DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, “second ore feed” should read “second trona ore feed”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high-grade” in claims 1, 9 and 13 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “high-grade” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The terms “large” and “small” in claims 6 and 18 are relative terms which renders the claims indefinite. The terms “large” and “small” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “about” in claims 3, 15 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the first trona ore feed and the second trona ore feed are in series”, however it is unclear how the two different ore feeds with different particle diameters may be arranged “in series”. For examination purposes, this limitation is being interpreted as the first beneficiation system and the second beneficiation system are in series. Additionally, it is unclear how the two different ore feeds/beneficiation systems are arranged in series when they receive different sized materials.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the first trona ore feed and the second trona ore feed are in parallel”, however it is unclear how the two different ore feeds with different particle diameters may be arranged “in parallel”. For examination purposes, this limitation is being interpreted as the first beneficiation system and the second beneficiation system are arranged in parallel.
Claim 19 recites “wherein the first beneficiation system and the second beneficiation system are in series”, however it is unclear how the two different ore feeds/beneficiation systems are arranged in series when they receive different sized materials.
Claims 2, 4-5, 10-12, 14, 17 and 20 are rejected as they are dependent upon a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 11, 13, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sopchak et al. (US 3819805).
Regarding claim 1, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) teaches an ore-sorting system (Col. 1 lines 12-16), comprising:
a trona ore screen system (Col. 5 lines 3-17) comprising an ore crusher (Fig. 1 #3) and a filter (Fig. 1 #5, 7), the screen system configured to produce an ore feed comprising ore particles having a predetermined size (Col. 5 lines 17-21);
a beneficiation system (Col. 5 lines 17-29) to receive the ore particles having a predetermined size (Col. 5 lines 17-21), the beneficiation system configured to increase an economic value of the trona ore by removing gangue material (Col. 5 lines 43-62), resulting in a high-grade ore product (Col. 5 lines 51-62), the beneficiation system comprising a sensor and a separator (Fig. 1 #13, Col. 5 lines 24-50), wherein the separator comprises an identification system configured to accept or reject ore (Col. 5 lines 44-50), wherein accepted ore is deposited in a bin and rejected ore is ejected with a high-pressure air jet (Col. 5 lines 44-50).
Regarding claim 2, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) teaches the ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the trona ore comprises trona interbedded with at least one of a marlstone, limestone, oil shale, sandstone, or mudstone (Col. 1 lines 24-29).
Regarding claim 3, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) teaches the ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the ore crusher (Fig. 1 #3) pulverizes a raw ore into an ore particle comprising a diameter between about 1/8 inch and about 4 inches (Col. 5 lines 17-21).
Regarding claim 5, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) teaches the ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the beneficiation system comprises a dry separation including at least one of density, magnetic, electrostatic, optical, X-ray, or infrared separation (Col. 5 lines 24-29).
Regarding claim 9, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) teaches an ore-sorting system (Col. 1 lines 12-16), comprising:
a feed intake comprising a hopper configured to receive trona ore particles (Col. 5 lines 36-39);
a conveyer belt that receives the trona ore particles from the hopper (Col. 5 lines 39-43) and carries the trona ore particles to be evaluated (Col. 5 lines 39-43), wherein the trona ore particles are configured as a monolayer on the conveyer belt (Col. 5 lines 36-43);
a sensor configured to examine the trona ore particles on the conveyor belt (Col. 5 lines 40-48) to evaluate the concentration of trona in the trona ore particles and identify a high-grade ore product (Col. 4 lines 29-48); and
an ore separator to divide the high-grade ore product from a waste material based on the results of the sensor (Col. 5 lines 44-50).
Regarding claim 11, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) teaches the ore sorting system of claim 9, wherein the ore separator comprises an identification system configured to accept or reject each trona ore particle (Col. 5 lines 44-50), wherein an accepted trona ore particle is deposited in a bin and a rejected trona ore particle is ejected with a high-pressure air jet (Col. 5 lines 44-50).
Regarding claim 13, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) teaches a method for purification of trona (Col. 1 lines 12-16), the method comprising:
screening trona ore (Fig. 1 #5, 7) to produce an ore feed comprising ore particles having a predetermined size (Col. 5 lines 17-21);
identifying an impurity content of the ore particles by a beneficiation system (Col. 5 lines 17-29, 40-48) to receive the ore particles having a predetermined size (Col. 5 lines 17-21), the beneficiation system configured to increase an economic value of the trona ore by removing gangue material (Col. 5 lines 43-62), resulting in a high-grade ore product (Col. 5 lines 51-62); and
separating the ore particles using air-jet diverters (Col. 5 lines 44-50) based on a purity threshold (Col. 5 lines 51-62), wherein an accepted ore is deposited in a bin and rejected ore is ejected with a high-pressure air jet (Col. 5 lines 44-50).
