DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 9, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
4. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant' s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-10, 12-16, 17, 22, 24-25, 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tohidi et al. (WO 2025113812 A1) in view of Bayesteh et al. (US 20210286045 A1).
8. Regarding claim 1, Tohidi et al. teaches a method of providing a multi-port non-linear frequency-modulated (NLFM) configuration for radio frequency (RF) sensing, the method comprising, (“In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]) Sensing signals comprise of NLFM signals and RF sensing (e.g. sensing specific signals).
Although Tohidi et al. teaches a multi-port non-linear frequency-modulated (NLFM) configuration for radio frequency (RF) sensing, the method comprising, Tohidi et al. does not explicitly teach receiving capability information at a configuring node of a wireless network, wherein the capability information is indicative of an ability of a sensing node to generate signals for performing an RF sensing function: determining, with the configuring node and based at least in part on the capability information, an configuration for generating a set of signals comprising two or more signals, wherein each of the two or more signals corresponds to a respective antenna port of the sensing node, and wherein the configuration includes: a type of signal to use for the set of signals, and one or more parameters for generating the set of signals: and sending the configuration from the configuring node to the sensing node to enable the sensing node to generate the set of signals to perform the RF sensing function.
In the same field of endeavor of including receiving capability information at a configuring node of a wireless network, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“The EDs 110, BS 170 and sensing agent 122 are examples of network entities that can be configured to implement some or all of the functionalities or embodiments described herein” [0079] … “The BS 170, EDs 110, and sensing agent 122 can perform or aid in sensing by transmitting and receiving sensing signals (not shown in FIG. 1 but see FIG. 4A” [0085]). The BS, ED, sensing agent are configuring nodes and can perform as sensing nodes. Following up with, (a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity” [0179]). A sensing node can be a configuring node. Sensing nodes receive sensing signal configuration. A sensing signal configuration is capability information.
In further, wherein the capability information is indicative of an ability of a sensing node to generate signals for performing an RF sensing function, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0179]). Sensing signal configuration is capability information that is indicative of the sensing node to generate signals to perform sensing.
In further, determining, with the configuring node and based at least in part on the capability information, an configuration for generating a set of signals comprising two or more signals, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“The EDs 110, BS 170 and sensing agent 122 are examples of network entities that can be configured to implement some or all of the functionalities or embodiments described herein” [0079] … “The BS 170, EDs 110, and sensing agent 122 can perform or aid in sensing by transmitting and receiving sensing signals “a sensing node determines a sensing signal configuration or sensing signal configuration information” [0179]). The EDs, BS, and sensing agents are configuring nodes that can perform or aid in sensing teaching that configuring nodes are sensing nodes. Following up with, (“a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0179]). The sensing node is also a configuring node that receives sensing signal configuration (e.g. capability information) and generates sensing signal teaching determining with the configuring nodes in part of the capability information.
Following up with, (“Sensing signals can be in-band or out-of-band… For out-of-band sensing, sensing signals are transmitted using a set of physical resources that is different from the set of physical resources used for communication signals. In some embodiments, the set of physical resources is dedicated to sensing” [0180]). Sensing signals for in-band or out-of-band teaches a set of signals (e.g. in band or out of band) comprising two or more signals.
In further, wherein each of the two or more signals corresponds to a respective antenna port of the sensing node, and wherein the configuration includes: a type of signal to use for the set of signals, and one or more parameters for generating the set of signals, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“FIG. 2C, the sensing agent 122 includes at least one processing unit 220, at least one transmitter 222, at least one receiver 224, one or more antennas 226” [0097]). The sensing agent is the sensing node that has one or more antennas. Following up with, (“a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0179]). Sensing node that has one or more antennas receives sensing signal configuration teaching signals corresponds to a respective antenna port of the sensing node. One or more predetermined properties teach one or more parameters for generating the signals. Generating a sensing signal based on predetermined properties teaches generating set of signals.
Following up with, (“Sensing signals can be in-band or out-of-band” [0180] … “In some embodiments, the set of physical resources is dedicated to sensing” [0180]). Sensing signals in band or out of band teaches two or more signal and the set of signals.
In further, and sending the configuration from the configuring node to the sensing node to enable the sensing node to generate the set of signals to perform the RF sensing function, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0179]). The network entity is the configuring node. The sensing node receives sensing signal configuration from the configuring node and generates a portion of the sensing signal teaching configuration information enables sensing node to generate signals to perform RF sensing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. to include the sensing node, network entities (e.g. EDs, BS, sensing agent) and sensing signal configuration. The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow the sensing node and configuring node to communicate capability information in order to (“to balance or optimize sensing performance and efficient utilization of communication resources” [Bayesteh et al. 0005]).
9. Regarding claim 6, Tohidi et al. teaches NLFM signals, (“In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]) Sensing signals comprise of NLFM signals. Teaching RF sensing.
Although Tohidi et al. teaches NLFM signals, Tohidi et al. does not explicitly teach the method of claim 1, wherein determining the NLFM configuration is additionally based on: a level of orthogonality of the two or more NLFM signals of the set of NLFM signals, a level of complexity of generating the set of NLFM signals, a sensing environment of the sensing node, an application for which the RF sensing is performed, or any combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of including wherein determining the NLFM configuration is additionally based on: a level of orthogonality of the two or more NLFM signals of the set of NLFM signals, a level of complexity of generating the set of NLFM signals, a sensing environment of the sensing node, an application for which the RF sensing is performed, or any combination thereof, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“a sensing signal configuration include receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0121] … “Sensing signal configurations can be target-specific and/or sensing node-specific” [0123]). Generating a sensing signal based on one or more predetermined properties teaches a level of complexity of generating a signal. Sensing signals configurations for target-specific and/or sensing-node specific teaches an application for which RF sensing is performed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. to include the sensing signal configurations that can be target-specific and/or sensing node-specific as taught by Bayesteh et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be (“to adjust the configuration of a sensing signal based on a desired sensing quality, and to reduce interference between sensing signals from different sensing nodes. Target-specific and sensing node-specific configurations can be applied to both in-band sensing and out-of-band sensing” [0183]).
10. Regarding claim 8, the method of claim 1, wherein sending the NLFM configuration from the configuring node to the sensing node comprises sending the NLFM configuration from the configuring node to a Transmission Reception Point (TRP) for sending to the sensing node, Tohidi et al. teaches, (“In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: … non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 17-18]). Sensing signals comprises of NLFM signals.
Following up with, “the network entity is configured to sweep the first and/or second beams so as to perform the sensing in two or more directions” [Pg. 19 Lines 6-7] … “In accordance with embodiments, the network entity, e.g., a user device, LIE, is served by a third network entity, like a base station, BS, of the wireless communication network, and the network entity is configured to send a sensing request to the third network entity, receive from the third network entity a message including the information about the location of the reflector, form the second beam directed toward the reflector using the information included in the message received from the third network entity” [Pg. 19 Lines 10-18]). The network entity is a UE and the base station is the configuring node. The UE sends a sensing request to the base station and receives a message including information about the location of the reflector from the base station teaching sending NLFM configuration from the configuring node to the sensing node.
Following up with, (“In accordance with embodiments of the present invention, a base station comprises one or more of the following: … or any transmission/reception point, TRP, enabling an item or a device to communicate using the wireless communication network, the item or device being provided with network connectivity to communicate using the wireless
communication network” [Pg. 38 Lines 28-29, 34-35 and Pg. 39 Lines 1-2]). A base station comprises a TRP teaching a transmission reception point (TRP) for sending to the sensing node.
11. Regarding claim 9, Tohidi et al. teaches sending the sending the configuration from the configuring node and NLFM signals, (“network entity is configured to request a further network entity of the wireless communication network to cause the configuration of the active reflector, e.g., a base station or a control unit of the active reflector, or request the active reflector to cause the configuration of the active reflector, e.g., by sending a configuration message directly to the active reflector” [Pg. 19 Paragraph 1-2]). The base station is the configuring node that sends configuration message.
Following up with, (“In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]) Sensing signals comprise of NLFM signals. Teaching RF sensing.
