DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action for U.S. Patent Application No. 18/605,466 is responsive to communications filed on 01/30/2026, in reply to the Requirement for Restriction/Election of 12/02/2025. Currently, claims 1-22 are pending, in which claims 1-12 have been elected without traverse, and claims 13-22 have been withdrawn from consideration
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/28/2024, 09/20/2024, 02/13/2025, 02/19/2025, 04/24/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 01/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pulido et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0181815), hereinafter referred to as Pulido, in view of Saphier et al.(U.S. Publication No. 2020/0404243), hereinafter referred to as Saphier.
In regard to claim 1, Pulido teaches a method (Pulido paragraph 58 noting a method of providing the scanning device as described) comprising:
positioning projectors in a frame of an intraoral scanner (Pulido paragraphs 103-106 noting an intraoral scanner probe head comprising extension arms that carry transmitters, e.g. a light source for transmitting light or radiation towards and onto a scan target, and receiver arms that hold receivers, e.g. a camera for receiving light or radiation generated by the transmitters and reflected off the scan target. The probe head can be affixed to the scanner extension arm via adhesive, solder, or welding, or can include a means for affixing the probe head to the scanner arm; and Pulido paragraph 110 noting FIG. 9A shows a side cross-sectional view of a scanner probe head 900 having base 901 and transmitter extension arms 902 holding and positioning transmitters 908 and receiver extension arms 903 holding and positioning receivers 906); and
responsive to the positioning of the projectors, soldering the projectors to the intraoral scanner (Pulido paragraphs 103-106 noting probe head can be affixed to the scanner extension arm via adhesive, solder, or welding, or can include a means for affixing the probe head to the scanner arm).
However, Pulido does not expressly disclose to a printed circuit board (PCB).
In the same field of endeavor, Saphier teaches to a printed circuit board (PCB) (Saphier paragraph 513 noting cameras 24 and structured light projectors 22 are all coupled to a flexible printed circuit board (PCB) so as to accommodate angular positioning of cameras 24 and structured light projectors 22 within probe 28).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pulido with the teachings of Saphier because both disclosures relate to the field of intraoral scanners that scan targets with a probe head consisting of light sources and camera receivers, and perform a process of projecting structured light onto a target and cameras to capture the image based on the light reflected off the target. Both disclosures include probe head apparatuses that have positioned transmitters and receivers and are situated in specific positions to achieve this goal. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Saphier, the teachings of Pulido include all of the limitations of claim 1.
In regard to claim 2, Pulido and Saphier teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Pulido teaches wherein the intraoral scanner is configured to provide a plurality of intraoral scans of a dental site during an intraoral scanning session (Pulido paragraph 13 noting a 3D scanning device and system especially useful in the field of stomatology, dentistry, or orthodontics, and particularly to dental prosthetics manufacturing. The device and system of the invention is particularly applicable for imaging the surface characteristics of an object, including arbitrarily shaped objects, such as dental structures (e.g., teeth, gingiva, and the like), for generating a three-dimensional (3D) image and surface model of the object or objects. More specifically, the subject invention includes an intraoral 3D dental scanning device and method for imaging and visualizing teeth).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pulido with the teachings of Saphier for the same reasons as discussed in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 3, Pulido and Saphier teach all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. In addition, Pulido teaches wherein the plurality of intraoral scans are generated by projecting, via the projectors, a structured light comprising a plurality of features onto the dental site and capturing the plurality of features on the dental site (Pulido paragraph 26 noting the simplest structured light pattern is simply a spot of light, typically produced by a laser. The geometry of the setup between the light projector and the position of the camera observing the spot of light reflected from the target object's surface enables the calculation of the relative range of the point on which the light spot falls by trigonometry. Other light projection patterns such as a stripe or two-dimensional patterns such as a grid of light dots can be used to decrease the required time to capture the images of the target surface).