DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 1/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 9-10, 12-17, and 20-21 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11/26/2025. The claim interpretations invoked under 35 USC § 112(f) set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11/26/2025 have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9, filed 1/30/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 USC § 102 of Claims 1 and 12, have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of Applicant’s amendments. Applicant amended the independent claim with newly added limitations. Such newly added limitations change the scope of the claims, render the previous 102 rejections identified in the Non-Final Office Action dated 11/26/2025 moot, and require a new ground of rejection.
Therefore, the 102 rejections previously identified in the non-final action dated 11/26/2025 have been withdrawn.
However, upon further search and consideration, a new ground of rejection is made. Please see section 35 USC § 103 below for further explanation.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 12, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 2, and claim 16, line 2, “a green laser diode and a blue laser diode” should read “a green laser diode, and a blue laser diode”
In claim 12, line 6, “wherein the articulatable elongate member robotically controlled by” should read “wherein the articulatable elongate member is robotically controlled by”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9-10, 12, 14, 16-17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0313070 A1 to Tatsuta et al. (“Tatsuta”) in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0362518 A1 to Gu et al. (“Gu”), U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2019/0175005 A1 to Tanaka (“Tanaka”), and U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2020/0184640 A1 to Mahadik et al. (“Mahadik”).
Regarding claim 1, Tatsuta discloses a medical device (an endoscope system 10 includes an endoscope 12; Fig. 1, paragraph 0052) comprising:
an articulatable elongate member (a bendable part 12c and a distal end part 12d that are provided on the distal end side of the insertion part 12a; Fig. 1, paragraph 0053), and wherein an imaging sensor is located at a distal end of the articulatable elongate member (the distal end part 12d of the endoscope 12 has a substantially circular shape, and is provided with an image pickup optical system 21 that receives light from a subject; Fig. 4, paragraph 0074);
one or more laser light sources (the light source 23a … includes a light emitting element, such as a laser light source (laser diode (LD)) or a light emitting diode (LED); Fig. 7, paragraph 0086 and 0093) located at a proximal component, wherein the handle portion is coupled to the articulatable elongate member (the endoscope 12 includes … an operation part 12b that is provided at the proximal end portion of the insertion part 12a; Fig. 1, paragraph 0053), wherein the one or more laser light sources generate light transmitted through one or more optic fibers (for example, the light source 23a may be provided in the light source device and light emitted from the light source 23a may be guided to the DOE 23b by optical fibers; Fig. 7, paragraph 0093); and
one or more optical elements located at the distal end of the articulatable elongate member (the beam light-emitting unit 23 comprises … a diffractive optical element (DOE) 23b, a prism 23c, and an emitting section 23d; Figs. 5 and 7, paragraph 0086) and wherein the one or more optical elements receive the light via the one or more optic fibers (light emitted from the light source 23a may be guided to the DOE 23b by optical fibers; Fig. 7, paragraph 0093), wherein the one or more optical elements are configured to adjust a distribution of the light for illuminating a target scene to intersect a field of view of the imaging sensor or adjust the distribution of the light based on a reflectivity of the target scene exposure (the prism 23c is an optical member that is used to change the travel direction of the measurement light converted by the DOE 23b. the prism 23c changes the travel direction of the measurement light so that the measurement light intersects with the visual field of the image pickup optical system 21 including the objective lens 21a; Figs. 7 and 9, paragraph 0088).
However, Tatsuta does not explicitly disclose an articulatable elongate member robotically controlled by an instrument driving mechanism via one or more pull wires, one or more laser light sources located at a handle portion or the instrument driving mechanism, wherein the handle portion is releasably coupled to the instrument driving mechanism and coupled to the articulatable elongate member, and one or more optical elements located at the distal end of the articulatable elongate member, wherein the one or more optical elements comprise a first diffractive optical element (DOE) configured to adjust a distribution of the light for illuminating a target scene to match a field of view of the imaging sensor or adjust the distribution of the light based on a reflectivity of the target scene.
