DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 06/22/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 06/22/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-30 are pending
Claims 1, 21 and 29-30 are amended
Claims 1-30 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20230180110 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, in view of Xie et al. (US 20230026600 A1), hereinafter referenced as Xie.
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Kim teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, (Para. [0005]-Kim discloses method of performing initial cell access by a user equipment (UE) ... The method may include: receiving a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) signal of a first cell through cell search; receiving system information block 1 (SIB1)-scheduling information in a common search space (CSS) set ...; and determining whether to perform a residual access procedure to the first cell based on the SIB1-scheduling information. Para. [0014]-Kim discloses the device may include: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: receive a PBCH signal of a first cell through cell search; receive SIB1-scheduling information in a CSS set related to the PBCH signal; and determine whether to perform a residual access procedure to the first cell based on the SIB1-scheduling information. PAra. [0018]-Kim discloses the base station may include: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: transmit a PBCH signal through a first cell; and transmit SIB1-scheduling information in a CSS set related to the PBCH signal) configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of whether a synchronization signal block (SSB) is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second RAT (Para. [0083]-Kim discloses UE receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) from the BS. The SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). Para. [0232]-Kim discloses separate SSB for the access of the RedCap UE, which is different from the CD-SSB, will be referred to as an SSB-R .... The SSB-R may be used only for the RedCap UE access or may be used together with the CD-SSB to transmit additional information (e.g., RedCap barring information, SIB1-R scheduling information, etc.) for the RedCap UE access. Para. [0005]-Kim discloses receiving system information block 1 (SIB1)-scheduling information in a common search space (CSS) set ...; and determining whether to perform a residual access procedure to the first cell based on the SIB1-scheduling information. Para. [0202]-Kim discloses SIB1-R scheduling information transmitted simultaneously with the SIB1 scheduling information may schedule independent SIB1-R that allows the RedCap UE to access the cell only by receiving SIB1-R. Para. [0216-0217]-Kim discloses the BS may indicate either SIB1 or the SIB through a system information indicator. Similarly, the BS may indicate either SIB1 scheduling information or SIB scheduling information for RedCap by adding one bit (e.g., RedCap indicator) to the DCI field. Para. [0234]-Kim discloses the BS may transmit RedCap cell access information over a PBCH included in an SSB-R so that the RedCap UE may perform cell access based on the SSB-R. Para. [0172]-Kim discloses when the NR UE and the RedCap UE coexist in the NR network, the RedCap UE may reuse a NR SSB without allocation of separate/dedicated resources for access of the RedCap UE. Para. [0164]-Kim discloses Cell Access of RedCap UE),
a synchronization raster for an SSB associated with the first RAT is the same as a synchronization raster for an SSB associated with the second RAT (Para. [0241-0242]-Kim discloses Proposal #3 … due to access of the RedCap UE to a specific frequency region, the BS may configure a non-CD-SSB for measurement for the NR UE in one NR synchronization raster and allow the access of the RedCap UE. Para. [0074]-Kim discloses non-cell defining SSB (non-CD-SSB) refers to an SSB that is deployed in a NR synchronization raster but does not include RMSI scheduling information on a cell for measurement. However, the non-CD-SSB may contain information indicating the location of a CD-SSB); and
process the SSB based at least in part on the indication of whether the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT (Para. [0232]-Kim discloses the SSB-R may be used only for the RedCap UE access or may be used together with the CD-SSB to transmit additional information (e.g., RedCap barring information, SIB1-R scheduling information, etc.) for the RedCap UE access. Para. [0005]-Kim discloses receiving system information block 1 (SIB1)-scheduling information in a common search space (CSS) set ...; and determining whether to perform a residual access procedure to the first cell based on the SIB1-scheduling information. Para. [0202]-Kim discloses SIB1-R scheduling information transmitted simultaneously with the SIB1 scheduling information may schedule independent SIB1-R that allows the RedCap UE to access the cell only by receiving SIB1-R. Para. [0216-0217]-Kim discloses the BS may indicate either SIB1 or the SIB through a system information indicator. Similarly, the BS may indicate either SIB1 scheduling information or SIB scheduling information for RedCap by adding one bit (e.g., RedCap indicator) to the DCI field. Para. [0234]-Kim discloses the BS may transmit RedCap cell access information over a PBCH included in an SSB-R so that the RedCap UE may perform cell access based on the SSB-R).
