DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 10 – 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0397528; hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising: determining, by a terminal device, M physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission opportunities corresponding to a first physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (see para. 0038, 0048, M physical sidelink feedback channels (PSFCH) time-frequency domain resources (ex: transmission opportunities) corresponding to a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) are determined, M being an integer greater than 1), wherein different PSFCH transmission opportunities in the M PSFCH transmission opportunities correspond to different time-domain resources, respectively (see para. 0047, the PSFCH time-frequency domain resources (ex: transmission opportunities) include PSFCH time domain resources and PSFCH frequency domain resources); and for an m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity in the M PSFCH transmission opportunities, determining, by the terminal device according to a result of a channel access procedure, whether to transmit a PSFCH carrying feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH by using the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity, wherein M and m are positive integers, M≥2, and 1≤m≤M (see para. 0039, 0042, 0074 – 0075, a listen before talk (LBT) is performed on M PSFCHs one by one; and in Response to the LBT on an Nth PSFCH being successful, it is determined that the Nth PSFCH is the PSFCH for transmitting the HARQ information corresponding to the PSSCH, where N is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to M).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses wherein determining, by the terminal device according to the result of the channel access procedure, whether to transmit the PSFCH carrying the feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH by using the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity (see para. 0038, 0048, M physical sidelink feedback channels (PSFCH) time-frequency domain resources (ex: transmission opportunities) corresponding to a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) are determined, M being an integer greater than 1) comprises: determining, by the terminal device, to transmit the PSFCH carrying the feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH by using the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity in case that the result of the channel access procedure indicates a channel being idle (see para. 0004, 0039, 0042, 0074 – 0075, a listen before talk (LBT) is performed on M PSFCHs one by one; and in Response to the LBT on an Nth PSFCH being successful, it is determined that the Nth PSFCH is the PSFCH for transmitting the HARQ information corresponding to the PSSCH, where N is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to M,…it is noted that when the LBT on an Nth PSFCH is successful, it means the channel is clear or idle for the transmission of the HARQ information); otherwise determining, by the terminal device, not to transmit the PSFCH carrying the feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH by using the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity; or discarding, by the terminal device, sidelink transmission corresponding to the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity.
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses wherein at most one PSFCH carrying the feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH is transmitted by the terminal device in the M PSFCH transmission opportunities (see para. 0048, the M PSFCH time-frequency domain resources corresponding to the PSSCH are determined, M being an integer greater than 1; the PSFCH for transmitting the HARQ information corresponding to the PSSCH is determined; and the HARQ information is transmitted on the determined PSFCH).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao discloses wherein determining, by the terminal device, the M PSFCH transmission opportunities corresponding to the first PSSCH comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the M PSFCH transmission opportunities corresponding to the first PSSCH in a set of PSFCH transmission slots configured by resource pool configuration information (see para. 0065 – 0066, the position of the first PSFCH time-frequency domain resource corresponding to the PSSCH is determined as slot n; the preset duration ‘sl-PSFCH-Time-Interval’ is determined; the number of the PSFCH time-frequency domain resources corresponding to the PSSCH is determined as M…The unit of the preset duration may be a slot. The preset duration may be configured or preconfigured by a system, or the configuration may be based on…a resource pool).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses a terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program and the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program (see Fig. 15, para. 0125 – 0127, communication device 1000 (ex: first terminal) includes a processor and memory 1002 for storing computer program 1004 to be executed) to perform: determining M physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission opportunities corresponding to a first physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (see para. 0038, 0048, M physical sidelink feedback channels (PSFCH) time-frequency domain resources (ex: transmission opportunities) corresponding to a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) are determined, M being an integer greater than 1), wherein different PSFCH transmission opportunities in the M PSFCH transmission opportunities correspond to different time-domain resources, respectively (see para. 0047, the PSFCH time-frequency domain resources (ex: transmission opportunities) include PSFCH time domain resources and PSFCH frequency domain resources); and for an m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity in the M PSFCH transmission opportunities, determining, according to a result of a channel access procedure, whether to transmit a PSFCH carrying feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH by using the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity, wherein M and m are positive integers, M≥2, and 1≤m≤M (see para. 0039, 0042, 0074 – 0075, a listen before talk (LBT) is performed on M PSFCHs one by one; and in Response to the LBT on an Nth PSFCH being successful, it is determined that the Nth PSFCH is the PSFCH for transmitting the HARQ information corresponding to the PSSCH, where N is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to M).