DETAILED ACTION
Claim Warning
Applicant is advised that should claim 6 be found allowable, claim 7 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first surface" in line 25 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “the first surface” is referring to “the first face,” “the first heat dissipation portion,” “the first connecting portion,” “the first curved portion,” or some other component or combination. For the purposes of examination, “the first surface” is interpreted as referring to the first and second connecting portions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-12, 14, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Nitta et al. (US 2021/0057707 A1) herein referred to as “Nitta”.
Regarding claim 1, Nitta disclose a battery module with a plurality of secondary batteries, wherein the batteries have a pair of terminals [0018-0019, 0023, 0028]. A bus bar electrically connects the first terminal of the first battery to the second terminal of the second battery [0028]. The bus bar has a first connector connected to the first terminal and a second connector connected to the second terminal [0034]. The first and second connectors form a planar region used as a foundation for mounting, and therefore, act as a base portion for the bus bar. The bus bar additionally has first and second folded parts and a relay [0034]. The first and second folded parts act as first and second heat dissipation portions, respectively. The folded parts are placed between the connectors and the relay [0034]. Although the relay is continuous, it can be sub-divided along the center axis P, and therefore, acts as first and second opposing heat dissipation portions [Fig. 5]. The first and second folded parts are connected to the first and second connectors, respectively, and bent at substantially 180° to connect to the relay, thereby being continuous with the connector and relay [0034].
Notably, Nitta and the instant application define the directionally of parts differently. The first direction of the instant application, as defined in figure 1, aligns with the third direction of Nitta as defined in figure 4 and vice versa. For purposes of examination, the directionality as defined by Nitta will be used to refer to the directionality of Nitta’s parts. For definition of directionality as defined by Nitta see paragraph 32. Furthermore, the directionality parts are arranged matter, but the naming of said directions is arbitrary. Two elements opposing each other in a first direction, would be equivalent to opposing each other in a second, third, etc., direction, provided no other structural relation was defined in the other direction.
Nitta defines a third direction from the connectors to the relay [0032, Figs. 4, 5, 11]. Nitta defines a second direction from the first folded part to the second folded part [0032, Figs. 4, 5, 11].
The first connector is opposed to the second connector in the second direction [0039].
The relay is opposed to the first and second connector in the third direction [0044].
Regarding claim 2, Nitta additionally teaches the battery module has first and second batteries each with a pair of electrodes with opposite charge [0023, 0028]. Nitta additionally discloses that the bus bar can connect the batteries in the battery module in parallel or series [0029]. To allow the bus bar to connect the batteries in such manner, the first connector is connected to the first terminal of the first battery and the second connector is connected to the second terminal of the second battery [0029, 0034].
Regarding claim 3, Nitta additionally teaches a second embodiment for a bus bar with third and fourth folded parts acting as third and fourth heat dissipation portions, respectively [0069, Fig. 11]. The relay further includes extending parts and can be sub-divided into quadrants allowing the relay to act as a first, second, third, and fourth opposing heat dissipation portions [0069, Fig. 11]. The bus bar in the second embodiment of Nitta is helical in nature.
The relay is continuous with the folded parts and connectors [0071]. Thereby, keeping the heat dissipation portions, opposing heat dissipation portions, and connectors continuous. The relay opposes the first and second connector in the third direction while between the first and second folded parts, labeled as extending portion 33A, and thus acts a first and second opposing heat dissipation portion [0071, 0072]. The relay opposes the first and second connector in the third direction while between the third and fourth folded parts, labeled as 33C, and thus acts a third and fourth opposing heat dissipation portion [0071, 0072]. Furthermore, the relay, when behaving as an opposing heat dissipation portion, is in the same plane as the second and third direction. Namely, the first and second, as well as, the third and fourth opposing heat dissipation portions are continuous in the second and third direction.
The first folded part is opposed to the second folded part in the second direction [0070]. The third folded part is opposed to the fourth folded part in the second direction [0070]. The first folded part is opposed to the third folded part in the first direction [0070]. The second folded part is opposed to the fourth folded part in the first direction [0070].
Regarding claim 4, Nitta additionally teaches that the extending portion, 33A, of the relay is opposed to the extending portion, 33C, of the relay in the first direction [0072, Fig. 11]. Namely, extending portion 33A, acting as first and second opposing heat dissipation portions, is separated from extending portion 33C, acting as third and fourth opposing heat dissipation portions, in the first direction.