Kim fails to explicitly teach the first RAT and the second RAT are different radio access technologies.
However, Xie teaches the first RAT and the second RAT are different radio access technologies (Para. [0018]-Xie discloses communicating, by a user equipment (UE) device, with a first network device that is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) ... tuning a receiver of the UE device to receive a plurality of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) from a plurality of network devices including a second network device. The second network device is associated with a second RAT different than the first RAT ... selecting the second network device from among the plurality of network devices based on a comparison of the plurality of SSBs).
Kim and Xie are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with cell addition for different wireless technologies and synchronizing different wireless technologies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim to incorporate the teachings of Xie on radio access technologies, with a motivation for SSB indicating RAT, and guarantee user equipment (UE) with reduced capability for a maximum supportable bandwidth may perform initial cell access efficiently, (Kim, Para. [0019]).
Regarding claims 21 and 30, Kim teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Para. [0005]-Kim discloses method of performing initial cell access by a user equipment (UE) ... The method may include: receiving a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) signal of a first cell through cell search; receiving system information block 1 (SIB1)-scheduling information in a common search space (CSS) set ...; and determining whether to perform a residual access procedure to the first cell based on the SIB1-scheduling information. Para. [0014]-Kim discloses the device may include: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: receive a PBCH signal of a first cell through cell search; receive SIB1-scheduling information in a CSS set related to the PBCH signal; and determine whether to perform a residual access procedure to the first cell based on the SIB1-scheduling information. PAra. [0018]-Kim discloses the base station may include: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: transmit a PBCH signal through a first cell; and transmit SIB1-scheduling information in a CSS set related to the PBCH signal), configured to cause the network node to:
identify whether a communication with a user equipment (UE) is in accordance with a first radio access technology (RAT) or a second RAT (Para. [0154]-Kim discloses the RedCap UE may need to report information on its device type to the BS to support RedCap UE operations different from those of the NR UE. Para. [0297]-Kim discloses the wireless communication/connections may be established through various RATs (e.g., 5G NR) such as uplink/downlink communication 150a, sidelink communication 150b (or, D2D communication), or inter BS communication (e.g. relay, Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB)). Para. [0100]-Kim discloses Control information transmitted from the UE to the BS is referred to as uplink control information (UCI). The UCI includes ..., scheduling request (SR), channel state information (CSI), etc. Para. [0238]-Kim discloses the BS may extend the signaling capacity of a PBCH for cell access of the RedCap UE by additionally transmitting an SSB-R for the RedCap UE in addition to a CD-SSB. The BS may additionally transmit cell access information for the RedCap UE such as CORESET #0-R scheduling information by transmitting additional information for access of the RedCap UE in the SSB-R (over a PBCH-R included therein)); and
transmit an indication of whether a synchronization signal block (SSB) is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT (Para. [0083]-Kim discloses UE receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) from the BS. The SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). Para. [0232]-Kim discloses separate SSB for the access of the RedCap UE, which is different from the CD-SSB, will be referred to as an SSB-R .... The SSB-R may be used only for the RedCap UE access or may be used together with the CD-SSB to transmit additional information (e.g., RedCap barring information, SIB1-R scheduling information, etc.) for the RedCap UE access. Para. [0005]-Kim discloses receiving system information block 1 (SIB1)-scheduling information in a common search space (CSS) set ...; and determining whether to perform a residual access procedure to the first cell based on the SIB1-scheduling information. Para. [0202]-Kim discloses SIB1-R scheduling information transmitted simultaneously with the SIB1 scheduling information may schedule independent SIB1-R that allows the RedCap UE to access the cell only by receiving SIB1-R. Para. [0216-0217]-Kim discloses the BS may indicate either SIB1 or the SIB through a system information indicator. Similarly, the BS may indicate either SIB1 scheduling information or SIB scheduling information for RedCap by adding one bit (e.g., RedCap indicator) to the DCI field. Para. [0234]-Kim discloses the BS may transmit RedCap cell access information over a PBCH included in an SSB-R so that the RedCap UE may perform cell access based on the SSB-R. Para. [0172]-Kim discloses when the NR UE and the RedCap UE coexist in the NR network, the RedCap UE may reuse a NR SSB without allocation of separate/dedicated resources for access of the RedCap UE. Para. [0164]-Kim discloses Cell Access of RedCap UE),
a synchronization raster for an SSB associated with the first RAT is the same as a synchronization raster for an SSB associated with the second RAT (Para. [0241-0242]-Kim discloses Proposal #3 … due to access of the RedCap UE to a specific frequency region, the BS may configure a non-CD-SSB for measurement for the NR UE in one NR synchronization raster and allow the access of the RedCap UE. Para. [0074]-Kim discloses non-cell defining SSB (non-CD-SSB) refers to an SSB that is deployed in a NR synchronization raster but does not include RMSI scheduling information on a cell for measurement. However, the non-CD-SSB may contain information indicating the location of a CD-SSB).
