Claims 1-28 have been examined
Drawings
The drawings filed on March 14, 2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Specification
The specification filed on March 14, 2024 is acceptable for examination proceedings.
Priority
This application 18605419 filed on 03/14/2024 claims priority from Provisional Application 63490429, filed on 03/15/2023. Therefore, the effective filing date for the subject matter defined in the pending claims of this application is 03/15/2023
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirfakhraei (US 20150301631 A1, hereinafter refered to as Mirfakhraei) in view of Knausz (US 11320935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Knausz).
Regarding claim 22, Mirfakhraei discloses: an apparatus, comprising: a codeword generator to generate codewords (Mirfakhraei: paragraph [0032] mentions that the codes are generated by a code generator.); and a driver to generate drive signals at least partially based on the scrambled codewords generated by the scrambler (Mirfakhraei: fig 1 and fig 3, fig 1 shows the touch controller which paragraph 0019 states that the drive unit supplies the drive signals to the drive electrodes of the touch sensor, and fig 3 shows that the signals get encoded by the cdm pattern codes.), but fails to explicitly disclose: a scrambler to generate codewords scrambled for respective measurement frames of a touch sensing system at least partially based on the codewords generated by the code generator and a code division multiplexing (CDM) pattern.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Knausz discloses: a scrambler to generate codewords scrambled for respective measurement frames of a touch sensing system at least partially based on the codewords generated by the code generator and a code division multiplexing (CDM) pattern (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teachings of Mirfakhraei and include the above limitation with the teachings of Knausz in order for a touch signal that encodes the signals in a cdm pattern over multiple measurement frames (see Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirfakhraei (US 20150301631 A1, hereinafter refered to as Mirfakhraei) in view of Knausz (US 11320935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Knausz) and in further view of Yokomoto (WO 9745781 A2, hereinafter refered to as Yokomoto).
Regarding claim 1, Mirfakhraei discloses: A method of [touch-screen overlay attack prevention] comprising: obtaining a set of codewords scrambled based, in part, on a code division multiplexing (CDM) pattern (Mirfakhraei: page 5 paragraph [0032], figure 3 which states that “touch sensor system 300 incorporating code hopping algorithms with CDM.”); generating drive signals encoded with the set of scrambled codewords (Mirfakhraei: page 5 paragraph [0032], figure 3, figure 2 which states that drive signals 310 can be multiplexed with codes 320 by code generator 360 in order to yield encoded drive signals (all numbers are labels in figure 3). Figure 2 shows example of two different multiplexing patterns, one of which being cdm.), but fails to explicitly disclose: stimulating drive lines of a touch sensor in a touch screen over multiple measurement frames utilizing different patterns of the set of scrambled codewords for respective ones of the multiple measurement frames.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Knausz discloses: and stimulating drive lines of a touch sensor in a touch screen over multiple measurement frames utilizing different patterns of the set of scrambled codewords for respective ones of the multiple measurement frames (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Mirfakhraei and include the above limitation above with the teachings of Knausz in order for a touch sensor that uses a cdm pattern to encode the drive signals and uses those drive signals to stimulate drive lines over multiple measurement frames.
Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz teaches: obtaining a set of codewords scrambled based, in part, on a code division multiplexing (CDM) pattern (Mirfakhraei: page 5 paragraph [0032], figure 3 which states that “touch sensor system 300 incorporating code hopping algorithms with CDM.”); generating drive signals encoded with the set of scrambled codewords (Mirfakhraei: page 5 paragraph [0032], figure 3, figure 2 which states that drive signals 310 can be multiplexed with codes 320 by code generator 360 in order to yield encoded drive signals (all numbers are labels in figure 3). Figure 2 shows example of two different multiplexing patterns, one of which being cdm.); and stimulating drive lines of a touch sensor in a touch screen over multiple measurement frames utilizing different patterns of the set of scrambled codewords for respective ones of the multiple measurement frames (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention), but fails to explicitly disclose: a method of touch screen overlay attack prevention.
