DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Remarks pages 7-13, filed 04/23/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sako US 20220038586.
Regarding claim 1, 5 and 6, Applicant states that the reference Koo fails to teach of an information processing apparatus different from the service providing apparatus and configured to receive an operation from a user... the device transmits device identification information for identifying the device to the service providing apparatus... the information processing apparatus acquires the device identification information from the device... the service providing apparatus transmits, to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the device coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus (Applicants Remarks 7-12). Examiner agrees with Applicant. Sako teaches of client terminal 100, printing apparatus 101 (information processing apparatus) and cloud printing server 109 (service providing apparatus) (fig 1). user first uses the Web UI client of the client terminal 100 and transmits a cloud printing registration request 111 to the printing apparatus 101 via the Web UI (paragraph 0050), which reads on information processing apparatus different from the service providing apparatus and configured to receive an operation from a user. Sako teaches the client terminal 100 and transmits a cloud printing registration request 111 to the printing apparatus 101 via the Web UI. When the printing apparatus 101 receives the cloud printing registration request 111, the printing apparatus 101 transmits a cloud printing registration request 112 to the cloud printing registration service 102. A device ID 135 for the cloud printing registration service 102 to identify the printing apparatus 101 is included in the cloud printing registration request 112 (paragraph 0050) reads on the device transmits device identification information for identifying the device to the service providing apparatus. Sako teaches the printing apparatus 101 transmits a cloud printing registration request 112 to the cloud printing registration service 102 (cloud printing server 109) (paragraph 0050), which reads on the information processing apparatus acquires the device identification information from the device. Sako teaches When the cloud printing registration service 102 receives the cloud printing registration approval request 115 from an authenticated user or the transmission source user is authenticated, the cloud printing registration service 102 transmits a cloud printing registration approval reply 116 to the client terminal 100 (paragraph 0053) Note: an authenticated user is authorized to use the cloud print service, which would read on usage permission. Therefore, this reads on the service providing apparatus transmits, to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the device coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, claims 3 and 4 are rejected in view of new rejection of claim 1, see arguments of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, claims 2 is rejected in view of new rejection of claim 1, see arguments of claim 1 above.
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima et al US 2016/0277407 in view of Sako US 20220038586.
Regarding claim 1, Nakashima et al teaches a service providing system (network environment 100 (paragraph 0025), comprising:
a device that uses a cloud service (printer 104, fax machine 105 (fig 1 and paragraph 0048);
a service providing apparatus that provides the cloud service (The servers 106 that implement the cloud-connect service (the cloud-connect servers 106) (paragraph 0049); and
an information processing apparatus different from the service providing apparatus and configured to receive an operation from a user (image processing device 101 includes a user interface 102 and an application 103 (paragraph 0026) Note: the cloud service (e.g., the application 103) (paragraph 0076), therefore the image processing device 101 users a cloud service, wherein
Nakashima et al fails to teach the device transmits device identification information for identifying the device to the service providing apparatus
the information processing apparatus
acquires the device identification information from the device, and
after logging in to the cloud service, transmits the device identification information to the service providing apparatus
the service providing apparatus
transmits to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the device coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus, and
the device uses the cloud service of the service providing apparatus by using the usage permission information.
Sako teaches the device transmits device identification information for identifying the device to the service providing apparatus (client terminal 100 and transmits a cloud printing registration request 111 to the printing apparatus 101 via the Web UI. When the printing apparatus 101 receives the cloud printing registration request 111, the printing apparatus 101 transmits a cloud printing registration request 112 to the cloud printing registration service 102. A device ID 135 for the cloud printing registration service 102 to identify the printing apparatus 101 is included in the cloud printing registration request 112 (paragraph 0050)
the information processing apparatus acquires the device identification information from the device (the printing apparatus 101 transmits a cloud printing registration request 112 to the cloud printing registration service 102 (cloud printing server 109) (paragraph 0050), and
after logging in to the cloud service, transmits the device identification information to the service providing apparatus (the user logs into the cloud printing service from a client terminal and transmits a cloud device ID of the registered printing apparatus and print data to the cloud printing service (paragraph 0003). client terminal 100 and transmits a cloud printing registration request 111 to the printing apparatus 101 via the Web UI. When the printing apparatus 101 receives the cloud printing registration request 111, the printing apparatus 101 transmits a cloud printing registration request 112 to the cloud printing registration service 102. A device ID 135 for the cloud printing registration service 102 to identify the printing apparatus 101 is included in the cloud printing registration request 112 (paragraph 0050)
the service providing apparatus transmits to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the device coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus (the cloud printing registration service 102 receives the cloud printing registration approval request 115 from an authenticated user or the transmission source user is authenticated, the cloud printing registration service 102 transmits a cloud printing registration approval reply 116 to the client terminal 100 (paragraph 0053) Note: an authenticated user is authorized to use the cloud print service, which would read on usage permission, and
the device uses the cloud service of the service providing apparatus by using the usage permission information (authentication process (usage permission information) for using a service is performed by a mobile terminal 120 including an Application (hereinafter referred to as an “App”) used by a user, an authentication server 130 that authenticates whether the user of the App is an appropriate user, and a service providing server 140 that provides a service related to the App (paragraph 0031) Note: after authentication, the mobile terminal 120 is authorized to use a service
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al to include the device transmits device identification information for identifying the device to the service providing apparatus
the information processing apparatus
acquires the device identification information from the device, and
after logging in to the cloud service, transmits the device identification information to the service providing apparatus
the service providing apparatus
transmits to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the device coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus, and
the device uses the cloud service of the service providing apparatus by using the usage permission information.
