DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This is the first Office Action on the merits for application no. 18/605,327 filed on March 14th, 2024. Claims 1-21 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 14th, 2024 and July 8th, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements were considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Regarding Claim 5, please change the recitation of “wherein the first and second engaging members each have an end that is engaged with the respective one of the teeth when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition, and wherein, for each engaging member, the end is engaged with a side of the respective one of the teeth, and the end has an end surface that is parallel to the side of the respective one of the teeth when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition” to - - wherein the first and second engaging members each have an end that is engaged with the respective one of the [[teeth]] projections when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition, and wherein, for each engaging member, the end is engaged with a side of the respective one of the [[teeth]] projections, and the end has an end surface that is parallel to the side of the respective one of the [[teeth]] projections when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition - - as this feature is previously referred to in claim 1 (line 2).
Regarding Claim 6, please change the recitation of “wherein the first and second engaging members each have a side portion that is engaged with a another respective one of the teeth when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition, and wherein, for each engaging member, the side portion is engaged with a side of the another respective one of the teeth, and the side portion has a side surface that is parallel to the side of the another respective one of the teeth when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition” to - - wherein the first and second engaging members each have a side portion that is engaged with a another respective one of the [[teeth]] projections when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition, and wherein, for each engaging member, the side portion is engaged with a side of the another respective one of the [[teeth]] projections, and the side portion has a side surface that is parallel to the side of the another respective one of the [[teeth]] projections when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition - - as this feature is previously referred to in claim 1 (line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, in the recitation of “wherein the biasing member comprises a spring” the difference between the “biasing member” recited in claim 9 and the “spring” recited in claim 9 is unclear. The lack of clarity renders the claim indefinite. Applicant could recite “wherein the biasing member [[comprises]] is a spring” to clarify the recitation and Examiner will interpret the recitation as such during examination. See MPEP 2173.05(o) – Double Inclusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 16-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merminod (US 10,459,618).
Regarding Claim 1, Merminod teaches a locking mechanism (see Figs. 15-18, specifically the embodiment seen in Fig. 18) comprising:
a lock member (“ratchet wheel” 1830) having multiple projections (“toothed perimeter” 1835); and
first and second engaging members (“ratchet arms” 1840A and 1840B) that are each pivotable (via “pivot points” 1862A and 1862B) with respect to the lock member (1830),
wherein the first engaging member (1840A) is engageable with the lock member (1830) to inhibit relative rotation between the lock member (1830) and the engaging members (1840A, 1840B) in a first rotation direction (see Fig. 18B), and
the second engaging member (1840B) is engageable with the lock member (1830) to inhibit relative rotation between the lock member (1830) and the engaging members (1840A, 1840B) in a second rotation direction opposite the first rotation direction (see Fig. 18B),
wherein the first and second engaging members (1840A, 1840B) are simultaneously engageable with the lock member (1830) to provide a locked condition (position seen in Fig. 18B) of the locking mechanism in which the first and second engaging members (1840A, 1840B) are each engaged with a respective one of the projections (1835; see Fig. 18B).
Regarding Claim 2, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 1,
wherein, when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (position seen in Fig. 18B), the engaging members (1840A, 1840B) are self-locking (see Fig. 18B).
Regarding Claim 3, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 1,
wherein the first and second engaging members (Fig. 18B; 1840A, 1840B) are each engaged with another respective one of the projections (1835) when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (see Fig. 18B).
Regarding Claim 4, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 3,
wherein the first and second engaging members (Fig. 18B; 1840A, 1840B) each have an end (see Fig. 18B) that is engaged with the respective one of the projections (1835) and a side portion (see Fig. 18B) that is engaged with the another respective one of the projections (1835) when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (position seen in Fig. 18B).
Regarding Claim 5, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 1,
wherein the first and second engaging members (Fig. 18B; 1840A, 1840B) each have an end (end portion of 1840A and 1840B engaged with 1835) that is engaged with the respective one of the teeth (1835) when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (position seen in Fig. 18B), and
wherein, for each engaging member (1840A, 1840B), the end is engaged with a side of the respective one of the teeth (1835), and the end has an end surface that is parallel to the side of the respective one of the teeth (1835) when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (see Fig. 18B).
Regarding Claim 6, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 5,
wherein the first and second engaging members (Fig. 18B; 1840A, 1840B) each have a side portion (side portion of 1840A and 1840B engaged with 1835 opposite the end portion engaged with 1835) that is engaged with a another respective one of the teeth (1835) when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (position seen in Fig. 18B), and
wherein, for each engaging member (1840A, 1840B), the side portion is engaged with a side of the another respective one of the teeth (1835), and the side portion has a side surface that is parallel to the side of the another respective one of the teeth (1835) when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (see Fig. 18B).