However, Yokomoto discloses a method of touch-screen overlay attack prevention (Yokomoto: abstract, column 3 lines 20-23 which describes a touch-screen attack prevention method of a bank atm where the user touch location gets processed and encrypted in coded signals which third parties are unable to access since the code itself, if intercepted, will be seen in gibberish, and can only be decoded with keys only certain remote processers have access to that third parties don’t have access to.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz to include the above limitation using the teaching of Yokomoto in order for a touch sensor that uses a cdm pattern to encode the drive signals and uses those drive signals to stimulate drive lines over multiple measurement frames for the purpose of hiding the user touch location and preventing touch screen overlay attacks. Regarding claim 2, The combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto discloses The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the scrambled codeword comprises: selecting, at least partially based on a selection process that is randomized, one or more scrambler operators from a set of scrambling operators (Knausz: column 11, lines 21-24 which states that "multiplexing patterns may include Hadamard, Legendre, Barker sequences, modifications of these sequences, or other suitable CDM matrices." Any modification of the cdm pattern meets the criteria of “one or more scrambling operators.”); and converting a codeword according to the selected one or more scrambler operators to generate the scrambled codeword (Knausz: column 11, lines 21-24 which states that "multiplexing patterns may include Hadamard, Legendre, Barker sequences, modifications of these sequences, or other suitable CDM matrices." Modifying the multiplexing pattern meets the criteria of “converting a codeword.”).
The same motivation to modify Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz with Yokomoto, as in claim 1, applies.
Regarding claim 4, The combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto discloses that the method of claim 2, comprising: receiving encoded sense signals from the touch sensor (Mirfakhraei: Fig 3, paragraph [0032] which teaches that the sense signals are encoded with the codes that were applied to the drive signals.); and touch-processing the received encoded sense signals at least partially based on the scrambled codeword (Mirfakhraei: Fig 3, paragraph [0032] which talks about the encoded sense signals being demultiplexed using the codes from the code generator which is a form of touch-processing.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto discloses the method of claim 1, Mirfakhraei further discloses that at least some respective ones of the different patterns of codewords are orthogonal to at least some other respective ones of the different patterns of codewords (Mirfakhraei: figure 2A and 2B and paragraph [0024] talk about the codes assigned being orthogonal to each of the other codes assigned.).
Regarding claim 14, Mirfakhraei discloses an apparatus [for overlay attack prevention] comprising: at least one processor (Mirfakhraei: paragraph [0019] states that the touch sensor controller can have a processing unit.); and a data storage device operatively connected to the at least one processor to store machine executable code which, when executed, enables the at least one processor to perform acts (Mirfakhraei: paragraph [0019] states that the storage stores code that enables the processor to send the driving signals) comprising: obtaining a codeword scrambled based, at least in part, on a code division multiplexing (CDM) pattern (Mirfakhraei: page 5 paragraph [0032], figure 3 which states that “touch sensor system 300 incorporating code hopping algorithms with CDM.”); combining a drive signal with the scrambled codeword to generate an encoded drive signal (Mirfakhraei: page 5 paragraph [0032], figure 3, figure 2 which states that drive signals 310 can be multiplexed with codes 320 by code generator 360 in order to yield encoded drive signals (all numbers are labels in figure 3). Figure 2 shows example of two different multiplexing patterns, one of which being cdm.), but fails to explicitly disclose and stimulating drive lines of a touch sensor over multiple measurement frames utilizing different patterns of codewords for respective ones of the multiple measurement frames.
However, Knausz teaches: and stimulating drive lines of a touch sensor over multiple measurement frames utilizing different patterns of codewords for respective ones of the multiple measurement frames (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention).
The same motivation to modify Mirfakhraei with Knausz, as in claim 1, applies.
Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz discloses: an apparatus [for overlay attack prevention] comprising: at least one processor (Mirfakhraei: paragraph [0019] states that the touch sensor controller can have a processing unit.); and a data storage device operatively connected to the at least one processor to store machine executable code which, when executed, enables the at least one processor to perform acts (Mirfakhraei: paragraph [0019] states that the storage stores code that enables the processor to send the driving signals) comprising: obtaining a codeword scrambled based, at least in part, on a code division multiplexing (CDM) pattern (Mirfakhraei: page 5 paragraph [0032], figure 3 which states that “touch sensor system 300 incorporating code hopping algorithms with CDM.”); combining a drive signal with the scrambled codeword to generate an encoded drive signal (Mirfakhraei: page 5 paragraph [0032], figure 3, figure 2 which states that drive signals 310 can be multiplexed with codes 320 by code generator 360 in order to yield encoded drive signals (all numbers are labels in figure 3). Figure 2 shows example of two different multiplexing patterns, one of which being cdm.); and stimulating drive lines of a touch sensor over multiple measurement frames utilizing different patterns of codewords for respective ones of the multiple measurement frames (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention), but fails to explicitly disclose: an apparatus for attack overlay prevention.