Regarding claim 15, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the ore feed comprises ore particles having a diameter between about 1/8 inch and about 4 inches (Col. 5 lines 17-21).
Regarding claim 17, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising crushing the trona ore prior to screening trona ore (Fig. 1 #3 prior to #5, 7, Col. 5 lines 5-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) in view of legal precedent.
Regarding claim 4, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) teaches the ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the sensor identifies trona ore having a high trona concentration (Col. 4 lines 29-58).
Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) lacks explicitly teaching a trona concentration greater than 95%. Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) states that the optical sorting devices permits the recovery of relatively pure trona ore by correlation of the reflectivity to its relative purity (Col. 4 lines 29-58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) to include a trona concentration greater than 95% in order to recover a relatively pure trona ore, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 16, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the purity threshold is relatively high (Col. 4 lines 29-58).
Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) lacks explicitly teaching the purity threshold comprises about 90% trona. Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) states that the optical sorting devices permits the recovery of relatively pure trona ore by correlation of the reflectivity to its relative purity (Col. 4 lines 29-58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) to include the purity threshold comprises about 90% trona in order to recover a relatively pure trona ore, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Claims 6, 8, 10, 14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 111495790). English translations of Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) have been provided herein.
Regarding claim 6, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) lacks teaching the ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the separator comprises a first trona ore feed including a large ore particle diameter and a second ore feed including a small ore particle diameter, wherein the first ore feed is fed to a first beneficiation system and the second ore feed is fed to a second beneficiation system.
Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) teaches an ore-sorting system (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-2) wherein the separator comprises a first trona ore feed including a large ore particle diameter (Paragraph 0014 lines 1-3, material on “fourth conveyor belt”) and a second ore feed including a small ore particle diameter (Paragraph 0014 lines 5-6, material on “third conveyor belt”), wherein the first ore feed is fed to a first beneficiation system (Paragraph 0017 lines 1-8) and the second ore feed is fed to a second beneficiation system (Paragraph 0021 lines 1-5).
Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) explains that the x-ray emission source used for the larger ore particle diameter has stronger penetrating power, is connected to a second computer, and a second high-pressure gas tank (Paragraph 0042 lines 1-5). Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) states that the density of the material has a significant impact on the attenuation of x-ray intensity (Paragraph 0046 lines 2-4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) to include wherein the separator comprises a first trona ore feed including a large ore particle diameter and a second ore feed including a small ore particle diameter, wherein the first ore feed is fed to a first beneficiation system and the second ore feed is fed to a second beneficiation system as taught by Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) in order to provide a beneficiation system adjusted for the density of the material being separated.
Regarding claim 8, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) lacks teaching the ore sorting system of claim 6, wherein the first trona ore feed and second trona ore feed are in parallel.
Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) teaches an ore-sorting system (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-2) wherein the first trona ore feed (Paragraph 0014 lines 1-3, material on “fourth conveyor belt”) and second trona ore feed (Paragraph 0014 lines 5-6, material on “third conveyor belt”) are in parallel (Fig. 1 see parallel feed of material on third and fourth conveyor belts).
Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) explains that the x-ray emission source used for the larger ore particle diameter has stronger penetrating power, is connected to a second computer, and a second high-pressure gas tank (Paragraph 0042 lines 1-5). Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) states that the density of the material has a significant impact on the attenuation of x-ray intensity (Paragraph 0046 lines 2-4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) to include wherein the first trona ore feed and second trona ore feed are in parallel as taught by Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) in order to provide a beneficiation system adjusted for the density of the material being separated.
Regarding claim 10, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) lacks teaching the ore sorting system of claim 9, wherein the sensor comprises an XRT source configured to analyze the trona ore particles for their X-ray signal attenuations and determine atomic density of the trona ore particles.
Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) teaches an ore-sorting system (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-2) wherein the sensor comprises an XRT source (Paragraph 0046 lines 1-5, Paragraph 0048 lines 8-11) configured to analyze the trona ore particles for their X-ray signal attenuations and determine atomic density of the trona ore particles (Paragraph 0049 lines 1-8).
Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) explains that the particle size distribution is very wide, and thickness, shape and size vary, therefore it is difficult to accurately distinguish between material by comparing grey values alone, therefore the material property related to the equivalent atomic number may more accurately distinguish between materials (Paragraph 0049 lines 1-13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) to include wherein the sensor comprises an XRT source configured to analyze the trona ore particles for their X-ray signal attenuations and determine atomic density of the trona ore particles as taught by Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) in order to more accurately distinguish between materials of different shapes and sizes.