Kim fails to explicitly teach the first RAT and the second RAT are different radio access technologies.
However, Xie teaches the first RAT and the second RAT are different radio access technologies (Para. [0018]-Xie discloses communicating, by a user equipment (UE) device, with a first network device that is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) ... tuning a receiver of the UE device to receive a plurality of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) from a plurality of network devices including a second network device. The second network device is associated with a second RAT different than the first RAT ... selecting the second network device from among the plurality of network devices based on a comparison of the plurality of SSBs).
Kim and Xie are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with cell addition for different wireless technologies and synchronizing different wireless technologies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim to incorporate the teachings of Xie on radio access technologies, with a motivation for SSB indicating RAT, and guarantee user equipment (UE) with reduced capability for a maximum supportable bandwidth may perform initial cell access efficiently, (Kim, Para. [0019]).
Regarding claims 2 and 22, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 21 respectively,
Kim further teaches a sequence for at least one of a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is the same for the SSB associated with the first RAT and the SSB associated with the second RAT (Para. [0083]-Kim discloses UE receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) from the BS. The SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). Para. [0232]-Kim discloses the BS may support access of the RedCap UE by disposing a separate SSB at a time and/or frequency location different from that of a CD-SSB for the legacy NR UE. The separate SSB for the access of the RedCap UE, which is different from the CD-SSB, will be referred to as an SSB-R for convenience. The SSB-R may have the same structure (PSS/SSS/PBCH) as the CD-SSB for conventional NR UE access. The relative position from the CD-SSB may be predefined in the form of a time and/or frequency offset. The SSB-R may be used only for the RedCap UE access or may be used together with the CD-SSB to transmit additional information (e.g., RedCap barring information, SIB1-R scheduling information, etc.) for the RedCap UE access. Para. [0092-0093]-Kim discloses detecting the SSB. The UE may identify the structure of the SSB burst set based on the detected SSB (time) index, and thus the UE may detect a symbol/slot/half-frame boundary ... the UE may obtain the SSB index of the SSB to which the PBCH belongs based on a DMRS sequence and a PBCH payload carried by the PBCH).
Regarding claim 3, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Kim further teaches the one or more processors, to cause the UE to receive the indication of whether the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT, are configured to cause the UE to receive the SSB (Para. [0234]-Kim discloses the BS may transmit RedCap cell access information over a PBCH included in an SSB-R so that the RedCap UE may perform cell access based on the SSB-R. Para. [0232]-Kim discloses the BS may support access of the RedCap UE by disposing a separate SSB at a time and/or frequency location different from that of a CD-SSB for the legacy NR UE. The separate SSB for the access of the RedCap UE, which is different from the CD-SSB, will be referred to as an SSB-R for convenience. The SSB-R may have the same structure (PSS/SSS/PBCH) as the CD-SSB for conventional NR UE access. The relative position from the CD-SSB may be predefined in the form of a time and/or frequency offset. The SSB-R may be used only for the RedCap UE access or may be used together with the CD-SSB to transmit additional information (e.g., RedCap barring information, SIB1-R scheduling information, etc.) for the RedCap UE access. Para. [0202]-Kim discloses the SIB1-R scheduling information transmitted simultaneously with the SIB1 scheduling information may schedule independent SIB1-R that allows the RedCap UE to access the cell only by receiving SIB1-R without receiving SIB1. Para. [0172]-Kim discloses when the NR UE and the RedCap UE coexist in the NR network, the RedCap UE may reuse a NR SSB without allocation of separate/dedicated resources for access of the RedCap UE. Para. [0164]-Kim discloses Cell Access of RedCap UE),
the SSB includes the indication of whether the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT (Para. [0083]-Kim discloses UE receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) from the BS. The SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). Para. [0232]-Kim discloses separate SSB for the access of the RedCap UE, which is different from the CD-SSB, will be referred to as an SSB-R .... The SSB-R may be used only for the RedCap UE access or may be used together with the CD-SSB to transmit additional information (e.g., RedCap barring information, SIB1-R scheduling information, etc.) for the RedCap UE access. Para. [0005]-Kim discloses receiving system information block 1 (SIB1)-scheduling information in a common search space (CSS) set ...; and determining whether to perform a residual access procedure to the first cell based on the SIB1-scheduling information. Para. [0202]-Kim discloses SIB1-R scheduling information transmitted simultaneously with the SIB1 scheduling information may schedule independent SIB1-R that allows the RedCap UE to access the cell only by receiving SIB1-R. Para. [0216-0217]-Kim discloses the BS may indicate either SIB1 or the SIB through a system information indicator. Similarly, the BS may indicate either SIB1 scheduling information or SIB scheduling information for RedCap by adding one bit (e.g., RedCap indicator) to the DCI field. Para. [0234]-Kim discloses the BS may transmit RedCap cell access information over a PBCH included in an SSB-R so that the RedCap UE may perform cell access based on the SSB-R. Para. [0172]-Kim discloses when the NR UE and the RedCap UE coexist in the NR network, the RedCap UE may reuse a NR SSB without allocation of separate/dedicated resources for access of the RedCap UE. Para. [0164]-Kim discloses Cell Access of RedCap UE).