However, Yokomoto teaches: an apparatus for overlay attack prevention (Yokomoto: abstract, column 3 lines 20-23 which describes a touch-screen attack prevention device and method of a bank atm where the user touch location gets processed and encrypted in coded signals which third parties are unable to access since the code itself, if intercepted, will be seen in gibberish, and can only be decoded with keys only certain remote processers have access to that third parties don’t have access to.).
The same motivation to modify Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz with Yokomoto, as in claim 1, applies.
Claim(s) 3, 15-16, 18, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirfakhraei (US 20150301631 A1, hereinafter refered to as Mirfakhraei) in view of Knausz (US 11320935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Knausz) and in further view of Yokomoto (WO 9745781 A2, hereinafter refered to as Yokomoto), and further in view of Forlines (US 20170024061 A1, hereinafter refered to as Forlines).
Regarding claim 3, The combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto discloses the method of claim 2, but fails to explicitly disclose: obtaining a value responsive to the randomized selection process, wherein the obtained value is one of a true random value or pseudo-random value; and determining a selection of the one or more scrambling operators from the set of scrambling operators at least partially based on the obtained value.
However, Forlines discloses: obtaining a value responsive to the randomized selection process, wherein the obtained value is one of a true random value or pseudo-random value (Forlines: paragraphs [0076] and [0090] disclose that sinusoids are orthogonal signals and whether or not they get inverted is dependent on a pseudorandom function. Inversion is a scrambling operator which only one or more was needed, and the pseudorandom function always equal to a value which would end up being a pseudorandom value like its function.).; and determining a selection of the one or more scrambling operators from the set of scrambling operators at least partially based on the obtained value (Forlines: paragraphs [0076] and [0090] disclose that sinusoids are orthogonal signals and whether or not they get inverted is dependent on a pseudorandom function. Inversion is a scrambling operator which only one or more was needed, and the pseudorandom function always equal to a value which would end up being a pseudorandom value like its function.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto to include the above limitation of Forlines in order for a touch sensor that encrypts touch locations over multiple measurement frames to utilize random or pseudorandom values to determine how to scramble the codewords.
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and Forlines discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the acts comprise: selecting one or more scrambling operators responsive to a selection process that is randomized (Forlines: paragraphs [0076] and [0090] disclose that sinusoids are orthogonal signals and whether or not they get inverted is dependent on a pseudorandom function. Inversion is a scrambling operator which only one or more was needed, and the pseudorandom function always equal to a value which would end up being a pseudorandom value like its function).
The same motivation to modify Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto with Forlines, as in claim 3, applies.
Knausz further discloses: scrambling the codeword according to the selected one or more scrambling operators (Knausz: column 11, lines 21-24 which states that "multiplexing patterns may include Hadamard, Legendre, Barker sequences, modifications of these sequences, or other suitable CDM matrices." Modifying the multiplexing pattern meets the criteria of “converting a codeword.”);
The same motivation to modify Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto with Forlines, as in claim 3, applies.
Mirfakhraei further discloses: and utilizing the encoded drive signal to stimulate a drive line of the touch sensor (Mirfakhraei: figure 3 and [0032], "the encoded drive signals 330 may be input to the drive lines 220 of touch sensor 110.").
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and Forlines discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the acts comprise: selecting, for the randomized selection process, the one or more scrambling operators at least partially responsive to a value that is one of a true random value or pseudo-random value (Forlines: paragraphs [0076] and [0090], [0076] states that sinusoids are orthogonal signals and [0090] describes inversion of the sinusoids occuring partially due to a pseudorandom function).
The same motivation to modify Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto with Forlines, as in claim 3, applies.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and Forlines discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the acts comprise: receiving sensed signals from the touch sensor (Mirfakhraei: Fig 3, paragraph [0032] which teaches that the sense signals are encoded with the codes that were applied to the drive signals.); and touch-processing the received sensed signals at least partially based on a scrambled codeword (Mirfakhraei: Fig 3, paragraph [0032] which talks about the encoded sense signals being demultiplexed using the codes from the code generator.).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and Forlines discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein at least some respective ones of the patterns of the different patterns of codewords are orthogonal to at least some other respective ones of the different patterns of codewords (Mirfakhraei: figure 2A and 2B and paragraph [0024] talk about the codes assigned being orthogonal to each of the other codes assigned.).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirfakhraei (US 20150301631 A1, hereinafter refered to as Mirfakhraei) in view of Knausz (US 11320935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Knausz) and in further view of Yokomoto (WO 9745781 A2, hereinafter referred to as Yokomoto) and in further view of Bar-El (US 20130305392 A1, hereinafter referred to as Bar-El).
