DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in responsive to communication(s): original application filed on 03/14/2024, said application claims a priority filing date of 03/14/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 19 and 20 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6,8,10,12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (U.S. Publication 2023/0222281; hereinafter “Shin”) in view of Jang et al. (U.S. Publication 2023/0351791; hereinafter “Jang”).
In regard to dependent claim 1, 19 and 20, Shin teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a software program comprising data and computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations for modifying drawings based on changes to text in an electronic document, the operations comprising: accessing a textual content of the electronic document;
accessing a visual content of a drawing for the electronic document;
receiving an indication of a modification to the textual content of the electronic document; based on the modification to the textual content, analyzing the visual content of the drawing to determine a suggested modification to the drawing; and presenting the suggested modification to an individual (Shin, paragraph 0004; “Note: Drawing is modified based on the modification of the text/object of the electronic document”).
Shin is silent on the electronic document being a prospective patent application.
Jang teaches a system related with transforming text description into drawing wherein said system teaches the electronic document being prospective patent application (Jang, paragraph 0002; “Note: electronic document being patent application”).
Shin and Jang are analogous art because they are from same field of endeavor, system related with transforming text description into drawing.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of Jang, having electronic document being patent application, to Shin. Motivation for doing so would have been to applying the teaching of dynamically creating drawing based on the description in the area of drafting patent application which will result in increasing the customer/client base of the Shin’s system and make the system more useful and generate more revenue.
In regard to dependent claim 2, Shin teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a software program comprising data and computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations for modifying drawings based on changes to text in an electronic document, the operations comprising: accessing a textual content of the electronic document;
accessing a visual content of a drawing for the electronic document;
receiving an indication of a modification to the textual content of the electronic document; based on the modification to the textual content, analyzing the visual content of the drawing to determine a suggested modification to the drawing; and presenting the suggested modification to an individual (Shin, paragraph 0004; “Note: Drawing is modified based on the modification of the text/object of the electronic document”).
Shin is silent on the electronic document being a prospective patent application and textual content being claims.
Jang teaches a system related with transforming text description into drawing wherein said system teaches the electronic document being prospective patent application wherein textual content claim, description and drawing is inherent to the patent application (Jang, paragraph 0002; paragraph 0115).
Shin and Jang are analogous art because they are from same field of endeavor, system related with transforming text description into drawing.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of Jang, having electronic document being patent application, to Shin. Motivation for doing so would have been to applying the teaching of dynamically creating drawing based on the description in the area of drafting patent application which will result in increasing the customer/client base of the Shin’s system and make the system more useful and generate more revenue.
In regard to dependent claim 3, Shin teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a software program comprising data and computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations for modifying drawings based on changes to text in an electronic document, the operations comprising: accessing a textual content of the electronic document;
accessing a visual content of a drawing for the electronic document;
receiving an indication of a modification to the textual content of the electronic document; based on the modification to the textual content, analyzing the visual content of the drawing to determine a suggested modification to the drawing; and presenting the suggested modification to an individual, wherein the modification to the textual content includes an addition of a text, the drawing is inconsistent with the text, and the suggested modification to the drawing includes modifying the drawing to be consistent with the text. (Shin, paragraph 0004; “Note: Drawing is modified based on the modification of the text/object of the electronic document”).
Shin is silent on the electronic document being a prospective patent application and textual content being claims.
Jang teaches a system related with transforming text description into drawing wherein said system teaches the electronic document being prospective patent application wherein textual content claim, description and drawing is inherent to the patent application (Jang, paragraph 0002; paragraph 0115).
Shin and Jang are analogous art because they are from same field of endeavor, system related with transforming text description into drawing.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of Jang, having electronic document being patent application, to Shin. Motivation for doing so would have been to applying the teaching of dynamically creating drawing based on the description in the area of drafting patent application which will result in increasing the customer/client base of the Shin’s system and make the system more useful and generate more revenue.
In regard to dependent claim 4, Shin teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a software program comprising data and computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations for modifying drawings based on changes to text in an electronic document, the operations comprising: accessing a textual content of the electronic document;
accessing a visual content of a drawing for the electronic document;
receiving an indication of a modification to the textual content of the electronic document; based on the modification to the textual content, analyzing the visual content of the drawing to determine a suggested modification to the drawing; and presenting the suggested modification to an individual, wherein the modification to the textual content includes an addition of a text of the textual content, the text is associated with a component, the component is not illustrated in the drawing, and the suggested modification to the drawing includes adding an illustration of the component to the drawing (Shin, paragraph 0004; “Note: Drawing is modified based on the modification of the text/object of the electronic document wherein object is equivalent to component”).
Shin is silent on the electronic document being a prospective patent application and textual content being claims.
Jang teaches a system related with transforming text description into drawing wherein said system teaches the electronic document being prospective patent application wherein textual content claim, description and drawing is inherent to the patent application (Jang, paragraph 0002; paragraph 0115).
