DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Ray does not teach “ determining a second angle prediction mode according to the texture information; and modifying the prediction sample according to a target reference sample corresponding to the second angle prediction mode (Remarks of April 21, 2026, page 10). The examiner respectfully disagrees. PDPC is a type of intra prediction technique that modifies/refines a predicted sample based on the position of the sample. The examiner that Ray discloses a first intra predicted mode that generates a predicted block and further a Gradient PDPC method to further modify the predicted block. Ray discloses in one case that a predicted value is generated and combined with a gradient term using a displacement value. The examiner argues that the so called “second angle prediction mode” stated by the claim limitation refers to the reference set used to modify the predicted sample. The examiner points to Figure 6, in the figure an initial predicted sample (element 142) based on the prediction direction (element 144) is used to compute gradient and offset. This reference set (elements 146 and 148) are used to produce the modified predicted sample.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 18 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ray et al (US 2021/0176465, hereafter Ray).
As per claim 1, Ray discloses an intra-frame prediction method, comprising:
determining a prediction sample corresponding to a prediction block based on an angle prediction mode corresponding to the prediction block (¶ 60,61, and 95); and
modifying the prediction sample by using a position dependent intra prediction combination (PDPC), to generate a modified prediction sample, wherein the modifying the prediction sample by using a position dependent intra prediction combination comprises (¶ 60, 61, and 102):
obtaining texture information of a reference sample set corresponding to a first angle prediction mode, the first angle prediction mode being an angle prediction mode corresponding to the prediction block, and the reference sample set comprising at least one reference sample (¶ 61 and 75; ¶ 61: Therefore, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may calculate a gradient term for one or more samples of the current block along a prediction direction (angle) for the intra-prediction modes);
determining a second angle prediction mode according to the texture information; and
modifying the prediction sample according to a target reference sample corresponding to the second angle prediction mode (¶ 78).
As per claim 2, Ray discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining texture information of a reference sample set corresponding to a first angle prediction mode comprises:
in a case that an index corresponding to the first angle prediction mode is less than a first preset index, performing texture analysis on at least some pixels in a reconstructed image that is above the prediction block and adjacent to the prediction block, to obtain the texture information; or in a case that the index corresponding to the first angle prediction mode is greater than a second preset index, performing texture analysis on at least some pixels in a reconstructed image that is on a left side of the prediction block and adjacent to the prediction block, to obtain the texture information (¶ 143).
As per claim 3, Ray discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining texture information of a reference sample set corresponding to a first angle prediction mode comprises:
in a case that an index corresponding to the first angle prediction mode is less than a first preset index, obtaining the texture information based on an intra-frame prediction mode corresponding to a decoded block that is above the prediction block and adjacent to the prediction block; or in a case that the index corresponding to the first angle prediction mode is greater than a second preset index, obtaining the texture information based on an intra-frame prediction mode corresponding to a decoded block that is on a left side of the prediction block and adjacent to the prediction block (¶ 143).
As per claim 4, Ray discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the modifying the prediction sample according to a target reference sample corresponding to the second angle prediction mode comprises:
determining a scale factor and a target inverse angle value according to a first prediction angle corresponding to the first angle prediction mode and a second prediction angle corresponding to the second angle prediction mode (¶ 125); and
modifying the prediction sample by using the target reference sample, the scale factor, and the target inverse angle value (¶ 125).
As per claim 5, Ray discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the determining a scale factor and a target inverse angle value according to a first prediction angle corresponding to the first angle prediction mode and a second prediction angle corresponding to the second angle prediction mode comprises:
determining the scale factor by using a first inverse angle value corresponding to the first prediction angle; and determining the target inverse angle value according to the first angle prediction mode and the second angle prediction mode (¶ 102 - 121).
As per claim 6, Ray discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the determining a scale factor and a target inverse angle value according to a first prediction angle corresponding to the first angle prediction mode and a second prediction angle corresponding to the second angle prediction mode comprises:
determining the target inverse angle value according to the first prediction angle and the second prediction angle; and determining the scale factor by using the target inverse angle value (¶ 102 - 121).