Regarding claim 5, The combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto discloses the method of claim 2, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the set of scrambling operators comprises one or more of shuffling, inverting codeword rows, inverting codeword columns, or inserting invalid patterns.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bar-El teaches: wherein the set of scrambling operators comprises one or more of shuffling, inverting codeword rows, inverting codeword columns, or inserting invalid patterns (Bar-El: paragraphs [0032] and [0095] which describes the scrambling or shuffling of a keypad in order to change the order of the keys at each invocation into any random order that’s different from the previous invocation.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto and include the above limitation using the teaching of Bar-El in order to have a touch sensor that utilizes the scrambling of codewords according to different types of scrambling operators in order to hide the user touch location and prevent attackers from retrieving the information based on the touch coordinates (see Bar-El: paragraphs [0032] and [0095]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirfakhraei (US 20150301631 A1, hereinafter refered to as Mirfakhraei) in view of Knausz (US 11320935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Knausz) and in further view of Yokomoto (WO 9745781 A2, hereinafter refered to as Yokomoto), and further in view of Forlines (US 20170024061 A1, hereinafter refered to as Forlines) and in further view of Bar-El (US 20130305392 A1, hereinafter referred to as Bar-El).
Regarding claim 17, The combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and Forlines teach the apparatus of claim 15, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the acts comprise: selecting the one or more scrambling operators from a set of scrambling operators, the set of scrambling operators including one or more of shuffling, inverting codeword rows, inverting codeword columns, or inserting invalid patterns.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bar-El teaches: wherein the acts comprise: selecting the one or more scrambling operators from a set of scrambling operators, the set of scrambling operators including one or more of shuffling, inverting codeword rows, inverting codeword columns, or inserting invalid patterns (Bar-El: paragraphs [0032] and [0095] which describes the scrambling or shuffling of a keypad in order to change the order of the keys at each invocation into any random order that’s different from the previous invocation.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto and include the above limitation using the teaching of Bar-El in order to have a touch sensor that utilizes the scrambling of codewords, which is based on a pseudorandom value determining the scrambling, in order to hide the user touch location and prevent attackers from retrieving the information based on the touch coordinates (see Bar-El: paragraphs [0032] and [0095]).
Claim(s) 7, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirfakhraei (US 20150301631 A1, hereinafter refered to as Mirfakhraei) in view of Knausz (US 11320935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Knausz) and in further view of Yokomoto (WO 9745781 A2, hereinafter refered to as Yokomoto) and further in view of Genossar (WO 2018222224 A1, hereinafter refered to as Genossar).
Regarding claim 7, The combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto teaches: The method of claim 6 wherein [stimulating drive lines of the touch sensor over multiple measurement frames utilizing different patterns of codewords for respective ones of the multiple measurement frames] comprises: generating a first set of codewords and a second set of codewords (Mirfakhraei: claim 4 talks about the use of a second plurality of codes and paragraph [0032] talks about the use of a code generator to generate the codes that encode the drive signal.); encoding a first drive pattern utilizing the scrambled first codeword set (Mirfakhraei: paragraph [0032] talks about the drive signals being multiplexed based on codes from a code generator to yield an encoded drive signal.); encoding a second drive pattern utilizing the scrambled second codeword set (Mirfakhraei: paragraphs [0023] and [0024] talk about the need for the encoding codes needing to be distinguished from each other and gave an example of different codes being assigned to different drive lines once stimulated by the encoded signals); [stimulating drive lines of a touch sensor over a first measurement frame utilizing the encoded first drive pattern] (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.); [and stimulating drive lines of the touch sensor over a second measurement frame utilizing the encoded second drive pattern, wherein the second measurement frame is different than the first measurement frame] (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.), but fails to explicitly disclose: scrambling the first set of codewords according to one or more first scrambling operators; scrambling the second set of codewords according to one or more second scrambling operators, wherein the one or more second scrambling operators are different than the one or more first scrambling operators.
