Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-23, and 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a_(2) as being anticipated by Liao (US 2020/0221308).
For claims 1, 14, 27, and 30; Liao discloses: receive an indication of a set of configuration parameters of a virtual cell that supports communications for the UE, the set of configuration parameters indicating a set of subband groups associated with the virtual cell (paragraph 35: UE 702 reports its BWP capability to the network on the maximal number of radio resource clusters of a UE-specific DL BWP and the maximal number of radio resource clusters of a UE-specific UL BWP), each subband group of the set of subband groups comprising a plurality of non-contiguous subbands (paragraph 41: intra-band non-contiguous spectrum using cluster BWP configuration…The radio resource clusters in a DL or UL BWP is contiguous or non-contiguous) of a same radio frequency spectrum band (paragraph 41: intra-band non-contiguous spectrum using cluster BWP configuration), wherein each subband of the plurality of non-contiguous subbands comprises one or more sub-component carriers (paragraph 41: Each radio resource cluster contains a set of contiguous resource blocks (RBs) in frequency domain); transmit a capability message indicating a capability of the UE to support a subset of the set of configuration parameters of the virtual cell (paragraph 35: UE 702 reports its BWP capability to the network on the maximal number of radio resource clusters of a UE-specific DL BWP and the maximal number of radio resource clusters of a UE-specific UL BWP); and receive a control message that indicates scheduling information associated with one or more messages for communication via the virtual cell (paragraph 36: If a UE-specific DL BWP is a multi-cluster DL BWP, at least one of radio resource clusters within the UE-specific DL BWP shall be associated with at least one CORESET for DL/UL scheduling), wherein the one or more messages are scheduled on a set of resources corresponding to one or more subband groups of the set of subband groups based at least in part on the subset of the set of configuration parameters of the virtual cell that the UE supports (paragraph 35: UE 702 receives one or multiple UE-specific BWP configurations from the network through dedicated RRC signals. Each UE-specific BWP configuration can be either a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP. In addition to UE-specific BWP configuration, the UE also receives CORESET configurations, each of which is associated to a DL BWP. When a CORESET is associated with a DL BWP, the frequency-domain location of the CORESET shall be within the DL BWP no matter it's a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP. The network shall not configure to a UE a DL BWP (or UL BWP) with a number of radio resource clusters larger than the UE capability reported to the network).
For claims 2, 15, and 28; Liao discloses: receive an indication of a set of bandwidth aggregation states associated with the virtual cell, wherein a bandwidth aggregation state of the set of bandwidth aggregation states corresponds to a respective quantity of subband groups configured for the virtual cell, a respective frequency bandwidth configured for the communications with the UE via the virtual cell, a respective threshold quantity of subbands included in each subband group of the quantity of subband groups, a respective threshold frequency gap between adjacent subbands of a subband group, or any combination thereof (paragraph 35: UE 702 receives one or multiple UE-specific BWP configurations from the network through dedicated RRC signals. Each UE-specific BWP configuration can be either a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP. In addition to UE-specific BWP configuration, the UE also receives CORESET configurations, each of which is associated to a DL BWP. When a CORESET is associated with a DL BWP, the frequency-domain location of the CORESET shall be within the DL BWP no matter it's a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP. The network shall not configure to a UE a DL BWP (or UL BWP) with a number of radio resource clusters larger than the UE capability reported to the network).
For claims 3, 16, and 29; Liao discloses: transmit an indication of a subset of the set of bandwidth aggregation states associated with the virtual cell that the UE supports (paragraph 35: UE 702 receives one or multiple UE-specific BWP configurations from the network through dedicated RRC signals. Each UE-specific BWP configuration can be either a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP. In addition to UE-specific BWP configuration, the UE also receives CORESET configurations, each of which is associated to a DL BWP. When a CORESET is associated with a DL BWP, the frequency-domain location of the CORESET shall be within the DL BWP no matter it's a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP. The network shall not configure to a UE a DL BWP (or UL BWP) with a number of radio resource clusters larger than the UE capability reported to the network).