Shin and Jang are analogous art because they are from same field of endeavor, system related with transforming text description into drawing.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of Jang, having electronic document being patent application, to Shin. Motivation for doing so would have been to applying the teaching of dynamically creating drawing based on the description in the area of drafting patent application which will result in increasing the customer/client base of the Shin’s system and make the system more useful and generate more revenue.
In regard to dependent claim 5, Shin teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a software program comprising data and computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations for modifying drawings based on changes to text in an electronic document, the operations comprising: accessing a textual content of the electronic document;
accessing a visual content of a drawing for the electronic document;
receiving an indication of a modification to the textual content of the electronic document; based on the modification to the textual content, analyzing the visual content of the drawing to determine a suggested modification to the drawing; and presenting the suggested modification to an individual, wherein the modification to the textual content includes a removal of a particular texts from the contextual content, the contextual content is associated with a first component and a second component, the first component is not associated with any other texts of the contextual content, the second component is further associated with another texts of the textual content, the drawing includes an illustration of the first component and an illustration of the second component, and the suggested modification to the drawing includes removing the illustration of the first component from the drawing while preserving the illustration of the second component in the drawing (Shin, paragraph 0004; “Note: Drawing is modified based on the modification of the text/object of the electronic document wherein object is equivalent to component”).
Shin is silent on the electronic document being a prospective patent application and textual content being claims.
Jang teaches a system related with transforming text description into drawing wherein said system teaches the electronic document being prospective patent application wherein textual content claim, description and drawing is inherent to the patent application (Jang, paragraph 0002; paragraph 0115).
Shin and Jang are analogous art because they are from same field of endeavor, system related with transforming text description into drawing.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of Jang, having electronic document being patent application, to Shin. Motivation for doing so would have been to applying the teaching of dynamically creating drawing based on the description in the area of drafting patent application which will result in increasing the customer/client base of the Shin’s system and make the system more useful and generate more revenue.
In regard to dependent claim 6, Shin teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a software program comprising data and computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations for modifying drawings based on changes to text in an electronic document, the operations comprising: accessing a textual content of the electronic document;
accessing a visual content of a drawing for the electronic document;
receiving an indication of a modification to the textual content of the electronic document; based on the modification to the textual content, analyzing the visual content of the drawing to determine a suggested modification to the drawing; and presenting the suggested modification to an individual, wherein the textual content, the modification to the textual content includes an addition texts of the textual content, the drawing is consistent with the texts of the textual content, and the suggested modification to the drawing includes modifying the drawing to be inconsistent with the texts (Shin, paragraph 0004; “Note: Drawing is modified based on the modification of the text/object of the electronic document wherein object is equivalent to component”).
Shin is silent on the electronic document being a prospective patent application and textual content being claim wherein the claim is a dependent claim, the dependent claim refers to and further limits the particular claim.
Jang teaches a system related with transforming text description into drawing wherein said system teaches the electronic document being prospective patent application wherein textual content claim, description and drawing is inherent to the patent application wherein the claim is a dependent claim, the dependent claim refers to and further limits the particular claim (Jang, paragraph 0002; paragraph 0115).
Shin and Jang are analogous art because they are from same field of endeavor, system related with transforming text description into drawing.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of Jang, having electronic document being patent application, to Shin. Motivation for doing so would have been to applying the teaching of dynamically creating drawing based on the description in the area of drafting patent application which will result in increasing the customer/client base of the Shin’s system and make the system more useful and generate more revenue.
In regard to dependent claim 8, Shin teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a software program comprising data and computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations for modifying drawings based on changes to text in an electronic document, the operations comprising: accessing a textual content of the electronic document;
accessing a visual content of a drawing for the electronic document;
receiving an indication of a modification to the textual content of the electronic document; based on the modification to the textual content, analyzing the visual content of the drawing to determine a suggested modification to the drawing; and presenting the suggested modification to an individual, wherein the textual content of the electronic document is at least part of a description section for the electronic document, and the modification to the textual content is a modification to the description section (Shin, paragraph 0004; “Note: Drawing is modified based on the modification of the text/object of the electronic document wherein object is equivalent to component”).
Shin is silent on the electronic document being a prospective patent application and textual content being description of the prospective patent application.
Jang teaches a system related with transforming text description into drawing wherein said system teaches the electronic document being prospective patent application wherein textual content claim, description and drawing is inherent to the patent application wherein modification to textual document is a modification to the description section of the patent application (Jang, paragraph 0002; paragraph 0115; paragraph 00143; “Note: drawing is modified based on the change in the specification).
Shin and Jang are analogous art because they are from same field of endeavor, system related with transforming text description into drawing.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of Jang, having electronic document being patent application, to Shin. Motivation for doing so would have been to applying the teaching of dynamically creating drawing based on the description in the area of drafting patent application which will result in increasing the customer/client base of the Shin’s system and make the system more useful and generate more revenue.
