DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claims 7-12 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn because the claims are cancelled.
Applicant states (pp. 14) that the cited prior art of record combined teaches only one matching step being a logical fuzzy matching between raw records and cached records, but does not teach a blocking step and machine learning step to identify first potential matches and then actual matches to merge the actual matches. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Nachnani determines, using fuzzy matching logic [0008], if any record from the feed matches an existing record associated with an entity (i.e., candidate/potential match entity pair). Matching records from the feed are then merged with the existing record (i.e., actual match entity pair) to form a merged composite record to be associated with the cluster (i.e., blocking engine) for the entity [0051]. The overall confidence score for the merged composite record is based on weighted confidence scores that are calculated for features (i.e., feature engine) of the composite record [0013].
Nachnani does not disclose claim element “machine learning engine”; however, nodes (i.e., engines) in a cluster of Elasticsearch play different roles, such as data nodes (i.e., blocking engine) for storing and operating on data, client nodes for balancing request load, ingestion nodes (i.e., cleansing engine) for preprocessing documents before indexing, and machine learning nodes (i.e., machine learning engine) for machine learning tasks (Kathare: sec. 2.5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kathare to Nachnani. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to implement record matching and merging of Nachnani using the open-source distributed search engine of Kathare.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nachnani et al. US patent application 2012/0023107 [herein “Nachnani”], and further in view of Kathare et al. A Comprehensive Study of Elastic Search. JRSE 4:11, Nov. 2022 [herein “Kathare”].
1. Claim 1 recites “A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, by at least one processor, a plurality of entity records, the plurality of entity records stored in an elastic search environment, the plurality of entity records associated with at least one candidate entity record;”
Nachnani receives records (i.e., entity records) from a feed that tracks (i.e., monitors) real-time changes [0026] [0173] in data objects (i.e., entities) [0008] stored in a database [0013], and performs search on stored data [0038]. Nachnani manages applications running in a virtual machine (i.e., containerization technology) [0036] in a cloud computing environment [0201].
Claim 1 further recites “utilizing, by the at least one processor, in real time, a microservice module capable of leveraging a containerization technology in a cloud-first computer-implemented real-time scalable processing cluster to”.
Nachnani determines if a record from the feed matches an existing record associated with a cluster for the entity (i.e., candidate entity pair). Matching records from the feed are then merged with the existing record (i.e., matching entity pair) to form a merged composite record to be associated with the cluster [0051].
Claim 1 further recites “determine a match of each candidate entity pair, each candidate entity pair comprising: at least 20,000 entity records of the plurality of entity records and the at least one candidate entity record; wherein the microservice module monitoring the cloud-first computer-implemented real-time scalable processing cluster is configured to: utilize a cleansing engine to cleanse the at least one candidate entity record;”
Nachnani analyzes merged composite records to determine a confidence (i.e., similarity) score indicative of the quality of matching records [0051]. The score may depend on the quality and recency of individual records in the cluster [0052]. If a record is incomplete, it is enriched (i.e., cleansed) with available information [0098].
Claim 1 further recites “determine a status of a blocking engine, the status representing a processing load associated with the blocking engine; utilize, responsive to the status of the blocking engine, the blocking engine to determine candidate entity pairs representing potential matches to the at least one candidate entity record from the plurality of entity records;”
The interface between system and network in Nachnani includes load sharing functionality to balance loads (i.e., status) and distribute incoming requests evenly over a plurality of servers (i.e., engines) [0035].
Claim 1 further recites “utilize at least one feature engine to generate candidate entity pair features for each of the candidate entity pairs based at least in part on the at least one candidate entity records and the potential matches; utilize at least one machine learning engine to determine a similarity score of each candidate entity pair based at least in part on the candidate entity pair features of each candidate entity pair produced by the blocking engine;”
Nachnani determines, using fuzzy matching logic [0008], if any record from the feed matches an existing record associated with an entity. Matching records from the feed are then merged with the existing record to form a merged composite record to be associated with the cluster (i.e., blocking engine) for the entity [0051]. The overall confidence score for the merged composite record is based on weighted confidence scores that are calculated for features (i.e., feature engine) of the composite record (i.e., candidate entity pair features) [0013].
Claim 1 further recites “display the similarity score representing the at least one candidate entity record; determine at least one identified matching pair from the candidate entity pairs based at least in part on the similarity score of each candidate entity pair; and merge the at least one candidate entity record and the potential matches of the at least one identified match based on the similarity score and a user selection.”
Given a record from the feed, Nachnani uses a FindMatchingRecords method to find existing records matching the given record 'sufficiently well' [0072], whose results including match score (Table 10, [0071]) are displayed to a user [0208].
Nachnani does not disclose claim element “microservice module”; however, Kathare teaches Beats as a collection of lightweight agents (i.e., microservices) installed on servers for data shipping to Elasticsearch (i.e., elastic search environment) (Kathare: sec. 5.4).
Nachnani does not teach claim element “at least 20,000 entity records”; however, Kathare divides an index into a number of shards which are then distributed and replicated across a number of clusters (Kathare: sec. 2.6-7). Elasticsearch scales horizontally up to few petabytes of data (i.e., at least 20K records), with preferred limit per shard at 50GB (Kathare: sec. 4.1).
Nachnani does not disclose claim element “machine learning engine”; however, nodes (i.e., engines) in a cluster of Elasticsearch play different roles, such as data nodes (i.e., blocking engine) for storing and operating on data, client nodes for balancing request load, ingestion nodes (i.e., cleansing engine) for preprocessing documents before indexing, and machine learning nodes (i.e., machine learning engine) for machine learning tasks (Kathare: sec. 2.5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kathare to Nachnani. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to implement record matching and merging of Nachnani using the open-source distributed search engine of Kathare.
