DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed 3/14/24 is acknowledged, the reference therein relating to the general background of applicant’s invention.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “MFP with a display panel that rotates based upon the face position of a user”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a panel rotation unit … a face position information acquisition unit … a control unit” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Inspection of the specification reveals that a motor (item 61 of figure 2) corresponds to the panel rotation unit; a camera (item 71 of figure 2) corresponds to the face position information acquisition unit; and a CPU (figure 3, item 81) corresponds to the control unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1) Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. patent application publication 2019/0098145 by Ii.
2) Regarding claim 1, Ii teaches a recording device (figure 1, item 10; an MFP) including a movable panel unit provided in an angle adjustable manner and configured to be used to perform various operations (figure 1, item 13; a movable display panel), the recording device comprising: a panel rotation unit configured to rotate the movable panel unit to change an angle of the movable panel unit (figure 2, item 134; paragraph 33; panel adjustment motor moves the display to different angles); a face position information acquisition unit configured to acquire information about a position of a face of a user (figure 2, item 133; paragraph 44; human sensor determines angle of human head and eyes [i.e. a face]); and a control unit, wherein the control unit rotates the panel rotation unit to adjust the angle of the movable panel unit based on the information acquired by the face position information acquisition unit (paragraph 47; figure 5, Act5; processor controls the angle adjustment motor to put display at an optimal angle to face a user).
3) Regarding claim 2, Ii teaches the recording device according to claim 1, wherein the face position information acquisition unit is provided at the movable panel unit (figure 3, item 133; human sensor is a part of the movable display unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4) Claim(s) 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2019/0098145 by Ii as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2018/0157449 by Nobutani et al.
5) Regarding claim 3, Ii teaches the recording device according to claim 2, further comprising a sensor configured to detect the user that uses the recording device (paragraph 42; sensor detects a person approach the MFP), wherein when the motion sensor detects the user, the control unit changes the face position information acquisition unit from an OFF state to an ON state (figure 4; paragraph 43; once human approach is detected the optimal angle acquisition through sensor 133 is activated in Act3 [i.e. turned to an ON state]).
Ii does not specifically teach a motion sensor.
Nobutani teaches a motion sensor (paragraphs 36 and 38; human sensor detection of movement can cause power to be supplied to other MFP units including a facial recognition camera).
Ii and Nobutani are combinable because they are both from the MFP human sensor field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Ii with Nobutani to add a motion sensor. The motivation for doing so would have been to be able to sense movement from an MFP low power mode (paragraph 36). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Ii with Nobutani to obtain the invention of claim 3.
6) Regarding claim 4, Ii teaches the recording device according to claim 3, wherein when the motion sensor detects the user, the control unit rotates the movable panel unit to move the face position information acquisition unit to a position at which the information is acquirable by the face position information acquisition unit (figure 4; paragraphs 44-47; after approach of user is detected, panel automatically rotates to a position facing the eyes of the user).
7) Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2019/0098145 by Ii as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2017/0180578 by Nimura.
8) Regarding claim 5, Ii does not specifically teach the recording device according to claim 1, wherein when information indicating that a load equal to or greater than a certain level is detected is sent while the panel rotation unit is driven to automatically adjust the angle of the movable panel unit, the control unit stops driving the panel rotation unit.
Nimura teaches the recording device according to claim 1, wherein when information indicating that a load equal to or greater than a certain level is detected is sent while the panel rotation unit is driven to automatically adjust the angle of the movable panel unit, the control unit stops driving the panel rotation unit (paragraphs 49 and 51; figure 7; automatic tilting motor is stopped [item S206] after tilt operation is detected in an error state [i.e. item in the way as per paragraph 47], “load” could be item in the way or just the timer).
Ii and Nimura are combinable because they are both from the MFP rotating display field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Ii with Nimura to add motor monitoring. The motivation for doing so would have been to notify a user of a tilting operation error. Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Ii with Nimura to obtain the invention of claim 5.
9) Regarding claim 6, Nimura (as combined with Ii in the rejection of claim 5 above) teaches the recording device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to select an automatic adjustment mode in which the angle of the movable panel unit is automatically adjusted and a manual adjustment mode in which the angle of the movable panel unit is manually adjusted without using the automatic adjustment mode (paragraph 51; automatic mode can be set to manual mode when error is detected).
Conclusion
BENJAMIN O. DULANEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2676
/BENJAMIN O DULANEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683