Regarding claim 14, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) lacks teaching the method of claim 13, wherein beneficiation of the particle comprises utilizing X-ray transmission-based imaging to identify ore purity.
Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) teaches a method for purification of ore (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-2) wherein beneficiation of the particle comprises utilizing X-ray transmission-based imaging (Paragraph 0046 lines 1-5, Paragraph 0048 lines 8-11) to identify ore purity (Paragraph 0049 lines 1-8).
Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) explains that the particle size distribution is very wide, and thickness, shape and size vary, therefore it is difficult to accurately distinguish between material by comparing grey values alone, therefore the material property related to the equivalent atomic number may more accurately distinguish between materials (Paragraph 0049 lines 1-13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) to include wherein beneficiation of the particle comprises utilizing X-ray transmission-based imaging to identify ore purity as taught by Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) in order to more accurately distinguish between materials of different shapes and sizes.
Regarding claim 18, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) lacks teaching the method of claim 13, wherein the ore feed comprises a first ore feed including a large ore particle diameter and a second ore feed including a small ore particle diameter, wherein the first ore feed is fed to a first beneficiation system and the second ore feed is fed to a second beneficiation system.
Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) teaches a method for purification of ore (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-2) wherein the ore feed comprises a first ore feed including a large ore particle diameter (Paragraph 0014 lines 1-3, material on “fourth conveyor belt”) and a second ore feed including a small ore particle diameter (Paragraph 0014 lines 5-6, material on “third conveyor belt”), wherein the first ore feed is fed to a first beneficiation system (Paragraph 0017 lines 1-8) and the second ore feed is fed to a second beneficiation system (Paragraph 0021 lines 1-5).
Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) explains that the x-ray emission source used for the larger ore particle diameter has stronger penetrating power, is connected to a second computer, and a second high-pressure gas tank (Paragraph 0042 lines 1-5). Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) states that the density of the material has a significant impact on the attenuation of x-ray intensity (Paragraph 0046 lines 2-4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) to include wherein the ore feed comprises a first ore feed including a large ore particle diameter and a second ore feed including a small ore particle diameter, wherein the first ore feed is fed to a first beneficiation system and the second ore feed is fed to a second beneficiation system as taught by Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) in order to provide a beneficiation system adjusted for the density of the material being separated.
Regarding claim 20, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) lacks teaching the method of claim 18, wherein the first beneficiation system and the second beneficiation system are in parallel.
Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) teaches a method for purification of ore (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-2) wherein the first beneficiation system (Paragraph 0017 lines 1-8) and second beneficiation system (Paragraph 0021 lines 1-5) are in parallel (Fig. 1 see parallel beneficiation systems).
Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) explains that the x-ray emission source used for the larger ore particle diameter has stronger penetrating power, is connected to a second computer, and a second high-pressure gas tank (Paragraph 0042 lines 1-5). Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) states that the density of the material has a significant impact on the attenuation of x-ray intensity (Paragraph 0046 lines 2-4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) to include wherein the first beneficiation system and the second beneficiation system are in parallel as taught by Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) in order to provide a beneficiation system adjusted for the density of the material being separated.
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 111495790) and further in view of Bakke et al. (US 2014/0255278).
Regarding claim 7, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) lacks teaching the ore sorting system of claim 6, wherein the first trona ore feed and second trona ore feed are in series.
Bakke et al. (US 2014/0255278) teaches an ore-sorting system (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-5) wherein the first trona ore feed (Fig. 1 feed from #12 to #16) and second trona ore feed (Fig. 1 feed from #20 to #24) are in series (Fig. 2 see feed from #12 to #16 and feed from #20 to #24 in series, Paragraph 0094 lines 1-14).
Bakke et al. (US 2014/0255278) explains that the second sorter using different sorting conditions is able to recover additional high-grade product with minimal impurities, or recover a different valuable material (Paragraph 0095 lines 13-25).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) to include wherein the first trona ore feed and second trona ore feed are in series as taught by Bakke et al. (US 2014/0255278) in order to recover additional high-grade product with minimal impurities or recover a different valuable material.
Regarding claim 19, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) lacks teaching the method of claim 18, wherein the first beneficiation system and the second beneficiation system are in series.
Bakke et al. (US 2014/0255278) teaches an ore-sorting system (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-5) wherein the first beneficiation system (Fig. 1 #16) and second beneficiation system (Fig. 1 #24) are in series (Fig. 2 see #16 and #24 in series, Paragraph 0094 lines 1-14).