Regarding claim 9, Nitta additionally teaches the first connector is bound to the first terminal and includes a through-hole surrounded by a bonded portion [0034, 0045]. The first connector has an edge, E1, which continuously extends in a second direction [0036, Figs. 5, 6]. The second connector is bound to the second terminal and includes a through-hole surrounded by a bonded portion [0034, 0046]. The second connector has an edge, E2, which continuously extends in a second direction [0037, Figs. 5, 6].
Regarding claim 10, Nitta additionally teaches the relay, acting as a first and second opposing heat dissipation portion, extends along the first direction and second direction [0035]. The first and second direction create a plane which crosses the third direction.
Regarding claim 11, Nitta additionally teaches the first folded part has an edge which extends in the first direction [0035]. Furthermore, the first folded part is bent at an angle of 180 degrees with respect to the relay and connectors [0034]. Namely, Nitta teaches that the folded parts could be at an angle of 90 degrees with respect to the connector and 90 degrees with respect to the relay. With the folded part bent at 90 degrees in relation to the relay the folded part must extend in the third direction. Therefore, the folded part extends along a plane in the first and third directions, which crosses the second direction.
Regarding claim 12, Nitta additionally teaches the first folded part is bent at an angle of 180 degrees with respect to the relay and connectors [0034]. Namely, Nitta teaches that the folded parts could be at an angle of 90 degrees with respect to the connector and 90 degrees with respect to the relay. With the folded part bent at 90 degrees in relation to the relay the folded part must extend in the third direction. Nitta further teaches the folded part has a dimension in the second direction when reciting “the connector 26 extends from the folded part 32 toward the inner side in the second direction” in paragraph 37. Therefore, the folded part extends along a plane including the first and second direction, This is further illustrated in figure 7.
Regarding claim 14, Nitta discloses a bus bar with first and second connectors, where the two connectors act as a base portion. The bus bar additionally has folded parts and a relay [0034]. The bus bar has four folded parts [0069]. The first, second, third, and fourth folded parts act as a first, second, third, and fourth heat dissipation portions, respectively.
The relay is continuous with the folded parts and connectors [0071]. Thereby, keeping the heat dissipation portions, opposing heat dissipation portions, and connectors continuous. The relay opposes the first and second connector in the third direction while between the first and second folded parts, labeled as extending portion 33A, and thus acts a first and second opposing heat dissipation portion [0071, 0072]. The relay opposes the first and second connectors in the third direction while between the third and fourth folded parts, labeled as 33C, and thus acts as third and fourth opposing heat dissipation portions [0071, 0072].
The first folded part is opposed to the second folded part in the second direction [0070]. The third folded part is opposed to the fourth folded part in the second direction [0070]. The first folded part is opposed to the third folded part in the first direction [0070]. The second folded part is opposed to the fourth folded part in the first direction [0070].
Regarding claim 15, Nitta additionally teaches that the extending portion, 33A, of the relay is opposed to the extending portion, 33C, of the relay in the first direction [0072, Fig. 11]. Namely, extending portion 33A, acting as first and second opposing heat dissipation portions, is separated from extending portion 33C, acting as third and fourth opposing heat dissipation portions, in the first direction.
Regarding claim 19, Nitta additionally teaches the first connector is bound to the first terminal [0034] and includes a through-hole surrounded by a bonded portion [0045]. The first connector has an edge, E1, which continuously extends in a second direction [0036, Figs. 5, 6]. The second connector is bound to the second terminal and includes a through-hole surrounded by a bonded portion [0034, 0046]. The second connector has an edge, E2, which continuously extends in a second direction [0037, Figs. 5, 6].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8, 13, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitta et al. (US 2021/0057707 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, and 14 above, and further in view of Omi et al. (WO 2018/235473 A1) herein referred to as “Omi”.
Regarding claim 5, Nitta discloses the secondary battery according to claim 3. Notably, Nitta disclose that the third and fourth folded parts are interposed by the first and second connectors. Therefore, any placement of a curved member between the terminals with the faces towards the terminals, would have a first face towards the third folded part and a second face towards the fourth folded part.
Nitta does not disclose wherein the base portion further includes a second curved portion connecting the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, a part of the second curved portion faces the third heat dissipation portion in the second direction, and another part of the second curved portion faces the fourth heat dissipation portion in the second direction.
In the same field of endeavor of cooling power supply terminals, Omi discloses a bus bar with a convex portion between the first and second terminal connection portions, acting as a base portion, where each side of the convex portion faces an electrode terminal [0085]. Omi disclose that when multiple batteries are constrained together the distance between terminal can shift [0086]. Thus, it is advantageous to have the convex portion between terminal connections on a bus bar to allow the bus bar to absorb the change in distance and prevent deformation of the electrode terminals [0086]. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the convex portion of Omi to the bus bar of Nitta for the purposes of preventing deformation of electrode terminals.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Nitta discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1. Notably, Nitta disclose that the first and second folded parts are interposed by the first and second connectors. Therefore, any placement of a curved member between the terminals with the faces towards the terminals, would have a first face towards the first folded part and a second face towards the second folded part.