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses wherein the processor is further configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program to perform: determining to transmit the PSFCH carrying the feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH by using the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity in case that the result of the channel access procedure indicates a channel being idle (see para. 0004, 0039, 0042, 0074 – 0075, a listen before talk (LBT) is performed on M PSFCHs one by one; and in Response to the LBT on an Nth PSFCH being successful, it is determined that the Nth PSFCH is the PSFCH for transmitting the HARQ information corresponding to the PSSCH, where N is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to M,…it is noted that when the LBT on an Nth PSFCH is successful, it means the channel is clear or idle for the transmission of the HARQ information); otherwise determining to not transmit the PSFCH carrying the feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH by using the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity; or discard sidelink transmission corresponding to the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao discloses wherein at most one PSFCH carrying the feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH is transmitted by the terminal device in the M PSFCH transmission opportunities (see para. 0048, the M PSFCH time-frequency domain resources corresponding to the PSSCH are determined, M being an integer greater than 1; the PSFCH for transmitting the HARQ information corresponding to the PSSCH is determined; and the HARQ information is transmitted on the determined PSFCH).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao discloses wherein the processor is further configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program to perform: determining the M PSFCH transmission opportunities corresponding to the first PSSCH in a set of PSFCH transmission slots configured by resource pool configuration information (see para. 0065 – 0066, the position of the first PSFCH time-frequency domain resource corresponding to the PSSCH is determined as slot n; the preset duration ‘sl-PSFCH-Time-Interval’ is determined; the number of the PSFCH time-frequency domain resources corresponding to the PSSCH is determined as M…The unit of the preset duration may be a slot. The preset duration may be configured or preconfigured by a system, or the configuration may be based on…resource pool).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao discloses a chip, comprising a processor configured to call a computer program stored in a memory to and run the computer program, to cause a device mounted with the chip (see Fig. 15, device 1000 may be a chip and includes a processor and memory 1002 for storing computer program 1004, Fig. 16, chip 1100) to perform: determining M physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission opportunities corresponding to a first physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (see para. 0038, 0048, M physical sidelink feedback channels (PSFCH) time-frequency domain resources (ex: transmission opportunities) corresponding to a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) are determined, M being an integer greater than 1), wherein different PSFCH transmission opportunities in the M PSFCH transmission opportunities correspond to different time-domain resources, respectively (see para. 0047, the PSFCH time-frequency domain resources (ex: transmission opportunities) include PSFCH time domain resources and PSFCH frequency domain resources); and for an m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity in the M PSFCH transmission opportunities, determining, according to a result of a channel access procedure, whether to transmit a PSFCH carrying feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH by using the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity, wherein M and m are positive integers, M≥2, and 1≤m≤M (see para. 0039, 0042, 0074 – 0075, a listen before talk (LBT) is performed on M PSFCHs one by one; and in Response to the LBT on an Nth PSFCH being successful, it is determined that the Nth PSFCH is the PSFCH for transmitting the HARQ information corresponding to the PSSCH, where N is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to M).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao discloses wherein determining, by the terminal device according to the result of the channel access procedure, whether to transmit the PSFCH carrying the feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH by using the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity comprises: determining to transmit the PSFCH carrying the feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH by using the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity in case that the result of the channel access procedure indicates a channel being idle (see para. 0004, 0039, 0042, 0074 – 0075, a listen before talk (LBT) is performed on M PSFCHs one by one; and in Response to the LBT on an Nth PSFCH being successful, it is determined that the Nth PSFCH is the PSFCH for transmitting the HARQ information corresponding to the PSSCH, where N is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to M,…it is noted that when the LBT on an Nth PSFCH is successful, it means the channel is clear or idle for the transmission of the HARQ information); otherwise determining not to transmit the PSFCH carrying the feedback information corresponding to the first PSSCH by using the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity; or discarding, by the terminal device, sidelink transmission corresponding to the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 – 9 and 16 - 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0397528; hereinafter Zhao) in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0385408; hereinafter Zhang).