Bakke et al. (US 2014/0255278) explains that the second sorter using different sorting conditions is able to recover additional high-grade product with minimal impurities, or recover a different valuable material (Paragraph 0095 lines 13-25).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) to include wherein the first beneficiation system and the second beneficiation system are in series as taught by Bakke et al. (US 2014/0255278) in order to recover additional high-grade product with minimal impurities or recover a different valuable material.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) in view of Bakke et al. (US 2014/0255278).
Regarding claim 12, Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) lacks teaching the ore sorting system of claim 11, further comprising a secondary ore sorter, wherein the secondary ore sorter is configured to analyze rejected trona ore particles to identify and further separate misclassified trona ore particles.
Bakke et al. (US 2014/0255278) teaches an ore-sorting system (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-5) further comprising a secondary ore sorter (Fig. 1 #24), wherein the secondary ore sorter is configured to analyze rejected trona ore particles to identify and further separate misclassified trona ore particles (Paragraph 0095 lines 13-25, Paragraph 0097 lines 1-7).
Bakke et al. (US 2014/0255278) explains that the second sorter using different sorting conditions is able to recover additional high-grade product with minimal impurities, or recover a different valuable material (Paragraph 0095 lines 13-25). Bakke et al. (US 2014/0255278) states that the second sorting can capture at least 30, 50, or 70% by weight of the available high-grade product present in the waste material (Paragraph 0097 lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sopchak et al. (US 3819805) to include a secondary ore sorter, wherein the secondary ore sorter is configured to analyze rejected trona ore particles to identify and further separate misclassified trona ore particles as taught by Bakke et al. (US 2014/0255278) in order to recover additional high-grade product.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11, 13 and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-11, 13-15, 17-18 and 21-24 of copending Application No. 18/605,519 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by claims 1-4, 7-11, 13-15, 17-18 and 21-24 of copending Application No. 18/605,519.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Application 18/605,211
Application 18/605,519
1. An ore-sorting system, comprising:
a trona ore screen system comprising an ore crusher and a filter, the screen system configured to produce an ore feed comprising ore particles having a predetermined size;
a beneficiation system to receive the ore particles having a predetermined size, the beneficiation system configured to increase an economic value of the trona ore by removing gangue material, resulting in a high-grade ore product, the beneficiation system comprising a sensor and a separator, wherein the separator comprises an identification system configured to accept or reject ore, wherein accepted ore is deposited in a bin and rejected ore is ejected with a high-pressure air jet.
1. An ore-sorting system, comprising:
a trona ore screen system comprising an ore crusher and a filter, the screen system configured to produce an ore feed comprising ore particles having a predetermined size;
a beneficiation system that receives the ore particles having a predetermined size, the beneficiation system configured to increase an economic value of the trona ore by removing gangue material, resulting in a high-grade ore product, the beneficiation system comprising a laser scanner; and a sorter configured to separate the high-grade ore product from the gangue material, the sorter comprising an identification system configured to accept or reject ore, wherein accepted ore is deposited in a bin and rejected ore is ejected with a high-pressure air jet.
2. The ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the trona ore comprises trona interbedded with at least one of a marlstone, limestone, oil shale, sandstone, or mudstone.
2. The ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the trona ore comprises trona interbedded with at least one of a marlstone, limestone, oil shale, sandstone, or mudstone.
3. The ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the ore crusher pulverizes a raw ore into an ore particle comprising a diameter between about 1/8 inch and about 4 inches.
3. The ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the ore crusher pulverizes a raw ore into an ore particle comprising a diameter between about 1/8 inch and about 4 inches.
4. The ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the sensor identifies trona ore having a trona concentration greater than 95%.
4. The ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the laser scanner identifies trona ore having a trona concentration greater than 95%.
5. The ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the beneficiation system comprises a dry separation including at least one of density, magnetic, electrostatic, optical, X-ray, or infrared separation.
7. The ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the beneficiation system further comprises a dry separation including at least one of density, magnetic, electrostatic, optical, X-ray, or infrared separation.
6. The ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein the separator comprises a first trona ore feed including a large ore particle diameter and a second ore feed including a small ore particle diameter, wherein the first ore feed is fed to a first beneficiation system and the second ore feed is fed to a second beneficiation system.
8. The ore sorting system of claim 1, wherein trona ore screen system comprises a first trona ore feed including a large ore particle diameter and a second ore feed including a small ore particle diameter, wherein the first ore feed is fed to a first beneficiation system and the second ore feed is fed to a second beneficiation system.