Nitta does not disclose wherein the base portion further includes a first curved portion connecting the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, a part of the first curved portion faces the first heat dissipation portion in the second direction, and another part of the first curved portion faces the second heat dissipation portion in the second direction.
Omi discloses a bus bar with a convex portion between the first and second terminal connection portions, acting as a base portion, where each side of the convex portion faces an electrode terminal [0085-0086]. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the convex portion of Omi to the bus bar of Nitta for the purposes of preventing deformation of electrode terminals [0085-0086].
Regarding claim 8, Nitta in further view of Omi, discloses the secondary battery according to claim 7.
Nitta additionally teaches two connectors bonded to the terminal with a gap, formed by two edges E1 and E2, between the two connectors [0039, 0043, 0044]. Nitta teaches the gap allows for a reduced stress on the terminals if the bus bar undergoes thermal expansion [0060].
Therefore, Nitta teaches wherein the first connecting portion includes a first position, the first connecting portion is connected to the first terminal at the first position, the second connecting portion includes a second position, the second connecting portion is connected to the second terminal at the second position, and a first gap is provided between the first connection porting and the second connecting portion between the first position and the second position.
Nitta does not teach the first curved portion is provided except between the first position and the second position.
Omi additionally teaches a first terminal connection portion and second terminal connection portion which connect to the power supply terminals and surround the holes for inserting the power supply terminals [0043]. A convex portion connects the first and second connection portions, and thus is not in the connecting portions [0085]. Furthermore, Fig. 9 illustrates a space between the first and second connecting portions with the convex portion.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the convex portion between the connection portions of Omi to the bus bar with a gap of Nitta for the purposes of reducing stress and preventing deformation of electrode terminals [0085-0086].
Regarding claim 13, Nitta discloses a battery module with a plurality of secondary batteries, wherein the batteries have a pair of terminals [0019, 0023, 0028]. A bus bar electrically connects the first terminal of the first battery to the second terminal of the second battery [0028]. The bus bar has a first connector connected to the first terminal and a second connector connected to the second terminal , where the two connectors act as a base portion [0034]. Furthermore, each connector has a surface, face, facing the battery terminals [0045]. The bus bar additionally has folded parts and a relay [0034]. The bus bar has four folded parts [0069, Fig. 11]. The bus bar additionally has four folded parts and a relay [0069]. The relay is continuous with the folded parts and connectors [0071]. Thereby, keeping the four folded parts connected with the connectors. The first, second, third, and fourth folded parts act as a first, second, third, and fourth heat dissipation portions, respectively.
The first folded part is opposed to the second folded part in the second direction [0070]. The third folded part is opposed to the fourth folded part in the second direction [0070].
The first folded part has an edge which extends in the first direction [0071]. The second folded part has an edge which extends in the first direction [0072]. Nitta further teaches the folded parts have a dimension in the second direction, a thickness, when reciting “the connector 26 extends from the folded part 32 toward the inner side in the second direction” in paragraph 37. This is further illustrated in figure 7. Therefore, the third and fourth folded parts extend in the second direction.
Furthermore, the first second, third, and fourth folded parts are bent at an angle of 180 degrees with respect to the relay and connectors [0034]. Namely, Nitta teaches that the folded parts could be at an angle of 90 degrees with respect to the connector and 90 degrees with respect to the relay. With the folded parts bent at 90 degrees in relation to the connector the folded part must extend in the third direction.
Therefore, Nitta discloses a secondary battery, comprising: a first battery cell including a first terminal; a second battery cell including a second terminal; and a bus bar, the bus bar including a base portion, a first heat dissipation portion, a second heat dissipation portion, a third heat dissipation portion, and a fourth heat dissipation portion, the base portion including a first connecting portion, a second connecting portion, the first connecting portion being electrically connected to the first terminal, and the second connecting portion being electrically connected to the second terminal, the first connecting portion including a first face facing the first terminal, the second connecting portion including a second face facing the second terminal, the first heat dissipation portion and the third heat dissipation portion being connected to the first connecting portion, the second heat dissipation portion and the fourth heat dissipation portion being connected to the second connecting portion, a second direction from the first heat dissipation portion to the second heat dissipation portion crossing a first direction crossing the first surface, a direction from the third heat dissipation portion to the fourth heat dissipation portion being along the second direction, at least a part of the first heat dissipation portion and at least a part of the second heat dissipation portion being along the first direction and a third direction, the third direction crossing a plane including the first direction and the second direction, at least a part of the third heat dissipation portion and at least a part of the fourth heat dissipation portion being along the first direction and the second direction. Notably, Nitta disclose that the first and second folded part are interposed by the first and second connector. Therefore, any placement of a curved member between the terminals with the faces towards the terminals, would have a first face towards the first folded part and a second face towards the second folded part.
