DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 5/4/26 is acknowledged. Claims 19-20 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-18 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “thin” and “high” in claims 14 and 16 respectively are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” and “high” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (2020/0286786) in combination with Joshi et al. (5,853,500).
Kim et al. (2020/0286786) teaches an epitaxial growth and transfer via patterned two-dimensional (2D) layers. Kim et al. (2020/0286786) teaches forming a two-dimensional (2D) layer (120/220) of graphene or MoS2 directly on a first substrate (110/210) and then forming an epitaxial layer (140/240) on the layer (120/220) and then removing the epitaxial layer (claimed exfoliating) and transferring to a second substrate (250) (Figs. 1A-1D, 2A,2F-2H and [0010]-[0017],[0021]-[0025]). Kim et al. (2020/0286786) teaches the bonding of the epitaxial layer to the substrate by way of the graphene layer can be van der Waals interaction [0016]. Kim et al. (2020/0286786) teaches the epitaxial layer can be the same material as the first substrate which includes an oxide substrate as it teaches strontium titanium oxide [0010].
Kim et al. (2020/0286786) fails to teach forming an oxide film using a pre-oxidized precursor comprising an organic moiety and one or more of the claimed metals forms.
Joshi et al. (5,853,500) teaches a method of fabricating thin films of barium strontium Titanate (BST) without exposure to oxygen whereby the liquid precursor is prepared having moieties and including the metals of barium and strontium (col. 2, lines 22-27 and col. 4, lines 40-65)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim et al. (2020/0286786) process to include pre-oxidized precursor (already having oxygen and therefore not needed to include oxygen source as evidenced by Joshi et al. (5,853,500) with the expectation of producing the metal oxide film.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Kim et al. (2020/0286786) teaches the first substrate comprises an oxide substrate as it teaches strontium titanium oxide [0010].
Regarding claims 4-6, Kim et al. (2020/0286786) teaches the graphene or MoS2 layer can be a monolayer or multilayer [0011].
Regarding claim 7, strontium and barium are alkaline earth metals.
Regarding claim 8, the BST is a metalloid which some properties of metals.
Regarding claim 9, Joshi et al. (5,853,500) teaches metalorganic CVD which would inherently include metal organic precursors (col. 5, lines 55-60).
Regarding claim 10, Joshi et al. (5,853,500) teaches the liquid precursors to have moieties which would be inclusive of the claimed R or OR with the R being an organic moiety (col. 2, lines 20-27).
Regarding claim 11, Joshi et al. (5,853,500) teaches no expose to oxygen which would mean no oxygen source (col. 2, lines 4-15).
Regarding claim 12, the prior art fails to teach using a plasma, however, the Examiner takes the position that the use of plasma would be within the skill of one practicing in the art with the recognition of obtaining the benefits of using a plasma during or assisted in the deposition process.
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al. (2020/0286786) teaches strontium titanium oxide which is a perovskite structure (ABO3) ([0010].
Regarding claim 14 and 15, Joshi et al. (5,853,500) teaches film thickness of less than 0.5 microns and less than 200 nm which would make it a “thin” film (col. 4, lines 14-21 and col. 7, lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 16, the BST is a known ferroelectric material and hence would have ferroelectricity.
Regarding claim 17, Kim et al. (2020/0286786) teaches a second substrate which can be considered a carrier substrate.
Regarding claim 18, Joshi et al. (5,853,500) teaches annealing the BST film layer (col. 2, lines 4-13 and col. 5, lines 1-5).
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712