In regard to dependent claim 10, Shin teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a software program comprising data and computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations for modifying drawings based on changes to text in an electronic document, the operations comprising: accessing a textual content of the electronic document;
accessing a visual content of a drawing for the electronic document;
receiving an indication of a modification to the textual content of the electronic document; based on the modification to the textual content, analyzing the visual content of the drawing to determine a suggested modification to the drawing; and presenting the suggested modification to an individual, wherein the description section describes a plurality of components, the modification to the description section includes an addition of a description of an additional component to the description section, the additional component is not included in the plurality of components, the additional component is not illustrated in the drawing, and the suggested modification to the drawing includes adding an illustration of the additional component to the drawing (Shin, paragraph 0004; “Note: Drawing is modified based on the modification of the text/object of the electronic document wherein object is equivalent to component”).
Shin is silent on the electronic document being a prospective patent application and textual content being description of the prospective patent application.
Jang teaches a system related with transforming text description into drawing wherein said system teaches the electronic document being prospective patent application wherein textual content claim, description and drawing is inherent to the patent application wherein modification to textual document is a modification to the description section of the patent application (Jang, paragraph 0002; paragraph 0115; paragraph 00143; “Note: drawing is modified based on the change in the specification).
Shin and Jang are analogous art because they are from same field of endeavor, system related with transforming text description into drawing.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of Jang, having electronic document being patent application, to Shin. Motivation for doing so would have been to applying the teaching of dynamically creating drawing based on the description in the area of drafting patent application which will result in increasing the customer/client base of the Shin’s system and make the system more useful and generate more revenue.
In regard to dependent claim 12, Shin teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a software program comprising data and computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations for modifying drawings based on changes to text in an electronic document, the operations comprising: accessing a textual content of the electronic document;
accessing a visual content of a drawing for the electronic document;
receiving an indication of a modification to the textual content of the electronic document; based on the modification to the textual content, analyzing the visual content of the drawing to determine a suggested modification to the drawing; and presenting the suggested modification to an individual, wherein the textual content includes at least part of a first text and at least part of a second text, wherein the modification to the textual content includes a modification to the at least part of the first text and a modification to the at least part of the second text, and wherein the determination of the suggested modification to the drawing is based on the modification to the at least part of the first text and on the modification to the at least part of the second text (Shin, paragraph 0004; “Note: Drawing is modified based on the modification of the text/object of the electronic document wherein object is equivalent to component”).
Shin is silent on the electronic document being a prospective patent application and the first text of the textual content being claim and the second text of the textual content being description of the prospective patent application.
Jang teaches a system related with transforming text description into drawing wherein said system teaches the electronic document being prospective patent application wherein textual content claim (i.e. first text), description (i.e. second text) and drawing is inherent to the patent application wherein modification to textual document is a modification to the description section of the patent application (Jang, paragraph 0002; paragraph 0115; paragraph 00143; “Note: drawing is modified based on the change in the specification).
Shin and Jang are analogous art because they are from same field of endeavor, system related with transforming text description into drawing.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of Jang, having electronic document being patent application, to Shin. Motivation for doing so would have been to applying the teaching of dynamically creating drawing based on the description in the area of drafting patent application which will result in increasing the customer/client base of the Shin’s system and make the system more useful and generate more revenue.
In regard to dependent claim 16, Shin as modified by Jang as applied above, teaches the operations further comprise analyzing the modification to the textual content and the visual content of the drawing using a machine learning model to determine the suggested modification to the drawing (Jang, paragraph 0006).
In regard to dependent claim 17, Shin as modified by Jang as applied above, teaches the textual content includes a noun, the modified textual content includes the noun and an adjective adjacent to the noun, the adjective is not included in the textual content, the drawing depicts an element associated with the noun, and the suggested modification to the drawing includes a modification to the element based on the adjective (Shin, figure 4A-4D; 6A-6C; Jang, figure 15; “Note: textual content includes noun and adjective” ).
In regard to dependent claim 18, Shin as modified by Jang as applied above, teaches the textual content includes a verb, the modified textual content includes the verb and an adverb adjacent to the verb, the adverb is not included in the textual content, the drawing depicts an element associated with the verb, and the suggested modification to the drawing includes a modification to the element based on the adverb (Shin, figure 4A-4D; 6A-6C; Jang, figure 15; “Note: textual content included verb and adverb”).
Allowable Subject Matter
In regard to dependent claims 7, 9, 11 and 13-15, said claim is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ehrlich, U.S. Publication 2024/0220714 - Teaches a system to draft complete patent application using AI.
Brinkley II, U.S. Publication 2020/0043112 - Teaches a system to finetune and finalize patent application analyzing received input.
/Reza Nabi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174