DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, 19, 24, 27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dooley (US 2018/0355256) in view of Xing (WO 01/05908).
Regarding claim 1-3, 7, 9, 19, 24, 27, and 29-30, Dooley teaches pyrolysis of waste plastic followed by fractionation in a distillation column [0012], [0024-0027], [0077]. Dooley sends the products to fractionation column including condensers and reflux for diesel, petrol (naphtha), and LPG range products [0037-0042], [0100].
Dooley does not explicitly disclose preheating or cracking the pyrolysis oil with a catalyst.
However, Xing teaches a similar process for producing gasoline and diesel products from waste plastics (page 2). Xing teaches pyrolysis of waste plastic followed by a second catalytic cracking step performed at a temperature of 300-600°C to produce gasoline and diesel range products (pages 4-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the Xing catalytic cracking step following the pyrolysis of Dooley, for the benefit of further obtaining the desired gasoline and diesel products. Further, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have included appropriate preheating steps, so that the pyrolysis oil is at the desired temperature conditions for the Xing cracking step.
Claims 5, 11-16, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dooley (US 2018/0355256) in view of Xing (WO 01/05908) as applied to claim 1 above, alone, or further in view of Siegel (US 3,926,785).
Regarding claims 5, 11-16, and 21-22, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
The previous combination does not disclose all of the fractionation conditions as claimed.
However, Examiner notes that fractionation of hydrocarbons into useable fractions including gasoline and diesel, is well-known in the art. Examiner notes Siegel disclosure of crude oil distillation (See figure, column 1, lines 1-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected the conditions of the distillation, as is well known in the art, and described in Siegel, for the benefit of recovering the desired fractions. It is not seen where such conditions would result in any new or unexpected results.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771