Although Tohidi et al. teaches sending the sending the configuration from the configuring node and NLFM signals, Tohidi et al. does not explicitly teach sending the configuration from the configuring node to the sensing node comprises including the configuration in a set of configurations for a plurality of sensing nodes of a cell served by the TRP.
In the same field of endeavor of including sending the configuration from the configuring node to the sensing node comprises including the configuration in a set of configurations for a plurality of sensing nodes of a cell served by the TRP, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“sensing node… determining a sensing signal configuration include receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity” [0179]). The sensing node is receiving signal configuration information from another network entity (e.g. configuring node), teaching sending the configuration from configuring node to the sensing node.
Following up with, (“a sensing signal configuration can include any set of parameters” [0185]). The configuration can include any set of parameters teaching the configuration in a set of a configuration.
Following up with, (“The communication system 400 includes multiple transmission and receive points (TRPs) 402, 404, 406, and multiple UEs 410, 412, 414, 416, 418, 420” [0138] … “The TRP 402 is a base station that transmits a downlink (DL) signal 430 to the UE 416. The DL signal 430 is an example of a communication signal carrying data. The TRP 402 also transmits a sensing signal 464 in the direction of the UEs 418, 420” [0139] … “At least some of the sensing nodes such as UEs 410, 412, 418 and 420 may be configured to operate in the HDX monostatic mode” [0143]). The UEs are a plurality of sensing nodes. The TRP is a base station that serves the UEs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. to include the sensing signal configuration and a plurality of UEs that are served by the TRP base stations as taught by Bayesteh et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be (“to adjust the configuration of a sensing signal based on a desired sensing quality, and to reduce interference between sensing signals from different sensing nodes. Target-specific and sensing node-specific configurations can be applied to both in-band sensing and out-of-band sensing” [0183]).
12. Regarding claim 10, Tohidi et al. teaches a method of providing a multi-port non-linear frequency-modulated (NLFM) configuration for radio frequency (RF) sensing, the method comprising, (“In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]) Sensing signals comprise of NLFM signals. Teaching RF sensing.
Although Tohidi et al. teaches a method of providing a multi-port non-linear frequency-modulated (NLFM) configuration for radio frequency (RF) sensing, the method comprising, Tohidi et al. does not explicitly teach sending capability information from a sensing node to a configuring node of a wireless network, wherein the capability information is indicative of an ability of the sensing node to generate signals for performing an RF sensing function; receiving, at the sensing node, an configuration from the configuring node based at least in part on the capability information, wherein the configuration includes information for generating a set of signals comprising two or more signals, wherein each of the two or more signals corresponds to a respective antenna port of the sensing node, and wherein the configuration includes: a type of signal to use for the set of signals, and one or more parameters for generating the set of signals; and performing the RF sensing function at the sensing node, the RF sensing function comprising generating the set of signals.
In the same field of endeavor of including sending capability information from a sensing node to a configuring node of a wireless network, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“The EDs 110, BS 170 and sensing agent 122 are examples of network entities that can be configured to implement some or all of the functionalities or embodiments described herein” [0079]). EDs, BS, and sensing agents are network entities. Following up with, (“The BS 170, EDs 110, and sensing agent 122 can perform or aid in sensing by transmitting and receiving sensing signals (not shown in FIG. 1 but see FIG. 4A” [0085]). The BS, ED, sensing agent are configuring nodes that can aid in sensing. Following up with, (“a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity” [0179]). A sensing node can be a EDs, BS, or sensing agent and the network entities is a configuring node (EDs, BS, or sensing agent). Transmitting and receiving sensing signals to perform sensing teaches sending capability information from sensing node to configuring node.
In further, wherein the capability information is indicative of an ability of a sensing node to generate signals for performing an RF sensing function, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“a sensing node… non-limiting examples of determining a sensing signal configuration include receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0179]). Teaches the generation of a sensing signal based on a sensing signal configuration.
In further, receiving, at the sensing node, a configuration from the configuring node based at least in part on the capability information, wherein the configuration includes information for generating a set of signals comprising two or more signals, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties.” [0179]).
Following up with, (“Sensing signals can be in-band or out-of-band. For in-band sensing, sensing signals and communication signals are transmitted using the same set of physical resources… For out-of-band sensing, sensing signals are transmitted using a set of physical resources that is different from the set of physical resources used for communication signals” [0180]). Sensing signals can be in-band or out-of-band, teaching a set of signals comprising two or more signals.
In further, wherein each of the two or more signals corresponds to a respective antenna port of the sensing node, and wherein the configuration includes: a type of signal to use for the set of signals, and one or more parameters for generating the set of signals, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“Sensing signal configurations can be target-specific or sensing node-specific” [0181] … Target-specific parameters may be obtained by a sensing node through measurement, training, or based on some desired performance indicator” [0182]). Sensing signal configuration (e.g. configuration) can be target-specific or sensing node-specific teaching two or more signals corresponds to a respective antenna port of the sensing node where the configuration includes a type of signal to use for the set of signals.
Following up with, (“Non-limiting examples of determining a sensing signal configuration include receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0179]). One or more predetermined properties teach one or more parameters for generating the set of signals.
In further, and performing the RF sensing function at the sensing node, the RF sensing function comprising generating the set of NLFM signals, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“a sensing node… Non-limiting examples of determining a sensing signal configuration include receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0179]). The sensing node generates sensing signal based on sensing signal configuration.
Following up with, (“sensing signal is configured for a particular sensing node. In some implementations, sensing node-specific sensing signals can improve the sensing performance of the specific sensing nodes” [0183]). Sensing node-specific sensing signals teach RF sensing function at the sensing node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. to include the sending node (e.g. sensing node) to send capability information to the receiving node (e.g. configuring node); sensing signal configuration, target-specific parameter; in-band or out-of-band sensing signals, as taught by Bayesteh et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow the sensing node and configuring node to communicate capability information (“to balance or optimize sensing performance and efficient utilization of communication resources” [Bayesteh et al. 0005]) and (“to adjust the configuration of a sensing signal based on a desired sensing quality, and to reduce interference between sensing signals from different sensing nodes. Target-specific and sensing node-specific configurations can be applied to both in-band sensing and out-of-band sensing” [0183]).
13. Regarding claim 12, the method of claim 10, wherein the sensing node comprises an Rx sensing node, a Tx sensing node, or both, Tohidi et al. teaches, (“Integrated sensing and communication may be implemented in a mono-static fashion, in which a transmitter and receiver of the sensing signals are co-located, or bi-static fashion, in which a transmitter and receiver of the sensing signals are separated by a certain distance. For implementing integrated sensing and communication in a mono-static fashion, the network entity, like a user device or user equipment, LIE, is both the transmitter and the receiver of the sensing signal. In other words, the transmission of the sensing signal and reception of the reflected signal are performed by the same node”) [Pg. 7 Lines 16-22]. The integrated sensing and communication from the network entity (e.g. UE) is both the transmitter and receiver of the sensing signal. Teaching that the sensing node comprises Rx / Tx sensing node.
14. Regarding claim 13, the method of claim 12, wherein the sensing node comprises the Rx sensing node and performing the RF sensing function comprises receiving the set of NLFM signals with a plurality of antennas of the sensing node, Tohidi et al. teaches, (“For implementing integrated sensing and communication in a mono-static fashion, the network entity, like a user device or user equipment, LIE, is both the transmitter and the receiver of the sensing signal. In other words, the transmission of the sensing signal and reception of the reflected signal are performed by the same node”) [Pg. 7 Lines 16-22] … “the UE 300 uses the radio signal 318 for sensing its surrounding or environment” [Pg. 25 Lines 12-13] … “the one or more sensing specific signals may include on or more of the following: … non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 25 Lines 17-18 and 26]). The UE has integrated sensing in a mono-static fashion and receives a sensing signal teaching sensing node comprises Rx sensing node and performing RF sensing. Sensing signals include NLFM teaching receiving the set of NLFM signals.
