DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US 7550658).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses the use of a keyboard instrument comprising: an instrument case (100) having a front plate (31), a shelf plate (13), and a connector unit(50), wherein the connector unit (50) is configured to fix the front plate (31) and the shelf plate (13) and includes a hook protruding towards a back side (see figure 3) in a longitudinal direction of a key; and a keyboard having a locking unit (35C) and fixed to the instrument case in such a state that the locking unit is disposed between the hook and the shelf plate (see the locking unit in figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Suzuki US 7550658 discloses the use of a keyboard instrument comprising: an instrument case (100) having a front plate (31), a shelf plate (13), and a connector unit(50), wherein the connector unit (50) is configured to fix the front plate (31) and the shelf plate (13) and includes a hook protruding towards a back side (see figure 3) in a longitudinal direction of a key; and a keyboard having a locking unit (35C) and fixed to the instrument case in such a state that the locking unit is disposed between the hook and the shelf plate (see the locking unit in figure 6).
Suzuki does not disclose that a elastic element is in contact with the locking unit.
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki further discloses wherein the hook comprises an elastic element, and wherein the elastic element is in contact with the locking unit.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in Suzuki to have an elastic element (as recited in column 17, lines 14-20) in contact with the locking unit since Suzuki discloses that the connector unit (50) can be replaced with an elastic member and the connector unit is in contact with the locking unit
Claims 2-5 and 7-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837