DETAILED ACTION
The action is in response to the application filed on 03/14/2024. Claims 1-12 are pending and examined below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a prescription module…the prescription model is configured to allow a user to enter a prescription that is used to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device during the surgical care” in claim 1 and 7
“a device module…is able to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device via the device module during the surgical care” in claims 1 and 7
“a guidance module…the guidance module is configured to search for medical guidance based on the patient during the surgical care, and the guidance module is able to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device based on the medical guidance during the surgical care” in claims 1 and 7
“a workflow module…the workflow module is configured to allow a user to select an existing workflow or create a new workflow during the surgical care, and the workflow module is able to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device based on the existing workflow or the new workflow during the surgical care” in claims 1 and 7
“a robot module…the robot module is configured to connect during the surgical care to a surgical robot that is used during the surgical care and that is able to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device via the robot module during the surgical care” in claims 1 and 7
“an OR module…the OR module is configured to allow a user to check-in to the OR module during the surgical care and allow the user to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device via the OR module during the surgical care” in claims 1 and 7.
“a profile module…the profile module is configured to allow a user to enter and/or retrieve patient profile information of the patient from a record or database during the surgical care, check a database for a suggested analyte measurement based on the patient profile information during the surgical care, and trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device during the surgical care based on the suggested analyte measurement” in claims 1 and 7.
“a wearable module…the wearable module is configured to connect during the surgical care to a wearable medical device that is worn by the patient during the surgical care, and configured to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device during the surgical care based on data detected by the wearable medical device” in claims 1 and 7.
A prescription module, a device module, a guidance module, a workflow module, a robot module, an OR module, a profile module, and a wearable module are all software programs that are contained within a computer a discussed in paragraph [0045] of the PGPub of the instant Application US 20240306957 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200187812 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Leabman”) in view of US 20080058612 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Ohyu”).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7-9, Leabman teaches a surgical care patient health monitoring system /method(abstract), comprising:
a non-invasive device (paragraph [0099]; as shown in Figure 10) that includes one or more transmit antennas configured to transmit radio frequency (RF) analyte detection signals from the one or more transmit antennas into a patient during surgical care (Tx; paragraphs [0099]-[0101]; as shown in Figures 10-12), and one or more receive antennas that receive return RF analyte signals that result from the transmitted RF analyte detection signals into the patient during the surgical care (Rx; paragraphs [0099]-[0101]; as shown in Figures 10-12), the non-invasive device is configured to be triggered to perform an analyte detection in the patient using the one or more transmit antennas and the one or more receive antennas during the surgical care (“In an embodiment, the health parameter is blood glucose level. In other embodiments, the health parameter may be blood pressure or heart rate”; paragraph [0129]; Figure 21); but Leabman does not explicitly teach at least one of the following:
(a) a prescription module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the prescription module is configured to allow a user to enter a prescription that is used to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device during the surgical care;
(b) a device module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the device module is connectable during the surgical care to a medical device that is used during the surgical care and that is able to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device via the device module during the surgical care;
(c) a guidance module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the guidance module is configured to search for medical guidance based on the patient during the surgical care, and the guidance module is able to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device based on the medical guidance during the surgical care;
(d) a workflow module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the workflow module is configured to allow a user to select an existing workflow or create a new workflow during the surgical care, and the workflow module is able to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device based on the existing workflow or the new workflow during the surgical care;
(e) a robot module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the robot module is configured to connect during the surgical care to a surgical robot that is used during the surgical care and that is able to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device via the robot module during the surgical care;
(f) an OR module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the OR module is configured to allow a user to check-in to the OR module during the surgical care and allow the user to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device via the OR module during the surgical care;
(g) a profile module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the profile module is configured to allow a user to enter and/or retrieve patient profile information of the patient from a record or database during the surgical care, check a database for a suggested analyte measurement based on the patient profile information during the surgical care, and trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device during the surgical care based on the suggested analyte measurement;
(h) a wearable module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the wearable module is configured to connect during the surgical care to a wearable medical device that is worn by the patient during the surgical care, and configured to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device during the surgical care based on data detected by the wearable medical device.
However, Ohyu, a medical information system teaches, at least one of the following:
(a) a prescription module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the prescription module is configured to allow a user to enter a prescription that is used to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device during the surgical care;
(b) a device module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the device module is connectable during the surgical care to a medical device that is used during the surgical care and that is able to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device via the device module during the surgical care ();
(c) a guidance module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the guidance module is configured to search for medical guidance based on the patient during the surgical care, and the guidance module is able to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device based on the medical guidance during the surgical care;
(d) a workflow module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the workflow module is configured to allow a user to select an existing workflow or create a new workflow during the surgical care, and the workflow module is able to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device based on the existing workflow or the new workflow during the surgical care (the system assesses a patients level of arousal, and determines if they are fully awake (part of a flow of surgery) based on biometric information such as blood pressure; paragraph [0224]-[0225]);
(e) a robot module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the robot module is configured to connect during the surgical care to a surgical robot that is used during the surgical care and that is able to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device via the robot module during the surgical care;
(f) an OR module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the OR module is configured to allow a user to check-in to the OR module during the surgical care and allow the user to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device via the OR module during the surgical care (“a stage identification unit 9 decides the type of performed medical act and the time instant of performance on the basis of the biomedical information acquired by the measured value acquisition unit 1” (thus is capable of determining/checking in on a stage of surgery, performed in an operation room; paragraph [0038]);
(g) a profile module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the profile module is configured to allow a user to enter and/or retrieve patient profile information of the patient from a record or database during the surgical care, check a database for a suggested analyte measurement based on the patient profile information during the surgical care, and trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device during the surgical care based on the suggested analyte measurement (paragraphs [0038]-[0039]);
(h) a wearable module that is connectable to and able to control operation of the non-invasive device to perform the analyte detection in the patient during the surgical care; the wearable module is configured to connect during the surgical care to a wearable medical device that is worn by the patient during the surgical care, and configured to trigger the analyte detection by the non-invasive device during the surgical care based on data detected by the wearable medical device. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Leabman, to determine have additional modules for performing specific medical related tasks, as taught by Ohyu, because doing so adds additional functionality based on biometric parameters that are determined by the non-invasive device of Leabman.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Leabman, in view of Ohyu, teaches further comprising an analog-to-digital converter connected to the one or more receive antennas (has an analog to digital converter; paragraph [0080]; as taught by Leabman).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Leabman, in view of Ohyu, teaches wherein the at least one of (a)-(h) is physically separate from the non-invasive device (the noninvasive device is an rf sensor device; abstract; as taught by Leabman; the sensor 1 is separate from the surgical recording system 12 (the profile module) as shown in Figure 1; as taught by Ohyu).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Leabman, in view of Ohyu, teaches wherein the two or more of (a)-(h) are together in an admin network (parts of software (which is part of a computer); paragraph [0039}).
Conclusion
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791