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pulido with the teachings of Saphier for the same reasons as discussed in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 4, Pulido and Saphier teach all of the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. In addition, Pulido teaches wherein the plurality of features comprise a plurality of spots (Pulido paragraph 26 noting the simplest structured light pattern is simply a spot of light, typically produced by a laser. The geometry of the setup between the light projector and the position of the camera observing the spot of light reflected from the target object's surface enables the calculation of the relative range of the point on which the light spot falls by trigonometry. Other light projection patterns such as a stripe or two-dimensional patterns such as a grid of light dots can be used to decrease the required time to capture the images of the target surface).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pulido with the teachings of Saphier for the same reasons as discussed in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 5, Pulido and Saphier teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Pulido teaches wherein the positioning of the projectors in the frame of the intraoral scanner (Pulido paragraphs 103-106 noting an intraoral scanner probe head comprising extension arms that carry transmitters, e.g. a light source for transmitting light or radiation towards and onto a scan target, and receiver arms that hold receivers, e.g. a camera for receiving light or radiation generated by the transmitters and reflected off the scan target. The probe head can be affixed to the scanner extension arm via adhesive, solder, or welding, or can include a means for affixing the probe head to the scanner arm; and Pulido paragraph 110 noting FIG. 9A shows a side cross-sectional view of a scanner probe head 900 having base 901 and transmitter extension arms 902 holding and positioning transmitters 908 and receiver extension arms 903 holding and positioning receivers 906) comprises:
positioning a first projector in a first orientation in the frame; positioning a second projector in a second orientation in the frame; and positioning a third projector in a third orientation in the frame (Pulido Fig. 6 showing an embodiment of the scanner probe head comprising four transmitters 602, e.g. light sources for transmitting light or radiation towards and onto a scan target, and showing the orientation that the transmitters are positioned in the frame of the scanner probe head; and Pulido Fig. 3C showing that this scanner probe head is in the frame of the intraoral scanner).
However, Pulido does not expressly disclose wherein the second orientation is rotated about 3 to about 28 degrees from the first orientation; and wherein the third orientation is rotated about 3 to about 28 degrees from the second orientation.
In the same field of endeavor, Saphier teaches wherein the second orientation is rotated about 3 to about 28 degrees from the first orientation; and wherein the third orientation is rotated about 3 to about 28 degrees from the second orientation (Saphier Figs. 2B, 2D, 2E showing embodiments of the orientations of the structured light projectors 22, and the orientations of embodiments that contain three or more light projectors, and showing the angles of which they are oriented to be within about 3 to about 28 degrees; and paragraph 508 noting that the angle between two respective optical axes of at least two structured light projectors is less than 35 degrees).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pulido with the teachings of Saphier for the same reasons as discussed in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 6, Pulido and Saphier teach all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above. In addition, Pulido teaches wherein the soldering of the projectors comprises securing the first projector in the first orientation, the second projector in the second orientation, and the third projector in the third orientation in the intraoral scanner (Pulido paragraphs 103-106 noting probe head can be affixed to the scanner extension arm via adhesive, solder, or welding, or can include a means for affixing the probe head to the scanner arm; Pulido paragraph 110 noting that the extension arms are skewed to provide appropriate angles for the transmitters and receivers; and Figs. 4A through 8B showing that the orientations of the light sources are set, and they are affixed to remain in specific locations).
However, Pulido does not expressly disclose secured to the PCB.
