DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/14/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a light modulation device configured to in claims 10-11 (fig. 1: specifically devices 4R, 4G, and 4B & ¶¶0024-0029 of the specification serves as sufficient art-recognized structure for performing the claimed function of light modulation); and
a projection optical device configured to in claims 10-11 (fig. 1: specifically device 6 & ¶0030 of the specification serves as sufficient art-recognized structure for performing the claimed function of light modulation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikmet et al. (US 20230229068 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20250084308 A1).
Concerning claim 1, Hikmet et al. (hereinafter Hikmet) teaches a phosphor comprising:
a phosphor phase made of A3B5O12:Ce having a garnet structure (fig. 2A: 210; ¶0013; ¶0015; ¶0151); wherein
a ratio of Ce to A in terms of number of atoms is 0.0002 or more and 0.005 or less (¶0110: The content of Ce may be at least 0.2% (0.002) to 1.5% (0.015) of A, especially 0.4% (0.004) to 1.0% (0.010), wherein the values of 0.002 and/or 0.004 are more than the claimed 0.0002 and less than 0.005 ),
A is at least one selected from the group consisting of Lu, Gd, Tb, Ga, and Y, and B is Al (¶0015: “…the luminescent material comprises a luminescent material of the type A.sub.3B.sub.5O.sub.12:Ce, wherein A in embodiments comprises one or more of Y, La, Gd, Tb and Lu, especially (at least) one or more of Y, Gd, Tb and Lu, and wherein B in embodiments comprises one or more of Al, Ga, In and Sc.”). Not explicitly taught is a matrix phase having a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the phosphor phase.
Li et al. (hereinafter Li), in the same field of endeavor, teaches a matrix phase having a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the phosphor phase (¶0035: aluminum nitride matrix phase). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hikmet and Li and have a matrix phase having a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the phosphor phase. Having a matrix phase composed of material having a higher refractive index allows for more efficiently confined light generated in the matrix phase, thereby enhancing light-guiding properties.
Concerning claim 2, Hikmet further teaches the phosphor according to claim 1, wherein A is Y (¶0015).
Concerning claim 3, Hikmet further teaches the phosphor according to claim 1, wherein the ratio is 0.003 or less (¶0110: The content of Ce may be at least 0.2% (0.002) to 1.5% (0.015) of A, wherein the value of 0.002 is less than the claimed 0.003).
Concerning claim 4, Hikmet further teaches the phosphor according to claim 1, wherein the ratio is 0.001 or more (¶0110: The content of Ce may be at least 0.2% (0.002) to 1.5% (0.015) of A, especially 0.4% (0.004) to 1.0% (0.010), wherein the values of 0.002 and 0.004 are more than the claimed 0.001).
Concerning claim 5, Li further teaches the phosphor according to claim 1, wherein the matrix phase is AlN (¶0035).
Concerning claim 6, Hikmet in view of Li further teaches a wavelength conversion device (Hikmet, figs. 1A-3B: assembly 2000; ¶¶0012-0013) comprising:
a substrate (Hikmet, ¶0071; ¶0073; figs. 1A-3B: element 400);
the phosphor according to claim 1 provided on the substrate and configured to convert an incident excitation light into fluorescence (The rejection of claim 1 applies. See also, Hikmet, figs. 1A-3B: luminescent body 200; ¶0004; ¶0009; ¶0013); and
a reflective layer provided at an opposite side of a light incident side of the phosphor (Hikmet, figs. 1A-3B: coating layer 500 comprises reflective layer 510 positioned under luminescent body 200; ¶0071).
Concerning claim 7, Hikmet in view of Li further teaches a wavelength conversion device (Hikmet, Hikmet, figs. 1A-3B: assembly 2000; ¶¶0012-0013) comprising:
a substrate (Hikmet, ¶0071; ¶0073; figs. 1A-3B: element 400);
the phosphor according to claim 1 provided on the substrate and configured to convert an incident excitation light into fluorescence (The rejection of claim 1 applies. See also, Hikmet, figs. 1A-3B: luminescent body 200; ¶0004; ¶0009; ¶0013); and
an optical layer provided on a light incident side of the phosphor and configured to transmit the excitation light and reflect the fluorescence (Hikmet, ¶¶0089-0091: “In embodiments, also one or more optics, like a lens, a reflector, an optical filter, may be configured in the optical path between light generating element and item or material”).
Concerning claim 8, Hikmet in view of Li further teaches an illumination device (Hikmet, figs. 1A-4: light generating device 1000, ¶0165) comprising:
a light source configured to emit the excitation light (figs. 1A-3B: light source 100); and
the wavelength conversion device according to claim 6, on which the excitation light is incident (The rejection of claims 1 and 6 apply. See also, Hikmet, figs. 1A-3B where light source 100 emits the excitation light on assembly 2000).
Concerning claim 9, Hikmet in view of Li further teaches an illumination device (Hikmet, figs. 1A-4: light generating device 1000, ¶0165) comprising:
a light source configured to emit the excitation light (figs. 1A-3B: light source 100); and
the wavelength conversion device according to claim 7, on which the excitation light is incident (The rejection of claims 1 and 7 apply. See also, Hikmet, figs. 1A-3B where light source 100 emits the excitation light on assembly 2000).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikmet et al. (US 20230229068 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20250084308 A1) and Chiou (US 20230069926 A1).
Concerning claim 10, Hikmet in view of Li teaches the illumination device according to claim 8. Hikmet further teaches a projector (Hikmet, fig. 4: projector 3; ¶0165) comprising:
the illumination device (Hikmet, figs. 1A-4: light generating device 1000, ¶0133; ¶0165). Not explicitly taught is the projector comprising: a light modulation device configured to modulate a light emitted from the illumination device; and a projection optical device configured to project the light modulated by the light modulation device.
Chiou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a projector, comprising:
a light modulation device configured to modulate a light emitted from the illumination device (fig. 1: light valve 14, which may be a spatial light modulator (SLM) (see, ¶0034)); and
a projection optical device configured to project the light modulated by the light modulation device (fig. 1: projection lens 16; ¶0034). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add these commonly known features into the projector of the Hikmet in view of Li invention in order to convert the light from the illumination device and project a color image on a projection target (Chiou, ¶0034).
Concerning claim 11, Hikmet in view of Li teaches the illumination device according to claim 9. Hikmet further teaches a projector (Hikmet, fig. 4: projector 3; ¶0165) comprising:
the illumination device (Hikmet, figs. 1A-4: light generating device 1000, ¶0133; ¶0165). Not explicitly taught is the projector comprising: a light modulation device configured to modulate a light emitted from the illumination device; and a projection optical device configured to project the light modulated by the light modulation device.
Chiou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a projector, comprising:
a light modulation device configured to modulate a light emitted from the illumination device (fig. 1: light valve 14, which may be a spatial light modulator (SLM) (see, ¶0034)); and
a projection optical device configured to project the light modulated by the light modulation device (fig. 1: projection lens 16; ¶0034). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add these commonly known features into the projector of the Hikmet in view of Li invention in order to convert the light from the illumination device and project a color image on a projection target (Chiou, ¶0034).
Conclusion
/James M Anderson II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425