Following up with, (“Fig. 4 illustrates a network entity 400 in the form of a user device, UE, including a plurality of antennas or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements 402” [Pg. 26 Lines 16-17]). The UE is a sensing node that includes a plurality of antennas teaching a plurality of antennas of the sensing node.
15. Regarding claim 14, The method of claim 12, wherein the sensing node comprises the Tx sensing node and performing the RF sensing function comprises transmitting the set of NLFM signals with a plurality of antennas of the sensing node, Tohidi et al. teaches, (“For implementing integrated sensing and communication in a mono-static fashion, the network entity, like a user device or user equipment, LIE, is both the transmitter and the receiver of the sensing signal. In other words, the transmission of the sensing signal and reception of the reflected signal are performed by the same node”) [Pg. 7 Lines 16-22] … “the UE 300 uses the radio signal 318 for sensing its surrounding or environment” [Pg. 25 Lines 12-13] … “the one or more sensing specific signals may include on or more of the following: … non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 25 Lines 17-18 and 26]). The UE has integrated sensing in a mono-static fashion and can transmit sensing signals that may include NLFM signals teaching sensing node comprises Tx and performing RF sensing function comprises transmitting NLFM signals.
Following up with, (“Fig. 4 illustrates a network entity 400 in the form of a user device, UE, including a plurality of antennas or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements 402” [Pg. 26 Lines 16-17]). The UE is a sensing node that includes a plurality of antennas teaching a plurality of antennas of the sensing node. The UE is a sensing node and includes a plurality of antennas teaching a plurality of antennas of the sensing node.
16. Regarding claim 15, the method of claim 10, wherein the sensing node comprises a user equipment (UE) of the wireless network, Tohidi et al. teaches, (“Fig. 2 is a schematic representation of a wireless communication system including a transmitter, like a base station, and one or more receivers, like user devices, UEs, implementing embodiments of the present invention;” [Pg. 5 Lines 31-33] … “For implementing integrated sensing and communication in a mono-static fashion, the network entity, like a user device or user equipment, LIE, is both the transmitter and the receiver of the sensing signal” [Pg. 7 Lines 19-21]). The wireless communication system includes a UE (e.g. sensing node).
17. Regarding claim 16, the method of claim 10, wherein receiving the NLFM configuration from the configuring node comprises receiving the NLFM configuration via a Transmission Reception Point (TRP), Tohidi et al. teaches, (“In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: … non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 17-18]). Sensing signals comprises of NLFM signals.
Following up with, “the network entity is configured to sweep the first and/or second beams so as to perform the sensing in two or more directions” [Pg. 19 Lines 6-7] … “In accordance with embodiments, the network entity, e.g., a user device, LIE, is served by a third network entity, like a base station, BS, of the wireless communication network, and the network entity is configured to send a sensing request to the third network entity, receive from the third network entity a message including the information about the location of the reflector, form the second beam directed toward the reflector using the information included in the message received from the third network entity” [Pg. 19 Lines 10-18]). The network entity is a UE and the base station is the configuring node. The UE receives a message including information about the location of the reflector from the base station teaching receiving NLFM configuration from the configuring node.
Following up with, (“In accordance with embodiments of the present invention, a base station comprises one or more of the following: … or any transmission/reception point, TRP, enabling an item or a device to communicate using the wireless communication network, the item or device being provided with network connectivity to communicate using the wireless
communication network” [Pg. 38 Lines 28-29, 34-35 and Pg. 39 Lines 1-2]). A base station comprises a TRP teaching comprises receiving NLFM configuration via a transmission reception point (TRP).
18. Regarding claim 17, Tohidi et al. teaches, A configuring node of a wireless network, the configuring node comprising: one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more transceivers; and NLFM signals, (“Fig. 2 is a schematic representation of a wireless communication system 210 including a transmitter 200, like a base station… The transmitter 200 may include one or more antennas ANT T or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, a signal processor 200a and a transceiver 200b, coupled with each other.” [Pg. 13 Lines 31-36 and Pg. 14 Lines 1]). The transmitter is a base station. The base station is a configuring node that includes transceivers, signal processor that are coupled with each other. Teaching one or more transceiver; and one or more possessors communicatively coupled with the one or more transceivers.
Following up with, (“In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]) Sensing signals comprise of NLFM signals. Teaching RF sensing.
Although Tohidi et al. teaches a configuring node of a wireless network, the configuring node comprising: one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more transceivers; and NLFM signals, Tohidi et al. does not explicitly teach the one or more processors configured to: receive capability information via the one or more transceivers, wherein the capability information is indicative of an ability of a sensing node to generate signals for performing a radio frequency (RF) sensing function; determine, based at least in part on the capability information, an configuration for generating a set of signals comprising two or more signals, wherein each of the two or more signals corresponds to a respective antenna port of the sensing node, and wherein the configuration includes: a type of signal to use for the set of signals, and one or more parameters for generating the set of signals; and send the configuration via the one or more transceivers to the sensing node to enable the sensing node to generate the set of signals to perform the RF sensing function.
In the same field of endeavor of including configured to receive capability information, wherein the capability information is indicative of an ability of a sensing node to generate signals for performing a radio frequency (RF) sensing function determine, based at least in part on the capability information, an configuration for generating a set of signals comprising two or more signals, wherein each of the two or more signals corresponds to a respective antenna port of the sensing node, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“a sensing node … non-limiting examples of determining a sensing signal configuration include receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0179]). Sensing signal configuration is a capability information that is used to generate a portion of the sensing signal.
Following up with, (“Sensing signal configurations can be target-specific or sensing node-specific” [0181] … Target-specific parameters may be obtained by a sensing node through measurement, training, or based on some desired performance indicator” [0182]). Sensing signal configuration can be target-specific or sensing node-specific teaching two or more signals as well as teaching wherein the two or more signals correspond to a respective antenna port of the target-specific or sensing node-specific (e.g. sensing node).
In further, and wherein the configuration includes: a type of signal to use for the set of signals, and one or more parameters for generating the set of signals, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“a sensing node… Non-limiting examples of determining a sensing signal configuration include receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties.” [Bayesteh et al. 0179]). Generating the sensing signal based on one or more predetermined properties. Following up with, (“Sensing signals can be in-band or out-of-band” [0180] … “In some embodiments, the set of physical resources is dedicated to sensing” [0180]). Sensing signals in band or out of band teaches two or more signal and the set of signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. to include the network entity, sensing node, sensing signal configuration, one or more memories within the network entity, and target specific / node specific sensing as taught by Bayesteh et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow the sensing node and configuring node to communicate capability information (“to balance or optimize sensing performance and efficient utilization of communication resources” [Bayesteh et al. 0005]) and (“to adjust the configuration of a sensing signal based on a desired sensing quality, and to reduce interference between sensing signals from different sensing nodes. Target-specific and sensing node-specific configurations can be applied to both in-band sensing and out-of-band sensing” [0183]).
19. Regarding claim 22, Tohidi et al. teaches, the configuring node of claim 18, NLFM signals and one or more processors, (“both UEs may be served by the same base station so that the base station may provide sidelink resource allocation configuration or assistance for the UEs” [Pg. 4 Lines 17-19] … “In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Sensing signals comprise of NLFM signals and base station provides side-link configuration. Teaching RF sensing and a configuring node.
Following up with, (“Fig. 2 is a schematic representation of a wireless communication system 210 including a transmitter 200, like a base station” [Pg. 13 Lines 31-32] … “The transmitter 200 may include one or more antennas ANTT or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, a signal processor 200a and a transceiver 200b, coupled with each other” [Pg. 13 Lines 35-36 and Pg.14 Lines 1]). The transmitter is a base station and the base station includes a signal processor.
