DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication on March 14th, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
The present application claims priority to provisional application no. 63/452,073, filed on March 14th, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Muruganathan et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2023/0300835, hereinafter Muruganathan).
With respect to claim 1, Muruganathan discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device from a base station (paragraph [0097], lines 3-5, data are sent to a UE), one or more configuration parameters indicating one or more sets of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) codepoints for a set of cells (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, the codepoint to which the TCI state is mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI states);
receiving an activation command (paragraph [0104], lines 6-11, where the TCI with TCI StateId I shall be activated and mapped to the codepoint of the DCI) mapping one or more TCI states to one or more TCI codepoints for a first cell of the set of cells (paragraph [0104], lines 1-4, mapping to codepoints of the TCI field in DCI);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) configured to schedule a communication via the first cell (paragraph [0117], TCI state is indicated in DCI scheduling), wherein the DCI indicates a set of TCI codepoints, of the one or more sets of TCI codepoints for the set of cells, comprising a first TCI codepoint for the first cell (paragraph [0115], lines 1-7, TCI state indicated for the nth codepoint in the TCI field of DCI); and
based on the one or more TCI codepoints for the first cell not comprising the first TCI codepoint (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, if none of configured TCI states for the serving cell), communicating, with the base station via the first cell, based on a default TCI state of the one or more TCI states (paragraph [0120], default TCI states are defined).
With respect to claim 2, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining, based on the receiving the DCI, that the first TCI codepoint is not one of the one or more TCI codepoints for the first cell (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, if none of configured TCI states for the serving cell).
With respect to claim 3, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more TCI codepoints for the first cell not comprising the first TCI codepoint indicates that the first TCI codepoint is not activated for the first cell (paragraph [0092], lines 2-5, TCI states are inactive).
With respect to claim 4, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the communicating with the base station comprises one or more of:
sending a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission to the base station (paragraph [0093], lines 1-4; or
receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception from the base station (paragraph [0093], lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 5, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each set of TCI codepoints of the one or more sets of TCI codepoints comprises TCI codepoints associated with respective cells of the set of cells (paragraph [0115], lines 1-7, TCI state indicated for the nth codepoint in the TCI field of DCI).
With respect to claim 6, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising mapping, based on the activation command, each TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints to a respective TCI state of the one or more TCI states (paragraph [0104], lines 1-4, mapping to codepoints of the TCI field in DCI).
With respect to claim 7, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first TCI codepoint is greater than a maximum TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints (paragraph [0171], lines 1-4, maximum number of activated TCI codepoints).
With respect to claim 8, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the default TCI state is indicated by one or more of:
a lowest TCI state index of one or more TCI state indexes of the one or more TCI states (paragraph [0123]);
a lowest TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints for the first cell (paragraph [0179]; or
a lowest TCI codepoint, of the one or more TCI codepoints, that is mapped to a single TCI state (paragraph [0179]).
With respect to claim 9, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving second DCI configured to schedule a second communication via a second cell, of the set of cells (paragraph [0102], lines 1-5, multi-TRP scenario), wherein the second DCI indicates a second set of TCI codepoints, of the one or more sets of TCI codepoints for the set of cells, comprising a second TCI codepoint for the second cell (paragraph [0115], lines 1-7, TCI state indicated for the nth codepoint in the TCI field of DCI); and
based on the second TCI codepoint being activated for the second cell, communicating, with the base station via the second cell, based on a TCI state indicated by the second TCI codepoint (paragraph [0104], lines 6-11, where the TCI with TCI StateId I shall be activated and mapped to the codepoint of the DCI).
With respect to claim 10, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining, based on the default TCI state, one or more of:
a spatial filter (paragraph [0079]),
a power (paragraph [0076]), or
a reference signal, for use in the communicating via the first cell (paragraph [0088]).