Regarding Claim 7, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 1,
further comprising an actuation member (Figs. 15-18; “second cam” 1674) that is movable between a first position (position seen in Fig. 18B) and a second position (position seen in Fig. 17B),
wherein the first and second engaging members (1840A, 1840B) are each engaged with the respective one of the projections (1835) of the lock member (1830) when the actuation member (1674) is in the first position (Fig. 18B), and
when the actuation member (1674) is moved from the first position (Fig. 18B) to the second position (Fig. 17B), the actuation member (1674) causes the first and second engaging members (1840A, 1840B) to disengage the lock member (1830).
Regarding Claim 8, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 7,
further comprising a biasing member (Figs. 16-18; “compression spring(s)” 1644) that urges the actuation member (1674) toward the first position (position seen in Fig. 18B).
Regarding Claim 9, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 8,
wherein the biasing member (Figs. 16-18; 1644) comprises a spring (see Fig. 16B; see 112(b) rejection above).
Regarding Claim 10, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 7,
wherein the lock member (Fig. 18B; 1830) has a lock member axis (rotational axis of 1830),
the first engaging member (1840A) is pivotable about a first axis (defined by 1842A), and the first engaging member (1840A) has an end (end portion engaged with 1835) that is engageable with the lock member (1830),
wherein, when the end is engaged with the lock member (1830), a first line (Examiner Fig. 1; FL) extending through the first axis (1842A) and the end does not pass between the actuation member (1674) and the lock member axis (rotational axis of 1830; see Examiner Fig. 1).
Examiner Fig. 1 – Fig. 18B of Merminod
Regarding Claim 11, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 10
wherein the second engaging member (Fig. 18B; 1840B) is pivotable about a second axis (defined by 1842B),
the second engaging member (1840B) has an end (end portion engaged with 1835) that is engageable with the lock member (1830), and
wherein, when the end of the second engaging member (1840B) is engaged with the lock member (1830),
a second line (opposite “FL” in Examiner Fig. 1) extending through the second axis (defined by 1842B) and the end of the second engaging member (1840B) does not pass between the actuation member (1674) and the lock member axis (rotational axis of 1830; see Examiner Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 1
wherein the first engaging member (Fig. 18B; 1840A) is pivotable about a first axis (defined by 1842A), and
the second engaging member (1840B) is pivotable about a second axis (defined by 1842B) spaced away from the first axis (1842A).
Regarding Claim 17, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 16
further comprising an actuation member (Figs. 16-18; 1674) that is movable between a first position (position seen in Fig. 18B) and a second position (position seen in Fig. 17B),
wherein the first and second engaging members (1840A, 1840B) are each engaged with the respective one of the projections (1835) of the lock member (1830) when the actuation member (1674) is in the first position (Fig. 18B), and
when the actuation member (1674) is moved from the first position (Fig. 18B) to the second position (Fig. 17B), the actuation member (1674) causes the first and second engaging members (1840A, 1840B) to disengage the lock member (1830).
Regarding Claim 18, Merminod teaches the locking mechanism of claim 17
wherein the actuation member (Figs. 16-18; 1674) has first and second cam surfaces (see passage below) that are engageable with the first and second engaging members (1840A, 1840B), respectively, when the actuation member (1674) moves from the first position (Fig. 18B) to the second position (Fig. 17B) to cause the first and second engaging members (1840A, 1840B) to disengage the lock member (1830; col. 25, line 59 – “FIG. 18A shows a bottom view of a dual-arm smart-shift mechanical ratchet system 1800 (“SMRS”) for a knob configured in a ratchet-mode of operation, according to certain embodiments. FIG. 18B is a top view thereof. FIGS. 18A-18B may operate similarly to FIGS. 16A-17B, with the addition of a second set of arms and corresponding hardware…SMRS 1800 can further include resistance wheel 1850 having smooth perimeter 1855, resistance arms 1860a and 1860b that may include pivot points 1862a and 1862b, compression spring(s) 1864a and 1864b, and wheel contact regions 1866a and 1866b, and cam shaft 1870 that may include “ratchet” first cams 1872a and 1872b, “resistance” second cams 1874a and 1874b” emphasis added).
Regarding Claim 20, Merminod teaches a system (see Figs. 15-20) comprising:
a rotatable element (Figs. 15 and 18; support shaft of 1830); and
the locking mechanism of claim 1 (see 102(a)(1) rejection above),
wherein the lock member (1830) of the locking mechanism is rotatable with the rotatable element (support shaft of 1830) or the engaging members of the locking mechanism are rotatable with the rotatable element, and
wherein the lock mechanism is configured to inhibit or prevent rotation of the rotatable element (support shaft of 1830).
