DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 3/14/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 7/21/2025 has been considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-10, 12-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2021/028553 A1) in view of Cheng (USPAN 2024/0114454).
Consider claims 1 and 17, Wang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a device, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories, at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the ambient IoT device to (see figures 8 and 9, wherein disclosed is devices comprising a processor coupled to a memory), and a corresponding method (see paragraph 103, wherein disclosed is said method; also, see figure 10, reproduced below for convenience) to:
receive an indication that a cyclic prefix (CP) is to be included in a waveform; and decode the waveform in accordance with the indication that the CP is to be included in the waveform (see paragraph 103: the first set of parameters may include “at least one of a cyclic prefix, CP, extension indicator indicating whether the UE is expected to perform CP extension”).
Although Wang discloses a device (see above), Wang does not specifically disclose that the device is an ambient internet of things (IoT) device or that the waveform is a forward link waveform.
Cheng discloses a device that is an ambient internet of things (IoT) device (see paragraphs 12 and 28 and 37, 43, 45, and 51: waveform shaping scheme in an IoT network comprising IoT devices), and
that the waveform is a forward link waveform (see paragraph 9: OOK waveform, which is a forward link waveform).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang and combine it with the noted teachings of Cheng. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method relating to low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) design (see paragraph 2 of Cheng).
Consider claims 2, 10, and 18, Wang does not specifically disclose that the forward link waveform is an on-off keying (OOK) waveform.
Cheng discloses that the forward link waveform is an on-off keying (OOK) waveform (see paragraph 9: OOK waveform, which is a forward link waveform).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang and combine it with the noted teachings of Cheng. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method relating to low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) design (see paragraph 2 of Cheng).
Consider claims 4, 12, and 20, although Wang discloses the indication that the CP is to be included in the waveform, Wang does not specifically disclose that the waveform comprises a forward link waveform that comprises at least one of a system information block (SIB) or a synchronization signal.
Cheng discloses that the waveform is a forward link waveform (see paragraph 9: OOK waveform, which is a forward link waveform) and it comprises at least one of a system information block (SIB) or a synchronization signal (see paragraph 56: the CP information may be configured to the UE through the RRC or SIB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang and combine it with the noted teachings of Cheng. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method relating to low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) design (see paragraph 2 of Cheng).
Consider claim 5, although Wang discloses receiving the waveform including the CP (see paragraph 103: when the indicator indicates that the UE is expected to perform the CP extension), Wang does not specifically disclose that the indication that the CP is to be included in the forward link waveform comprises the SIB.
Cheng discloses that the indication that the CP is to be included in the forward link waveform comprises the SIB (see paragraph 56: the CP information may be configured to the UE through the RRC or SIB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang and combine it with the noted teachings of Cheng. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method relating to low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) design (see paragraph 2 of Cheng).
Consider claims 8 and 15, Wang discloses that the indication that the CP is to be included in the forward link waveform comprises a control signal associated with the waveform (see(see paragraph 103, wherein the indicator can be taken to be a control signal associated with the waveform).
Wang does not specifically disclose that the waveform is a forward link waveform.
Cheng discloses that the waveform is a forward link waveform (see paragraph 9: OOK waveform, which is a forward link waveform).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang and combine it with the noted teachings of Cheng. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method relating to low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) design (see paragraph 2 of Cheng).
Consider claim 9, Wang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless communication device, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories, at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the wireless communication device (see figures 8 and 9, wherein disclosed is devices comprising a processor coupled to a memory) to:
transmit an indication that a cyclic prefix (CP) is to be included in a waveform associated with a device; and transmit the waveform in accordance with the indication that the CP is to be included in the waveform (see paragraph 103: the first set of parameters may include “at least one of a cyclic prefix, CP, extension indicator indicating whether the UE is expected to perform CP extension”).
Although Wang discloses a device (see above), Wang does not specifically disclose that the device is an ambient internet of things (IoT) device or that the waveform is a forward link waveform.
Cheng discloses a device that is an ambient internet of things (IoT) device (see paragraphs 12 and 28 and 37, 43, 45, and 51: waveform shaping scheme in an IoT network comprising IoT devices), and
that the waveform is a forward link waveform (see paragraph 9: OOK waveform, which is a forward link waveform).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang and combine it with the noted teachings of Cheng. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method relating to low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) design (see paragraph 2 of Cheng).
Consider claim 13, although Wang discloses receiving the waveform including the CP (see paragraph 103: when the indicator indicates that the UE is expected to perform the CP extension), Wang does not specifically disclose that the indication that the CP is to be included in the forward link waveform comprises the SIB.
Cheng discloses that the indication that the CP is to be included in the forward link waveform comprises the SIB (see paragraph 56: the CP information may be configured to the UE through the RRC or SIB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang and combine it with the noted teachings of Cheng. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method relating to low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) design (see paragraph 2 of Cheng).
Consider claim 16, Wang discloses that the wireless communication device is a user equipment (UE) or a network node (see figures 8 and 9, wherein disclosed is a UE and a RAN device).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 7, 11, 14, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412