Regarding claims 4 and 23, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 21 respectively,
Kim further teaches the indication of whether the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT is included in a primary synchronization signal (PSS) position within the SSB (Para. [0232]-Kim discloses the BS may support access of the RedCap UE by disposing a separate SSB at a time and/or frequency location different from that of a CD-SSB for the legacy NR UE. The separate SSB for the access of the RedCap UE, which is different from the CD-SSB, will be referred to as an SSB-R for convenience. The SSB-R may have the same structure (PSS/SSS/PBCH) as the CD-SSB for conventional NR UE access. The relative position from the CD-SSB may be predefined in the form of a time and/or frequency offset. The SSB-R may be used only for the RedCap UE access or may be used together with the CD-SSB to transmit additional information (e.g., RedCap barring information, SIB1-R scheduling information, etc.) for the RedCap UE access. Para. [0083]-Kim discloses the SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). Para. [0250]-Kim discloses when the PBCH-R transmission is scheduled around the PBCH (in the form of wrapping) to additionally secure PBCH-R transmission REs, the remaining 8-RB region except for a 12-RB region used for PSS transmission may be used for the PBCH-R transmission).
Regarding claim 5, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 4,
Kim further teaches a PSS position that is before a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) indicates that the SSB is associated with the first RAT and a PSS position that is after the SSS indicates that the SSB is associated with the second RAT (Para. [0232]-Kim discloses the BS may support access of the RedCap UE by disposing a separate SSB at a time and/or frequency location different from that of a CD-SSB for the legacy NR UE. The separate SSB for the access of the RedCap UE, which is different from the CD-SSB, will be referred to as an SSB-R for convenience. The SSB-R may have the same structure (PSS/SSS/PBCH) as the CD-SSB for conventional NR UE access. The relative position from the CD-SSB may be predefined in the form of a time and/or frequency offset. The SSB-R may be used only for the RedCap UE access or may be used together with the CD-SSB to transmit additional information (e.g., RedCap barring information, SIB1-R scheduling information, etc.) for the RedCap UE access. Para. [0083]-Kim discloses the SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). Para. [0250]-Kim discloses when the PBCH-R transmission is scheduled around the PBCH (in the form of wrapping) to additionally secure PBCH-R transmission REs, the remaining 8-RB region except for a 12-RB region used for PSS transmission may be used for the PBCH-R transmission).
Regarding claims 6 and 24, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 21 respectively,
Kim further teaches the indication of whether the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT is included in a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) mapping within the SSB (Para. [0083-0084]-Kim discloses the SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). The UE establishes synchronization with the BS based on the PSS/SSS … The SSB is composed of four consecutive OFDM symbols, each carrying the PSS, the PBCH, the SSS/PBCH, or the PBCH. Each of the PSS and the SSS includes one OFDM symbol by 127 subcarriers, ... The PBCH in the OFDM symbol consists of data resource elements (REs) to which a complex modulation value of the PBCH is mapped. Para. [0232]-Kim discloses the BS may support access of the RedCap UE by disposing a separate SSB at a time and/or frequency location different from that of a CD-SSB for the legacy NR UE. The separate SSB for the access of the RedCap UE, which is different from the CD-SSB, will be referred to as an SSB-R for convenience. The SSB-R may have the same structure (PSS/SSS/PBCH) as the CD-SSB for conventional NR UE access).
