DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s remarks have been given full consideration, as such this Office Action has been
modified in view of Amendments filed on 05/28/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed “REMARKS” on 05/28/2026, with respect to the rejections of newly amended independent claims 1, 8 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2016/0073247 A1, hereinafter Liu) in view of Deshpande et al. (US 2010/0048217 A1, hereinafter Deshpande) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hou et al. (US 2022/0191641 A1, hereinafter Hou). As such, this Office Action has been made non-final. The finality of the previous office action is moot based on applicant arguments.
Applicant alleges that: Regarding independent claims 1, 8, and 15, “Paragraphs 0069-0073 of Liu therefore do not disclose or suggest embedding any portion of the charging information (or any location report message) within the TAI itself, as would be required based on the stated interpretation of original claim 1. In Liu, the TAI and the location report message remain separate IEs and are simply transmitted alongside one another; the TAI is not augmented with, or otherwise modified to incorporate, any location index”. However, Liu teaches as such. In FIG. 3, information is compiled between the UE and Small cell BS, wherein the information includes location information of both entities, such as TAI, ID, range, MME, etc. (see [0072] – [0073] and Example 1 and Example 2 Tables near corresponding paragraphs [0070] – [0074]), wherein the “location report” may be sent to the Macro eNB from either the Small Cell or the UE in a dual connectivity instance, see [0031]. The location report is compiled from a plurality of different types of information, i.e. an appended set of identifiers that include location information for both the UE and the Small Cell BS. Furthermore, Examiner has formed a 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection to clarify the “location index” as the term is indefinite.
Applicant alleges that: Regarding independent claims 1, 8, and 15, “Kotecha does not describe (i) determining a location index based on obtained location information for a small cell base station, (ii) appending data representing such a location index to data representing a cell identifier for a small cell base station, or (iii) modifying a cell identifier for a small cell base-13-station in any way” and “Kotecha does not disclose or suggest appending the location index as a second set of data to a first set of data for the cell identifier, wherein the first set of data identifies the small cell base station”. However, Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15-18, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2016/0073247 A1, hereinafter Liu) in view of Deshpande et al. (US 2010/0048217 A1, hereinafter Deshpande), further in view of Hou et al. (US 2022/0191641 A1, hereinafter Hou).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a method comprising: obtaining, by a device, location information for a small cell base station ([0060] During its movement, the UE may become increasingly closer to a small cell (BS). Upon detection of the small cell and in view of the heavy traffic to that could be delivered to the UE, the UE may connect to the small cell BS, as depicted in figure 3 operation S303, i.e. obtaining location information for a small cell base station); determining, by the device, a location index for the small cell base station based on the obtained location information; embedding, by the device, the determined location index in a cell identifier for the small cell base station and -small cell- ([Figure 2, S201] and [0055] as illustrated in FIG. 2, at S201, the method 200 collects, at a first network node which has a first connection with a UE, charging information with respect to a second connection established between the UE and a second network node (for example, a small cell BS), wherein the second network node is connected with the first network node, and [0057] said charging information may include location information, i.e. obtaining location information from the small cell BS, and said location information is added to a location report, location report read as location index, of the small cell base station in accordance with the UE movements); assigning, by the device, the cell identifier with the embedded location index to the small cell base station ([0069-0072] the two tables listed in the examples show how the TAI (tracking area identifier) may be associated with the Location Report Message, Location Report Message read as embedded location index, the TAI is associated with each service node the UE visits, i.e. the TAI may be associated with the location of the small cell BS(s));
Liu is not relied on for the claim language providing, by the device, the assigned cell identifier to the small cell base station. However, Deshpande teaches [abstract] methods for provisioning cell information for mobile devices via provisioning mechanisms in association with [0041] small cell base stations. Deshpande also teaches providing, by the device, the assigned cell identifier to the small cell base station ([Figure 3, 219] and [0049] cell information 219 can include various sets of information and/or associations between sets of information. In one example, the cell information 219 can include network/area information, deployment information and/or cell characteristics. Network/area information can specify information that identifies a wireless communication network and/or a geographical area, and pilot information and/or cell identification information. For example, the deployment information can include pseudorandom (PN) offsets, scrambling codes, and/or physical cell identifiers (PCIs), etc., and said information may be transmitted to a plurality of BS(s) as shown in FIG. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include providing the assigned cell identifier to the small cell base station, as taught by Deshpande, in order to [0047] enable efficient and rapid provisioning between BS(s) and UE.