In the same field of endeavor, Saphier teaches secured to the PCB (Saphier paragraph 513 noting cameras 24 and structured light projectors 22 are all coupled to a flexible printed circuit board (PCB) so as to accommodate angular positioning of cameras 24 and structured light projectors 22 within probe 28).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pulido with the teachings of Saphier for the same reasons as discussed in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 7, Pulido teaches a method (Pulido paragraph 58 noting a method of providing the scanning device as described) comprising:
positioning a first projector (Pulido Fig. 6 showing an embodiment of the scanner probe head comprising four transmitters 602, e.g. light sources for transmitting light or radiation towards and onto a scan target, and showing the orientation that the transmitters are positioned in the frame of the scanner probe head; and Pulido Fig. 3C showing that this scanner probe head is in the frame of the intraoral scanner) in a first orientation in a frame of an intraoral scanner (Pulido paragraphs 103-106 noting an intraoral scanner probe head comprising extension arms that carry transmitters, e.g. a light source for transmitting light or radiation towards and onto a scan target, and receiver arms that hold receivers, e.g. a camera for receiving light or radiation generated by the transmitters and reflected off the scan target. The probe head can be affixed to the scanner extension arm via adhesive, solder, or welding, or can include a means for affixing the probe head to the scanner arm; and Pulido paragraph 110 noting FIG. 9A shows a side cross-sectional view of a scanner probe head 900 having base 901 and transmitter extension arms 902 holding and positioning transmitters 908 and receiver extension arms 903 holding and positioning receivers 906):
positioning a second projector in a second orientation in the frame; and positioning a third projector in a third orientation in the frame (Pulido Fig. 6 showing an embodiment of the scanner probe head comprising four transmitters 602, e.g. light sources for transmitting light or radiation towards and onto a scan target, and showing the orientation that the transmitters are positioned in the frame of the scanner probe head; and Pulido Fig. 3C showing that this scanner probe head is in the frame of the intraoral scanner); and
securing the first projector in the first orientation, second projector in the second orientation, and the third projector in the third orientation in the intraoral scanner (Pulido paragraphs 103-106 noting probe head can be affixed to the scanner extension arm via adhesive, solder, or welding, or can include a means for affixing the probe head to the scanner arm; Pulido paragraph 110 noting that the extension arms are skewed to provide appropriate angles for the transmitters and receivers; and Figs. 4A through 8B showing that the orientations of the light sources are set, and they are affixed to remain in specific locations).
However, Pulido does not expressly disclose wherein the second orientation is rotated about 3 to about 28 degrees from the first orientation; wherein the third orientation is rotated about 3 to about 28 degrees from the second orientation.
In the same field of endeavor, Saphier teaches wherein the second orientation is rotated about 3 to about 28 degrees from the first orientation; and wherein the third orientation is rotated about 3 to about 28 degrees from the second orientation (Saphier Figs. 2B, 2D, 2E showing embodiments of the orientations of the structured light projectors 22, and the orientations of embodiments that contain three or more light projectors, and showing the angles of which they are oriented to be within about 3 to about 28 degrees; and paragraph 508 noting that the angle between two respective optical axes of at least two structured light projectors is less than 35 degrees).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pulido with the teachings of Saphier for the same reasons as discussed in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 8, Pulido and Saphier teach all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. In addition, Pulido teaches wherein the first projector in the first orientation, the second projector in the second orientation, and the third projector in the third orientation reduces ambiguity of scanning of a dental site via the intraoral scanner (Pulido paragraph 110 noting that the extension arms are skewed to provide appropriate angles for the transmitters and receivers; and Figs. 4A through 89B showing that the orientations of the light sources are set, and they are affixed to remain in specific locations, and Fig. 9A showing that the angles and orientation of the scanning are each different, and there is no ambiguity which pattern comes from which projector).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pulido with the teachings of Saphier for the same reasons as discussed in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 9, Pulido and Saphier teach all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. In addition, Pulido teaches wherein the intraoral scanner is configured to provide a plurality of intraoral scans of a dental site during an intraoral scanning session (Pulido paragraph 13 noting a 3D scanning device and system especially useful in the field of stomatology, dentistry, or orthodontics, and particularly to dental prosthetics manufacturing. The device and system of the invention is particularly applicable for imaging the surface characteristics of an object, including arbitrarily shaped objects, such as dental structures (e.g., teeth, gingiva, and the like), for generating a three-dimensional (3D) image and surface model of the object or objects. More specifically, the subject invention includes an intraoral 3D dental scanning device and method for imaging and visualizing teeth).