Gu teaches an articulatable elongate member (the endoscope 110 includes … an elongate shaft 114 extending distally from the handle 112; Fig. 1, paragraph 0052) robotically controlled by an instrument driving mechanism (the motor control assembly 140 may include at least one motor; Fig. 1, paragraph 0055-0056) via one or more pull wires (the one or more first cables, wires, or filaments may be engaged with and/or connected to the distal tip 116, such that tension applied to the one or more first cables, wires, or filaments by the first pulley defects and/or articulates the distal tip 116 in the first plane; Fig. 5, paragraph 0053) and a handle portion releasably coupled to the instrument driving mechanism (the endoscopic system 100 may include a motor control assembly 140 including a motor control housing 142 configured to detachably interface with the handle 112 of the endoscope 110; Fig. 10, paragraph 0054) and coupled to the articulatable elongate member (the endoscope 110 includes a handle 112 and an elongate shaft 114 extending distally from the handle 112; Fig. 1, paragraph 0052). Gu teaches that the robotically controlled instrument driving mechanism helps to reduce and/or eliminate physician fatigue resulting from a procedure (paragraph 0051).
Gu is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endoscopes with controlled defection of the insertion portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the instrument driving mechanism of Tatsuta to incorporate the teachings of Gu by attaching a robotically controlled instrument driving mechanism to the handle. Doing so would help reduce and/or eliminate physician fatigue resulting from a procedure, as recognized by Gu.
Tanaka teaches one or more laser light sources located at a handle portion or the instrument driving mechanism (the light source portion 70 is mounted inside the operation portion 23; Fig. 2, paragraph 0044).
Tanaka is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endoscopes with light source in the proximal component. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to move the light source to the handle, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Mahadik teaches a first diffractive optical element (DOE) (the light may be passed through an optical diffractive element 1032 (i.e., one or more optical diffusers); Fig. 11, paragraph 0209) configured to adjust a distribution of the light for illuminating a target scene to match a field of view of the imaging sensor or adjust the distribution of the light based on a reflectivity of the target scene (the optical elements may include one or more lenses, light guides, and/or diffractive elements so as to ensure a flat field over substantially the entire field of view of the image acquisition assembly 1016; Fig. 11, paragraph 0209). Mahadik teaches the use of a DOE to ensure a flat field over substantially the entire field of view of the imaging device (paragraph 0209).
Mahadik is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endoscopes with optical elements at the distal tip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distal tip of Tatsuta to incorporate the teachings of Mahadik by switching the prism for a DOE. Doing so would help ensure a flat field over substantially the entire field of view of the imaging device, as recognized by Mahadik.
Regarding claim 3, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the medical device according to claim 1. Tatsuta further discloses wherein the articulatable elongate member is disposable (it is preferable that the insertion part 12a integrated with the balloon 19 is made disposable, is discarded after being used one time or a small number of times, and is replaced with a new one; Fig. 1, paragraph 0133).
Regarding claim 5, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the medical device according to claim 1. Tatsuta further discloses wherein the one or more laser light sources comprise at least a red laser diode, a green laser diode, and a blue laser diode (red (the color of beam light) laser light having a wavelength of 600 nm or more and 650 nm or less is used as the light emitted from the light source 23a in this embodiment, but light having a wavelength in other ranges, for example, green light having a wavelength of 495 nm or more and 570 nm or less or blue light may be used; paragraph 0087).
Regarding claim 6, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the medical device according to claims 1 and 5. Tatsuta further discloses wherein the one or more optical elements are selected based at least in part on an operating wavelength of the light received via a respective optic fiber (the DOE 23b converts the light, which is emitted from the light source; Fig. 7, paragraph 0087). As the beam light-emitting unit was design to be operational with red, blue, and green laser diodes, it is known that the one or more optical elements were selected based at least in part on the operating wavelength of the light.
