DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 March 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 29 January 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 20 March 2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 1-7 be found allowable, claims 8-14 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR20220120935A, from the IDS filed 20 March 2026, English translation provided for citations, hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
As to Claims 1-7: Kim teaches a photosensitive resin composition comprising quantum dots having a ligand containing a thiol group and a cyclic ether group (Abstract) and a polymerizable compound [0026]. Kim further teaches that the ligand can have the structure of formula 2-1:
[0079-0080]. Which meets the composition of chemical formula 10 wherein p = 1.
As to Claim 15 and 16: Kim teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Kim further teaches an example comprising 15% quantum dots, 10% polymerizable compound and 73.3% solvent (Table 1, Ex. 1) and that the composition is spin coated and heated to remove the solvent which would leave about 60% quantum dots and about 40% polymerizable compound [0227].
As to Claims 17 and 18: Kim teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Kim further teaches that the composition can include a polymerization initiator [0148].
As to Claim 19 and 20: Kim teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Kim further teaches an example comprising 15% quantum dots, 10% polymerizable compound and 73.3% solvent (Table 1, Ex. 1).
As to Claim 21: Kim teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Kim further teaches that the composition may further include leveling agents [0150].
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR20220120935A, from the IDS filed 20 March 2026, English translation provided for citations, hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
As to Claims 8-14: Kim teaches a photosensitive resin composition comprising quantum dots having a ligand containing a thiol group and a cyclic ether group (Abstract) and a polymerizable compound [0026]. Kim further teaches that the ligand can have the structure of formula 2-1:
[0079-0080]. Which meets the composition of chemical formula 30 wherein p = 1.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR20220120935A, from the IDS filed 20 March 2026, English translation provided for citations, hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
As to Claim 22: Kim teaches a photosensitive resin composition comprising quantum dots having a ligand containing a thiol group and a cyclic ether group (Abstract) and a polymerizable compound [0026]. Kim further teaches that the ligand can have the structure of formula 2-1:
[0079-0080]. Which meets the composition of chemical formula 10 wherein p = 1. Kim further teaches that the composition can be cured and used as an image display device [0028].
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR20220120935A, from the IDS filed 20 March 2026, English translation provided for citations, hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
As to Claim 23: Kim teaches a photosensitive resin composition comprising quantum dots having a ligand containing a thiol group and a cyclic ether group (Abstract) and a polymerizable compound [0026]. Kim further teaches that the ligand can have the structure of formula 2-1:
[0079-0080]. Which meets the composition of chemical formula 10 wherein p = 1. Kim further teaches that the composition can be cured and used as an image display device [0028].
Conclusion
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767