Regarding Claim 21, Merminod teaches a locking mechanism comprising:
a rotatable member (Fig. 18B; 1830) having multiple projections (1835);
first and second pivotable engaging members (1840A, 1840B),
wherein the first engaging member (1840A) is engageable with the rotatable member (1830) to inhibit rotation of the rotatable member (1830) in a first rotation direction (see Fig. 18B), and
the second engaging member (1840B) is engageable with the rotatable member (1830) to inhibit rotation of the rotatable member in a second rotation direction opposite the first rotation direction (see Fig. 18B);
an actuation member (1674) that is movable between a first position (position seen in Fig. 18B) and a second position (position seen in Fig. 17B),
wherein the first and second engaging members (1840A, 1840B) are each engaged with a respective one of the projections (1835) of the rotatable member (1830) when the actuation member (1674) is in the first position (Fig. 18B), and
when the actuation member (1674) is moved from the first position (Fig. 18B) to the second position (Fig. 17B), the actuation member (1674) causes the first and second engaging members (1840A, 1840B) to disengage the rotatable member (1830; see col. 25, line 59 passage above); and
a biasing member (1644) that urges the actuation member (1674) toward the first position (see Fig. 16B and 18B).
Claims 1-9 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chan (US 11,541,923).
Regarding Claim 1, Chan teaches a locking mechanism (see Figs. 3-4) comprising:
a lock member (“interlocking gear” 14) having multiple projections (gear teeth of 14); and
first and second engaging members (“two reset brackets” 13) that are each pivotable with respect to the lock member (14),
wherein the first engaging member (left 13) is engageable with the lock member (14) to inhibit relative rotation between the lock member (14) and the engaging members (13) in a first rotation direction (see Fig. 3), and
the second engaging member (right 13) is engageable with the lock member (14) to inhibit relative rotation between the lock member (14) and the engaging members (13) in a second rotation direction opposite the first rotation direction (see Fig. 3),
wherein the first and second engaging members (13) are simultaneously engageable with the lock member (14) to provide a locked condition (position seen in Fig. 3) of the locking mechanism in which the first and second engaging members (13) are each engaged with a respective one of the projections (14; see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 1,
wherein, when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (position seen in Fig. 3), the engaging members (13) are self-locking (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 1,
wherein the first and second engaging members (Figs. 3-4; 13) are each engaged with another respective one of the projections (gear teeth of 14) when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 3,
wherein the first and second engaging members (Figs. 3-4; 13) each have an end (“serrated portions” 134) that is engaged with the respective one of the projections (14) and a side portion (side portion of 134) that is engaged with the another respective one of the projections (14) when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 1,
wherein the first and second engaging members (Figs. 3-4; 13) each have an end (134) that is engaged with the respective one of the teeth (gear teeth of 14) when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (Fig. 3), and
wherein, for each engaging member (13), the end (134) is engaged with a side of the respective one of the teeth (gear teeth of 14; see Fig. 3), and
the end (134) has an end surface (end surface of 134) that is parallel to the side of the respective one of the teeth (gear teeth of 14) when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 5,
wherein the first and second engaging members (Figs. 3-4; 13) each have a side portion (side portion of 134) that is engaged with a another respective one of the teeth (gear teeth of 14) when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (Fig. 3), and
wherein, for each engaging member (13), the side portion (side portion of 134) is engaged with a side of the another respective one of the teeth (gear teeth of 14), and
the side portion (side portion of 134) has a side surface (see Fig. 3) that is parallel to the side of the another respective one of the teeth (gear teeth of 14) when the locking mechanism is in the locked condition (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 1,
further comprising an actuation member (Figs. 3-4; “driving portions” 123) that is movable between a first position (Fig. 3) and a second position (Fig. 4),
wherein the first and second engaging members (13) are each engaged with the respective one of the projections (gear teeth of 14) of the lock member (14) when the actuation member (13) is in the first position (Fig. 3), and
when the actuation member (123) is moved from the first position (Fig. 3) to the second position (Fig. 4), the actuation member (123) causes the first and second engaging members (13) to disengage the lock member (14).
Regarding Claim 8, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 7,
further comprising a biasing member (Figs. 3-4; “elastic component” 16) that urges the actuation member (13) toward the first position (Fig. 3; col. 4, line 44 – “In addition, the wheel-at-rest automatic brake system 1 of the present disclosure further comprises an elastic component 16 hooked at moving ends of the two reset brackets 13 respectively, so that the two reset brackets 13 keeps clamping the cam 12”).
Regarding Claim 9, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 8,
wherein the biasing member (Figs. 3-4; 16) comprises a spring (16; see 112(b) rejection above).
