DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication on July 22nd, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
The present application claims priority to provisional application no. 63/452,073, filed on March 14th, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Muruganathan et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2023/0300835, hereinafter Muruganathan).
With respect to claim 1, Muruganathan discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device from a base station (paragraph [0097], lines 3-5, data are sent to a UE), one or more configuration parameters indicating one or more sets of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) codepoints for a set of cells (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, the codepoint to which the TCI state is mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI states);
receiving an activation command (paragraph [0104], lines 6-11, where the TCI with TCI StateId I shall be activated and mapped to the codepoint of the DCI) mapping one or more TCI states to one or more TCI codepoints for a first cell of the set of cells (paragraph [0104], lines 1-4, mapping to codepoints of the TCI field in DCI);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) configured to schedule a communication via the first cell (paragraph [0117], TCI state is indicated in DCI scheduling), wherein the DCI indicates a set of TCI codepoints, of the one or more sets of TCI codepoints for the set of cells, comprising a first TCI codepoint for the first cell (paragraph [0115], lines 1-7, TCI state indicated for the nth codepoint in the TCI field of DCI); and
based on the one or more TCI codepoints for the first cell not comprising the first TCI codepoint (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, if none of configured TCI states for the serving cell), communicating, with the base station via the first cell, based on a default TCI state of the one or more TCI states (paragraph [0120], default TCI states are defined).
With respect to claim 2, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining, based on the receiving the DCI, that the first TCI codepoint is not one of the one or more TCI codepoints for the first cell (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, if none of configured TCI states for the serving cell).
With respect to claim 3, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more TCI codepoints for the first cell not comprising the first TCI codepoint indicates that the first TCI codepoint is not activated for the first cell (paragraph [0092], lines 2-5, TCI states are inactive).
With respect to claim 4, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the communicating with the base station comprises one or more of:
sending a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission to the base station (paragraph [0093], lines 1-4; or
receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception from the base station (paragraph [0093], lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 5, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each set of TCI codepoints of the one or more sets of TCI codepoints comprises TCI codepoints associated with respective cells of the set of cells (paragraph [0115], lines 1-7, TCI state indicated for the nth codepoint in the TCI field of DCI).
With respect to claim 6, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising mapping, based on the activation command, each TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints to a respective TCI state of the one or more TCI states (paragraph [0104], lines 1-4, mapping to codepoints of the TCI field in DCI).
With respect to claim 7, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first TCI codepoint is greater than a maximum TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints (paragraph [0171], lines 1-4, maximum number of activated TCI codepoints).
With respect to claim 8, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the default TCI state is indicated by one or more of:
a lowest TCI state index of one or more TCI state indexes of the one or more TCI states (paragraph [0123]);
a lowest TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints for the first cell (paragraph [0179]; or
a lowest TCI codepoint, of the one or more TCI codepoints, that is mapped to a single TCI state (paragraph [0179]).
With respect to claim 9, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving second DCI configured to schedule a second communication via a second cell, of the set of cells (paragraph [0102], lines 1-5, multi-TRP scenario), wherein the second DCI indicates a second set of TCI codepoints, of the one or more sets of TCI codepoints for the set of cells, comprising a second TCI codepoint for the second cell (paragraph [0115], lines 1-7, TCI state indicated for the nth codepoint in the TCI field of DCI); and
based on the second TCI codepoint being activated for the second cell, communicating, with the base station via the second cell, based on a TCI state indicated by the second TCI codepoint (paragraph [0104], lines 6-11, where the TCI with TCI StateId I shall be activated and mapped to the codepoint of the DCI).
With respect to claim 10, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining, based on the default TCI state, one or more of:
a spatial filter (paragraph [0079]),
a power (paragraph [0076]), or
a reference signal, for use in the communicating via the first cell (paragraph [0088]).
With respect to claim 11, Muruganathan discloses a method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (paragraph [0097], lines 3-5, data are sent to a UE), a command activating one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for a cell (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, the codepoint to which the TCI state is mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI states);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) configured to schedule the cell for use in communications (paragraph [0117], TCI state is indicated in DCI scheduling), wherein the DCI indicates a portion of a TCI state table for a set of cells comprising the cell (paragraph [0115], lines 1-7, TCI state indicated for the nth codepoint in the TCI field of DCI);
determining, based on the receiving the DCI, that the portion of the TCI state table does not indicate, for the cell, any of the one or more activated TCI states (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, if none of configured TCI states for the serving cell); and
communicating, based on the determining, based on a default TCI state of the one or more activated TCI states (paragraph [0120], default TCI states are defined).
With respect to claim 12, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising receiving, from the base station, one or more configuration parameters indicating the TCI state table for the set of cells (paragraph [0123]).
With respect to claim 13, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the command activating the one or more TCI states maps one or more activated TCI codepoints to the one or more activated TCI states (paragraph [0104], lines 6-11, where the TCI with TCI StateId I shall be activated and mapped to the codepoint of the DCI).
With respect to claim 14, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the DCI indicates of one or more co-scheduled cells comprising the cell (paragraph [0097], transmitted from each of the two TRP’s).
