DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This office action is in response to communications filed 9/29/2025 Claim 1 is amended. Claims 2-5 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application 2012/0295662 Haubrich in view of U.S. Patent Application 2009/0128485, Wu further in view of U.S. Patent 9880733, Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang).
2. Regarding Claim 1, Haubrich discloses A universal remote control with touch keyboard ([0028], The universal remote control invention has a touch screen display) and touch mouse functions ([0126], The IR mouse), comprising:
a touchpad for receiving information through touch ([0028], The universal remote control invention has a touch screen display were control image keys can be displayed for each controllable appliance for which remote control is desired);
a display unit (Fig. 1: 14 TV) coupled to the touchpad ([0052], a universal remote control 10 is provided whereby the universal remote control 10 may be setup to command functions (i.e. touch screen of Fig. 2) of the appliances, illustrated as a TV set 14) and displaying information (Fig. 3; [0079], touch screen display circuitry 43 for the touch screen 20);
a keyboard unit for selecting functions and entering information ([0126], integrated physical keyboard buttons or touch screen image keyboard);
a central processing unit (Fig. 3; [0079], a central microprocessor 40), which controls information display of the display unit ([0081], the microprocessor 40 is programmed to control the various electronic components within the universal remote control device 10),
calculates and processes coordinate values inputted through the touchpad ([0144], touch-sensitive screen. Examiner notes any touch screen calculates and processes coordinate values) so as to generate coordinate data of a device to be controlled (Fig. 2: devices like TV, fan, alarm clock to be controlled),
and controls wireless transmission of the mouse cursor display data ([0126], The IR mouse feature on the universal remote may allow for a user to operate…[0127], A cursor will be based on where the remote is pointing on the screen);
an infrared unit ([0079], IR transceiver 27), which converts the mouse cursor display data of the device to be controlled ([0126], The IR mouse feature on the universal remote may allow for a user to operate…[0127], A cursor will be based on where the remote is pointing on the screen) into an infrared signal ([0126], The IR mouse) and transmits the infrared signal ([0119], issue IR command code signals to control) under control of the central processing unit (Fig. 3; [0079], a central microprocessor 40. [0143], This input command is received and processed by the universal remotes microcontroller (i.e. CPU) to transmit command code signals for operating the desired appliance); and
a Bluetooth unit (Fig. 3: 42; [0119], non-volatile RAM 42 stores command code signals and sequences which may be programmed into the present universal remote (for example IR codes for a range of TVs, BLUETOOTH transmitted codes corresponding to particular key strokes)), which converts the mouse cursor display data of the device to be controlled ([0143], the universal remote control are translated and converted into an image key (or physical button) input command by an internal universal remote control program) into a Bluetooth signal ([0033], The universal remote control invention provides for communication between at least both BLUETOOTH enabled appliances) and transmits the Bluetooth signal wirelessly under control ([0067], Said wireless internet connections may be through the use of BLUETOOTH) of the central processing unit Fig. 3; [0079], a central microprocessor 40. [0143], This input command is received and processed by the universal remotes microcontroller (i.e. CPU) to transmit command code signals for operating the desired appliance),
if a menu selection button (Fig. 2; [0077], keys displayed on a touch screen 20 could be substituted for or used in conjunction with the physical buttons 29) or a certain device selection button of the keyboard unit is manipulated (Claimed in the alternative), the central processing unit recognizes a device to be controlled (Fig. 3: 40; [0079]), and
if a certain function is selected or data is inputted through the touchpad (Fig. 2: [0077], keys displayed on a touch screen 20 could be substituted for or used in conjunction with the physical buttons 29), or if a function is selected and data is inputted through the keyboard unit (claimed in the alternative), the central processing unit wirelessly transmits the selected function (Fig. 2; [0113], household appliances, such as TV, Hi-fi, VCR, DVD players, alarm clocks, ceiling fans, toys and other appliance devices are controlled remotely via an infra-red link or the inputted data to the device to be controlled according to communication of the device to be controlled, thereby performing wireless keyboard (Claimed in the alternative).
Haubrich may not explicitly disclose converts the coordinate data into mouse cursor display data of the device to be controlled;
an infrared unit, which converts the mouse cursor display data of the device to be controlled into an infrared signal
wherein the central processing unit when performing a touch mouse function, matches screen coordinates of the remote control with screen coordinates of a device to be controlled, and, when control is performed through screen manipulation of the remote control, implement mouse mode display on the display unit, information at a same screen position of the device to be controlled, is selected and function is performed, and when the mouse mode is displayed on the display unit,
Wu teaches an infrared unit, which converts the mouse cursor display data of the device to be controlled into an infrared signal ([0016], The wireless transmitter 13…converting the cursor position signal into an infrared light wave)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wireless transmitter that converts cursor position into an infrared signal as taught in Wu to incorporate it into the universal remote controller as taught in Haubrich for the purposes of “detecting the instant posture of a user's hand to achieve the purpose of controlling a cursor by instinctive pointing behavior, so that users can operate at an ergonomic operating mode and the invention can lower the manufacturing cost of the input device.( Wu, [0006]).”