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pulido with the teachings of Saphier for the same reasons as discussed in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 10, Pulido and Saphier teach all of the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above. In addition, Pulido teaches wherein the plurality of intraoral scans are generated by projecting, via the projectors, a structured light comprising a plurality of features onto the dental site and capturing the plurality of features on the dental site (Pulido paragraph 26 noting the simplest structured light pattern is simply a spot of light, typically produced by a laser. The geometry of the setup between the light projector and the position of the camera observing the spot of light reflected from the target object's surface enables the calculation of the relative range of the point on which the light spot falls by trigonometry. Other light projection patterns such as a stripe or two-dimensional patterns such as a grid of light dots can be used to decrease the required time to capture the images of the target surface);
the plurality of projectors comprising two or more of the first projector, the second projector, or the third projector (Pulido Fig. 6 showing an embodiment of the scanner probe head comprising four transmitters 602, e.g. light sources for transmitting light or radiation towards and onto a scan target, and showing the orientation that the transmitters are positioned in the frame of the scanner probe head; and Pulido Fig. 3C showing that this scanner probe head is in the frame of the intraoral scanner; Pulido paragraph 110 noting that the extension arms are skewed to provide appropriate angles for the transmitters and receivers; and Figs. 4A through 89B showing that the orientations of the light sources are set, and they are affixed to remain in specific locations, and Fig. 9A showing that the angles and orientation of the scanning are each different, and there is no ambiguity which pattern comes from which projector).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pulido with the teachings of Saphier for the same reasons as discussed in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 11, Pulido and Saphier teach all of the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above. In addition, Pulido teaches wherein the plurality of features comprise a plurality of spots (Pulido paragraph 26 noting the simplest structured light pattern is simply a spot of light, typically produced by a laser. The geometry of the setup between the light projector and the position of the camera observing the spot of light reflected from the target object's surface enables the calculation of the relative range of the point on which the light spot falls by trigonometry. Other light projection patterns such as a stripe or two-dimensional patterns such as a grid of light dots can be used to decrease the required time to capture the images of the target surface).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pulido with the teachings of Saphier for the same reasons as discussed in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 12, Pulido and Saphier teach all of the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. In addition, Pulido teaches wherein the securing of the first projector in the first orientation, the second projector in the second orientation, and the third projector in the third orientation comprises soldering the first projector, the second projector, and the third projector of the intraoral scanner (Pulido paragraphs 103-106 noting probe head can be affixed to the scanner extension arm via adhesive, solder, or welding, or can include a means for affixing the probe head to the scanner arm; Pulido paragraph 110 noting that the extension arms are skewed to provide appropriate angles for the transmitters and receivers; and Figs. 4A through 8B showing that the orientations of the light sources are set, and they are affixed to remain in specific locations; and Fig. 9A showing that the angles and orientation of the scanning are each different, and there is no ambiguity which pattern comes from which projector).
However, Pulido does not expressly disclose secured to a printed circuit board (PCB).
In the same field of endeavor, Saphier teaches secured to a printed circuit board (PCB) (Saphier paragraph 513 noting cameras 24 and structured light projectors 22 are all coupled to a flexible printed circuit board (PCB) so as to accommodate angular positioning of cameras 24 and structured light projectors 22 within probe 28).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pulido with the teachings of Saphier for the same reasons as discussed in regard to claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pesach et al. – U.S. Publication No. 2020/0060550
Method for intraoral scanning including scanner head with at least one light emitter and image sensor, and noting different designs and mounting alignments for the components on the scanner, such as staggered arrays along different ring shaped surfaces such as in Figs. 17-18. Methods for scanning relate to acquiring a 3D scan of a tooth in an oral cavity.
/TYLER B. EDWARDS/
Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/SATH V PERUNGAVOOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2488