With respect to claim 11, Muruganathan discloses a method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (paragraph [0097], lines 3-5, data are sent to a UE), a command activating one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for a cell (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, the codepoint to which the TCI state is mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI states);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) configured to schedule the cell for use in communications (paragraph [0117], TCI state is indicated in DCI scheduling), wherein the DCI indicates a portion of a TCI state table for a set of cells comprising the cell (paragraph [0115], lines 1-7, TCI state indicated for the nth codepoint in the TCI field of DCI);
determining, based on the receiving the DCI, that the portion of the TCI state table does not indicate, for the cell, any of the one or more activated TCI states (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, if none of configured TCI states for the serving cell); and
communicating, based on the determining, based on a default TCI state of the one or more activated TCI states (paragraph [0120], default TCI states are defined).
With respect to claim 12, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising receiving, from the base station, one or more configuration parameters indicating the TCI state table for the set of cells (paragraph [0123]).
With respect to claim 13, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the command activating the one or more TCI states maps one or more activated TCI codepoints to the one or more activated TCI states (paragraph [0104], lines 6-11, where the TCI with TCI StateId I shall be activated and mapped to the codepoint of the DCI).
With respect to claim 14, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the DCI indicates of one or more co-scheduled cells comprising the cell (paragraph [0097], transmitted from each of the two TRP’s).
With respect to claim 15, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the default TCI state is indicated by one or more of:
a default TCI state index of one or more TCI state indexes of the one or more activated TCI states (paragraph [0147], lines 1-13, where i is the index of the codepoint);
a default TCI codepoint of one or more TCI codepoints corresponding to the one or more activated TCI states for the cell (paragraph [0147], lines 13-22).
With respect to claim 16, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the communicating based on the default TCI state comprises applying the default TCI state to one or more communications via the cell (paragraph [0120], default TCI states are defined).
With respect to claim 17, Muruganathan discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device from a base station (paragraph [0097], lines 3-5, data are sent to a UE), one or more configuration parameters indicating one or more sets of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) codepoints for a set of cells (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, the codepoint to which the TCI state is mapped is determined by its ordinal position among all the TCI states);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) configured to schedule a first cell, of the set of cells (paragraph [0117], TCI state is indicated in DCI scheduling), for use in communications, wherein the DCI indicates a set of TCI codepoints, of the one or more sets of TCI codepoints for the set of cells, comprising a first TCI codepoint for the first cell (paragraph [0115], lines 1-7, TCI state indicated for the nth codepoint in the TCI field of DCI); and
based on the first TCI codepoint not being activated for the first cell, communicating (paragraph [0104], lines 11-16, if none of configured TCI states for the serving cell), with the base station via the first cell, based on a default TCI state that is activated for the first cell (paragraph [0120], default TCI states are defined).
With respect to claim 18, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 17, receiving an activation command mapping one or more activated TCI states to one or more activated TCI codepoints for the first cell of the set of cells, wherein the first TCI codepoint is not among the one or more activated TCI codepoints (paragraph [0104], lines 6-11, where the TCI with TCI StateId I shall be activated and mapped to the codepoint of the DCI).
With respect to claim 19, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the DCI is configured to schedule:
a PDSCH reception via the first cell (paragraph [0093], lines 1-4); or
a PUSCH transmission via the first cell (paragraph [0093], lines 1-4).
With respect to claim 20, Muruganathan discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the one or more configuration parameters indicating the one or more sets of TCI codepoints comprises a TCI state table, and wherein the DCI indicates a row, of the TCI state table, comprising the set of TCI codepoints (Figure 15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee Pat. Pub. 2025/0183980
Yuan Pat. Pub. 2025/0184096
Yuan Pat. Pub. 2025/0184771
Echigo Pat. Pub. 2025/0158790
Zhang Pat. Pub. 2024/0314767
Gao Pat. Pub. 2024/0187199
Tidestav Pat. Pub. 2023/0421340
Zhou Pat. Pub. 2023/0291533
Matsumura Pat. Pub. 2025/0159693
Jang Pat. Pub. 2024/0297764
Svedman Pat. Pub. 2024/0172245
4/16/26
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457