Regarding claim 7, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 6,
Kim further teaches an SSS mapping having an ascending order indicates that the SSB is associated with the first RAT and an SSS mapping having a descending order indicates that the SSB is associated with the second RAT (Para. [0154-0158]-Kim discloses the RedCap UE may need to report information on its device type to the BS to support RedCap UE operations different from those of the NR UE … device types may be classified according to the following criteria … Classification criterion 3: RedCap device types may be classified based on a combination of capability parameter(s). The capability parameters may be parameters for determining RedCap requirements ... The combination of capability parameters that determine a RedCap device type may be referred to as a capability parameter set of the corresponding device type. The RedCap device type may be defined, for example, by sorting capability parameter set value(s) in ascending order (or descending order) of supported max data rates).
Regarding claims 8 and 25, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 21 respectively,
Kim further teaches the indication of whether the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT is included in at least one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) demodulation reference signal (DMRS) mapping or a PBCH DMRS sequence (Para. [0235]-Kim discloses it may be considered to use sequence(s) constituting the SSB-R for RedCap UE access different from those of the CD-SSB. The different sequence may be an orthogonal sequence or a time reversal or frequency reversal type of sequence. For the PBCH, the probability of misdetection may be reduced by a DMRS sequence and/or a PBCH scrambling sequence. Para. [0090-0093]-Kim discloses the time-domain positions of the candidate SSBs are indexed from (SSB indices) 0 to L-1 in temporal order within the SSB burst set (i.e., half-frame) ... when the UE detects the PBCH in which the half-frame indication bit is set to 1, the UE may determine that an SSB to which the PBCH belongs is included in the second half-frame of the frame. Finally, the UE may obtain the SSB index of the SSB to which the PBCH belongs based on a DMRS sequence).
Regarding claims 9 and 26, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 21 respectively,
Kim further teaches the indication of whether the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT is included in at least one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) mapping or a data scrambling sequence (Para. [0235]-Kim discloses it may be considered to use sequence(s) constituting the SSB-R for RedCap UE access different from those of the CD-SSB. The different sequence may be an orthogonal sequence or a time reversal or frequency reversal type of sequence. For the PBCH, the probability of misdetection may be reduced by a DMRS sequence and/or a PBCH scrambling sequence. Para. [0084]-Kim discloses the SSB is composed of four consecutive OFDM symbols, each carrying the PSS, the PBCH, the SSS/PBCH, or the PBCH ... The PBCH in the OFDM symbol consists of data resource elements (REs) to which a complex modulation value of the PBCH is mapped, and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) REs to which a DMRS for the PBCH is mapped. Para. [0090-0093]-Kim discloses the time-domain positions of the candidate SSBs are indexed from (SSB indices) 0 to L-1 in temporal order within the SSB burst set (i.e., half-frame) ... when the UE detects the PBCH in which the half-frame indication bit is set to 1, the UE may determine that an SSB to which the PBCH belongs is included in the second half-frame of the frame. Finally, the UE may obtain the SSB index of the SSB to which the PBCH belongs).
Regarding claims 10 and 27, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 21 respectively,
Kim further teaches a sequence of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a sequence of a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) are the same for the SSB associated with the first RAT and the SSB associated with the second RAT (Para. [0083]-Kim discloses UE receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) from the BS. The SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). Para. [0232]-Kim discloses the BS may support access of the RedCap UE by disposing a separate SSB at a time and/or frequency location different from that of a CD-SSB for the legacy NR UE. The separate SSB for the access of the RedCap UE, which is different from the CD-SSB, will be referred to as an SSB-R for convenience. The SSB-R may have the same structure (PSS/SSS/PBCH) as the CD-SSB for conventional NR UE access. The relative position from the CD-SSB may be predefined in the form of a time and/or frequency offset. The SSB-R may be used only for the RedCap UE access or may be used together with the CD-SSB to transmit additional information (e.g., RedCap barring information, SIB1-R scheduling information, etc.) for the RedCap UE access. Para. [0092-0093]-Kim discloses detecting the SSB. The UE may identify the structure of the SSB burst set based on the detected SSB (time) index, and thus the UE may detect a symbol/slot/half-frame boundary ... the UE may obtain the SSB index of the SSB to which the PBCH belongs based on a DMRS sequence and a PBCH payload carried by the PBCH),
a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) of the SSB associated with the second RAT spans four symbols of the SSB (Para. [0084]-Kim discloses the SSB is composed of four consecutive OFDM symbols, each carrying the PSS, the PBCH, the SSS/PBCH, or the PBCH), and
a PBCH of the SSB associated with the first RAT spans a quantity of symbols that is less than four symbols of the SSB (Para. [0249]-Kim discloses PBCH-R may be transmitted after FDM with a CD-SSB or PBCH. For example, the PBCH-R may be transmitted by performing FDM between OFDM symbols for transmitting a CD-SSB or PBCH. The PBCH is transmitted in the remaining three OFDM symbols except for the first OFDM symbols among the four OFDM symbols constituting the CD-SSB. In this case, the PBCH-R may be transmitted after FDM of the CD-SSB or PBCH over, for example, all four OFDM symbols or the last three OFDM symbols).