Nitta does not disclose a first curved portion, the first curved portion connecting the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, a part of the first curved portion facing the first heat dissipation portion in the second direction, and another part of the first curved portion facing the second heat dissipation portion in the second direction.
Omi discloses a bus bar with a convex portion between the first and second terminal connection portions, acting as a base portion, where each side of the convex portion faces an electrode terminal [0085]. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the convex portion of Omi to the bus bar of Nitta for the purposes of reducing stress and preventing deformation of electrode terminals [0085-0086].
Regarding claim 16, Nitta disclose the bus bar according to claim 14. Notably, Nitta disclose that the first and second folded parts are interposed by the first and second connectors. Therefore, any placement of a curved member between the terminals with the faces towards the terminals, would have a first face towards the first folded part and a second face towards the second folded part.
Nitta does not disclose wherein the base portion further includes a first curved portion connecting the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, a part of the first curved portion faces the first heat dissipation portion in the second direction, and another part of the first curved portion faces the second heat dissipation portion in the second direction.
Omi discloses a bus bar with a convex portion between the first and second terminal connection portions, acting as a base portion, where each side of the convex portion faces an electrode terminal [0085]. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the convex portion of Omi to the bus bar of Nitta for the purposes of reducing stress and preventing deformation of electrode terminals [0085-0086].
Regarding claim 17, Nitta disclose the bus bar according to claim 14. Notably, Nitta disclose that the third and fourth folded parts are interposed by the first and second connectors. Therefore, any placement of a curved member between the terminals with the faces towards the terminals, would have a first face towards the third folded part and a second face towards the fourth folded part.
Nitta does not disclose wherein the base portion further includes a second curved portion connecting the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, a part of the second curved portion faces the third heat dissipation portion in the second direction, and another part of the second curved portion faces the fourth heat dissipation portion in the second direction.
Omi discloses a bus bar with a convex portion between the first and second terminal connection portions, acting as a base portion, where each side of the convex portion faces an electrode terminal [0085]. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the convex portion of Omi to the bus bar of Nitta for the purposes of reducing stress and preventing deformation of electrode terminals.
Regarding claim 18, Nitta in further view of Omi disclose the bus bar according to claim 16. Nitta additionally teaches two connectors bonded to the terminal with a gap, formed by two edges E1 and E2, between the two connectors [0039, 0043, 0044]. The first connector is bound to the first terminal and includes a through-hole surrounded by a bonded portion [0034, 0045]. The second connector is bound to the second terminal and includes a through-hole surrounded by a bonded portion [0034, 0046]. Therefore, Nitta discloses wherein the first connecting portion includes a first position, the first connecting portion is configured to be connected to a first terminal of a first battery cell at the first position, the second connecting portion includes a second position, the second connecting portion is configured to be connected to a second terminal of a second battery cell at the second position, and a first gap is provided between the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion between the first position and the second position.
Nitta does not disclose the first curved portion is provided except between the first position and the second position.
Omi additionally teaches a first terminal connection portion and second terminal connection portion which connect to the power supply terminals and surround the holes for inserting the power supply terminals [0043]. A convex portion connects the first and second connection portion, and thus is not in the connecting portions [0085]. Furthermore, Fig. 9 illustrates a space between the first and second connecting portions with the convex portion.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the convex portion between the connection portions of Omi to the bus bar with a gap of Nitta for the purposes of reducing stress and preventing deformation of electrode terminals.