The reason of doing so would be to identify and verify authorized devices to access cloud services.
Regarding claim 4, Nakashima et al in view of Sako teaches wherein the information processing apparatus transmits, to the service providing apparatus, together with the device identification information, organization identification information for identifying an organization whose registration process to the cloud service is performed, and stores the device identification information, the organization identification information, and the usage permission information in association with one another (Nakashima et al: image processing device 101 (e.g., the application 103 on the image processing device 101) may use the authentication service to authenticate a network entity, such as a user, that seeks access to resources on the image processing device 101. The authentication service may be coupled to one or more of the data stores 107, which may contain account information for network entities. The account information may include an object and its attributes. Attributes for a user account may include, for example, the user's password, a smart card identification number, or group membership information indicating a group to which the user belongs (organization identification information). When providing authentication services (usage permission information), the authentication service may access account information in the data store 107 for the relevant entity and provide an authentication result (paragraph 0047).
Regarding claim 5, Nakashima et al teaches a service providing apparatus that provides a cloud service and configured to communicate with a device that uses the cloud service and an information processing apparatus ((The servers 106 that implement the cloud-connect service (the cloud-connect servers 106) (paragraph 0049). image processing device 101 includes a user interface 102 and an application 103 (paragraph 0026) Note: the cloud service (e.g., the application 103) (paragraph 0076), therefore the image processing device 101 users a cloud service), the service providing apparatus comprising:
a processor that:
Nakashima et al fails to teach receives, from the device, device identification information for identifying the device, and further receives, from the information processing apparatus, the device identification information inputted to the information processing apparatus; and
transmits, to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus coincides with the device identification information received from the device, wherein the information processing apparatus is different from the service providing apparatus and receives an operation from a user.
Sako teaches receives, from the device, device identification information for identifying the device, and further receives, from the information processing apparatus, the device identification information inputted to the information processing apparatus (client terminal 100 and transmits a cloud printing registration request 111 to the printing apparatus 101 via the Web UI. When the printing apparatus 101 receives the cloud printing registration request 111, the printing apparatus 101 transmits a cloud printing registration request 112 to the cloud printing registration service 102. A device ID 135 for the cloud printing registration service 102 to identify the printing apparatus 101 is included in the cloud printing registration request 112 (paragraph 0050), wherein the information processing apparatus is different from the service providing apparatus and receives an operation from a user (fig 1); and
transmits, to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus coincides with the device identification information received from the device (A device ID 135 for the cloud printing registration service 102 to identify the printing apparatus 101 is included in the cloud printing registration request 112 (paragraph 0050). the cloud printing registration service 102 receives the cloud printing registration approval request 115 from an authenticated user or the transmission source user is authenticated, the cloud printing registration service 102 transmits a cloud printing registration approval reply 116 to the client terminal 100 (paragraph 0053) Note: an authenticated user is authorized to use the cloud print service, which would read on usage permission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al to include receives, from the device, device identification information for identifying the device, and further receives, from the information processing apparatus, the device identification information inputted to the information processing apparatus, wherein the information processing apparatus is different from the service providing apparatus and receives an operation from a user; and transmits, to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus coincides with the device identification information received from the device.
The reason of doing so would be to verify a device to use cloud services.
Regarding claim 6, Nakashima et al teaches a device configured to communicate with a service providing apparatus that provides a cloud service (network environment 100 (paragraph 0025), the device using the cloud service and comprising:
a processor that:
transmits, to the service providing apparatus, device identification information for identifying the device (The first image processing device 1101A operates a first browser 103A, and the first browser 103A obtains a first device ID 1170A, which is the device ID of the first image processing device 1101A. The first browser 103A sends a first authorization request 1161A, which includes the first device ID 1170A, to the cloud connect service 1121 (paragraph 0123);
Nakashima et al fails to teach receives usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service, the usage permission information being transmitted from the service providing apparatus when the device identification information transmitted from the device to the service providing apparatus coincides with the device identification information transmitted from an information processing apparatus to the service providing apparatus; and
uses the cloud service of the service providing apparatus by using the usage permission information.