With respect to claim 15, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the default TCI state is indicated by one or more of:
a default TCI state index of one or more TCI state indexes of the one or more activated TCI states (paragraph [0147], lines 1-13, where i is the index of the codepoint);
a default TCI codepoint of one or more TCI codepoints corresponding to the one or more activated TCI states for the cell (paragraph [0147], lines 13-22).
With respect to claim 16, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the communicating based on the default TCI state comprises applying the default TCI state to one or more communications via the cell (paragraph [0120], default TCI states are defined).
With respect to claim 17, Muruganathan discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device from a base station (paragraph [0097], lines 3-5, data are sent to a UE), one or more configuration parameters indicating one or more sets of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) codepoints for a set of cells (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, the codepoint to which the TCI state is mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI states);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) configured to schedule a first cell, of the set of cells (paragraph [0117], TCI state is indicated in DCI scheduling), for use in communications, wherein the DCI indicates a set of TCI codepoints, of the one or more sets of TCI codepoints for the set of cells, comprising a first TCI codepoint for the first cell (paragraph [0115], lines 1-7, TCI state indicated for the nth codepoint in the TCI field of DCI); and
based on the first TCI codepoint not being activated for the first cell, communicating (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, if none of configured TCI states for the serving cell), with the base station via the first cell, based on a default TCI state that is activated for the first cell (paragraph [0120], default TCI states are defined).
With respect to claim 18, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 17, receiving an activation command mapping one or more activated TCI states to one or more activated TCI codepoints for the first cell of the set of cells, wherein the first TCI codepoint is not among the one or more activated TCI codepoints (paragraph [0104], lines 6-11, where the TCI with TCI StateId I shall be activated and mapped to the codepoint of the DCI).
With respect to claim 19, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the DCI is configured to schedule:
a PDSCH reception via the first cell (paragraph [0093], lines 1-4); or
a PUSCH transmission via the first cell (paragraph [0093], lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 20, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the one or more configuration parameters indicating the one or more sets of TCI codepoints comprises a TCI state table, and wherein the DCI indicates a row, of the TCI state table, comprising the set of TCI codepoints (Figure 15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 22nd, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claims 1, 11, and 17, the applicant argues that Muruganathan fails to disclose one or more configuration parameters indicated one or more set of transmission configuration indicators (TCI) codepoints for a set of cells.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant’s arguments appear to be based on the premise that the claims require that the “set of cells” must contain more than one cell, however the applicant’s specification makes clear that a “set of cell” need only contain a single cell. In the application’s specification describing the various embodiments of sets of cells, which may include a primary cell (PCell), primary secondary cell (PSCell), or a secondary cell (SCell), see paragraph [0211], the specifications explicitly states that “The set of cells may comprise a cell”, the specification goes on to state that “The set of cells may be (and/or may be interchangeably used with) a plurality of cells”. Therefor it is the examiner’s interpretation of the claims as currently written allow for the “set of cells” to be either one or more cells, and therefore the cited portion of Muruganathan properly teaches the claim limitation.
Additional, as it related to the prior art disclosing more than one cell, the examiner notes that in Muruganathan, the term “cell” is used synonymously with “beams”, see paragraph [0074]. And at least in paragraph [0139], lines 7-11, Muruganathan goes on to describe sets of TCI state corresponding to a set of beams.
With respect to claims 1, 11, and 17, the applicant argues that Muruganathan fails to disclose wherein the DCI indicates a set of TCI codepoints of the one or more set of TCI codepoints for the set of cells, comprising a first TCI codepoint for the first cell.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Muruganathan discloses one or more set of TCI field codepoints in lines 1-7 of paragraph [0144], and shown in Figure 20, where the set of codepoints include K=1, 2, 3 bits, dependent on the DCI format. Additionally, lines 1-8 of paragraph [0145], describes an embodiment for a set of TCI codepoints for S0+1 to S0+S. Both of these embodiments, among others described in the prior art, teach a set of TCI codepoints indicated by DCI corresponding to a TCI cell (see paragraph [0139] which shows the TCI state relating to one set of beams, ie. cells).
With respect to claims 1, 11, and 17, the applicant argues that Muruganathan fails to disclose based on the one or more TCI codepoints for the first cell not comprising the first TCI codepoint, communicating, with the base station via the first cell, based on a default TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI states.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Contrary to the applicant’s assertion that Muruganath does not disclose any situations where no TCI states are configured, the mere existence of the teaching by the prior art of a default TCI state (see paragraph [0118] and [0123]) implies a situation where the TCI state for a given codepoint of TCI field to TCI mapping includes the scenario where the cell does not comprise a TCI codepoint. In the that scenario, where there is no TCI codepoint for the cell, there is a default to the TCI state corresponding to the lowest codepoint, see paragraphs [0122]-[0123]. Thus it is the examiner position that the teaching of Muruganath’s default TCI state to the lowest codepoint necessarilty means that there was not a corresponding codepoint assigned prior to the defaulting to the lowest codepoint, and thus the prior art properly teaches the claims as currently presented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhu Pat. Pub. 2024/0090073
Shahmohammadian Pat. Pub. 2024/0039582
Xiao Pat. Pub. 2024/0015740
Zhou Pat. Pub. 2023/0300604
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
9/30/26
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457