Regarding claims 11 and 28, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 21 respectively,
Kim further teaches a sequence of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a sequence of a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) are the same for the SSB associated with the first RAT and the SSB associated with the second RAT (Para. [0083]-Kim discloses UE receives a synchronization signal block (SSB) from the BS. The SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). Para. [0232]-Kim discloses the BS may support access of the RedCap UE by disposing a separate SSB at a time and/or frequency location different from that of a CD-SSB for the legacy NR UE. The separate SSB for the access of the RedCap UE, which is different from the CD-SSB, will be referred to as an SSB-R for convenience. The SSB-R may have the same structure (PSS/SSS/PBCH) as the CD-SSB for conventional NR UE access. The relative position from the CD-SSB may be predefined in the form of a time and/or frequency offset. The SSB-R may be used only for the RedCap UE access or may be used together with the CD-SSB to transmit additional information (e.g., RedCap barring information, SIB1-R scheduling information, etc.) for the RedCap UE access. Para. [0092-0093]-Kim discloses detecting the SSB. The UE may identify the structure of the SSB burst set based on the detected SSB (time) index, and thus the UE may detect a symbol/slot/half-frame boundary ... the UE may obtain the SSB index of the SSB to which the PBCH belongs based on a DMRS sequence and a PBCH payload carried by the PBCH), and
a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) of the SSB associated with the second RAT is offset from the SSB associated with the first RAT by a quantity of symbols or a quantity of slots (Para. [0248-0249]-Kim discloses when a PBCH-R is transmitted in the above-described cell access examples, the PBCH-R may be transmitted after TDM with a CD-SSB or PBCH. The PBCH-R may consist of X (>=1) consecutive or non-consecutive OFDM symbols, and the position of the PBCH-R transmission OFDM symbol(s) may be determined by a relative time offset from the CD-SSB. In this case, the time offset may be predefined in units of OFDM symbols or slots. The position of the PBCH-R may be configured such that X=2 in consideration of the position of the SSB in the slot and the PBCH-R may be located between CD-SSBs ... frequency location of the PBCH-R may be provided over the PBCH as frequency offset Z relative to the CD-SSB or PBCH).
Regarding claim 12, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 11,
Kim further teaches a master information block (MIB) for the SSB associated with the first RAT indicates a presence of a MIB for the SSB associated with the second RAT (Para. [0167]-Kim discloses UE may obtain an MIB from the SSB (or a PBCH thereof) ..., the SSB may be divided into a NR SSB and an SSB-R, and the UE and BS may transmit/receive at least one of the NR SSB and/or SSB-R. In addition, the SSB may be divided into a CD-SSB and a non-CD-SSB, and the UE and BS may transmit/receive at least one of the CD-SSB and/or non-CD-SSB. (See also Para. [0095])).
Regarding claim 13, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 11,
Kim further teaches the quantity of symbols is a fixed quantity of symbols or the quantity of slots is a fixed quantity of slots (Para. [0248-0249]-Kim discloses when a PBCH-R is transmitted in the above-described cell access examples, the PBCH-R may be transmitted after TDM with a CD-SSB or PBCH. The PBCH-R may consist of X (>=1) consecutive or non-consecutive OFDM symbols, and the position of the PBCH-R transmission OFDM symbol(s) may be determined by a relative time offset from the CD-SSB. In this case, the time offset may be predefined in units of OFDM symbols or slots. The position of the PBCH-R may be configured such that X=2 in consideration of the position of the SSB in the slot and the PBCH-R may be located between CD-SSBs ... frequency location of the PBCH-R may be provided over the PBCH as frequency offset Z relative to the CD-SSB or PBCH).
