfplate includes the latch whereby, when the calfplate resides in the flat position, the latch engages the base plate thereby locking the calfplate with the base plate, as taught by Faulise, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced calf plate and base plate connection such that there are corresponding cantilever latches extending from sides of the plates for desirable locking engagement in the stowed flat configuration (Col. 2, lines 20-24, 35-67).
Regarding claim 49, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose the calfplate including a latch whereby, when the calfplate resides in the flat position, the latch engages the base plate thereby locking the calfplate with the base plate.
Faulise teaches the analogous calfplate 14 (Col. 2, lines 20-24, 35-67 and Figures 8-9, calf plate 14 in flat stowed position with plate 12 via corresponding engagement cantilever latches) including a latch (see Annotated Figure 9 below) whereby, when the analogous calfplate 14 resides in the analogous flat position (Figure 8), the latch engages the similar plate 12 thereby locking the analogous calfplate 14 with the similar plate.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add to the base plate and calf plate of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin in view of Koroknyai, a coupling latch of Faulise therebetween, wherein the calfplate includes the latch whereby, when the calfplate resides in the flat position, the latch engages the base plate thereby locking the calfplate with the base plate, as taught by Faulise, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced calf plate and base plate connection such that there are corresponding cantilever latches extending from sides of the plates for desirable locking engagement in the stowed flat configuration (Col. 2, lines 20-24, 35-67).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1), as applied to claim 26, and in further view of Cochran (US Patent Pub. No. 20180328780).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose the footpad including at least one radiopaque trim piece.
Cochran teaches an analogous simulated foot position system (Paragraphs 35-36 and Figure 3, foot imaging system with footpad 30 having radiopaque perimeter trim 32 and radiolucent center 38 for imaging user’s feet) wherein the analogous footpad 30 includes at least one radiopaque trim piece32.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a perimeter area of the footpad of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that the footpad includes at least one radiopaque trim piece, as taught by Cochran, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced footpad having a translucent center area for allowing imaging rays to pass therethrough while providing a perimeter of radiopaque trim as a marker without interference of surrounding structures, thereby increasing image contrast of the isolated desired foot region with increased accuracy (Cochran, Paragraphs 11, 35-36).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1), as applied to claim 26, and in further view of Cheney (US 4827496 A).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose the footpad including a first strap slot and a second strap slot configured to receive a strap therethrough that affixes the foot to the footpad.
Cheney teaches an analogous simulated foot position system 10,12 (Col. 2, lines 17-45, 60-63 and Figure 1, calf/heel support 10 and footpad 12 for surgical imaging and footpad having pair of slots to receive strap 62 to tighten foot within footpad 12) with the analogous footpad 12 including a first strap slot and a second strap slot configured to receive a strap 62 therethrough that affixes the foot to the footpad 12.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the footpad of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that the footpad includes a first strap slot and a second strap slot configured to receive a strap therethrough that affixes the foot to the footpad, as taught by Cheney, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced footpad allowing for selective tightening of the user’s foot against the footpad for increased control, immobilization, and support throughout imaging (Cheney, Col. 2, lines 60-63).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmody (US Patent Pub. No. 20240057951) in view of Line et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180272904) in view of Martin (DE 102019126180 A1), as applied to claim 26, and in further view of Zagone (US Patent Pub. No. 20030224912).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin discloses the invention as described above. Carmody further discloses the base plate (Paragraphs 30, 33, 36, 42-43, 57 and Figure 5A, base plate 114 against planar surgical bed/table 106) against a planar surface but fails to explicitly disclose the base plate including a first strap slot and a second strap slot configured to receive a strap therethrough that affixes the base plate to the planar surface that prevents movement of the base plate.
Zagone teaches an analogous foot position system 22,40 (Paragraphs 16, 19, and Figure 1, footpad 22 with base 40, with base 40 having a pair of slot openings 46 to receive strap 18 for securing base to planar bed 16) with the analogous base plate 40 including a first strap slot 46 and a second strap slot 46 configured to receive a strap 18 therethrough that affixes the analogous base plate 40 to the analogous planar surface 16 that prevents movement of the analogous base plate 40 .
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base plate on the planar surface of Carmody in view of Line in view of Martin, so that the base plate includes a first strap slot and a second strap slot configured to receive a strap therethrough that affixes the base plate to the planar surface that prevents movement of the base plate, as taught Zagone, in order to provide an improved simulated foot position system with an enhanced base plate having a pair of strap slots for tightening the base plate to the planar surface to provide stability when the base plate is mounted to the surface (Zagone, Paragraph 16).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL MILO/
Art Unit 3786
/ALIREZA NIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786