Regarding claim 20, Nitta discloses a bus bar with a first connector and through-hole for bonding to a first terminal of a battery and a second connector and through-hole for bonding to a second terminal of a battery [0045, 0046], where the two connectors act as a base portion. The through-holes are separated from each other in a first direction [0046]. The bus bar additionally has folded parts and a relay [0034]. The bus bar has four folded parts [0069, Fig. 11]. The first, second, third, and fourth folded parts act as a first, second, third, and fourth heat dissipation portions, respectively. The relay is continuous with the folded parts and connectors [0071]. Therefore, the first and third folded parts are connected to the first connector, and the second and fourth folded parts are connected to the second connector. The first folded part is opposed to the second folded part in the second direction [0070]. The third folded part is opposed to the fourth folded part in the second direction [0070]. The first and second folded parts extend along the first direction [0034]. The first folded part extends along the third direction [0071]. The second folded part extends along the third direction [0072]. The third and fourth folded parts extend along the first direction [0034]. Namely, Nitta teaches that the folded portions could be at an angle of 90 degrees with respect to the connector and 90 degrees with respect to the relay. With the folded part bent at 90 degrees folded part must extend in the first direction. Nitta further teaches the folded parts have a dimension in the second direction when reciting “the connector 26 extends from the folded part 32 toward the inner side in the second direction” in paragraph 37. Thus, the third and fourth parts extend in both the first and second directions.
Therefore, Nitta discloses a bus bar, comprising: a base portion including a first connecting portion, a second connecting portion, a first heat dissipation portion; a second heat dissipation portion; a third heat dissipation portion; and a fourth heat dissipation portion, the first connecting portion including a first face, the second connecting portion includes a second face, the first face and the second face crossing a first direction, the first heat dissipation portion and the third heat dissipation portion being connected to the first connecting portion, the second heat dissipation portion and the fourth heat dissipation portion being connected to the second connecting portion, a second direction from the first heat dissipation portion to the second heat dissipation portion crossing the first direction, a direction from the third heat dissipation portion to the fourth heat dissipation portion being along the second direction, at least a part of the first heat dissipation portion and at least a part of the second heat dissipation portion being along the first direction and a third direction, the third direction crossing a plane including the first direction and the second direction, at least a part of the third heat dissipation portion and at least a part of the fourth heat dissipation portion being along the first direction and the second direction. Notably, Nitta disclose that the first and second folded part are interposed by the first and second connector. Therefore, any placement of a curved member between the terminals with the faces towards the terminals, would have a first face towards the first folded part and a second face towards the second folded part.
Nitta does not disclose a first curved portion; the first curved portion connecting the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, a part of the first curved portion facing the first heat dissipation portion in the second direction, and another part of the first curved portion facing the second heat dissipation portion in the second direction.
Omi discloses a bus bar with a convex portion between the first and second terminal connection portions, acting as a base portion, where each side of the convex portion faces an electrode terminal [0085]. Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the convex portion of Omi to the bus bar of Nitta for the purposes of reducing stress and preventing deformation of electrode terminals [0085-0086].
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Subramanian et al. US 20160308187 A1 discloses a vehicle traction battery assembly including a pair of battery cells and a busbar is provided. Each of the battery cells may include a terminal and one or more locating features. The busbar may span between the cells and define a pair of arms each having a member sized to at least partially interlock with the one or more locating features. The busbar may span between the cells such that the busbar covers at least a portion of upper surfaces defined by each of the cells. At least one of the terminal apertures may be spaced in between outer edges of the respective arms such that a first and second surface area provide space sufficient for weld spots.
Miyata et al. US 2023/0198103 A1 discloses a manufacturing method of a battery pack in which multiple battery cells are stacked, and electrodes of adjacent battery cells of the battery cells are connected by a bus bar, the bus bar having two holes that are smaller than the electrodes, and the bus bar being disposed such that the holes overlap the electrodes respectively. The manufacturing method includes welding the bus bar and one of the electrodes, then welding the bus bar and another one of the electrodes in an intermediate region between the two holes of the bus bar, and subsequently welding the bus bar and the other one of the electrodes in an end region adjacent to the intermediate region of the bus bar.
Abe et al. US 2023/0155254 A1 discloses a battery module includes: a plurality of battery cells stacked in a predetermined direction; and a plurality of bus bars that electrically connect the plurality of battery cells together. The plurality of bus bars include a first bus bar extending between a first battery cell and a second battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, the first battery cell and the second battery cell being adjacent to each other in the predetermined direction. The first bus bar has a first base portion connected to the first battery cell, a second base portion connected to the second battery cell, and a rising portion that has a shape to rise from the first base portion and the second base portion and that connects between the first base portion and the second base portion. A fragile portion is provided in a root region of the rising portion.
Yanagida US 10,957,895 B2 discloses a busbar configured to establish a connection between adjacent electrode terminals of a plurality of electricity storage elements each including positive and negative electrode terminals, including: a central region and a pair of end regions that are separated by a pair of parallel folding lines extending along an arrangement direction of the adjacent electrode terminals, wherein the pair of end regions are folded using the folding lines, and are placed on top of one surface of the central region such that the end regions do not overlap with each other.
Conclusion
/J.R.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/Eli D. Strah/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782