Knausz further discloses: stimulating drive lines of the touch sensor over multiple measurement frames utilizing different patterns of codewords for respective ones of the multiple measurement frames (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention); stimulating drive lines of a touch sensor over a first measurement frame utilizing the encoded first drive pattern (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.); and stimulating drive lines of the touch sensor over a second measurement frame utilizing the encoded second drive pattern, wherein the second measurement frame is different than the first measurement frame (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.), but fails to explicitly disclose: scrambling the first set of codewords according to one or more first scrambling operators; scrambling the second set of codewords according to one or more second scrambling operators, wherein the one or more second scrambling operators are different than the one or more first scrambling operators.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Genossar discloses: scrambling the first set of codewords according to one or more first scrambling operators (Genossar: The abstract and paragraphs [00167]-[00170] discloses that a first data word and second data word are scrambled based on a first and second scrambling sequence, respectively, and each scrambling sequence is based on a first and second polynomial, respectively, where the second polynomial is different from the first polynomial.); scrambling the second set of codewords according to one or more second scrambling operators, wherein the one or more second scrambling operators are different than the one or more first scrambling operators (Genossar: The abstract and paragraphs [00167]-[00170] discloses that a first data word and second data word are scrambled based on a first and second scrambling sequence, respectively, and each scrambling sequence is based on a first and second polynomial, respectively, where the second polynomial is different from the first polynomial.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, and Yokomoto and include the above limitations using the teaching of Genossar in order to have a touch sensor that utilizes the scrambling of multiple codewords, which is based on a pseudorandom value determining the scrambling and the operators are distinct from one another, in order to hide the user touch location and prevent attackers from retrieving the information based on the touch coordinates (see Genossar: abstract and paragraphs [00167]-[00170]).
Regarding claim 12, The combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and Genossar teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the touch sensor is a portion of a capacitive touch sensing system (Mirfakhraei: paragraph [0006] describes figure 3 as a touch sensor system and figure 3 shows a touch sensor within the system).
Regarding claim 13, The combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and Genossar teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the stimulating drive lines of the touch sensor over multiple measurement frames utilizing different patterns of codewords for respective ones of the multiple measurement frames (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.) comprises: stimulating drive lines of the touch sensor utilizing first codewords during a first measurement frame of the multiple measurement frames (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.); and stimulating drive lines of the touch sensor utilizing second codewords during a second measurement frame of the multiple measurement frames, wherein a pattern of the second codewords is different than a pattern of the first codewords, and wherein the second measurement frame is different than the first measurement frame (Knausz: Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention).
The same motivation to modify Mifrakhraei as modified by Knausz and Yokomoto with Yokomoto, as in claim 7, applies.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirfakhraei (US 20150301631 A1, hereinafter refered to as Mirfakhraei) in view of Knausz (US 11320935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Knausz) and in further view of Yokomoto (WO 9745781 A2, hereinafter refered to as Yokomoto) and in further view of Genossar (WO 2018222224 A1, hereinafter refered to as Genossar) and in further view of Bar-El (US 20130305392 A1, hereinafter referred to as Bar-El).
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Mirfakhraei, Knausz, Yokomoto, and Genossar discloses: The method of claim 7, but fails to explicitly disclose: selecting the first scrambling operator and the second scrambling operator, respectively, from the set of one or more scrambling operators including one or more of shuffling, inverting codeword rows, inverting codeword columns, or inserting invalid patterns.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bar-El teaches selecting the first scrambling operator and the second scrambling operator, respectively, from the set of one or more scrambling operators including one or more of shuffling, inverting codeword rows, inverting codeword columns, or inserting invalid patterns (Bar-El: paragraphs [0032] and [0095] which describes the scrambling or shuffling of a keypad in order to change the order of the keys at each invocation into any random order that’s different from the previous invocation.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and Genossar and include the above limitation using the teaching of Bar-El in order to have a touch sensor that utilizes the scrambling of multiple codewords, which is based on a pseudorandom value determining the scrambling out of a selection of operators and the operators are distinct from one another, in order to hide the user touch location and prevent attackers from retrieving the information based on the touch coordinates (see Bar-El: paragraphs [0032] and [0095]).
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, Genossar, and Bar-El discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the shuffling comprises one or more of rearranging a row of codewords and rearranging a column of codewords (Bar-El: paragraphs [0032] and [0095] which describes the scrambling or shuffling of a keypad in order to change the order of the keys at each invocation into any random order that’s different from the previous invocation.).
