DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/14/24 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
reception processing unit (Applicants Specification paragraph 0027), transmission processing unit (Applicants Specification paragraph 0027), in claim 5
transmission processing unit (Applicants Specification paragraph 0027), reception processing unit (Applicants Specification paragraph 0027), using unit (Applicants Specification paragraph 0027) in claim 6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima et al US 2016/0277407 in view of Koo et al US 2017/0127276.
Regarding claim 1, Nakashima et al teaches a service providing system (network environment 100 (paragraph 0025), comprising:
a device that uses a cloud service (printer 104, fax machine 105 (fig 1 and paragraph 0048);
a service providing apparatus that provides the cloud service (The servers 106 that implement the cloud-connect service (the cloud-connect servers 106) (paragraph 0049); and
an information processing apparatus (image processing device 101 includes a user interface 102 and an application 103 (paragraph 0026) Note: the cloud service (e.g., the application 103) (paragraph 0076), therefore the image processing device 101 users a cloud service, wherein
Nakashima et al fails to teach the device transmits device identification information for identifying the device to the service providing apparatus
the information processing apparatus
acquires the device identification information from the device, and
after logging in to the cloud service, transmits the device identification information to the service providing apparatus
the service providing apparatus
transmits to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the device coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus, and
the device uses the cloud service of the service providing apparatus by using the usage permission information.
Koo et al teaches the device transmits device identification information for identifying the device to the service providing apparatus (mobile terminal 120 receives, as input, login information, such as an ID, a password, and the like, from the user, and logs in to the relevant App. Then, in step 104, the mobile terminal 120 transmits, to the authentication server 130 (paragraph 0033)
the information processing apparatus acquires the device identification information from the device (the authentication server 130 (information processing apparatus) transmits an authentication code to the mobile terminal 120 (device) on the basis of the result of the login (paragraph 0034) Note: the authentication code is based on the login of the mobile terminal 120, which consists of device id (see paragraph 0033), and
after logging in to the cloud service, transmits the device identification information to the service providing apparatus (mobile terminal 120 receives, as input, login information, such as an ID, a password, and the like, from the user, and logs in to the relevant App. Then, in step 104, the mobile terminal 120 transmits, to the authentication server 130, a result of the login which indicates whether the login has been successfully performed (paragraph 0033)
the service providing apparatus transmits to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the device coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus (authentication server 130 receives an authentication code from the mobile terminal 120, and in step 110, transmits the access token to the mobile terminal 120 when the received authentication code is identical to the authentication code transmitted in step 106 (device identification information received from the device coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus). the mobile terminal 120 (device) sends a request for a service to the service providing server 140 (service providing apparatus) by using the access token (usage permission). When the App is a web-based App, an operation of requesting the service may include an operation of invoking an API, and the like (paragraph 0035) Note: the authentication code matches the authentication code of the mobile terminal 120 and is then sent to the service providing server 140., and
the device uses the cloud service of the service providing apparatus by using the usage permission information (authentication process (usage permission information) for using a service is performed by a mobile terminal 120 including an Application (hereinafter referred to as an “App”) used by a user, an authentication server 130 that authenticates whether the user of the App is an appropriate user, and a service providing server 140 that provides a service related to the App (paragraph 0031) Note: after authentication, the mobile terminal 120 is authorized to use a service
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al to include the device transmits device identification information for identifying the device to the service providing apparatus
the information processing apparatus
acquires the device identification information from the device, and
after logging in to the cloud service, transmits the device identification information to the service providing apparatus
the service providing apparatus
transmits to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the device coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus, and
the device uses the cloud service of the service providing apparatus by using the usage permission information.
The reason of doing so would be to identify and verify authorized devices to access cloud services.
Regarding claim 3, Nakashima et al in view of Koo et al teaches wherein the information processing apparatus transmits, to the service providing apparatus, together with the device identification information, user identification information for identifying a user whose registration process to the cloud service is performed, and stores the device identification information, the user identification information, and the usage permission information in association with one another (Koo et al: mobile terminal 930 uploads the electronic device 950 (information processing apparatus) to the device information management server 970 (service providing apparatus) and registers the electronic device 950 in the device information management server 970. Here, the user ID, a device ID of the electronic device 950, a device type ID indicating the type of the electronic device 950, a device model ID indicating a model of the electronic device 950, a MAC address (or an IMEI) of the electronic device 950, service information (user identification information for identifying a user whose registration process to the cloud service) capable of being used by the mobile terminal 930 in relation to the electronic device 950 (information processing apparatus), and information on a service token for using a service according to the service information may be registered in the device information management server 970 (paragraph 0107).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al to include wherein the information processing apparatus transmits, to the service providing apparatus, together with the device identification information, user identification information for identifying a user whose registration process to the cloud service is performed, and stores the device identification information, the user identification information, and the usage permission information in association with one another.
The reason of doing so would be to verify a device to use cloud services.
Regarding claim 4, Nakashima et al in view of Koo et al teaches wherein the information processing apparatus transmits, to the service providing apparatus, together with the device identification information, organization identification information for identifying an organization whose registration process to the cloud service is performed, and stores the device identification information, the organization identification information, and the usage permission information in association with one another (Nakashima et al: image processing device 101 (e.g., the application 103 on the image processing device 101) may use the authentication service to authenticate a network entity, such as a user, that seeks access to resources on the image processing device 101. The authentication service may be coupled to one or more of the data stores 107, which may contain account information for network entities. The account information may include an object and its attributes. Attributes for a user account may include, for example, the user's password, a smart card identification number, or group membership information indicating a group to which the user belongs (organization identification information). When providing authentication services (usage permission information), the authentication service may access account information in the data store 107 for the relevant entity and provide an authentication result (paragraph 0047).
