DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/14/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sawada et al. (US 2011/0106358).
Regarding claim 1,
Sawada discloses (Fig. 1):
A cooling system (Fig. 1, all elements) comprising: a cooling device (3, 4, 5, 6,) configured to cool a cooling target including a rotating electric machine (1, ¶0048); and one or more processors (23, 23c) that execute computer-executable instructions stored in a memory (23m, ¶0052), wherein the one or more processors execute the computer-executable instructions to cause the cooling system to: acquire information about a rotational speed of the rotating electric machine (24), and information about torque of the rotating electric machine (25, ¶0068-¶0069); and control the cooling device based on a feedforward value (target temperature) generated based on the rotational speed and the torque (¶0093-¶0095).
Regarding claim 2,
Sawada discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the cooling device includes: a pump (Fig. 1, 5) configured to circulate a cooling medium (via 6) that absorbs heat released from the rotating electric machine (1, ¶0048); a radiator (3) configured to release heat of the cooling medium (¶0048); and an air blower (4) configured to blow air to the radiator (3, ¶0048), and the feedforward value is a target temperature of the cooling medium supplied from the radiator to the rotating electric machine (¶0093-¶0095).
Regarding claim 3,
Sawada discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the one or more processors cause the cooling system to: further acquire information indicating an actual temperature of the cooling medium supplied from the radiator to the rotating electric machine (fig. 15, 32, ¶0092); and control the air blower to bring the actual temperature closer to the target temperature by performing feedback control using the actual temperature (¶0093-¶0095).
Regarding claim 4,
Sawada discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the one or more processors cause the cooling system to generate the feedforward value based on the rotational speed, the torque, and a thermal model of the rotating electric machine that is in a thermally saturated state in which a temperature change of the rotating electric machine has converged (¶0093-¶0095).
Regarding claim 5,
Sawada discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the cooling device includes: a pump (Fig. 1, 5) configured to circulate a cooling medium (via 6) that absorbs heat released from the rotating electric machine (1, ¶0048); a radiator (3) configured to release heat of the cooling medium (¶0048); and an air blower (4) configured to blow air to the radiator (3, ¶0048), and the one or more processors cause the cooling system to: calculate a temperature difference between a temperature of windings of the rotating electric machine in the thermally saturated state (¶0094) and a temperature of the cooling medium in the thermally saturated state (32, ¶0093), based on the rotational speed, the torque, and the thermal model (¶0092-¶0095); and subtract the temperature difference from a predetermined target temperature of the windings to generate the feedforward value (¶0094, adds up values to calculate total heat then subtracts cooling amount).
Regarding claim 6,
Sawada discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the one or more processors cause the cooling system to estimate a heat generation amount of the windings based on the rotational speed, the torque, and a map in which the heat generation amount of the windings is associated with the rotational speed and the torque (Fig. 8, ¶0074).
Regarding claim 7,
Sawada discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the feedforward value is the target temperature of the cooling medium at an outlet of the radiator (¶0092-¶0095).
Regarding claim 8,
Sawada discloses (Fig. 1):
A moving object (electric vehicle, Fig. 1, ¶0048)comprising the cooling system according to claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Osaka (US 2018/0320338) – hybrid construction machinery
/C.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2846 /KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846