For claims 4 and 17; Liao discloses: wherein the set of resources corresponding to the scheduled one or more messages is based at least in part on a first frequency bandwidth of a first bandwidth aggregation state of the set of bandwidth aggregation states, a first quantity of subband groups associated with the first bandwidth aggregation state, or both (paragraph 38: if the active DL BWP is BWP #1 for a UE and each radio resource cluster in BWP #1 corresponds to a subchannel, the base station performs LBT over each radio resource cluster in BWP #1 and transmits the serving RAT signal over the radio resource cluster(s) where LBT passes. The subchannel can be either defined for a frequency band or configured by the network. UE then filters the received signal in each radio resource cluster in BWP #1, performs serving RAT signal detection in each radio resource cluster in BWP #1, and decodes the serving RAT signal in the radio resource cluster(s) where the serving RAT signal is detected. Similarly, if the active DL BWP is BWP #2 for a UE and part of radio resource clusters in BWP #2 consist of multiple subchannels, the base station performs LBT over each radio resource cluster in BWP #2 and transmits the serving RAT signal over the radio resource cluster(s) where LBT passes), and wherein the first bandwidth aggregation state is based at least in part on the subset of the set of configuration parameters of the virtual cell that the UE supports (paragraph 35: UE 702 receives one or multiple UE-specific BWP configurations from the network through dedicated RRC signals. Each UE-specific BWP configuration can be either a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP. In addition to UE-specific BWP configuration, the UE also receives CORESET configurations, each of which is associated to a DL BWP. When a CORESET is associated with a DL BWP, the frequency-domain location of the CORESET shall be within the DL BWP no matter it's a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP. The network shall not configure to a UE a DL BWP (or UL BWP) with a number of radio resource clusters larger than the UE capability reported to the network).
For claims 5 and 18; Liao discloses: receive an indication of a first subband group comprising a first subband of a first band of a first radio frequency spectrum band and a second subband of the first band (paragraph 38: if the active DL BWP is BWP #1 for a UE and each radio resource cluster in BWP #1 corresponds to a subchannel, the base station performs LBT over each radio resource cluster in BWP #1 and transmits the serving RAT signal over the radio resource cluster(s) where LBT passes. The subchannel can be either defined for a frequency band or configured by the network).
For claims 6 and 19; Liao discloses: the first subband comprises a second set of resources corresponding to a plurality of component carriers of the first band, and wherein the second set of resources is contiguous over the plurality of component carriers (paragraph 41: Each radio resource cluster contains a set of contiguous resource blocks (RBs) in frequency domain).
For claims 7 and 20; Liao discloses: receive an indication of a first subband group comprising a first subband of a first band of a first radio frequency spectrum band and a second subband of a second band of the first radio frequency spectrum band (paragraph 38: if the active DL BWP is BWP #2 for a UE and part of radio resource clusters in BWP #2 consist of multiple subchannels, the base station performs LBT over each radio resource cluster in BWP #2 and transmits the serving RAT signal over the radio resource cluster(s) where LBT passes).
For claims 8 and 21; Liao discloses: wherein the first subband group comprises a third subband corresponding to a frequency gap between the first band and the second band (paragraph 38, fig. 8: if the active DL BWP is BWP #2 for a UE and part of radio resource clusters in BWP #2 consist of multiple subchannels, the base station performs LBT over each radio resource cluster in BWP #2 and transmits the serving RAT signal over the radio resource cluster(s) where LBT passes).
For claims 9 and 22; Liao discloses: receive an indication of a first subband group comprising one or more first subbands of a first band of a first radio frequency spectrum band and a second subband group comprising one or more subbands of a second band of the first radio frequency spectrum band (paragraph 38: if the active DL BWP is BWP #1 for a UE and each radio resource cluster in BWP #1 corresponds to a subchannel, the base station performs LBT over each radio resource cluster in BWP #1 and transmits the serving RAT signal over the radio resource cluster(s) where LBT passes. The subchannel can be either defined for a frequency band or configured by the network. UE then filters the received signal in each radio resource cluster in BWP #1, performs serving RAT signal detection in each radio resource cluster in BWP #1, and decodes the serving RAT signal in the radio resource cluster(s) where the serving RAT signal is detected. Similarly, if the active DL BWP is BWP #2 for a UE and part of radio resource clusters in BWP #2 consist of multiple subchannels, the base station performs LBT over each radio resource cluster in BWP #2 and transmits the serving RAT signal over the radio resource cluster(s) where LBT passes) (paragraph 35: UE 702 receives one or multiple UE-specific BWP configurations from the network through dedicated RRC signals. Each UE-specific BWP configuration can be either a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP. In addition to UE-specific BWP configuration, the UE also receives CORESET configurations, each of which is associated to a DL BWP. When a CORESET is associated with a DL BWP, the frequency-domain location of the CORESET shall be within the DL BWP no matter it's a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP. The network shall not configure to a UE a DL BWP (or UL BWP) with a number of radio resource clusters larger than the UE capability reported to the network).