Same motivation to modify Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and Genossar with Bar-El, as claim 8, applies here.
Regarding claim 10, The combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, Genossar, and Bar-El discloses the method of claim 9, wherein inverting codeword rows comprises one or more of inverting some symbols or a totality of symbols of some or a totality of codeword rows (Knauz: column 20 lines 28-31 which explains that signals can be passed in an inverted form according to a cdm pattern, which is an orthogonal pattern which means both rows and columns are being inverted.).
Same motivation to modify Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and Genossar with Bar-El, as claim 8, applies here.
Regarding claim 11, The combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, Genossar, and Bar-El discloses the method of claim 10, wherein inverting codeword columns comprises one or more of inverting some symbols or a totality of symbols of some or a totality of codewords columns (Knauz: column 20 lines 28-31 which explains that signals can be passed in an inverted form according to a cdm pattern, which is an orthogonal pattern which means both rows and columns are being inverted.).
Same motivation to modify Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and Genossar with Bar-El, as claim 8, applies here.
Claim(s) 23, 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirfakhraei (US 20150301631 A1, hereinafter refered to as Mirfakhraei) in view of Knausz (US 11320935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Knausz) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Forlines (US 20170024061 A1, hereinafter refered to as Forlines).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz discloses the apparatus of claim 22, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the scrambler to: select one or more scrambling operators at least partially based on a selection process that is randomized; and generate a scrambled codeword at least partially based on the randomized selection process, wherein the randomized selection process obtains a value that is one of a true random value or pseudo-random value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Forlines teaches: wherein the scrambler to: select one or more scrambling operators at least partially based on a selection process that is randomized (Forlines: paragraphs [0076] and [0090] disclose that sinusoids are orthogonal signals and whether or not they get inverted is dependent on a pseudorandom function. Inversion is a scrambling operator which only one or more was needed, and the pseudorandom function always equal to a value which would end up being a pseudorandom value like its function); and generate a scrambled codeword at least partially based on the randomized selection process, wherein the randomized selection process obtains a value that is one of a true random value or pseudo-random value (Forlines: paragraphs [0076] and [0090] disclose that sinusoids are orthogonal signals and whether or not they get inverted is dependent on a pseudorandom function. Inversion is a scrambling operator which only one or more was needed, and the pseudorandom function always equal to a value which would end up being a pseudorandom value like its function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz to include the above limitation using the teaching of Forlines in order for a touch signal that encodes the signals in a cdm pattern, which is scrambled based on a pseudorandom value, over multiple measurement frames (see Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, and Forlines discloses the apparatus of claim 23, comprising: a touch controller to touch-process received sensed signals at least partially based on the scrambled codewords (Mirfakhraei: Fig 3, paragraph [0032] which talks about the encoded sense signals being demultiplexed using the codes from the code generator which is a form of touch-processing.).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, and Forlines discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the scrambler generates at least some scrambled codewords, wherein each scrambled codeword remains orthogonal to another scrambled codeword (Mirfakhraei: figure 2A and 2B and paragraph [0024] talk about the codes assigned being orthogonal to each of the other codes assigned).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirfakhraei (US 20150301631 A1, hereinafter refered to as Mirfakhraei) in view of Knausz (US 11320935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Knausz) and further in view of Forlines (US 20170024061 A1, hereinafter refered to as Forlines) and in further view of Bar-El (US 20130305392 A1, hereinafter referred to as Bar-El).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Forlines teaches the apparatus of claim 23, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the scrambler to: select the one or more scrambling operators from a set of scrambling operators, the set of scrambling operators comprising one or more of shuffling, inverting codeword rows, inverting codeword columns, or inserting invalid patterns.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bar-El teaches: wherein the scrambler to: select the one or more scrambling operators from a set of scrambling operators, the set of scrambling operators comprising one or more of shuffling, inverting codeword rows, inverting codeword columns, or inserting invalid patterns (Bar-El: paragraphs [0032] and [0095] which describes the scrambling or shuffling of a keypad in order to change the order of the keys at each invocation into any random order that’s different from the previous invocation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teachings of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz and Forlines with the teachings of Bar-El in order for a touch signal that encodes the signals in a cdm pattern, which is scrambled based on a pseudorandom value by a selection of scrambling operators, over multiple measurement frames (see Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4).
Claim(s) 27 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirfakhraei (US 20150301631 A1, hereinafter refered to as Mirfakhraei) in view of Knausz (US 11320935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Knausz) and in further view of Genossar (WO 2018222224 A1, hereinafter refered to as Genossar).