Wu does not explicitly disclose converts the coordinate data into mouse cursor display data of the device to be controlled;
wherein the central processing unit when performing a touch mouse function, matches screen coordinates of the remote control with screen coordinates of a device to be controlled, and, when control is performed through screen manipulation of the remote control, implement mouse mode display on the display unit, so that information at a same screen position of the device to be controlled, is selected and function is performed, and when the mouse mode is displayed on the display unit,
Wang teaches converts the coordinate data into mouse cursor display data of the device to be controlled (Fig. 4; Fig. 7A; Claim 1, “retrieving a coordinate value of the touch point of the touch gesture; c) determining that the touch gesture input is a mouse input, generating mouse event data according to the retrieved coordinate value of the touch point of the touch gesture, and transferring the mouse event data to a receiving device”);
wherein the central processing unit (fig. 1: first processor 104; Col. 3 lines 43-46, “The first processor 104 can compute a number of the touch point(s) of the touch gesture input received by the touch input device 102”) when performing a touch mouse function (Fig. 1: touch input device 102; Col. 4 line 55, “recognize that he/she is performing the mouse input”), matches screen coordinates of the remote control with screen coordinates of a device to be controlled (Fig. 7A; Col. 9 lines 57-62, “the receiving device 20 controls the mouse cursor to move from the location of the mouse cursor icon 50 to the location of the mouse cursor icon 50′ on the display 30 according to the received mouse event data. Thus, the user can input the touch input to the remote control device 10 for controlling the mouse cursor as using mouse.”), and, when control is performed through screen manipulation of the remote control, implement mouse mode display on the display unit (Fig. 7A/B; Col. 9 lines53-56, “ the remote control device 10 generates the mouse event data according to the touch input. And the remote control device 10 transfers the generated mouse event data to the receiving device 20.”), information at a same screen position of the device to be controlled, is selected and function is performed, and when the mouse mode is displayed on the display unit (Fig. 7A/B; Col. 9 lines 57-62, “the receiving device 20 controls the mouse cursor to move from the location of the mouse cursor icon 50 to the location of the mouse cursor icon 50′ on the display 30 according to the received mouse event data. Thus, the user can input the touch input to the remote control device 10 for controlling the mouse cursor as using mouse”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Haubrich in view of Wu to display a mouse mode on a display device through a touchpad as taught in Wang “effectively provide a user-friendly multi-touch remote control mechanism making the user conveniently switch between a mouse mode and a single touch mode for inputting a mouse input or a touch input (Wang Col. 2 lines 3-7).”
3. Regarding Claim 2, Haubrich in view of Wu further in view Wang discloses The universal remote control according to claim 1,
Haubrich discloses wherein the Bluetooth unit downloads programs for controlling home entertainment devices (Fig. 1: 14 TV) and smart home devices (Fig. 1; [0054], different appliances 14-19 such as fan 18) through Bluetooth communication ([0033], universal remote control invention provides for communication between at least both BLUETOOTH enabled appliances).
4. Regarding Claim 3, Haubrich in view of Wu further in view Wang discloses The universal remote control according to claim 1,
Haubrich discloses wherein the central processing unit learns infrared control function of the device to be controlled on the basis of the programs for controlling home entertainment devices and smart home devices, downloaded through the Bluetooth unit ([0056], download the appliance operating IR codes to the universal remote. [0058] [0061] [0117], appropriate command code data, can be downloaded to the universal remote control device 10. [0119], RAM 42 stores command code signals and sequences which may be programmed into the present universal remote (for example IR codes for a range of TVs, BLUETOOTH transmitted codes corresponding to particular key strokes). The microprocessor may be programmed for translating received `BLUETOOTH commands` into transmitted `infra-red commands. Claim 1, downloading said requested command code signals from said centralized appliance database over said Internet into said universal remote control memory, said loaded command code signals enabling said universal remote control to control said selected appliance.).
5. Regarding Claim 4, Haubrich in view of Wu further in view Wang discloses The universal remote control according to claim 1,
Wang discloses wherein the central processing unit (Fig. 1: first processor 104) controls mouse function by using the touchpad (Fig. 1: touch input device 102) and the display unit (Fig. 1: 30 display) , thereby allowing intuitive selection of the position of the device to be controlled (Fig. 7B; Col. 10 Lines 14-16, “the receiving device 20 draws a curve 52′ according to the received single touch event and displays the curve 52′ on the display 30.”)
6. Regarding Claim 5, Haubrich in view of Wu further in view Wang discloses The universal remote control according to claim 1, comprising:
Haubrich discloses a battery unit, which supplies driving power by charging power and discharging the charged power ([0145], The universal remote control 10 embodiments may have a rechargeable battery (not shown… charge the rechargeable battery); and
a power unit ([0145], a power supply source), which appropriately converts the power discharged from the battery unit into power to be used in the universal remote control so as to supply driving power ([0145], a rechargeable battery (not shown), such as a lithium battery, for supplying power to the universal remote control 10),
wherein the battery unit includes a wireless charging means to receive charging power wirelessly and/or (claimed in the alternative, choosing or) a USB terminal to receive charging power by wire ([0145], The universal remote control 10 may have a second USB port 26 that may be used for connection to a power supply source to charge the rechargeable battery).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMER KHALID/Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422