For claims 10 and 23; Liao discloses: receive a reference signal via a first subband of a first subband group, wherein the reference signal indicates timing information associated with both the first subband and a second subband of the first subband group (paragraph 33: UE 602 performs cell detection and synchronization, which detects a serving cell and synchronizes with the serving cell by gNB 601. In step 612, UE 602 acquires system information provided by gNB 601, e.g., master information block (MIB) carried in physical broadcast channel (PBCH). The MIB contains the essential DL CORESET configuration, which defines the initial DL BWP. The essential SIBs scheduled via the essential DL CORESET further configure the initial DL BWP and the initial UL BWP. The essential DL CORESET (e.g. CORESET #0) and SSB is contained in at least one radio resource clusters within the initial DL BWP, for UE to receive broadcast message, perform RACH procedure and perform SSB related measurements).
For claims 12 and 25; Liao discloses: receive the indication via a system information message or a radio resource control message (paragraph 35: capability negotiation and RRC configuration involving cluster BWP… UE 702 receives one or multiple UE-specific BWP configurations from the network through dedicated RRC signals. Each UE-specific BWP configuration can be either a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP).
For claims 13 and 26; Liao discloses: wherein the one or more sub-component carriers comprise a fraction of a component carrier (paragraph 41: Each radio resource cluster contains a set of contiguous resource blocks (RBs) in frequency domain).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Kazmi et al. (US 2025/0159706) (“Kazmi”).
For claim 11 and 24; Liao discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action. Liao discloses: in accordance with a first spatial filter, transmission via a first subband of a first subband group (paragraph 6, 31, 35: aggregate distributed spectrum blocks within a frequency range (e.g., 200 MHz) by single carrier operation and facilitate UE to filter out the transmission of unknown RAT between any two of the distributed spectrum blocks…Each UE-specific BWP configuration can be either a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP. In addition to UE-specific BWP configuration, the UE also receives CORESET configurations, each of which is associated to a DL BWP. When a CORESET is associated with a DL BWP, the frequency-domain location of the CORESET shall be within the DL BWP no matter it's a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP.) in accordance with the first spatial filter, transmission via a second subband of the first subband group (paragraph 6, 31, 35: aggregate distributed spectrum blocks within a frequency range (e.g., 200 MHz) by single carrier operation and facilitate UE to filter out the transmission of unknown RAT between any two of the distributed spectrum blocks…Each UE-specific BWP configuration can be either a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP. In addition to UE-specific BWP configuration, the UE also receives CORESET configurations, each of which is associated to a DL BWP. When a CORESET is associated with a DL BWP, the frequency-domain location of the CORESET shall be within the DL BWP no matter it's a single-cluster BWP or a multi-cluster BWP.).
Liao does not expressly disclose, but Kazmi from similar fields of endeavor teaches: receive, at a first transmit power (paragraph 16: the first downlink BWP and the second downlink BWP may be determined to be similar to each other when at least one of following conditions is satisfied:… a difference between transmission powers of the first RS and the second RS is within a predetermined threshold power; the difference between transmission powers of the first RS and the second RS is known to the terminal device) and a first reference signal via a first subband of a first subband group (paragraph 14: a bandwidth of the first downlink BWP may contain a first reference signal (RS), and a bandwidth of the second downlink BWP may contain a second RS); and receive, at a second transmit power (paragraph 16: the first downlink BWP and the second downlink BWP may be determined to be similar to each other when at least one of following conditions is satisfied:… a difference between transmission powers of the first RS and the second RS is within a predetermined threshold power; the difference between transmission powers of the first RS and the second RS is known to the terminal device) and a second reference signal via a second subband of the first subband group (paragraph 14: a bandwidth of the first downlink BWP may contain a first reference signal (RS), and a bandwidth of the second downlink BWP may contain a second RS), wherein a difference between the second transmit power and the first transmit power satisfies a threshold (paragraph 16: the first downlink BWP and the second downlink BWP may be determined to be similar to each other when at least one of following conditions is satisfied:… a difference between transmission powers of the first RS and the second RS is within a predetermined threshold power). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the similarity check as described by Kazmi in the distributed spectrum integration as described by Liao. The motivation is to improve compatibility of grouped clusters under the single carrier bwp.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Selvanesan et al. (US 2024/0406985); Selvanesan discloses CA in NR in accordance with embodiments allows to aggregate carriers in different BWPs, and thus, frequency bands with different numerologies can be aggregated. This has implications on timings and data rates if numerologies differ between the aggregated carriers.
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466