Regarding claim 27, Mirfakhraei discloses: A system, comprising: a touch sensor (Mirfakhraei: figure 3 shows a touch sensor); and a touch controller to: (Mirfakhraei: Figure 1 shows a touch controler), but fails to explicitly disclose: obtain codewords for respective measurement frames of the touch sensor; scramble respective codewords according to different patterns of codewords; and perform a capacitive measurement of the touch sensor at least partially based on each respective scrambled codeword.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Knausz teaches: obtain codewords for respective measurement frames of the touch sensor (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.); and perform a capacitive measurement of the touch sensor at least partially based on each respective scrambled codeword (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mirfakhraei and include the above limitation using the teaching of Knausz in order to create a touch sensing system that uses a touch controller to generate codewords for different measurement frames and perform respective measurements (see Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4).
The combination of Mirfakhraei and Knausz teaches: A system, comprising: a touch sensor (Mirfakhraei: figure 3 shows a touch sensor); and a touch controller to: (Mirfakhraei: Figure 1 shows a touch controler); obtain codewords for respective measurement frames of the touch sensor (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.); and perform a capacitive measurement of the touch sensor at least partially based on each respective scrambled codeword (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell.), but fails to explicitly disclose: obtain codewords for respective measurement frames of the touch sensor; scramble respective codewords according to different patterns of codewords.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Genossar discloses: scramble respective codewords according to different patterns of codewords (Genossar: The abstract and paragraphs [00167]-[00170] discloses that a first data word and second data word are scrambled based on a first and second scrambling sequence, respectively, and each scrambling sequence is based on a first and second polynomial, respectively, where the second polynomial is different from the first polynomial).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz with the teaching of Genossar in order to create a touch sensing system that uses a touch controller to generate codewords, each scrambled different from one another, for different measurement frames and perform respective measurements (see Genossar: abstract and paragraphs [00167]-[00170]).
Regarding claim 28, The combination of Mirkahraei as modified by Knausz and Genossar teach the system of claim 27, wherein the touch controller to: obtain a first codeword set (Mirfakhraei: page 5 paragraph [0032], figure 3 which states that “drive signals 310 (such as drive signal 201 of FIG. 2B) may be multiplexed with a set of codes 320 (such as code signal 202) provided by code generator 360 to yield an encoded array of drive signals 330.”); encode a first drive signal utilizing the scrambled first codeword set (Mirfakhraei: page 5 paragraph [0032], figure 3, figure 2 which states that drive signals 310 can be multiplexed with codes 320 by code generator 360 in order to yield encoded drive signals (all numbers are labels in figure 3). Figure 2 shows example of two different multiplexing patterns, one of which being cdm.); obtain a second codeword set (Mirfakhraei: claim 4 talks about the use of a second plurality of codes and paragraph [0032] talks about the use of a code generator to generate the codes that encode the drive signal); encode a second drive signal utilizing the scrambled second codeword set (Mirfakhraei: claim 4 talks about the use of a second plurality of codes and paragraph [0032] talks about the use of a code generator to generate the codes that encode the drive signal.);
Knausz further discloses: stimulate a drive line of a touch sensor over a first measurement frame utilizing the encoded first drive signal (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.); and stimulate the drive line of the touch sensor over a second measurement frame utilizing the encoded second drive signal, wherein the second measurement frame is different than the first measurement frame (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.).
The same motivation to modify Mirfakhraei with Knausz, as in claim 27, applies.
Genossar further discloses: scramble the first codeword set according to a first scrambling operator (Genossar: The abstract and paragraphs [00167]-[00170] discloses that a first data word and second data word are scrambled based on a first and second scrambling sequence, respectively, and each scrambling sequence is based on a first and second polynomial, respectively, where the second polynomial is different from the first polynomial); scramble the second codeword set according to a second scrambling operator, wherein the second scrambling operator is different from the first scrambling operator (Genossar: The abstract and paragraphs [00167]-[00170] discloses that a first data word and second data word are scrambled based on a first and second scrambling sequence, respectively, and each scrambling sequence is based on a first and second polynomial, respectively, where the second polynomial is different from the first polynomial.).