Regarding claim 14, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 11,
Kim further teaches the quantity of symbols or the quantity of slots is in accordance with a band that is used for receiving the SSB (Para. [0086]-Kim discloses number of SSB transmissions L may be given depending carrier frequency bands. Para. [0248-0249]-Kim discloses when a PBCH-R is transmitted in the above-described cell access examples, the PBCH-R may be transmitted after TDM with a CD-SSB or PBCH. The PBCH-R may consist of X (>=1) consecutive or non-consecutive OFDM symbols, and the position of the PBCH-R transmission OFDM symbol(s) may be determined by a relative time offset from the CD-SSB. In this case, the time offset may be predefined in units of OFDM symbols or slots. The position of the PBCH-R may be configured such that X=2 in consideration of the position of the SSB in the slot and the PBCH-R may be located between CD-SSBs ... the RedCap UE needs to know exactly the frequency location as well as the time location. Information on the frequency location of the PBCH-R may be provided over the PBCH as frequency offset Z relative to the CD-SSB or PBCH ... the PBCH-R may be transmitted such that the PBCH-R surround the PBCH in the frequency domain).
Regarding claim 15, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 11,
Kim further teaches the quantity of symbols or the quantity of slots is indicated in a master information block (MIB) for the SSB associated with the first RAT (Para. [0095]-Kim discloses System information (SI) is divided into a master information block (MIB) and a plurality of system information blocks (SIBs). Para. [0228]-Kim discloses the BS may indicate whether a corresponding cell supports RedCap in a CORESET #0 BW (configuration) indicated by a PBCH. The CORESET #0 BW may be configured by a pdcch-ConfigSIB1 field of an MIB. Para. [0236]-Kim discloses the location of CORESET #0-R may be indicated by the PBCH-R with a time and/or frequency offset from the SSB-R. The time offset may be indicated at the level of symbol(s) or slot(s). Para. [0248]-Kim discloses the PBCH-R may consist of X (>=1) consecutive or non-consecutive OFDM symbols, and the position of the PBCH-R transmission OFDM symbol(s) may be determined by a relative time offset from the CD-SSB. In this case, the time offset may be predefined in units of OFDM symbols or slots).
Regarding claim 16, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Kim further teaches the indication of whether the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT is included in a master information block (MIB) (Para. [0167-0168]-Kim discloses UE may obtain an MIB from the SSB (or a PBCH thereof) ..., the SSB may be divided into a NR SSB and an SSB-R, and the UE and BS may transmit/receive at least one of the NR SSB and/or SSB-R. In addition, the SSB may be divided into a CD-SSB and a non-CD-SSB, and the UE and BS may transmit/receive at least one of the CD-SSB and/or non-CD-SSB ... The BS may transmit SIB1 to the UE based on the MIB, and the UE may receive SIB1 from the BS based on the MIB (SH204). SIB1 may be transmitted/received based on SIB1-scheduling related information (e.g., CORESET0/CSS configuration for a PDCCH scheduling SIB1) included in the MIB. SIB1 may include information related to availability and scheduling of other SI messages (SIBx, where x>1) ..., SIB1 may include NR SIB1 or SIB1-R).
Regarding claim 17, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 16,
Kim further teaches the MIB includes a bit that indicates whether the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT (Fig. 9, Para. [0175]-Kim discloses the BS may use at least part (e.g., reserved or spare bit(s)) of a PBCH payload (e.g., MIB) generated at the higher layer or some bit(s) of a PBCH payload generated (additionally) at the physical layer (L1) in order to indicate whether a corresponding cell supports the RedCap UE (e.g., indication based on SH202 of FIG. 9). Para. [0276]-Kim discloses for example, RSA operations may include: defining/interpreting (or reinterpreting) reserved/spare bits of a PBCH payload/MIB for the RedCap UE only; or interpreting (part of) the PBCH payload bits differently from those interpreted by the NR UE (e.g., SIB1/SIB1-R scheduling information, information on whether the RedCap UE is supported, RedCap UE (type) barring information, etc.)), and
processing the SSB based at least in part on the indication of whether the SSB is associated with the first RAT or the second RAT comprises processing the SSB based at least in part on the bit included in the MIB (Para. [0093]-Kim discloses UE may obtain the SSB index of the SSB to which the PBCH belongs based on a DMRS sequence and a PBCH payload carried by the PBCH. Fig. 9, Para. [0175]-Kim discloses the BS may use at least part (e.g., reserved or spare bit(s)) of a PBCH payload (e.g., MIB) generated at the higher layer or some bit(s) of a PBCH payload generated (additionally) at the physical layer (L1) in order to indicate whether a corresponding cell supports the RedCap UE (e.g., indication based on SH202 of FIG. 9). Para. [0276]-Kim discloses for example, RSA operations may include: defining/interpreting (or reinterpreting) reserved/spare bits of a PBCH payload/MIB for the RedCap UE only; or interpreting (part of) the PBCH payload bits differently from those interpreted by the NR UE (e.g., SIB1/SIB1-R scheduling information, information on whether the RedCap UE is supported, RedCap UE (type) barring information, etc.)).