Although Tohidi et al. teaches NLFM signals and one or more processors, Tohidi et al. does not explicitly teach the method of claim 1, wherein determining the configuration is additionally based on: a level of orthogonality of the two or more signals of the set of signals, a level of complexity of generating the set of signals, a sensing environment of the sensing node, an application for which the RF sensing is performed, or any combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of including wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the configuration additionally based on: a level of orthogonality of the two or more signals of the set of signals, a level of complexity of generating the set of signals, a sensing environment of the sensing node, an application for which the RF sensing is performed, or any combination thereof, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“a sensing signal configuration include receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0121] … “Sensing signal configurations can be target-specific and/or sensing node-specific” [0123]). Generating a sensing signal based on one or more predetermined properties teaches a level of complexity of generating a signal. Sensing signals configurations for target-specific and/or sensing-node specific teaches an application for which RF sensing is performed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. to include the sensing signal configurations that can be target-specific and/or sensing node-specific as taught by Bayesteh et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be (“to adjust the configuration of a sensing signal based on a desired sensing quality, and to reduce interference between sensing signals from different sensing nodes. Target-specific and sensing node-specific configurations can be applied to both in-band sensing and out-of-band sensing” [0183]).
20. Regarding claim 24, Tohidi et al. teaches, the configuring node of claim 17, NLFM signals and one or more processors, (“both UEs may be served by the same base station so that the base station may provide sidelink resource allocation configuration or assistance for the UEs” [Pg. 4 Lines 17-19] … “In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Sensing signals comprise of NLFM signals and base station provides side-link configuration. Teaching RF sensing and a configuring node.
Following up with, (“a transmitter 200, like a base station… The transmitter 200 may include one or more antennas ANTT or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, a signal processor 200a and a transceiver 200b, coupled with each other” [Pg. 13 Lines 32, 35-36 and Pg. 14 Lines 1]). The transmitter is a base station (e.g. configuring node) that includes a signal processor.
Although Tohidi et al. teaches the configuring node of claim 18, NLFM signals and one or more processors, Tohidi et al. does not explicitly teach to send the configuration to the sensing node and processors are configured to send the configuration from the configuring node to a Transmission Reception Point (TRP) for sending to the sensing node.
In the same field of endeavor of including sending the configuration to the sensing node, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“The EDs 110, BS 170 and sensing agent 122 are examples of network entities that can be configured to implement some or all of the functionalities or embodiments described herein” [0079] … “a sensing node … determining a sensing signal configuration include receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity”). The sensing node receives sensing signal configuration teaching to send configuration to the sensing node.
In further, send the configuration from the configuring node to a Transmission Reception Point (TRP) for sending to the sensing node, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“Sensing agents are nodes in a network that can assist in the sensing operation. These nodes can be stand-alone nodes dedicated to just sensing operations, or other nodes, for example transmit points (TPs) including transmit and receive points (TRPs) or UEs, which can perform both sensing operations and communication transmissions” [0055]). Sensing agents are both the sensing nodes and the TRPs or UEs.
Following up with, (“a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity” [0179]). The network entity is the configuring node. Sensing node receives configuration information from the network entity, teaching send the configuration from the configuring node to a TRP for sending to the sensing node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. to include the network entities, sensing agents (e.g. sensing nodes), and sensing signal configuration, as taught by Bayesteh et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow the sensing node to receive NLFM configuration to (“generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0179]).
21. Regarding claim 25, Tohidi et al. teaches, the configuring node of claim 17, NLFM signals and one or more processors, (“both UEs may be served by the same base station so that the base station may provide sidelink resource allocation configuration or assistance for the UEs” [Pg. 4 Lines 17-19] … “In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Sensing signals comprise of NLFM signals and base station provides side-link configuration. Teaching RF signals and a configuring node.
Following up with, (“a transmitter 200, like a base station… The transmitter 200 may include one or more antennas ANTT or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, a signal processor 200a and a transceiver 200b, coupled with each other” [Pg. 13 Lines 32, 35-36 and Pg. 14 Lines 1]). The transmitter is a base station (e.g. configuring node) that includes a signal processor.
Although Tohidi et al. teaches the configuring node of claim 18, NLFM signals and one or more processors, Tohidi et al. does not explicitly teach to send the configuration to the sensing node and configured to include the configuration in a set of configurations for a plurality of sensing nodes of a cell served by the TRP.
In the same field of endeavor of including sending the configuration to the sensing node, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“The EDs 110, BS 170 and sensing agent 122 are examples of network entities that can be configured to implement some or all of the functionalities or embodiments described herein” [0079] … “a sensing node … determining a sensing signal configuration include receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity”). The sensing node receives sensing signal configuration teaching to send configuration to the sensing node.
In further, to include the configuration in a set of configurations for a plurality of sensing nodes of a cell served by the TRP Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“The communication system 400 includes multiple transmission and receive points (TRPs) 402, 404, 406” [0138] … “The TRP 402 is a base station that transmits a downlink (DL) signal 430 to the UE 416. The DL signal 430 is an example of a communication signal carrying data. The TRP 402 also transmits a sensing signal 464 in the direction of the UEs 418, 420. Therefore, the TRP 402 is involved in sensing and is considered to be both a sensing node (SeN) and a communication node.” [0139]). The TRP is a base station that transmit a DL signal to the UE teaching a plurality of sensing nodes of a cell served by the TRP.
Following up with, (“a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity” [0179]). The network entity is the configuring node. The sensing node receives configuration from the network entity, teaching to send configuration to the sensing node.
Following up with, (“For out-of-band sensing, sensing signals are transmitted using a set of physical resources that is different from the set of physical resources used for communication signals. In some embodiments, the set of physical resources is dedicated to sensing” [0180]). Sensing signals are transmitted using a set of physical resources teaching the configuration in a set of configurations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. to include the sensing signal configuration, a set of physical resources dedicated to sensing, and a plurality of TRPs as taught by Bayesteh et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow the configuring node to send a set of NLFM configuration for the plurality of the sensing nodes served by the TRP to (“generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0179]).
22. Regarding claim 26, Tohidi et al. teaches a sensing node comprising: one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more transceivers and NLFM signals, (“For implementing integrated sensing and communication in a mono-static fashion, the network entity, like a user device or user equipment, LIE, is both the transmitter and the receiver of the sensing signal. In other words, the transmission of the sensing signal and reception of the reflected signal are performed by the same node” [Pg. 7 Lines 19-22] … “Fig. 2 is a schematic representation of a wireless communication system 210 including a transmitter 200, like a base station, and one or more receivers 202, 204, like user devices, UEs… The transmitter 200 may include one or more antennas ANTT or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, a signal processor 200a and a transceiver 200b, coupled with each other” [Pg. 13 Lines 31-33 and Pg. 13 Lines 35-36 and Pg.14 Line 1]). The sensing node is the network entity like a UE that comprises a signal processor and transceiver coupled to each other teaching one or more processor communicatively couple with one or more transceivers.
Following up with, (“In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Teaching NLFM signals.
Although Tohidi et al. teaches a sensing node comprising: one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more transceivers and NLFM signals, Tohidi et al. does not explicitly teach one or more memories; one or more processors communicatively coupled and the one or more memories the one or more processors configured to: send capability information via the one or more transceivers to a configuring node of a wireless network, wherein the capability information is indicative of an ability of the sensing node to generate signals for performing a radio frequency (RF) sensing function; receive an configuration via the one or more transceivers from the configuring node based at least in part on the capability information, wherein the configuration includes information for generating a set of signals comprising two or more signals, wherein each of the two or more signals corresponds to a respective antenna port of the sensing node, and wherein the configuration includes: a type of signal to use for the set of signals, and one or more parameters for generating the set of signals; and perform the RF sensing function, the RF sensing function comprising generating the set of signals.
In the same field of endeavor of including one or more memories, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“FIG. 2C, the sensing agent 122 includes at least one processing unit 220, at least one transmitter 222, at least one receiver 224, one or more antennas 226, at least one memory 228, and one or more input/output devices or interfaces 230” [0097]). The sensing agent is the sensing node that includes at least one memory.
In further, send capability information via the one or more transceivers to a configuring node of a wireless network, wherein the capability information is indicative of an ability of the sensing node to generate signals for performing a radio frequency (RF) sensing function, (“The BS 170, EDs 110, and sensing agent 122 can perform or aid in sensing by transmitting and receiving sensing signals (not shown in FIG. 1 but see FIG. 4A” [0085]). The BS, ED, sensing agent are configuring nodes. Sensing signals are capability information to perform sensing by transmitting and receiving the signals.