As per claim 7, Ray discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the determining the target inverse angle value according to the first prediction angle and the second prediction angle comprises:
rounding a division result of a first preset value and a first offset value in a case that the first angle prediction mode and the second angle prediction mode do not meet a preset condition, to obtain the target inverse angle value, wherein the first offset value corresponds to the first angle prediction mode; or obtaining the target inverse angle value according to a second offset value and a second preset value in a case that the first angle prediction mode and the second angle prediction mode meet the preset condition, wherein the second offset value corresponds to the second angle prediction mode (¶ 102 - 113).
As per claim 8, Ray discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the obtaining the target inverse angle value according to a second offset value and a second preset value comprises:
performing a left shift operation on the second offset value and the second preset value, to obtain the target inverse angle value (¶ 102 - 113).
As per claim 9, Ray discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the obtaining the target inverse angle value according to a second offset value and a second preset value comprises:
performing a left shift operation on the second offset value and the second preset value, to obtain a second inverse angle value; rounding the division result of the first preset value and the first offset value, to obtain a third inverse angle value; and performing weighted summation on the second inverse angle value and the third inverse angle value, to determine a sum as the target inverse angle value (¶ 102 - 113).
As per claim 10, Ray discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the preset condition comprises any one of the following:
the index corresponding to the first angle prediction mode is less than the first preset index, the index corresponding to the first angle prediction mode is different from a third preset index, an index corresponding to the second angle prediction mode is greater than the second preset index, and a target scale factor is greater than or equal to a third preset value, wherein the third preset index is less than the first preset index, and the target scale factor is a scale factor calculated by using the first inverse angle value or a scale factor calculated by using the target inverse angle value; or the index corresponding to the first angle prediction mode is greater than the second preset index, the index corresponding to the second angle prediction mode is less than the first preset index, the index corresponding to the second angle prediction mode is different from the third preset index, and the target scale factor is greater than or equal to the third preset value (¶ 27 and 28).
As per claim 11, Ray discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the preset condition comprises any one of the following: the index corresponding to the first angle prediction mode is less than the first preset index, the index corresponding to the first angle prediction mode is different from a third preset index, and a target scale factor is greater than or equal to a third preset value; or the index corresponding to the first angle prediction mode is greater than the second preset index, and the target scale factor is greater than or equal to the third preset value (¶ 27 and 28).
As per claim 12, Ray discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the modifying the prediction sample by using the target reference sample, the scale factor, and the target inverse angle value comprises: obtaining a target variable by using the target reference sample, the scale factor, and the target inverse angle value; and modifying the prediction sample by using the target variable (¶ 27 and 28).
As per claim 13, Ray discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the modifying the prediction sample by using the target variable comprises: performing linear interpolation filtering on the target reference sample, to adjust the target variable; and modifying the prediction sample by using an adjusted target variable (¶ 80).
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 18.
As per claim 22, Ray discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the texture information is an angle prediction mode corresponding to a decoded block adjacent to and above or on a left side of the prediction block, and the second angle prediction mode is derived from the angle prediction mode corresponding to the decoded block (¶ 61, 75, and 78).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray in view of Wang et al (US 2024/0259560, hereafter Wang).
As per claim 21, Ray discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, Ray does not explicitly teach wherein the texture information is a gradient histogram generated by performing texture analysis on at least some pixels adjacent to and above or on a left side of the prediction block using a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) mode, and the second angle prediction mode is derived by comparing amplitudes in the gradient histogram.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches wherein the texture information is a gradient histogram generated by performing texture analysis on at least some pixels adjacent to and above or on a left side of the prediction block using a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) mode, and the second angle prediction mode is derived by comparing amplitudes in the gradient histogram.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as effectively filed to modify the invention Ray in view of Wang. The advantage is improving the coding effectiveness and coding efficiency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487