Regarding claim 9, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the medical device according to claim 1. Tatsuta further discloses wherein the imaging sensor is embedded in the distal end of the articulable elongate member (the distal end part 12d of the endoscope 12 has a substantially circular shape, and is provided with an image pickup optical system 21 that received light from a subject; Fig. 4-5, paragraph 0074).
Regarding claim 10, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the medical device according to claim 1. Tatsuta further discloses wherein the one or more optical elements comprise a second DOE configured for generating structured light that is used for creating a depth map (the DOE 23b converts the light, which is emitted from the light source, into the measurement light used to obtain measurement information; Fig. 9, paragraphs 0087-0091)(a subject is irradiated with measurement light by the beam light-emitting unit. It is possible to recognize the position of a spot from a subject image, and to measure an observation distance to an object to be observed, the size of the objected to be observed, and the like; abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Tatsuta discloses an illumination system for a medical device (endoscope system 10 includes an endoscope 12, a light source 13; Fig. 1, paragraph 0052) comprising:
one or more laser light sources (the light source 23a … includes a light emitting element, such as a laser light source (laser diode (LD)) or a light emitting diode (LED); Fig. 7, paragraph 0086) located at a proximal portion (for example, the light source 23a may be provided in the light source device and light emitted from the light source 23a may be guided to the DOE 23b by optical fibers; Fig. 7, paragraph 0093), wherein the handle portion is coupled to an articulatable elongate member of the medical device member (the endoscope 12 includes … an operation part 12b that is provided at the proximal end portion of the insertion part 12a; Fig. 1, paragraph 0053), and wherein an imaging sensor is located at a distal end of the articulatable elongate member (the distal end part 12d of the endoscope 12 has a substantially circular shape, and is provided with an image pickup optical system 21 that received light from a subject; Fig. 4-5, paragraph 0074);
one or more optic fibers for transmitting light generated by the one or more laser light sources to the distal end of the articulatable elongate member (for example, the light source 23a may be provided in the light source device and light emitted from the light source 23a may be guided to the DOE 23b by optical fibers; Fig. 7, paragraph 0093); and
one or more optical elements located at the distal end of the articulatable elongate member (the beam light-emitting unit 23 comprises … a diffractive optical element (DOE) 23b, a prism 23c, and an emitting section 23d; Figs. 5 and 7, paragraph 0086), wherein the one or more optical elements are configured to receive the light via the one or more optic fibers (light emitted from the light source 23a may be guided to the DOE 23b by optical fibers; Fig. 7, paragraph 0093) and to adjust a distribution of the light for illuminating a target scene to intersect a field of view of the imaging sensor or adjust the distribution of the light based on a reflectivity of the target scene (the prism 23c is an optical member that is used to change the travel direction of the measurement light converted by the DOE 23b. the prism 23c changes the travel direction of the measurement light so that the measurement light intersects with the visual field of the image pickup optical system 21 including the objective lens 21a; Figs. 7 and 9, paragraph 0088).
However, Tatsuta does not explicitly disclose one or more laser light sources located at a handle portion or an instrument driving mechanism of the medical device, wherein the handle portion is releasably coupled to the instrument driving mechanism, wherein the articulatable elongate member robotically controlled by the instrument driving mechanism via one or more pull wires, and wherein the one or more optical elements are configured to receive the light via the one or more optic fibers and comprise a first diffractive optical element (DOE) that is configured to adjust a distribution of the light for illuminating a target scene to match a field of view of the imaging sensor or adjust the distribution of the light based on a reflectivity of the target scene.