Following up with, (“one or more of ED 110 and BS 170 may each include a sensing node such as a radar configured for performing sensing, or integrated communication and sensing. For example, the transceiver 202 of ED 110 may be, or include a monostatic sensing node configured to operate in the HDX mode for transmitting and receiving pulsed radio frequency (RF) signals” [0097]). ED and BS are configuring nodes that have transceivers configured for transmitting and receiving RF signals and a sensing node.
Following up with, (“a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties.” [0179]). Receiving sensing signal configuration teaches send capability information via the one or more transceivers to a configuring node of a wireless network. Generating the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties teaches capability information is indicative of an ability of the sensing node to generate signals for performing a radio frequency (RF) sensing function.
In further, receive an configuration via the one or more transceivers from the configuring node based at least in part on the capability information, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“The EDs 110, BS 170 and sensing agent 122 are examples of network entities that can be configured to implement some or all of the functionalities or embodiments described herein” [0079] … “A cell may be further divided into cell sectors, and a base station 170 may, for example, employ multiple transceivers to provide service to multiple sectors. In some embodiments, the cells may include pico or femto cells. In some embodiments, multiple non-co-located transceivers may be used for each cell, according to, for example, a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) technology” [0079]). The base station is a configuring node that provides service to multiple sectors where transceivers may be used for each cell teaching one or more transceivers from the configuring node.
Following up with, (a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity” [0179]). Teaches a sensing node receiving sensing signal configuration (e.g. capability information).
In further, herein the configuration includes information for generating a set of signals comprising two or more signals, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“a sensing node determines a sensing signal configuration or sensing signal configuration information” [0179]). Teaches sensing signal configuration information.
Following up with, (“Sensing signals can be in-band or out-of-band… For out-of-band sensing, sensing signals are transmitted using a set of physical resources that is different from the set of physical resources used for communication signals. In some embodiments, the set of physical resources is dedicated to sensing” [0180]). In-band or out-of-band sensing signals teach a set of signals and two or more signals and the set of physical resources dedicated to sensing teaches a set of signals.
In further, wherein each of the two or more signals corresponds to a respective antenna port of the sensing node, and wherein the configuration includes: a type of signal to use for the set of signals, and one or more parameters for generating the set of signals; and perform the RF sensing function, the RF sensing function comprising generating the set of NLFM signals., Bayestah et al. teaches, (“FIG. 2C, the sensing agent 122 includes at least one processing unit 220, at least one transmitter 222, at least one receiver 224, one or more antennas 226” [0097]). The sensing agent is the sensing node that has one or more antennas.
Following up with, (a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity, and generating at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration based on one or more predetermined properties” [0179]). Sensing node receives sensing signal configuration teaching signals corresponds to a respective antenna port of the sensing node. The one or more predetermined properties teach one or more parameters for generating the signals. Generating a sensing signal based on predetermined properties teaches generating set of signals.
Following up with, (“Sensing signals can be in-band or out-of-band” [0180] … “In some embodiments, the set of physical resources is dedicated to sensing” [0180]). Sensing signals in band or out of band teaches two or more signals teaches two or more signals corresponds to a respective antenna port of the sensing node. The set of physical resources dedicated to sensing for sensing signals in band or out of band teaches a type of signal to use for the set of signals. Teaches RF sensing function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. to include the one or more memories, sensing signal configuration, set of physical resources dedicated to sensing, and one or more antennas as taught by Bayesteh et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow the user to transmit NLFM capability information to indicate the sensing node to generate a signal to perform sensing.
23. Regarding claim 27, the sensing node of claim 26, wherein the sensing node comprises an Rx sensing node, a Tx sensing node, or both, Tohidi et al. teaches, (“For implementing integrated sensing and communication in a mono-static fashion, the network entity, like a user device or user equipment, LIE, is both the transmitter and the receiver of the sensing signal. In other words, the transmission of the sensing signal and reception of the reflected signal are performed by the same node” [Pg. 7 Lines 19-22]. The UE is the sensing node that comprises the Rx sensing node and Tx sensing node.
24. Regarding claim 28, Tohidi et al. teaches, the sensing node of claim 27, further comprising a plurality of antennas wherein the sensing node comprises the Rx sensing node and, to perform the RF sensing function, the one or more processors and NLFM signals, (“For implementing integrated sensing and communication in a mono-static fashion, the network entity, like a user device or user equipment, LIE, is both the transmitter and the receiver of the sensing signal. In other words, the transmission of the sensing signal and reception of the reflected signal are performed by the same node” [Pg. 7 Lines 19-22]). The UE is the sensing node that has a transmitter and receiver of the sensing signal, teaching the sensing node comprises Rx sensing node.
Following up with, (“Fig. 2 is a schematic representation of a wireless communication system 210 including a transmitter 200, like a base station, and one or more receivers 202, 204, like user devices, UEs” [Pg. 13 Lines 31-33] … “The transmitter 200 may include one or more antennas ANTT or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, a signal processor 200a and a transceiver 200b, coupled with each other” [Pg. 13 and 14 Lines 33-36 and Lines 1]). The UE is a sensing node that includes one or more antennas and a signal processor teaching sensing node comprises Rx sensing node to perform RF sensing function and one or more processors.
Following up with, (“In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Teaching NLFM signals.
Although Tohidi et al. teaches the sensing node of claim 27, further comprising a plurality of antennas wherein the sensing node comprises the Rx sensing node and, to perform the RF sensing function, the one or more processors, NLFM signals, and a plurality of antennas, Tohidi et al. does not explicitly teach are configured to receive the set of signals with the plurality of antennas.
In the same field of endeavor of including receive the set of signals, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity” [0179]). A sensing node receives sensing signal configuration teaching transmitting signals. Following up with, (“Sensing signals can be in-band or out-of-band… In some embodiments, the set of physical resources is dedicated to sensing” [0180]). Sensing in band or out of band signals and some set of physical resources dedicated to sensing teaches transmitting the of signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. to include a sensing node to receive sensing signal configuration and the capability of in band or out of band sensing as taught by Bayesteh et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be (“to adjust the configuration of a sensing signal based on a desired sensing quality, and to reduce interference between sensing signals from different sensing nodes. Target-specific and sensing node-specific configurations can be applied to both in-band sensing and out-of-band sensing” [0183]).
25. Regarding claim 29, Tohidi et al. teaches, the sensing node of claim 27, further comprising a plurality of antennas wherein the sensing node comprises the Rx sensing node and, to perform the RF sensing function, the one or more processors and NLFM signals, (“For implementing integrated sensing and communication in a mono-static fashion, the network entity, like a user device or user equipment, LIE, is both the transmitter and the receiver of the sensing signal. In other words, the transmission of the sensing signal and reception of the reflected signal are performed by the same node” [Pg. 7 Lines 19-22]). The UE is the sensing node that has a transmitter and receiver of the sensing signal, teaching the sensing node comprises Tx sensing node.
Following up with, (“Fig. 2 is a schematic representation of a wireless communication system 210 including a transmitter 200, like a base station, and one or more receivers 202, 204, like user devices, UEs” [Pg. 13 Lines 31-33] … “The transmitter 200 may include one or more antennas ANTT or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, a signal processor 200a and a transceiver 200b, coupled with each other” [Pg. 13 and 14 Lines 33-36 and Lines 1]). The UE is a sensing node that includes one or more antennas and a signal processor teaching sensing node comprises Tx sensing node to perform RF sensing function and one or more processors.
Following up with, (“In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Teaching NLFM signals.
Although Tohidi et al. teaches the sensing node of claim 27, further comprising a plurality of antennas wherein the sensing node comprises the Rx sensing node and, to perform the RF sensing function, the one or more processors, NLFM signals, and a plurality of antennas, Tohidi et al. does not explicitly teach are configured to receive the set of signals with the plurality of antennas.
In the same field of endeavor of including receive the set of signals, Bayesteh et al. teaches, (“a sensing node… receiving at least a portion of the sensing signal configuration from another network entity” [0179]). A sensing node receives sensing signal configuration teaching transmitting signals.
