Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-14, 16, 17, and 20-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/18/2026.
Status of claims
The action is in reply to the Application filed on 7/26/2024. Claims 1-23 are currently pending.
Claims 1-14, 16, 17, and 20-23 are withdrawn and claims 15(b) and 18 are being examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities
Claim 15, ll. 18 should read, --a hose adapter comprising a substantially rigid conduit.--
Claims 15 and 18 should be amended to reflect the election made, i.e. to remove non-elected limitations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 15, lines 9 and 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In line 9, it is unclear the degree to which the lid encloses the chamber. In line 18, it is unclear the degree of rigidity the conduit contains.
Claim 18 is rejected accordingly under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) since it is dependent on claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Condon (US 20050081324 A1) in view of Williamson (US 20090307865 A1) and further in view of Marshall (US 7287301 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Condon (US 20050081324 A1) teaches a wet/dry vacuum cleaner apparatus (310; fig. 4; para. 26) comprising:
a receptacle (312; para. 27; fig. 4) having a body (312; para. 27; fig. 4) with a closed bottom wall (bottom portion of 310b where debris sits in container 312; fig. 4; paras. 8 and 19, Condon also teaches like reference numbers are used to refer to like parts) and a peripheral wall (annular portion of 312; fig. 4; para. 27) extending upward from the bottom wall (fig. 4; para. 27) to a peripheral wall upper end (312a; fig. 4; para. 27), the bottom and peripheral walls cooperating to define a hollow chamber that is configured to receive debris collected by the vacuum cleaner apparatus (para. 19) the receptacle defining a vacuum intake (320; para. 27; fig. 4) defined through an upper half of the peripheral wall (intake is located near the peripheral wall upper end 312a; fig. 4; para. 27);
a plurality of casters (318; fig. 4; para. 27) coupled to the receptacle (fig. 4; para. 27);
a lid (upper portion of 310a; fig. 4; para. 15, Condon also teaches like reference numbers are used to refer to like parts) configured to be coupled to the peripheral wall upper end of the receptacle to substantially enclose the chamber (Under BRI, “substantially enclose” will be considered as fully enclosing the chamber; fig. 4; para. 15, Condon also teaches reference numbers are used to refer to like parts);
an electric motor (314; fig. 4; para. 27) configured to rotate a blower wheel to draw air into the receptacle through the vacuum intake (one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a vacuum motor is configured with a blower wheel in order to provide suction; paras. 5, 14, and 27; fig. 4); and
a hose adapter (316; fig. 4; paras. 27 and 28, Condon also teaches that term “hose” also includes detachable and interchangeable hoses at end 316a, para. 15 and 17) having a horizontal first end coupled to the vacuum intake (as annotated in fig. 4 below; paras. 27 and 28), a first bend segment extending from the first end (as annotated in fig. 4 below; paras. 27 and 28), a vertical segment extending downward from the first bend segment (as annotated in fig. 4 below; paras. 27 and 28), a second bend segment extending from a lower end of the vertical segment (as annotated in fig. 4 below; paras. 27 and 28), and a horizontal second end configured to be coupled to a vacuum hose (as annotated in fig. 4 below; paras. 17, 27, 28), where the adapter is coupled to the receptacle (coupled via element 322; fig. 4; paras. 27 and 28) such that the second end of the adapter is disposed below the center of gravity of the apparatus (fig. 4; paras. 27 and 28).
However, Codon does not explicitly teach wherein each of the casters have a rotational axis about which a wheel of the respective caster rotates and wherein the hose adapter comprises a substantially rigid conduit.
Regarding wherein each of the casters have a rotational axis about which a wheel of the respective caster rotates. Williamson (US 20090307865 A1), concerned with the art of vacuum machines, teaches wherein a caster has a rotational axis (the axis that allows the castors to pivot; fig. 3; para. 28) about which a wheel of the respective caster rotates (fig. 3; para. 28). Both Codon and Williamson are concerned with the art of vacuum machines. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure each of the castors, as taught by Codon, to have a rotational axis about which a wheel of the respective caster rotates, as taught by Williamson, to allow for easy turning and rotation of the vacuum apparatus (para. 28, Williamson).
Regarding wherein the hose adapter comprises a substantially rigid conduit. Marshall (US 7287301 B2), concerned with the art of wet/dry vacuums, teaches wherein a hose adapter (204; fig. 17; col. 10, ll. 65-67 and col. 11, ll. 1- 19) comprises a substantially rigid conduit (Under BRI, “substantially rigid conduit” will be considered as “a rigid conduit”; fig. 17; col. 10, ll. 65-67 and col. 11, ll. 1- 19). Both Marshall and Codon in view of Williamson are concerned with the art of wet/dry vacuums, therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the hose adapter, taught by Codon in view of Williamson, to be comprised of a substantially rigid conduit, as taught by Marshall since it is a known alternative in the art for a flexible hose to be replaced by one that is rigid (col. 10, ll. 65-67 and col. 11, ll. 1- 19, Marshall. Though, Marshall in view of Codon does not explicitly state that the hose adapter is flexible, it appears in fig. 4, Codon, to have a flexible capability. The same could be said for the “conventional hose assembly, 18” in fig. 19, Marshall).
Regarding claim 18, Codon, in view of Williamson and further in view of Marshall teach the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and further teach wherein, the apparatus further comprises a bracket (322, Codon; fig. 4; paras. 27 and 28) coupled to the hose adapter and to the receptacle (fig.4, Codon; paras. 27 and 28).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL THADDUES FARRELL JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723