7. The ore sorting system of claim 6, wherein the first trona ore feed and second trona ore feed are in series.
9. The ore sorting system of claim 8, wherein the first trona ore feed and second trona ore feed are in series.
8. The ore sorting system of claim 6, wherein the first trona ore feed and second trona ore feed are in parallel.
10. The ore sorting system of claim 8, wherein the first trona ore feed and second trona ore feed are in parallel.
9. An ore-sorting system, comprising:
a feed intake comprising a hopper configured to receive trona ore particles;
a conveyer belt that receives the trona ore particles from the hopper and carries the trona ore particles to be evaluated, wherein the trona ore particles are configured as a monolayer on the conveyer belt;
a sensor configured to examine the trona ore particles on the conveyor belt to evaluate the concentration of trona in the trona ore particles and identify a high-grade ore product; and
an ore separator to divide the high-grade ore product from a waste material based on the results of the sensor.
11. An ore-sorting system, comprising:
an ore feed intake configured to receive trona ore particles;
a conveyer belt that receives the trona ore particles from the ore feed intake and carries the trona ore particles to be evaluated, wherein the trona ore particles are configured as a monolayer on the conveyer belt;
a laser sensor configured to examine the trona ore particles on the conveyor belt to evaluate the concentration of trona in the trona ore particles and identify a high-grade ore product, the sensor comprising a laser scanner; and
an ore separator that divides the high-grade ore product from a waste material based on the results of the sensor.
10. The ore sorting system of claim 9, wherein the sensor comprises an XRT source configured to analyze the trona ore particles for their X-ray signal attenuations and determine atomic density of the trona ore particles.
14. The ore sorting system of claim 13, wherein the sensor further comprises an XRT source configured to analyze the trona ore particles for their X-ray signal attenuations and determine atomic density of the trona ore particles.
11. The ore sorting system of claim 9, wherein the ore separator comprises an identification system configured to accept or reject each trona ore particle, wherein an accepted trona ore particle is deposited in a bin and a rejected trona ore particle is ejected with a high-pressure air jet.
13. The ore sorting system of claim 11, wherein the ore separator comprises an identification system configured to accept or reject each trona ore particle, wherein an accepted trona ore particle is deposited in a bin and a rejected trona ore particle is ejected with a high-pressure air jet.
13. A method for purification of trona, the method comprising:
screening trona ore to produce an ore feed comprising ore particles having a predetermined size;
identifying an impurity content of the ore particles by a beneficiation system to receive the ore particles having a predetermined size, the beneficiation system configured to increase an economic value of the trona ore by removing gangue material, resulting in a high-grade ore product; and
separating the ore particles using air-jet diverters based on a purity threshold, wherein an accepted ore is deposited in a bin and rejected ore is ejected with a high-pressure air jet.
15. A method for purification of trona, the method comprising:
screening trona ore from an ore deposit to produce a trona ore feed comprising trona ore particles having a predetermined size;
placing the trona ore feed on a conveyer belt that receives the ore particles having a predetermined size;
identifying an impurity content of the ore particles by a dual laser scanner; and
separating the ore particles using air-jet diverters based on a purity threshold to increase an economic value of the trona ore by removing high-grade mill feed, resulting in an ultra high-grade ore product, wherein an accepted ore particle is deposited in a bin and a rejected ore is ejected with a high-pressure air jet.
15. The method of claim 13, wherein the ore feed comprises ore particles having a diameter between about 1/8 inch and about 4 inches.
17. The method of claim 15, wherein the trona ore particles include a diameter between about 1/8 inch and about 4 inches.
16. The method of claim 13, wherein the purity threshold comprises about 90% trona.
18. The method of claim 15, wherein the purity threshold comprises about 95% trona.
17. The method of claim 13, further comprising crushing the trona ore prior to screening trona ore.
21. The method of claim 15, further comprising crushing the trona ore prior to screening trona ore.
18. The method of claim 13, wherein the ore feed comprises a first ore feed including a large ore particle diameter and a second ore feed including a small ore particle diameter, wherein the first ore feed is fed to a first beneficiation system and the second ore feed is fed to a second beneficiation system.
22. The method of claim 15, wherein the ore feed comprises a first ore feed including a large ore particle diameter and a second ore feed including a small ore particle diameter, wherein the first ore feed is fed to a laser scanner and the second ore feed is fed to a second laser scanner.
19. The method of claim 18, wherein the first beneficiation system and the second beneficiation system are in series.
23. The method of claim 22, wherein the first laser scanner system and the second laser scanner are in series.
20. The method of claim 18, wherein the first beneficiation system and the second beneficiation system are in parallel.
24. The method of claim 22, wherein the first laser scanner and the second laser scanner are in parallel.
Conclusion
/MOLLY K DEVINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3653