Regarding Claim 13, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 7,
wherein the lock member (Figs. 3-4; 14) has a lock member axis (rotational axis of 14), and the actuation member (left portion of 123) is located closer to the lock member axis (rotational axis of 14) when the actuation member (123) is in the second position (Fig. 4) as compared to when the actuation member (left 123) is in the first position (Fig. 3; see Figs. 3-4).
Regarding Claim 14, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 13,
wherein the first engaging member (Figs. 3-4; left 13) is pivotable about a first axis (defined by left “pivot end” 131),
the second engaging member (right 13) is pivotable about a second axis (defined by right “pivot end” 131) spaced away from the first axis (see Figs. 3-4),
the first and second engaging members (13) each have an end (134) that is engageable with the lock member (14),
the ends (134) are spaced apart a first distance (between both 134) when the actuation member (123) is in the first position (Fig. 3), and
the first and second axes (pivot axes defined by 131) are spaced apart a second distance (between both 131), and
wherein the first distance (between both 134) is smaller than the second distance (between both 131).
Regarding Claim 15, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 13,
wherein the first and second engaging members (Figs. 3-4; 13) each have an end (134) that is engageable with the lock member (14),
the ends (134) are spaced apart a first distance (between both 134) when the actuation member (123) is in the first position (Fig. 3), and
the ends (134) are spaced apart a second distance (between both 134) when the actuation member (123) is in the second position (Fig. 4), and
wherein the first distance (between 134 in Fig. 3) is smaller than the second distance (between 134 in Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 1,
wherein the first engaging member (Figs. 3-4; left 13) is pivotable about a first axis (defined by left 131), and
the second engaging member (right 13) is pivotable about a second axis (defined by right 131) spaced away from the first axis (see Figs. 3-4).
Regarding Claim 17, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 16,
further comprising an actuation member (Figs. 3-4; 123) that is movable between a first position (Fig. 3) and a second position (Fig. 4),
wherein the first and second engaging members (13) are each engaged with the respective one of the projections (gear teeth of 14) of the lock member (14) when the actuation member (123) is in the first position (Fig. 3), and
when the actuation member (123) is moved from the first position (Fig. 3) to the second position (Fig. 4), the actuation member (123) causes the first and second engaging members (13) to disengage the lock member (14).
Regarding Claim 18, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 17,
wherein the actuation member (Figs. 3-4; 123) has first and second cam surfaces (left and right 123) that are engageable with the first and second engaging members (13), respectively,
when the actuation member (123) moves from the first position (Fig. 3) to the second position (Fig. 4) to cause the first and second engaging members (13) to disengage the lock member (14; see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 19, Chan teaches the locking mechanism of claim 17,
wherein the actuation member (Figs. 3-4; 123) has an engaging portion (distal ends of 123) that is engageable with the first and second engaging members (13) when the actuation member (123) moves from the second position (Fig. 4) toward the first position (Fig. 3) to cause the first and second engaging members (13) to engage the lock member (14; see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 20, Chan teaches a system (see Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a rotatable element (“wheel hub” 2); and
the locking mechanism of claim 1 (see 102(a)(1) rejection above),
wherein the lock member (14) of the locking mechanism is rotatable with the rotatable element (2) or the engaging members of the locking mechanism are rotatable with the rotatable element, and
wherein the lock mechanism is configured to inhibit or prevent rotation of the rotatable element (2).
Regarding Claim 21, Chan teaches a locking mechanism (see Figs. 3-4) comprising:
a rotatable member (14) having multiple projections (gear teeth of 14);
first and second pivotable engaging members (13),
wherein the first engaging member (left 13) is engageable with the rotatable member (14) to inhibit rotation of the rotatable member (14) in a first rotation direction (see Fig. 3), and
the second engaging member (right 13) is engageable with the rotatable member (14) to inhibit rotation of the rotatable member (14) in a second rotation direction opposite the first rotation direction (see Fig. 3);
an actuation member (123) that is movable between a first position (Fig. 3) and a second position (Fig. 4),
wherein the first and second engaging members (13) are each engaged with a respective one of the projections (gear teeth of 14) of the rotatable member (14) when the actuation member (123) is in the first position (Fig. 3), and
when the actuation member (123) is moved from the first position (Fig. 3) to the second position (Fig. 4), the actuation member (123) causes the first and second engaging members (13) to disengage the rotatable member (14); and
a biasing member (16) that urges the actuation member (123) toward the first position (see Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, Applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. The prior art of Watt (US 1,385,030), Chen (US 7,815,019) and Nukaga (US 5,267,456) listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited" disclose similar locking mechanisms comprising first and second engaging members related to various aspects of the claimed invention.
JAMES J. TAYLOR II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655
/JAMES J TAYLOR II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655