The combination of Liu and Deshpande is not relied on for the claim language wherein embedding the determined location index in the cell identifier for the- -base station includes: appending the location index as a second set of data to a first set of data for the cell identifier, wherein the first set of data identifies the small- -station. However, Hou teaches [abstract] a method for determining if a terminal device is located inside a geofence, wherein the geofence may include one or more serving cells within the geofence and one or more cells outside the geofence, see [0040]. Hou also teaches wherein embedding the determined location index in the cell identifier for the- -base station ([0113] describes “the internal memory 121 may further store three types of geofence shown in FIG. 1, a cell positioning library, such as the cell positioning library shown in FIG. 2, and the Wi-Fi positioning library shown in FIG. 4,” i.e. the positioning libraries described below may be directly embedded within the mobile phone’s memory 121, mobile phone read as device, see FIG. 5) includes: appending the location index as a second set of data to a first set of data for the cell identifier, wherein the first set of data identifies the- -base station ([0074] referring to FIG.2, “the cell information may include a cell ID or the like. FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of a cell positioning library according to an embodiment of this application. As shown in FIG. 2, the cell positioning library includes a correspondence between a cell ID and a geographical location. The geographical location may be location information of a base station corresponding to a cell. For example, a geographical location, that is, a longitude and latitude (vlon.sub.1, vlat.sub.1), corresponding to a cell ID 1 is location information of a base station corresponding to a cell 1,” i.e. the mobile phone, mobile phone read as device, appends information for a cell, including information about the cell ID, cell ID read as identifier, and information about the cell’s geographical location, to the cell positioning library, cell positioning library read as second set of data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu and Deshpande to include embedding the location index of the cell within the device, as taught by Hou, in order to [0083] not have to continuously download location information from cells, and therefore [0110] avoid repeated commands and reduce processor wait times, thereby improving system efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches determining the location index for the small cell base station based on the obtained location information- ([0057] the sending at S203 includes sending the combined charging information via an uplink NAS message or a location report message, location report read as location index, [0069-0073] further describes the location report with examples).
Liu is not relied on for the claim language -includes: mapping the obtained location information to the location index using a look-up table. However, Deshpande teaches as such ([0056] the cell evaluation module 216 can further include a lookup module 306 that utilizes identified deployment information, network identities, and/or cell identities to query cell information 219 to determine cell characteristics associated with the base station. In one example, lookup module 306 can filter cell information 219 based upon a network identity or cell identity associated with a macrocell base station as determined by the network identification module 302. The lookup module 306 can further filter the cell information 219 based upon deployment information determined by the pilot information module 304 to determine cell characteristics of the base station, and [0058] describes the intelligence module 308 can generate a mapping between a network identity of a network associated with base station 330 and/or area information associated with base station 330 and the deployment information/cell characteristics of base station 330, and [0059] further describes cell information 219 can be categorized based upon location (e.g., geographical location) information. For example, a subset of deployment information and/or a subset of cell characteristic information included in cell information 219 can be mapped to a particular location or area, i.e. location identifiers regarding BS(s) may be compared to a lookup table, and may further be used to create a mapping for said location identifiers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include mapping location information in association with a look-up table, as taught by Deshpande, in order to [0047] enable efficient and rapid provisioning between BS(s) and UE.
Regarding claim 3, Liu is not relied on for the claim language mapping the obtained location information to the location index using the look-up table includes: identifying an identifier associated with the obtained location information; and mapping the identified identifier to the location index using the look-up table. However, Deshpande teaches as such ([0058-0059] cell characteristic and/or geographic location information included in cell information 219, cell information 219 read as location index, can be mapped to a particular location or area in association with being compared to the lookup table).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include mapping location information in association with a look-up table, as taught by Deshpande, in order to [0047] enable efficient and rapid provisioning between BS(s) and UE.
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches providing- -to a billing system configured to generate a charge associated with the small cell base station, wherein the billing system is configured to use- -to determine the location information for the small cell base station- ([Figure 3, operation S305/S306] and [0074] the charging information as sent at S305 and reported at S306 may include the charging information with respect to the first connection established between the macro eNB and the UE and the charging information with respect to the second connection established between the small cell and the UE for the offloaded traffic) -based on the location index embedded in the cell identifier for the small cell base station ([0069-0073] the example Location Report messages shown include the TAI (Tracking Area Identifier), TAI read as cell identifier, and this information is used to determine billing information).
Liu is not relied on for the claim language -the look-up table-. However, Deshpande teaches as such ([0057] the lookup module 306 to query deployment information 219 to determine if femtocell deployments are located within a coverage area provided by the macrocell base station (base station 320), furthermore [0070] lookup tables may be stored to be used via the lookup module 306, i.e. a lookup table associated with location identifiers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include mapping location information in association with a look-up table, as taught by Deshpande, in order to [0047] enable efficient and rapid provisioning between BS(s) and UE.
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches instructing the small cell base station to report any change in location to the device ([0057] the method 200 further collects updated charging information with respect to the second connection from the second network node when the charging information with respect to the second connection is changed, i.e. reporting any change in UE connection/disconnection, i.e. reporting any changes in location of either UE or small cell BS).