Following up with, (“Sensing signals can be in-band or out-of-band… In some embodiments, the set of physical resources is dedicated to sensing” [0180]). Sensing in band or out of band signals and some set of physical resources dedicated to sensing teaches transmitting the of signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. to include a sensing node to transmit and receive sensing signal configuration and the capability of in band or out of band sensing as taught by Bayesteh et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be (“to adjust the configuration of a sensing signal based on a desired sensing quality, and to reduce interference between sensing signals from different sensing nodes. Target-specific and sensing node-specific configurations can be applied to both in-band sensing and out-of-band sensing” [0183]).
26. Regarding claim 30, the sensing node of claim 26, wherein the sensing node comprises a user equipment (UE) of the wireless network, Tohidi et al. teaches, (“For example, wireless signal sensing and communication may be integrated in a single system, also referred to as Integrated Sensing And Communication, ISAC, or Integrated Communication And Sensing, ICAS” [Pg. 4 Lines 36 and Pg. 5 Lines 1-2]). Wireless sensing and communication in a single system teaches a wireless network.
Following up with, (“For implementing integrated sensing and communication in a mono-static fashion, the network entity, like a user device or user equipment, LIE, is both the transmitter and the receiver of the sensing signal. In other words, the transmission of the sensing signal and reception of the reflected signal are performed by the same node” [Pg. 7 Lines 19-22]). The UE has integrated sensing and communication teaching the sensing node comprises a UE.
27. Claim(s) 2-3, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tohidi et al. (WO 2025113812 A1) in view of Bayesteh et al. (US 20210286045 A1) in further view of Lin et al. (CN 114791594 A / Translation has been relied on and is provided in this correspondence)
28. Regarding claim 2, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches NLFM signals, “In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Tohidi Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Sensing specific signals comprises NLFM signals.
Although Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches NLFM signals, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. does not explicitly teach a polynomial-based NLFM signal, a piecewise linear NLFM signal, a tansec-based NLFM signal, or any combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of including teach a polynomial-based NLFM signal, a piecewise linear NLFM signal, a tansec-based NLFM signal, or any combination thereof, Lin et al. teaches, (“wherein K represents the standard electronic parameter, the value is 40.28m3/s2 fτ (τ) is the instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signal, which is non-linear change over time. in the expanded solidified ionized layer model, f (τ) = b0 + b1 τ + b2 τ 2 + -bNτ N, wherein b0, b1,-, bN is the polynomial coefficient, N represents the approximate order of polynomial curve fitting” [Pg. 6 Paragraph 12]). The instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signals includes the polynomial coefficient, teaching that the NLFM signals comprises a polynomial based NLFM signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include the instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signals that includes the polynomial coefficient as taught by Lin et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would (“provide a NLFM signal of the ionization layer dispersion effect correction method” [Pg. 3 Paragraph 3]), reducing signal degradation.
29. Regarding claim 3, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches NLFM signals, “In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Tohidi Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Sensing specific signals comprises NLFM signals.
Although Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches NLFM signals, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. does not explicitly teach NLFM signal comprises the polynomial-based NLFM signal and wherein the one or more parameters comprise: a degree of polynomials to use, a coefficient of the polynomials, or any combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of including NLFM signal comprises the polynomial-based NLFM signal and wherein the one or more parameters comprise: a degree of polynomials to use, a coefficient of the polynomials, or any combination thereof, Lin et al. teaches, (“wherein K represents the standard electronic parameter, the value is 40.28m3/s2 fτ (τ) is the instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signal, which is non-linear change over time. in the expanded solidified ionized layer model, f (τ) = b0 + b1 τ + b2 τ 2 + -bNτ N, wherein b0, b1,-, bN is the polynomial coefficient, N represents the approximate order of polynomial curve fitting” [Pg. 6 Paragraph 12]). The instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signals includes the polynomial coefficient, teaching that the NLFM signals comprises a polynomial based NLFM signal wherein the parameters comprise a coefficient of the polynomials.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include the instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signals that includes the polynomial coefficient as taught by Lin et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would (“provide a NLFM signal of the ionization layer dispersion effect correction method” [Pg. 3 Paragraph 3]), reducing signal degradation.
30. Regarding claim 11, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches NLFM signals, “In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Sensing specific signals comprises NLFM signals.
Although Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches NLFM signals, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. does not explicitly teach NLFM signal comprises: a polynomial-based NLFM signal, a piecewise linear NLFM signal, a tansec-based NLFM signal, or any combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of including teach a polynomial-based NLFM signal, a piecewise linear NLFM signal, a tansec-based NLFM signal, or any combination thereof, Lin et al. teaches, (“wherein K represents the standard electronic parameter, the value is 40.28m3/s2 fτ (τ) is the instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signal, which is non-linear change over time. in the expanded solidified ionized layer model, f (τ) = b0 + b1 τ + b2 τ 2 + -bNτ N, wherein b0, b1,-, bN is the polynomial coefficient, N represents the approximate order of polynomial curve fitting” [Pg. 6 Paragraph 12]). The instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signals includes the polynomial coefficient, teaching that the NLFM signals comprises a polynomial based NLFM signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include the instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signals that includes the polynomial coefficient as taught by Lin et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow the NLFM signal to comprise a polynomial based NLFM signal to reduce side-lobes, thus reducing signal interference.
31. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tohidi et al. (WO 2025113812 A1) in view of Bayesteh et al. (US 20210286045 A1) in further view of Tao et al. (CN 111665474 A / Translation has been replied upon and is included in this correspondence).
32. Regarding claim 4, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches NLFM signals, “In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Sensing specific signals comprises NLFM signals.
Although Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches NLFM signals, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. does not explicitly teach NLFM signal comprises the piecewise linear NLFM signal and wherein the one or more parameters comprise: a slope of each of a plurality of linear portions of the piecewise linear NLFM signal, a duration of each of a plurality of linear portions of the piecewise linear NLFM signal, or any combination thereof
In the same field of endeavor of including NLFM signal comprises the piecewise linear NLFM signal and wherein the one or more parameters comprise: a slope of each of a plurality of linear portions of the piecewise linear NLFM signal, a duration of each of a plurality of linear portions of the piecewise linear NLFM signal, or any combination thereof, Tao et al. teaches, (“third, using a piecewise linear frequency modulation (PLFM) signal; the waveform uses three LFM signals with different polarities; the polarity of the first section and the third section is opposite to that of the second section; the duration of the second section of each sub-pulse and the sub-time width of the first section and the third section are different, the sub-time width of the first section and the third section is the same, and by optimizing the second section duration sequence to reduce cross-correlation to reach the purpose of optimizing waveform” [Tao et al. Pg. 2 Paragraph 8]). The A PLFM teaches a piecewise linear NLFM signal. The sub-time width of the first and third section is the same teaching a duration of a plurality of linear portions of the piecewise linear NLFM signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include the PLFM signal and the sub-time width of the first and third section as taught by Tao et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be (“to reduce cross-correlation to reach the purpose of optimizing waveform” [Pg. 2 Paragraph 8]).
33. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tohidi et al. (WO 2025113812 A1) in view of Bayesteh et al. (US 20210286045 A1) in further view of Longman et al. (US 20210013606 A).
34. Regarding claim 5, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches NLFM signals, “In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Sensing specific signals comprises NLFM signals.