Sako teaches receives usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service, the usage permission information being transmitted from the service providing apparatus when the device identification information transmitted from the device to the service providing apparatus coincides with the device identification information transmitted from an information processing apparatus to the service providing apparatus (client terminal 100 and transmits a cloud printing registration request 111 to the printing apparatus 101 via the Web UI. When the printing apparatus 101 receives the cloud printing registration request 111, the printing apparatus 101 transmits a cloud printing registration request 112 to the cloud printing registration service 102. A device ID 135 for the cloud printing registration service 102 to identify the printing apparatus 101 is included in the cloud printing registration request 112 (paragraph 0050); and
wherein the information processing apparatus is different from the service providing apparatus and receives an operation from a user (fig 1);
uses the cloud service of the service providing apparatus by using the usage permission information (the cloud printing registration service 102 receives the cloud printing registration approval request 115 from an authenticated user or the transmission source user is authenticated, the cloud printing registration service 102 transmits a cloud printing registration approval reply 116 to the client terminal 100 (paragraph 0053) Note: an authenticated user is authorized to use the cloud print service, which would read on usage permission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al to include receives usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service, the usage permission information being transmitted from the service providing apparatus when the device identification information transmitted from the device to the service providing apparatus coincides with the device identification information transmitted from an information processing apparatus to the service providing apparatus; wherein the information processing apparatus is different from the service providing apparatus and receives an operation from a user and uses the cloud service of the service providing apparatus by using the usage permission information.
The reason of doing so would be to verify a device to use cloud services.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima et al US 2016/0277407 in view of Sako US 20220038586 further in view of DeSoto et al US 2013/0219479.
Regarding claim 2, Nakashima et al in view of Koo et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 1
Nakashima et al in view of Koo et al fails to teach wherein the device displays a code image indicating the device identification information, and the information processing apparatus acquires the device identification information by reading the code image with a camera.
DeSoto et al teaches wherein the device displays a code image indicating the device identification information, and the information processing apparatus acquires the device identification information by reading the code image with a camera (User 100 may click on the "safe login" icon to enable the camera on trusted device 102 to scan the QR code displayed on untrusted device 104. The trusted app decodes the scanned QR code and transmits the data to identity provider 108 (paragraph 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al in view of Koo et al to include wherein the device displays a code image indicating the device identification information, and the information processing apparatus acquires the device identification information by reading the code image with a camera.
The reason of doing so would be to verify a device.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima et al US 2016/0277407 in view of Sako US 20220038586 further in view of Koo et al US 2017/0127276.
Regarding claim 3, Nakashima et al in view of Sako teaches all of the limitations of claim 1
Nakashima et al in view of Sako fails to teach wherein the information processing apparatus transmits, to the service providing apparatus, together with the device identification information, user identification information for identifying a user whose registration process to the cloud service is performed, and stores the device identification information, the user identification information, and the usage permission information in association with one another;
Koo et al teaches wherein the information processing apparatus transmits, to the service providing apparatus, together with the device identification information, user identification information for identifying a user whose registration process to the cloud service is performed, and stores the device identification information, the user identification information, and the usage permission information in association with one another (Koo et al: mobile terminal 930 uploads the electronic device 950 (information processing apparatus) to the device information management server 970 (service providing apparatus) and registers the electronic device 950 in the device information management server 970. Here, the user ID, a device ID of the electronic device 950, a device type ID indicating the type of the electronic device 950, a device model ID indicating a model of the electronic device 950, a MAC address (or an IMEI) of the electronic device 950, service information (user identification information for identifying a user whose registration process to the cloud service) capable of being used by the mobile terminal 930 in relation to the electronic device 950 (information processing apparatus), and information on a service token for using a service according to the service information may be registered in the device information management server 970 (paragraph 0107).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al in view of Sako to include wherein the information processing apparatus transmits, to the service providing apparatus, together with the device identification information, user identification information for identifying a user whose registration process to the cloud service is performed, and stores the device identification information, the user identification information, and the usage permission information in association with one another.
The reason of doing so would be to verify a device to use cloud services.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima et al US 2016/0277407 in view of Sako US 20220038586 further in view of Armstrong US 20130215455.
Regarding claim 7, Nakashima et al in view of Sako teaches all of the limitations of claim 1
Nakashima et al in view Sako fails to teach wherein the service providing apparatus performs provisional registration of the device identification information received from the device,
the information processing apparatus transmits, to the service providing apparatus, the device identification information acquired from the device together with organization identification information for identifying an organization for which a registration process for the cloud service has been performed, and
when the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus coincides with the provisionally registered device identification information, the service providing apparatus performs final registration by associating the organization identification information with the device identification information.