Zhao does not disclose the claimed features as recited in claims 7 – 9 and 16 – 18.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses further comprising: determining, by the terminal device according to an index value m, a PSFCH transmission resource in a PSFCH transmission resource set which is comprised in the slot where the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity in the M PSFCH transmission opportunities is located, m is a positive integer and 1≤m≤M (see para. 0472, 0475, the PSFCH resources are comprised in each slot, para. 0484 – 0485, to determine an index of the first PSFCH resource in the first PSFCH resource set).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses wherein each PSFCH transmission slot in the set of PSFCH transmission slots comprises M PSFCH resource subsets (see para. 0472, the PSFCH resources are comprised in each slot, Fig. 6 shows resource set with resource sub-pools); and determining, by the terminal device according to the index value m, the PSFCH transmission resource in the PSFCH transmission resource set which is comprised in the slot where the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity is located (see para. 0472, 0475, the PSFCH resources are comprised in each slot, para. 0484 – 0485, to determine an index of the first PSFCH resource in the first PSFCH resource set) comprises: determining, by the terminal device, that the PSFCH transmission resource of the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity corresponding to the first PSSCH is located in an m-th PSFCH resource subset in the slot where the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity is located (see para. 0456, a PSFCH corresponding to a PSSCH transmitted in a first time-frequency resource set is in a first resource sub-pool).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses further comprising: determining, by the terminal device, the PSFCH transmission resource in the m-th PSFCH resource subset in the slot where the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity is located (see Fig. 6, first resource sub-pool, para. 0456, a PSFCH corresponding to a PSSCH transmitted in a first time-frequency resource set is in a first resource sub-pool) according to at least one of: a sub-channel index corresponding to a frequency-domain starting position of the first PSSCH; a number of sub-channels corresponding to a frequency-domain resource size occupied by the first PSSCH; slot information of the first PSSCH (see para. 0480, PRB(s) is(are) allocated to a PSSCH transmitted in a slot i and a sub-channel j of the first resource pool in an ascending order first according to slot and then according to frequency domain as frequency-domain resources of a PSFCH corresponding to the PSSCH); identity (ID) information of a transmitting device for the first PSSCH; or ID information of the terminal device.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses wherein the processor is further configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program to perform: determining, according to an index value m, a PSFCH transmission resource in a PSFCH transmission resource set which is comprised in the slot where the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity in the M PSFCH transmission opportunities is located, m is a positive integer and 1≤m≤M (see para. 0472, 0475, the PSFCH resources are comprised in each slot, para. 0484 – 0485, to determine an index of the first PSFCH resource in the first PSFCH resource set).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses wherein each PSFCH transmission slot in the set of PSFCH transmission slots comprises M PSFCH resource subsets (see para. 0472, the PSFCH resources are comprised in each slot, Fig. 6 shows resource set with resource sub-pools); and the processor is further configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program to perform: determining that the PSFCH transmission resource of the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity corresponding to the first PSSCH is located in an m-th PSFCH resource subset in the slot where the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity is located (see para. 0456, a PSFCH corresponding to a PSSCH transmitted in a first time-frequency resource set is in a first resource sub-pool).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses wherein the processor is further configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program to perform: determining the PSFCH transmission resource in the m-th PSFCH resource subset in the slot where the m-th PSFCH transmission opportunity is located (see Fig. 6, first resource sub-pool, para. 0456, a PSFCH corresponding to a PSSCH transmitted in a first time-frequency resource set is in a first resource sub-pool) according to at least one of: a sub-channel index corresponding to a frequency-domain starting position of the first PSSCH; a number of sub-channels corresponding to a frequency-domain resource size occupied by the first PSSCH; slot information of the first PSSCH (see para. 0480, PRB(s) is(are) allocated to a PSSCH transmitted in a slot i and a sub-channel j of the first resource pool in an ascending order first according to slot and then according to frequency domain as frequency-domain resources of a PSFCH corresponding to the PSSCH); identity (ID) information of a transmitting device for the first PSSCH; or ID information of the terminal device.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhao, and have the features, as taught by Zhang, to use Discontinuous Reception (DRX) in cellular communications to reduce the power consumption of communication terminals and improve the standby time, as discussed by Zhang (para. 0003).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANH NGOC M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473