Although Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches NLFM signals, Tohidi in view of Bayesteh et al. et al. does not explicitly teach NLFM signal comprises the tansec-based NLFM signal and wherein the one or more parameters comprise: a bandwidth of the tansec-based NLFM signal, a time duration of the tansec-based NLFM signal, the αm of the tansec-based NLFM signal, or any combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of including NLFM signal comprises the tansec-based NLFM signal and wherein the one or more parameters comprise: a bandwidth of the tansec-based NLFM signal, a time duration of the tansec-based NLFM signal, the αm of the tansec-based NLFM signal, or any combination thereof, Longman et al. teaches, (“on-vehicle radar system 20 generates a plurality of NLFM radar signals corresponding to individual ones of the plurality of transmitters 33 which is transmitted via the plurality of transmit antennas 37 of the phased array antenna 25” [0031] … “transmit antennas 37 transmits a tansec waveform having an individually-determined α parameter” [0032] … “A tansec waveform may be defined as u(t), which can be determined as follows in EQ. 2: u(t)=e.sup.j2πwsec(k.sup.1.sup.t)/(k.sup.1.sup.k.sup.2.sup.)=e.sup.jKsec(k.sup.1.sup.t)
f(t)=w tan(k.sub.1t)sec(k.sub.1t)/k.sub.2,
φ(t)=2πw sec(k.sub.1t)/(k.sub.1k.sub.2),
w=αB/π,
k.sub.1=2 arctan(B/2w)/T,
k.sub.2=sec(k.sub.1T/2)” [0033]) … “The term B represents signal bandwidth, the term T represents chirp duration, the term t represents time, and the term α represents the α parameter” [Longman et al. 0034] … “The different tansec waveforms have the same bandwidth and chirp duration in one embodiment” [0035]). The plurality of NLFM signals is transmitted via the plurality of transmit antennas where the transmit antenna transmits tansec waveform, teaching NLFM signal comprises the tansec-based NLFM signal. The term t represents the time teaching a time duration of the tansec-based NLFM signal and the term α teaches the αm of the tansec-based NLFM signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include the tansec waveform and the term t to represent the time duration of the tansec-based NLFM signal as taught by Longman et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow the NLFM signal to comprise a tansec-based NLFM signal to (“adds a phase correction component to mitigate beam skew between the individual elements of the transmit antennas 37” [0032]).
35. Claim(s) 7, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tohidi et al. (WO 2025113812 A1) in view of Bayesteh et al. (US 20210286045 A1) in further view of Hu et al. (US 20250175771 A1 / A reference utilized from provisional 63/603,862 included in this correspondence)
36. Regarding claim 7, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches, the configuring node of claim 1, wireless network, (“both UEs may be served by the same base station so that the base station may provide sidelink resource allocation configuration or assistance for the UEs” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 4 Lines 17-19] … “Fig. 2 is a schematic representation of a wireless communication system including a transmitter, like a base station, and one or more receivers, like user devices, UEs, implementing embodiments of the present invention;” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 5 Lines 31-33]. The base station is the configuring node that provides side-link configuration in a wireless communication system (e.g. wireless network).
Although Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches the configuring node of claim 17 and a wireless network, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. does not explicitly teach the configuring node comprises a server.
In the same field of endeavor of including the configuring node comprises a server, Hu et al. teaches, (“Referring to FIG. 3, a sensing management function (SMF) (or sensing server) is provided with an associated sensing protocol similar to or merged with the location management function (LMF) and LTE positioning protocol (LPP)/NR positioning protocol (NRPPa) in NR positioning.” [Pg. 7 Lines 16-19]). The SMF sensing server is a configuring node that comprises a server.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include the sensing management function sensing server as taught by Hu et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would assist with sensing procedures, (“Thus, an operation in which measurements are provided by the UE to the Sensing Server to be used in the computation of a sensing estimate is described as "UE-assisted" (and could also be called "SensingServer-based"), while one in which the UE computes its own sensing estimate is described as "UE-based"” [Pg. 10 Lines 26-29]).
37. Regarding claim 23, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches, the configuring node of claim 17, wireless network, (“both UEs may be served by the same base station so that the base station may provide sidelink resource allocation configuration or assistance for the UEs” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 4 Lines 17-19] … “Fig. 2 is a schematic representation of a wireless communication system including a transmitter, like a base station, and one or more receivers, like user devices, UEs, implementing embodiments of the present invention;” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 5 Lines 31-33]. The base station is the configuring node that provides side-link configuration in a wireless communication system (e.g. wireless network).
Although Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches the configuring node of claim 17 and a wireless network, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. does not explicitly teach the configuring node comprises a server.
In the same field of endeavor of including the configuring node comprises a server, Hu et al. teaches, (“Referring to FIG. 3, a sensing management function (SMF) (or sensing server) is provided with an associated sensing protocol similar to or merged with the location management function (LMF) and LTE positioning protocol (LPP)/NR positioning protocol (NRPPa) in NR positioning.” [Pg. 7 Lines 16-19]). The SMF sensing server is a configuring node that comprises a server.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include the sensing management function sensing server as taught by Hu et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would assist with sensing procedures, (“Thus, an operation in which measurements are provided by the UE to the Sensing Server to be used in the computation of a sensing estimate is described as "UE-assisted" (and could also be called "SensingServer-based"), while one in which the UE computes its own sensing estimate is described as "UE-based"” [Pg. 10 Lines 26-29]).
38. Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tohidi et al. (WO 2025113812 A1) in view of Bayesteh et al. in further view of Delude et al. (WO 2022197346 A2) in further view of Lin et al. (CN 114791594 A / Translation has been relied on and is provided in this correspondence).
39. Regarding claim 18, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches the configuring node of claim 17, NLFM signals and one or more processors, (“both UEs may be served by the same base station so that the base station may provide sidelink resource allocation configuration or assistance for the UEs” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 4 Lines 17-19] … “In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Sensing signals comprise of NLFM signals and base station provides side-link configuration. Teaching RF sensing and a configuring node.
Following up with, (“a transmitter 200, like a base station… The transmitter 200 may include one or more antennas ANTT or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, a signal processor 200a and a transceiver 200b, coupled with each other” [Tohidi Pg. 13 Lines 32, 35-36 and Pg. 14 Lines 1]). The transmitter is a base station (e.g. configuring node) that includes a signal processor.
Although Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches the configuring node of claim 17, NLFM signals and one or more processors, Tohidi et al. in view of Bay does not explicitly teach are configured to determine the type of NLFM signal, wherein the type of NLFM signal comprises: a polynomial-based NLFM signal, a piecewise linear NLFM signal, a tansec-based NLFM signal, or any combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of including to determine the type of signal, Delude et al. teaches, (“… the processor is configured to classify a signal type of a transmitted bandlimited signal using the sampled ADC values” [0026]). The processor can classify a signal type of transmitted signal teaching to determine the type of signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include a processor to classify a signal type of a transmitted signal as taught by Delude et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow (“the processor is configured to decode communication symbols encoded in a transmitted bandlimited signal using the sampled ADC values” [0027]).
In the same field of endeavor of including wherein the type of NLFM signal comprises: a polynomial-based NLFM signal, a piecewise linear NLFM signal, a tansec-based NLFM signal, or any combination thereof, Lin et al. teaches, (“wherein K represents the standard electronic parameter, the value is 40.28m3/s2 fτ (τ) is the instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signal, which is non-linear change over time. in the expanded solidified ionized layer model, f (τ) = b0 + b1 τ + b2 τ 2 + -bNτ N, wherein b0, b1,-, bN is the polynomial coefficient, N represents the approximate order of polynomial curve fitting” [Pg. 6 paragraph 12]). The instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signal is measured with the polynomial coefficient. Teaching a polynomial-based NLFM signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include an instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signal calculated with the polynomial coefficient as taught by Lin et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be (“to provide a NLFM signal of the ionization layer dispersion effect correction” [Pg. 3 Paragraph 3]).
40. Regarding claim 19, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches, the configuring node of claim 17, NLFM signals and one or more processors, (“both UEs may be served by the same base station so that the base station may provide sidelink resource allocation configuration or assistance for the UEs” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 4 Lines 17-19] … “In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Sensing signals comprise of NLFM signals and base station provides side-link configuration. Teaching RF sensing and a configuring node.
Following up with, (“a transmitter 200, like a base station… The transmitter 200 may include one or more antennas ANTT or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, a signal processor 200a and a transceiver 200b, coupled with each other” [Pg. 13 Lines 32, 35-36 and Pg. 14 Lines 1]). The transmitter is a base station (e.g. configuring node) that includes a signal processor.