Armstrong teaches wherein the service providing apparatus performs provisional registration of the device identification information received from the device (printing device 140, when initially powered or when prompted by a user action, is configured to self-register with the printing service 110 (provisional registration), and the printing service 110 issues a security token (e.g., public-key based tokens, shared-secret based tokens, a refresh token 150, an access token 152) or other credential to the printing device 140 (device ID). Thus, when registration is finished, the printing device 140 will have a refresh token that may be used to get an access token (paragraph 0023),
the information processing apparatus transmits, to the service providing apparatus, the device identification information acquired from the device together with organization identification information for identifying an organization for which a registration process for the cloud service has been performed (The organization associated with the enterprise 120 may be a company, a university, a government entity, a charitable organization, etc (paragraph 0022). the user computing device 130 sends the printing device ID/printing service ID/enterprise validation 164 (organization identification) to the registration service 100 (paragraph 0025), and
when the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus coincides with the provisionally registered device identification information (the registration service 100 determines which refresh token 150 is associated with the received printing device ID and sends the refresh token 150 to the printing service 110. In response, the printing service 110 sends an access token 152 to the registration service 100. The access token 152 may be generated based on the refresh token 150, and may be specific for the printing device 140 (paragraph 0026), the service providing apparatus performs final registration by associating the organization identification information with the device identification information (upon successful registration (final registration), a printing device 140 acquires a refresh token (150) from a printing service 110. Also, the owner of the printing device 140 makes the printing device 140 available in an enterprise environment (e.g., within a business), and sends the ID of the printing device 140 (printing device Z), which may also indicate the location of the printing device 140, and the ID of the owner to an enterprise 120. The owner also sends the registration service 100 the identity of the enterprise 120 (enterprise A), and the registration service 100 associates the printing device 140, (printing device Z) with the enterprise 120 (enterprise A) (paragraph 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al in view of Sako to include wherein the service providing apparatus performs provisional registration of the device identification information received from the device,
the information processing apparatus transmits, to the service providing apparatus, the device identification information acquired from the device together with organization identification information for identifying an organization for which a registration process for the cloud service has been performed, and
when the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus coincides with the provisionally registered device identification information, the service providing apparatus performs final registration by associating the organization identification information with the device identification information.
The reason of doing so would be to identify and verify a device and the organization associated with the device to use cloud services.
Regarding claim 8, Nakashima et al in view of Sako further in view of Armstrong teaches wherein the information processing apparatus acquires the device identification information from the device after logging in to the service providing apparatus (Sako: the user logs into the cloud printing service from a client terminal and transmits a cloud device ID of the registered printing apparatus and print data to the cloud printing service (paragraph 0003). client terminal 100 and transmits a cloud printing registration request 111 to the printing apparatus 101 via the Web UI. When the printing apparatus 101 receives the cloud printing registration request 111, the printing apparatus 101 transmits a cloud printing registration request 112 to the cloud printing registration service 102. A device ID 135 for the cloud printing registration service 102 to identify the printing apparatus 101 is included in the cloud printing registration request 112 (paragraph 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al to include wherein the information processing apparatus acquires the device identification information from the device after logging in to the service providing apparatus.
The reason of doing so would be to identify and verify a device to use cloud services.
Regarding claim 9, Nakashima et al in view of Sako further in view of Armstrong wherein after the final registration, the device transmits the device identification information again to the service providing apparatus, and when the device identification information received again coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus, the service providing apparatus transmits the usage permission information to the device (Armstrong: After registration (final registration), in stage 1 the printing device 140 sends a security token (device identification) to the registration service 100, which stores the token and associates the security token with the printing device ID (device identification). The user computing device 130 acquires a printing device ID, selected from the list of available printing devices, and a printing service ID (which may be different than the enterprise ID). In stage 4, the user computing device 130 sends the printing device ID/printing service ID/enterprise validation 164 to the registration service 100 (paragraph 0025). In stage 5, the registration service 100 determines which refresh token 150 is associated with the received printing device ID (when the device identification information received again coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus ) and sends the refresh token 150 to the printing service 110. In response, in stage 6 the printing service 110 sends an access token 152 (usage permission information) to the registration service 100. The access token 152 may be generated based on the refresh token 150, and may be specific for the printing device 140. Also, in some embodiments the access token 152 grants its holder authority to act as the owner of the printing device 140. Therefore, once the registration service 100 has the access token 152, the registration service 100 can initiate any of the operations that the owner of the printing device 140 can, including adding users, changing settings, etc. (paragraph 0026)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al in view of Sako to include wherein after the final registration, the device transmits the device identification information again to the service providing apparatus, and when the device identification information received again coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus, the service providing apparatus transmits the usage permission information to the device
The reason of doing so would be to identify and verify a device to use cloud services.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Michael Burleson
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2681
Michael Burleson
July 10, 2026
/MICHAEL BURLESON/
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 7/14/2026