The same motivation to modify Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz with Genossar, as in claim 27, applies.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirfakhraei (US 20150301631 A1, hereinafter refered to as Mirfakhraei) in view of Knausz (US 11320935 B1, hereinafter referred to as Knausz) and in further view of Yokomoto (WO 9745781 A2, hereinafter refered to as Yokomoto) and in further view of Forlines (US 20170024061 A1, hereinafter refered to as Forlines), and further in view of Genossar (WO 2018222224 A1, hereinafter refered to as Genossar).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and forlines teaches: The apparatus of claim 18, wherein [the act of stimulating drive lines of the touch sensor over multiple measurement frames utilizing different patterns of codewords for respective ones of the multiple measurement frames], comprises: generating a first codeword and a second codeword (Mirfakhraei: claim 4 talks about the use of a second plurality of codes and paragraph [0032] talks about the use of a code generator to generate the codes that encode the drive signal); encoding a first drive signal utilizing the scrambled first codeword (Mirfakhraei: paragraph [0032] talks about the drive signals being multiplexed based on codes from a code generator to yield an encoded drive signal); encoding a second drive signal utilizing the scrambled second codeword (Mirfakhraei: paragraphs [0023] and [0024] talk about the need for the encoding codes needing to be distinguished from each other and gave an example of different codes being assigned to different drive lines once stimulated by the encoded signals); [stimulating a drive line of a touch sensor over a first measurement frame utilizing the encoded first drive signal]; [and stimulating the drive line of the touch sensor over a second measurement frame utilizing the encoded second drive signal, wherein the second measurement frame is different than the first measurement frame] (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.), but fails to explicitly disclose: scrambling the first codeword according to a first scrambling operator; and scrambling the second codeword according to a second scrambling operator, wherein the first scrambling operator is different than the second scrambling operator.
Knausz further discloses: the act of stimulating drive lines of the touch sensor over multiple measurement frames utilizing different patterns of codewords for respective ones of the multiple measurement frames (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention); stimulating a drive line of a touch sensor over a first measurement frame utilizing the encoded first drive signal (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.); and stimulating the drive line of the touch sensor over a second measurement frame utilizing the encoded second drive signal, wherein the second measurement frame is different than the first measurement frame (Knausz: column 17 lines 51-67, column 18 lines 1-4 which describes that there are multiple linear arrays in a single embodiment, and each array has multiple cells which transmit and receive electrodes. Each cell is generating its own driving signal, which may be applied according to a multiplexing pattern. The encoded drive signals are then used to decode the measurements and correlate them with the respective cell. These arrays are playing the role of the measurement frames since all of the functionality and cells are connected to these arrays, and there are multiple arrays in the invention.), but fails to explicitly disclose: scrambling the first codeword according to a first scrambling operator; and scrambling the second codeword according to a second scrambling operator, wherein the first scrambling operator is different than the second scrambling operator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Genossar discloses the steps of generating a first codeword and a second codeword (Genossar: The abstract and paragraphs [00167]-[00170] discloses that a first data word and second data word are scrambled based on a first and second scrambling sequence, respectively, and each scrambling sequence is based on a first and second polynomial, respectively, where the second polynomial is different from the first polynomial.); scrambling the first codeword according to a first scrambling operator; scrambling the second codeword according to a second scrambling operator, wherein the first scrambling operator is different than the second scrambling operator (Genossar: The abstract and paragraphs [00167]-[00170] discloses that a first data word and second data word are scrambled based on a first and second scrambling sequence, respectively, and each scrambling sequence is based on a first and second polynomial, respectively, where the second polynomial is different from the first polynomial).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, and Forlines and include the above limitation using the teaching of Genossar in order for a touch sensor that encrypts touch locations over multiple measurement frames to utilize random or pseudorandom values to determine how to scramble the codewords, with each scrambling operator being different from one another.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Mirfakhraei as modified by Knausz, Yokomoto, Forlines, and Genossar teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the touch sensor is a portion of a capacitive touch sensing system (Figure 3 of Mirfakhraei is a demonstration of a touch sensor system and shows a touch sensor within the system).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Snelgrove (US 9946418 B2) provides a system and method for sensing touch in capacitive panels and estimating a location of at least one touch point, Nakabayashi (WO 2014042128 A1) provides a touch sensor method and system that utilizes multiplexing, sense signal processing, and touch-location determination, and Amer (US 20190101999 A1) provides a method for sensing touch input by utilizing code division multiplexing.
S.R.B.
December 29, 2025
/SHREYAJ RAM BHANDARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/TESHOME HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434