Gu teaches an articulatable elongate member (the endoscope 110 includes … an elongate shaft 114 extending distally from the handle 112; Fig. 1, paragraph 0052) robotically controlled by an instrument driving mechanism (the motor control assembly 140 may include at least one motor; Fig. 1, paragraph 0055-0056) via one or more pull wires (the one or more first cables, wires, or filaments may be engaged with and/or connected to the distal tip 116, such that tension applied to the one or more first cables, wires, or filaments by the first pulley defects and/or articulates the distal tip 116 in the first plane; Fig. 5, paragraph 0053) and a handle portion releasably coupled to the instrument driving mechanism (the endoscopic system 100 may include a motor control assembly 140 including a motor control housing 142 configured to detachably interface with the handle 112 of the endoscope 110; Fig. 10, paragraph 0054) and coupled to the articulatable elongate member (the endoscope 110 includes a handle 112 and an elongate shaft 114 extending distally from the handle 112; Fig. 1, paragraph 0052). Gu teaches that the robotically controlled instrument driving mechanism helps to reduce and/or eliminate physician fatigue resulting from a procedure (paragraph 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the instrument driving mechanism of Tatsuta to incorporate the teachings of Gu by attaching a robotically controlled instrument driving mechanism to the handle. Doing so would help reduce and/or eliminate physician fatigue resulting from a procedure, as recognized by Gu.
Tanaka teaches one or more laser light sources located at a handle portion or the instrument driving mechanism (the light source portion 70 is mounted inside the operation portion 23; Fig. 2, paragraph 0044).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to move the light source to the handle, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Mahadik teaches a first diffractive optical element (DOE) (the light may be passed through an optical diffractive element 1032 (i.e., one or more optical diffusers); Fig. 11, paragraph 0209) configured to adjust a distribution of the light for illuminating a target scene to match a field of view of the imaging sensor or adjust the distribution of the light based on a reflectivity of the target scene (the optical elements may include one or more lenses, light guides, and/or diffractive elements so as to ensure a flat field over substantially the entire field of view of the image acquisition assembly 1016; Fig. 11, paragraph 0209). Mahadik teaches the use of a DOE to ensure a flat field over substantially the entire field of view of the imaging device (paragraph 0209).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distal tip of Tatsuta to incorporate the teachings of Mahadik by switching the prism for a DOE. Doing so would help ensure a flat field over substantially the entire field of view of the imaging device, as recognized by Mahadik.
Regarding claim 14, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the illumination system according to claim 12. Tatsuta further discloses wherein the articulatable(it is preferable that the insertion part 12a integrated with the balloon 19 is made disposable, is discarded after being used one time or a small number of times, and is replaced with a new one; Fig. 1, paragraph 0133).
Regarding claim 16, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the illumination system according to claim 12. Tatsuta further discloses wherein the one or more laser light sources comprise at least a red laser diode, a green laser diode, and a blue laser diode (red (the color of beam light) laser light having a wavelength of 600 nm or more and 650 nm or less is used as the light emitted from the light source 23a in this embodiment, but light having a wavelength in other ranges, for example, green light having a wavelength of 495 nm or more and 570 nm or less or blue light may be used; paragraph 0087).
Regarding claim 17, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the illumination system according to claims 12 and 16. Tatsuta further discloses wherein the one or more optical elements are selected based at least in part on an operating wavelength of the light received via a respective optic fiber (the DOE 23b converts the light, which is emitted from the light source; Fig. 7, paragraph 0087). As the beam light-emitting unit was design to be operational with red, blue, and green laser diodes, it is known that the one or more optical elements were selected based at least in part on the operating wavelength of the light.
Regarding claim 20, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the illumination system according to claim 12. Tatsuta further discloses wherein the imaging sensor is embedded in the distal end of the articulable elongate member (the distal end part 12d of the endoscope 12 has a substantially circular shape, and is provided with an image pickup optical system 21 that received light from a subject; Fig. 4-5, paragraph 0074).