Regarding claim 8, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, further in view of Liu teaches a device comprising: a processor- ([0084] The apparatus 401, 402, 403, or 419 may generally include a processor, controller, control unit or the like connected to a memory and to various interfaces of the apparatus).
Regarding claim 9, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 3, further in view of Deshpande teaches identify a county associated with the obtained location information ([0060] cell information 219 can be categorized based upon location (e.g., geographical location), for instance, deployment information can be categorized at a state level, a city level, a county level, etc. additionally, [0049] mentions the use of a mobile country code (MCC) identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include the ability to identify a county associated with the obtained location information, as taught by Deshpande, in order to [0047] enable efficient and rapid provisioning between BS(s) and UE.
Regarding claim 11, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, further in view of Liu teaches -a small cell management device- (depicted in FIG. 4, [0082] the radio network node 402 may be operationally connected (directly or indirectly) to a CN entity 419, capable of managing small cell BS(s)) and a billing system device configured to: receive the cell identifier ([0067] upon receipt of the charging information from the small cell, the macro eNB reports this charging information to the CN (for example, MME/PCRF), i.e. the CN receives a charge based on PLMN and QoS information shown in operation S307, shown in FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches receive a charging record from a charging function device; retrieve the cell identifier from the received charging record; retrieve the location index from the retrieved cell identifier ([Figure 3, operation S307] depicts the CN receiving the billing information from the charging function, the cell identifier, cell identifier read as TAI, and location report, location report read as location index, see example from [0069-0073]); and map the retrieved location index to a location associated with the small cell base station ([0064] the cell information can include network/area information, deployment information, cell characteristic information, as well as, provide mappings therebetween).
Regarding claim 17, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2, further in view of Deshpande teaches identify a county associated with the obtained location information ([0060] cell information 219 can be categorized based upon location (e.g., geographical location), for instance, deployment information can be categorized at a state level, a city level, a county level, etc. additionally, [0049] mentions the use of a mobile country code (MCC) identifier); and map the identified county to the location index using a look-up table ([0056] the cell evaluation module 216 can further include a lookup module 306 (which may utilize lookup tables) that utilizes identified deployment information, network identities, and/or cell identities to query cell information 219 to determine cell characteristics associated with the base station, and said mappings may be obtained via FIG. 6 operation 606 by BS(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include the ability to identify a county associated with the obtained location information, as taught by Deshpande, in order to [0047] enable efficient and rapid provisioning between BS(s) and UE.
Regarding claim 18, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 21, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 17.
Regarding claim 22, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 23, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 13.
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2016/0073247 A1, hereinafter Liu), Deshpande et al. (US 2010/0048217 A1, hereinafter Deshpande) and Hou et al. (US 2022/0191641 A1, hereinafter Hou) as applied in claims above, and further in view of Ngai (US 2017/0094541 A1, hereinafter Ngai).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches embedding additional location information for the small cell base station in the cell identifier for the small cell base station ([Figure 2, S201] and [0055] obtaining location information from the small cell BS, and said location information is added to a location report, location report read as location index, of the small cell base station in accordance with the UE movements, which may include [0069-0073] the TAI, TAI read as cell identifier, as described in previous claims and provided examples).
The combination of Liu, Deshpande and Hou is not relied on for the claim language wherein the additional location information includes at least one of: an indication of whether the small cell base station is located indoors or outdoors; an indication of whether the small cell base station has been in a same location during a time period; information identifying a number of different locations associated with the small cell base station during the time period; an indication of whether the small cell base station was used while being in motion during the time period; or a distance the small cell base station has moved during the time period. However, Ngai teaches [abstract] a method to measure and classify wireless networks indoors in association with [0004] small cell networks. Ngai also teaches wherein the additional location information includes at least one of: an indication of whether the small cell base station is located indoors or outdoors; an indication of whether the small cell base station has been in a same location during a time period; information identifying a number of different locations associated with the small cell base station during the time period; an indication of whether the small cell base station was used while being in motion during the time period; or a distance the small cell base station has moved during the time period ([0032] FIG. 3 illustrates an example location detection operation 300 to be performed by the example mobile device 112 of FIGS. 1-2 on the example small cell 106 of FIGS. 1-2, and in the illustrated example, the indoors mapping table 302 includes the cell ID code 204. Therefore, the example mobile device 112 determines whether the location of the small cell 106 is in an indoor location, based on the cell ID code 204 in the indoors mapping table 302. For example, the cell ID code 204 is associated with a “YES” indicator in the indoor location indicator column 302b, i.e. an indication of the small cell base station being indoors or outdoors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liu, Deshpande and Hou to include the ability to determine if a small cell BS is indoors or outdoors, as taught by Ngai, in order to [0022] allow for benchmarking tests through every location of interest, and therefore [0020] help the service provider’s main cellular base station bandwidth be improved.
Regarding claim 14, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 20, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699