Regarding claim 5, Nakashima et al teaches a service providing apparatus that provides a cloud service and configured to communicate with a device that uses the cloud service and an information processing apparatus ((The servers 106 that implement the cloud-connect service (the cloud-connect servers 106) (paragraph 0049). image processing device 101 includes a user interface 102 and an application 103 (paragraph 0026) Note: the cloud service (e.g., the application 103) (paragraph 0076), therefore the image processing device 101 users a cloud service), the service providing apparatus comprising:
Nakashima et al fails to teach a reception processing unit that receives, from the device, device identification information for identifying the device, and further receives, from the information processing apparatus, the device identification information inputted to the information processing apparatus; and
a transmission processing unit that transmits, to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus coincides with the device identification information received from the device.
Koo et al teaches a reception processing unit that receives, from the device, device identification information for identifying the device, and further receives, from the information processing apparatus, the device identification information inputted to the information processing apparatus (mobile terminal 120 receives, as input, login information, such as an ID, a password, and the like, from the user, and logs in to the relevant App. Then, in step 104, the mobile terminal 120 transmits, to the authentication server 130 (paragraph 0033); and
a transmission processing unit that transmits, to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus coincides with the device identification information received from the device ((authentication server 130 receives an authentication code from the mobile terminal 120, and in step 110, transmits the access token to the mobile terminal 120 when the received authentication code is identical to the authentication code transmitted in step 106 (device identification information received from the device coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus). the mobile terminal 120 (device) sends a request for a service to the service providing server 140 (service providing apparatus) by using the access token (usage permission). When the App is a web-based App, an operation of requesting the service may include an operation of invoking an API, and the like (paragraph 0035) Note: the authentication code matches the authentication code of the mobile terminal 120 and is then sent to the service providing server 140.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al to include a reception processing unit that receives, from the device, device identification information for identifying the device, and further receives, from the information processing apparatus, the device identification information inputted to the information processing apparatus; and a transmission processing unit that transmits, to the device, usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service when the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus coincides with the device identification information received from the device.
The reason of doing so would be to verify a device to use cloud services.
Regarding claim 6, Nakashima et al teaches a device configured to communicate with a service providing apparatus that provides a cloud service (network environment 100 (paragraph 0025), the device using the cloud service and comprising:
a transmission processing unit that transmits, to the service providing apparatus, device identification information for identifying the device (The first image processing device 1101A operates a first browser 103A, and the first browser 103A obtains a first device ID 1170A, which is the device ID of the first image processing device 1101A. The first browser 103A sends a first authorization request 1161A, which includes the first device ID 1170A, to the cloud connect service 1121 (paragraph 0123);
Nakashima et al fails to teach a reception processing unit that receives usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service, the usage permission information being transmitted from the service providing apparatus when the device identification information transmitted from the device to the service providing apparatus coincides with the device identification information transmitted from an information processing apparatus to the service providing apparatus; and
a using unit that uses the cloud service of the service providing apparatus by using the usage permission information.
Koo et al teaches a reception processing unit that receives usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service, the usage permission information being transmitted from the service providing apparatus when the device identification information transmitted from the device to the service providing apparatus coincides with the device identification information transmitted from an information processing apparatus to the service providing apparatus ((authentication server 130 receives an authentication code from the mobile terminal 120, and in step 110, transmits the access token to the mobile terminal 120 when the received authentication code is identical to the authentication code transmitted in step 106 (device identification information received from the device coincides with the device identification information received from the information processing apparatus). the mobile terminal 120 (device) sends a request for a service to the service providing server 140 (service providing apparatus) by using the access token (usage permission). When the App is a web-based App, an operation of requesting the service may include an operation of invoking an API, and the like (paragraph 0035) Note: the authentication code matches the authentication code of the mobile terminal 120 and is then sent to the service providing server 140.); and
a using unit that uses the cloud service of the service providing apparatus by using the usage permission information (authentication process (usage permission information) for using a service is performed by a mobile terminal 120 including an Application (hereinafter referred to as an “App”) used by a user, an authentication server 130 that authenticates whether the user of the App is an appropriate user, and a service providing server 140 that provides a service related to the App (paragraph 0031) Note: after authentication, the mobile terminal 120 is authorized to use a service
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al to include a reception processing unit that receives usage permission information for permitting use of the cloud service, the usage permission information being transmitted from the service providing apparatus when the device identification information transmitted from the device to the service providing apparatus coincides with the device identification information transmitted from an information processing apparatus to the service providing apparatus; and a using unit that uses the cloud service of the service providing apparatus by using the usage permission information.
The reason of doing so would be to verify a device to use cloud services.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima et al US 2016/0277407 in view of Koo et al US 2017/0127276 further in view of DeSoto et al US 2013/0219479.
Regarding claim 2, Nakashima et al in view of Koo et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 1
Nakashima et al in view of Koo et al fails to teach wherein the device displays a code image indicating the device identification information, and the information processing apparatus acquires the device identification information by reading the code image with a camera.
DeSoto et al teaches wherein the device displays a code image indicating the device identification information, and the information processing apparatus acquires the device identification information by reading the code image with a camera (User 100 may click on the "safe login" icon to enable the camera on trusted device 102 to scan the QR code displayed on untrusted device 104. The trusted app decodes the scanned QR code and transmits the data to identity provider 108 (paragraph 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakashima et al in view of Koo et al to include wherein the device displays a code image indicating the device identification information, and the information processing apparatus acquires the device identification information by reading the code image with a camera.
The reason of doing so would be to verify a device.
Conclusion
Michael Burleson
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2681
Michael Burleson
January 23, 2026
/MICHAEL BURLESON/
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 1/26/2026