Regarding claim 21, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the illumination system according to claim 12. Tatsuta further discloses wherein the one or more optical elements comprise a second DOE configured for generating structured light that is used for creating a depth map (the DOE 23b converts the light, which is emitted from the light source, into the measurement light used to obtain measurement information; Fig. 9, paragraphs 0087-0091)(a subject is irradiated with measurement light by the beam light-emitting unit. It is possible to recognize the position of a spot from a subject image, and to measure an observation distance to an object to be observed, the size of the objected to be observed, and the like; abstract).
Claims 2, 4, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsuta in view of Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2020/0107706 A1 to Kamee et al. (“Kamee”).
Regarding claim 2, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the medical device according to claim 1. However, Tatsuta, as modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, does not explicitly disclose comprising a coupler to mix the light from the one or more laser light sources into white light.
Kamee teaches a coupler to mix the light from the one or more laser light sources into white light (the laser light L1 is a blue laser light having a center wavelength of 445 nm, the laser light L2 is green laser light having a center wavelength of 532 nm, and the laser light L3 is red laser light having a center wavelength of 635 nm. For this reason, the laser light emitted from the light combiner LC is white laser light; Fig. 2, paragraph 0064 and 0053).
Kamee is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endoscopes with a proximal laser light source. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a coupler for combining multiple laser light sources in the light source device of Tatsuta, as taught by Kamee, to increase the functionality of the endoscope system of Tatsuta by enabling the endoscope to output tunable white light to enhance specific tissue contrasts improving visibility during endoscopic procedures.
Regarding claim 4, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the medical device according to claim 1. However, Tatsuta, as modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, does not explicitly disclose comprising a laser speckle reducer located at the handle portion.
Kamee teaches comprising a laser speckle reducer located at the proximal component (in addition to the light source 120, the light source device 110 includes a speckle reduction device 140 configured to reduce speckles generated when the light emitted from the light source 120 is applied to the observation target OT through the endoscope; Fig. 2, paragraph 0056). Kamee teaches the use of a laser speckle reducer for reducing speckles generated when the light emitted from the light source is applied to the target location (paragraph 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source device of Tatsuta, as modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, to incorporate the teachings of Kamee by adding a laser speckle reducer. Doing so would reduce the speckles generated when the light emitted from the light source is applied to the target location, as recognized by Kamee.
Regarding claim 13, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the illumination system according to claim 12. However, Tatsuta, as modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, does not explicitly disclose comprising a coupler to mix the light from the one or more laser light sources into white light.
Kamee teaches a coupler to mix the light from the one or more laser light sources into white light (the laser light L1 is a blue laser light having a center wavelength of 445 nm, the laser light L2 is green laser light having a center wavelength of 532 nm, and the laser light L3 is red laser light having a center wavelength of 635 nm. For this reason, the laser light emitted from the light combiner LC is white laser light; Fig. 2, paragraph 0064 and 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a coupler for combining multiple laser light sources in the light source device of Tatsuta, as taught by Kamee, to increase the functionality of the endoscope system of Tatsuta by enabling the endoscope to output tunable white light to enhance specific tissue contrasts improving visibility during endoscopic procedures.
Regarding claim 15, Tatsuta, as previously modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, discloses the illumination system according to claim 12. However, Tatsuta, as modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, does not explicitly disclose comprising a laser speckle reducer located at the handle portion.
Kamee teaches comprising a laser speckle reducer located at the proximal component (in addition to the light source 120, the light source device 110 includes a speckle reduction device 140 configured to reduce speckles generated when the light emitted from the light source 120 is applied to the observation target OT through the endoscope; Fig. 2, paragraph 0056). Kamee teaches the use of a laser speckle reducer for reducing speckles generated when the light emitted from the light source is applied to the target location (paragraph 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light source device of Tatsuta, as modified by Gu, Tanaka, and Mahadik, to incorporate the teachings of Kamee by adding a laser speckle reducer. Doing so would reduce the speckles generated when the light emitted from the light source is applied to the target location, as recognized by Kamee.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLIVIA GRACE STARKEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795