Regarding claim 18, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Kim further teaches a synchronization frequency for receiving the SSB associated with the first RAT is an offset from a synchronization frequency for receiving the SSB associated with the second RAT (Para. [0234]-Kim discloses the RedCap synchronization raster may be defined in the form of NR synchronization raster+frequency offset. The frequency offset may be determined from among values that satisfy the following condition: a probability that the NR UE erroneously detects the SSB-R or the RedCap UE erroneously detects the CD-SSB becomes less than or equal to a specific value),
the offset is based at least in part on the synchronization raster (Para. [0231]-Kim discloses [Cell Access Related Proposal #2] Access Based on SSB with Frequency (and/or Time) Offset from NR Synchronization Raster).
Regarding claim 19, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 18,
Kim further teaches the offset is in accordance with a band that is used for receiving the SSB (Para. [0086]-Kim discloses number of SSB transmissions L may be given depending carrier frequency bands as follows. One slot includes up to two SSBs [0087] For frequency range up to 3 GHz, L=4 [0088] For frequency range from 3 GHz to 6 GHz, L= [0089] For frequency range from 6 GHz to 52.6 GHz, L=64. Para. [0248-0249]-Kim discloses when a PBCH-R is transmitted in the above-described cell access examples, the PBCH-R may be transmitted after TDM with a CD-SSB or PBCH. The PBCH-R may consist of X (>=1) consecutive or non-consecutive OFDM symbols, and the position of the PBCH-R transmission OFDM symbol(s) may be determined by a relative time offset from the CD-SSB. In this case, the time offset may be predefined in units of OFDM symbols or slots. The position of the PBCH-R may be configured such that X=2 in consideration of the position of the SSB in the slot and the PBCH-R may be located between CD-SSBs ... the RedCap UE needs to know exactly the frequency location as well as the time location. Information on the frequency location of the PBCH-R may be provided over the PBCH as frequency offset Z relative to the CD-SSB or PBCH ... the PBCH-R may be transmitted such that the PBCH-R surround the PBCH in the frequency domain).
Regarding claim 20, Kim, in view of Xie, teaches the apparatus of claim 18,
Kim further teaches the offset is in accordance with a frequency range that is used for receiving the SSB (Para. [0086]-Kim discloses number of SSB transmissions L may be given depending carrier frequency bands as follows. One slot includes up to two SSBs [0087] For frequency range up to 3 GHz, L=4 [0088] For frequency range from 3 GHz to 6 GHz, L= [0089] For frequency range from 6 GHz to 52.6 GHz, L=64. Para. [0248-0249]-Kim discloses when a PBCH-R is transmitted in the above-described cell access examples, the PBCH-R may be transmitted after TDM with a CD-SSB or PBCH. The PBCH-R may consist of X (>=1) consecutive or non-consecutive OFDM symbols, and the position of the PBCH-R transmission OFDM symbol(s) may be determined by a relative time offset from the CD-SSB. In this case, the time offset may be predefined in units of OFDM symbols or slots. The position of the PBCH-R may be configured such that X=2 in consideration of the position of the SSB in the slot and the PBCH-R may be located between CD-SSBs ... the RedCap UE needs to know exactly the frequency location as well as the time location. Information on the frequency location of the PBCH-R may be provided over the PBCH as frequency offset Z relative to the CD-SSB or PBCH ... the PBCH-R may be transmitted such that the PBCH-R surround the PBCH in the frequency domain).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference (Xie et al. (US 20230026600 A1)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472