Claim 13 is analogous to claim 1, and is similarly rejected.
Claim 2 recites “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the microservice module instantiates at least one second blocking engine based at least in part on a system status.”
The interface between system and network in Nachnani includes load sharing functionality to balance loads (i.e., status) and distributes incoming requests evenly over a plurality of servers (i.e., engines) [0035].
Nachnani and Kathare teach claim 1, where Kathare teaches Beats as a collection of lightweight agents (i.e., microservices) installed on servers for data shipping to Elasticsearch (Kathare: sec. 5.4). An index is divided into a number of shards which are then distributed and replicated (i.e., instantiated) across a number of clusters (Kathare: sec. 2.6-7).
Claim 14 is analogous to claim 2, and is similarly rejected.
Claim 3 recites “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the microservice module instantiates at least one second blocking engine based at least in part on a system status and the status of the blocking engine exceeds a threshold.”
The interface between system and network in Nachnani includes load sharing functionality to balance loads (i.e., status) and distribute incoming requests evenly over a plurality of servers (i.e., engines) [0035].
Nachnani and Kathare teach claim 1, where Kathare teaches Beats as a collection of lightweight agents (i.e., microservices) installed on servers for data shipping to Elasticsearch (Kathare: sec. 5.4). An index is divided into a number of shards which are then distributed and replicated (i.e., instantiated) across a number of clusters (Kathare: sec. 2.6-7). Elasticsearch scales horizontally up to few petabytes of data, with preferred limit (i.e., threshold) per shard at 50GB (Kathare: sec. 4.1).
Claim 15 is analogous to claim 3, and is similarly rejected.
Claim 4 recites “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the microservice module instantiates at least one second feature engine based at least in part on a system status.”
The interface between system and network in Nachnani includes load sharing functionality to balance loads (i.e., status) and distribute incoming requests evenly over a plurality of servers (i.e., engines) [0035].
Nachnani and Kathare teach claim 1, where Kathare teaches Beats as a collection of lightweight agents (i.e., microservices) installed on servers for data shipping to Elasticsearch (Kathare: sec. 5.4). An index is divided into a number of shards which are then distributed and replicated (i.e., instantiated) across a number of clusters (Kathare: sec. 2.6-7). Nodes (i.e., engines) in a cluster of Elasticsearch play different roles, such as data nodes for storing and operating on data, client nodes for balancing request load, ingestion nodes for preprocessing documents before indexing, and machine learning nodes for matching and scoring (i.e., feature) (Kathare: sec. 2.5).
Claim 16 is analogous to claim 4, and is similarly rejected.
Claim 5 recites “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the microservice module instantiates at least one second machine learning engine based at least in part on a system status.”
The interface between system and network in Nachnani includes load sharing functionality to balance loads (i.e., status) and distribute incoming requests evenly over a plurality of servers (i.e., engines) [0035].
Nachnani and Kathare teach claim 1, where Kathare teaches Beats as a collection of lightweight agents (i.e., microservices) installed on servers for data shipping to Elasticsearch (Kathare: sec. 5.4). An index is divided into a number of shards which are then distributed and replicated (i.e., instantiated) across a number of clusters (Kathare: sec. 2.6-7). Nodes (i.e., engines) in a cluster of Elasticsearch play different roles, such as data nodes for storing and operating on data, client nodes for balancing request load, ingestion nodes for preprocessing documents before indexing, and machine learning nodes for matching and scoring (Kathare: sec. 2.5).
Claim 17 is analogous to claim 5, and is similarly rejected.
Claim 6 recites “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the microservice module instantiates at least one second blocking engine and at least one feature engine based at least in part on a system status.”
The interface between system and network in Nachnani includes load sharing functionality to balance loads (i.e., status) and distribute incoming requests evenly over a plurality of servers (i.e., engines) [0035].
Nachnani and Kathare teach claim 1, where Kathare teaches Beats as a collection of lightweight agents (i.e., microservices) installed on servers for data shipping to Elasticsearch (Kathare: sec. 5.4). An index is divided into a number of shards which are then distributed and replicated (i.e., instantiated) across a number of clusters (Kathare: sec. 2.6-7).
Claim 18 is analogous to claim 6, and is similarly rejected.
Claim 19 recites “The at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein the microservice module combines the at least one blocking engine with at least one second blocking engine based at least in part on a status of the at least one blocking engine.”
The interface between system and network in Nachnani includes load sharing functionality to balance loads (i.e., status) and distribute incoming requests evenly over a plurality of servers (i.e., engines) [0035].
Nachnani and Kathare teach claim 1, where Kathare teaches Beats as a collection of lightweight agents (i.e., microservices) installed on servers for data shipping to Elasticsearch (Kathare: sec. 5.4). An index is divided into a number of shards which are then distributed and replicated across a number of clusters (Kathare: sec. 2.6-7).
Nachnani does not disclose this claim; however, Elasticsearch supports splitting existing shards into more shards, or shrinking (i.e., combining) existing shards into fewer shards, depending on load (Kathare: sec. 5, para. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kathare to Nachnani. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found motivation to implement record matching and merging of Nachnani using the open-source distributed search engine of Kathare, which can be dynamically scaled up or down based on load.
Claim 20 is analogous to claim 19, and is similarly rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, such as Franciosa et al. US patent application 2005/0086224.
/SHELLY X QIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2154
/SYED H HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154