DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 3/14/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/14/2024, 1/7/2025, 6/12/2025, 10/10/2025 and 1/29/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the limitation “a postponement or a dropping duration of a narrowband internet of things physical uplink shared channel (NPUSCH) due to a narrowband internet of things physical random access channel (NPRACH) collision is counted in segment duration” is indefinite because it is unclear to whether the segment duration is the same as the claimed segment length parameter already defined or another type of segment parameter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8,10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mediatek et al. (“Summary #6 of AI 8.15.1 Enhancements to time and frequency synchronization”)(M1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, M1 teaches an apparatus (i.e. eNB) for wireless communication [page 2; section 2.2.1; coordination between UE and eNB] comprising a processor, configured to implement a method (it is inherent that a device such as an eNB would comprise of a processor or CPU to implement functions)[refer page 37; Initial Proposal - Section 4.2.2-3; ZTE Comment - “to ensure the performance for coherent processing…”], the processor configured to:
transmit, by a base station (i.e. eNB), a segmentation parameter for a physical channel (i.e. PRACH and PUSCH) via a system information block (SIB) or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (duration of UL transmission segment for PRACH and PUSCH are configured by network)[page 41; Initial Proposal – Section 4.2.2-3; Spreadtrum Comment], the segmentation parameter includes a segment length (segment length can be configured through SIB broadcasting)[page 52; Third Round Proposal – Section 4.5-2; ZTE Comment].
Regarding claims 2 and 12, M1 teaches the physical channel includes a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (duration of UL transmission segment for PRACH and PUSCH are configured by network)[page 41; Initial Proposal – Section 4.2.2-3; Spreadtrum Comment].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, M1 teaches the physical channel includes a physical random access channel (PRACH)(duration of UL transmission segment for PRACH and PUSCH are configured by network)[page 41; Initial Proposal – Section 4.2.2-3; Spreadtrum Comment].
Regarding claims 4 and 14, M1 teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (i.e. UE) [page 2; section 2.2.1; coordination between UE and eNB] comprising a processor, configured to implement a method (it is inherent that a device such as a UE would comprise of a processor or CPU to implement functions)[refer page 37; Initial Proposal - Section 4.2.2-3; ZTE Comment - “to ensure the performance for coherent processing…”], the processor configured to:
receive, by a user equipment (UE), a segmentation parameter for a physical channel (i.e. PRACH and PUSCH) via a system information block (SIB) or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (duration of UL transmission segment for PRACH and PUSCH are configured by network)[page 41; Initial Proposal – Section 4.2.2-3; Spreadtrum Comment], the segmentation parameter includes a segment length (segment length can be configured through SIB broadcasting)[page 52; Third Round Proposal – Section 4.5-2; ZTE Comment].
Regarding claims 5 and 15, M1 teaches the physical channel includes a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (duration of UL transmission segment for PRACH and PUSCH are configured by network)[page 41; Initial Proposal – Section 4.2.2-3; Spreadtrum Comment].
Regarding claims 6 and 16, M1 teaches the physical channel includes a physical random access channel (PRACH) (duration of UL transmission segment for PRACH and PUSCH are configured by network)[page 41; Initial Proposal – Section 4.2.2-3; Spreadtrum Comment].
Regarding claims 7 and 17, M1 teaches an overlapping part of a second segment that overlaps with a first segment is dropped [page 35; section 4.2.2; “For segmented UE timing pre-compensation, if signal is overlapped between different TA segments, the last one is dropped”].
Regarding claims 8 and 18, M1 teaches an uplink gap is inserted between two adjacent segments [page 77; Section 9; Lenovo – Proposal 4; “UE pre-compensation done per N time units with inserting transmission gap or puncturing uplink transmission should be considered in UL transmission in IoT on NTN”].
Regarding claims 10 and 20, M1 teaches a postponement or a dropping duration of a narrowband internet of things physical uplink shared channel (NPUSCH) due to a narrowband internet of things physical random access channel (NPRACH) collision is counted in segment duration [page 49; section 4.5; “For NB-IoT, if a mapping to Nslots slots or a repetition of the mapping in an UL transmission segment for UE pre-compensation for NPUSCH transmission contains a resource element which overlaps with any configured NPRACH resource, the NPUSCH transmission in overlapped Nslots slots is postponed until the next Nslots slots not overlapping with any configured NPRACH resource”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mediatek et al. (“Summary #6 of AI 8.15.1 Enhancements to time and frequency synchronization”)(M1 hereafter) in view of Yan et al. (US Pub.2024/0322946)(Y1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, M1 teaches a narrowband internet of things physical uplink shared channel (NPUSCH) transmission that overlaps with a narrowband internet of things physical random access channel (NPRACH) occasion is postponed in response to resources for the NPUSCH transmission overlapping with resources for the NPRACH occasion [page 45; section 4.4; “For NB-IoT, postponement of NPUSCH transmission if overlapping with NPRACH resource is specified”].
However, M1 doesn’t expressly disclose the NPUSCH transmission is postponed until a NPRACH transmission is finished.
Y1 discloses that a NPUSCH transmission in an overlapped slot is postponed until the next slots not overlapping with any configured NPRACH resource (i.e. until transmission is finished)[paragraph 0027].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of M1 for postponing of a transmission if there is an overlap [page 45; section 4.4; “For NB-IoT, postponement of NPUSCH transmission if overlapping with NPRACH resource is specified”] to incorporate explicit postponing of a NPUSCH transmission until a next slot when the NPRACH is not overlapping as taught by Y1. One would be motivated to do so to prevent the NPUSCH transmission from overlapping with the NPRACH [refer Y1; paragraph 0027].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Panteleev et al. (US Pub. 2022/0159706) discloses that a PUSCH may be based on a length of a first segment and scaling, which can be provided as part of DCI, RRC or other higher layer signaling [paragraph 0217], and when a PUSCH transmission is overlapping with a higher priority signal, the PUSCH is dropped [paragraph 0222].
Nader et al. (US Patent No. 12,556,989) discloses the sending of a parameter indicating a required or recommended segmentation size for segments of messages, the messages can be received via SIBS [column 3 lines 56-67].
Ryan Kavleski
/R. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412