Although Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches the configuring node of claim 17, wherein one or more processors and NLFM signals, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. does not explicitly teach are configured to determine the type of NLFM signal to comprise the polynomial-based NLFM signal, and wherein, to determine the one or more parameters, the one or more processors are further configured to determine: a degree of polynomials to use, a coefficient of the polynomials, or any combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of including to determine the type of signal, Delude et al. teaches, (“… the processor is configured to classify a signal type of a transmitted bandlimited signal using the sampled ADC values” [0026]). Classifying a signal type of a transmitted signal teaches determine the type of signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include a processor to classify a signal type of a transmitted signal as taught by Delude et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow (“the processor is configured to decode communication symbols encoded in a transmitted bandlimited signal using the sampled ADC values” [0027]).
In the same field of endeavor of including wherein the type of NLFM signal comprises: a polynomial-based NLFM signal, a piecewise linear NLFM signal, a tansec-based NLFM signal, or any combination thereof, Lin et al. teahes, (“wherein K represents the standard electronic parameter, the value is 40.28m3/s2 fτ (τ) is the instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signal, which is non-linear change over time. in the expanded solidified ionized layer model, f (τ) = b0 + b1 τ + b2 τ 2 + -bNτ N, wherein b0, b1,-, bN is the polynomial coefficient, N represents the approximate order of polynomial curve fitting” [Pg. 6 paragraph 12]). The instantaneous frequency function of the NLFM signal is measured with the polynomial coefficient. Teaching a polynomial-based NLFM signal and the polynomial coefficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include the NLFM signal with a polynomial coefficient as taught by Lin et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be (“to provide a NLFM signal of the ionization layer dispersion effect correction” [Pg. 3 Paragraph 3]).
41. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tohidi et al. (WO 2025113812 A1) in view of Bayesteh et al. in further view of Delude et al. (WO 2022197346 A2) in further view of Tao et al. (CN 111665474 A / Translation has been relied on and is provided in this correspondence).
42. Regarding claim 20, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches, the configuring node of claim 18, NLFM signals and one or more processors, (“both UEs may be served by the same base station so that the base station may provide sidelink resource allocation configuration or assistance for the UEs” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 4 Lines 17-19] … “In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Sensing signals comprise of NLFM signals and base station provides side-link configuration. Teaching RF sensing and a configuring node.
Following up with, (“a transmitter 200, like a base station… The transmitter 200 may include one or more antennas ANTT or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, a signal processor 200a and a transceiver 200b, coupled with each other” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 13 Lines 32, 35-36 and Pg. 14 Lines 1]). The transmitter is a base station (e.g. configuring node) that includes a signal processor.
Although Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches the configuring node of claim 18, NLFM signals and one or more processors, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. does not explicitly teach are configured to determine the type of NLFM signal to comprise the piecewise linear NLFM signal, and wherein, to determine the one or more parameters, the one or more processors are further configured to determine: a slope of each of a plurality of linear portions of the piecewise linear NLFM signal, a duration of each of a plurality of linear portions of the piecewise linear NLFM signal, or any combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of including to determine the type of signal, Delude et al. teaches, (“… the processor is configured to classify a signal type of a transmitted bandlimited signal using the sampled ADC values” [0026]). The processor can classify a signal type of transmitted signal teaching determining the type of signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include processor that can classify a signal type of transmitted signal as taught by Delude et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow (“the processor is configured to decode communication symbols encoded in a transmitted bandlimited signal using the sampled ADC values” [0027]).
In the same field of endeavor of including to comprise the piecewise linear NLFM signal, and wherein, to determine the one or more parameters, the one or more processors are further configured to determine: a slope of each of a plurality of linear portions of the piecewise linear NLFM signal, a duration of each of a plurality of linear portions of the piecewise linear NLFM signal, or any combination thereof., Tao et al. teaches, (“third, using a piecewise linear frequency modulation (PLFM) signal; the waveform uses three LFM signals with different polarities; the polarity of the first section and the third section is opposite to that of the second section; the duration of the second section of each sub-pulse and the sub-time width of the first section and the third section are different, the sub-time width of the first section and the third section is the same, and by optimizing the second section duration sequence to reduce cross-correlation to reach the purpose of optimizing waveform” [Pg. 2 Paragraph 8]). The duration of the second section, sub-time width, and optimizing duration sequence teaches a duration of each of a plurality of linear portions of the piecewise linear NLFM signal and the one or more parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include the piecewise linear frequency modulation (PLFM) signal, the duration of the second section and the processors and one or more parameters as taught by Tao et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would be (“to reduce cross-correlation to reach the purpose of optimizing waveform” [Pg. 2 Paragraph 8]).
43. Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tohidi et al. (WO 2025113812 A1) in view of Bayesteh et al. in further view of Delude et al. (WO 2022197346 A2) in further view of Longman et al. (US 20210013606 A1).
44. Regarding claim 21, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches, the configuring node of claim 18, NLFM signals and one or more processors, (“both UEs may be served by the same base station so that the base station may provide sidelink resource allocation configuration or assistance for the UEs” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 4 Lines 17-19] … “In accordance with embodiments, the one or more sensing specific signals comprises on or more of the following: one or more pilot signals, like Frank-Zadoff-Chu … linear frequency modulation, LFM, signals, non-linear frequency modulation, NLFM, signals” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 15 Lines 18-27]). Sensing signals comprise of NLFM signals and base station provides side-link configuration. Teaching RF sensing and a configuring node.
Following up with, (“a transmitter 200, like a base station… The transmitter 200 may include one or more antennas ANTT or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, a signal processor 200a and a transceiver 200b, coupled with each other” [Tohidi et al. Pg. 13 Lines 32, 35-36 and Pg. 14 Lines 1]). The transmitter is a base station (e.g. configuring node) that includes a signal processor.
Although Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. teaches the configuring node of claim 18, NLFM signals and one or more processors, Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. does not explicitly teach are configured to determine the type of NLFM signal to comprise the tansec-based NLFM signal, and wherein, to determine the one or more parameters, the one or more processors are further configured to determine: a bandwidth of the tansec-based NLFM signal, a time duration of the tansec-based NLFM signal, the αm of the tansec-based NLFM signal, or any combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of including to determine the type of signal, Delude et al. teaches, (“… the processor is configured to classify a signal type of a transmitted bandlimited signal using the sampled ADC values” [0026]). The processor can classify a signal type of transmitted signal teaching determining the type of signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include a processor to classify a type of transmitted signal as taught by Delude et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow (“the processor is configured to decode communication symbols encoded in a transmitted bandlimited signal using the sampled ADC values” [0027]).
In the same field of endeavor of including to comprise the tansec-based NLFM signal, and wherein, to determine the one or more parameters, the one or more processors are further configured to determine: a bandwidth of the tansec-based NLFM signal, a time duration of the tansec-based NLFM signal, the αm of the tansec-based NLFM signal, or any combination thereof., Longman et al. teaches, (“on-vehicle radar system 20 generates a plurality of NLFM radar signals corresponding to individual ones of the plurality of transmitters 33 which is transmitted via the plurality of transmit antennas 37 of the phased array antenna 25.” [0031] … “transmit antennas 37 transmits a tansec waveform having an individually-determined α parameter” [0032] … “A tansec waveform may be defined as u(t), which can be determined as follows in EQ. 2: u(t)=e.sup.j2πwsec(k.sup.1.sup.t)/(k.sup.1.sup.k.sup.2.sup.)=e.sup.jKsec(k.sup.1.sup.t)
f(t)=w tan(k.sub.1t)sec(k.sub.1t)/k.sub.2,
φ(t)=2πw sec(k.sub.1t)/(k.sub.1k.sub.2),
w=αB/π,
k.sub.1=2 arctan(B/2w)/T,
k.sub.2=sec(k.sub.1T/2)” [0033]) … “The term B represents signal bandwidth, the term T represents chirp duration, the term t represents time, and the term α represents the α parameter” [0034] … “The different tansec waveforms have the same bandwidth and chirp duration in one embodiment” [0035]). The term t teaches the duration of tansec NLFM based signal, the α parameter teaches αm of the tansec-based NLFM signal, and bandwidth of the tansec-based NLFM signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tohidi et al. in view of Bayesteh et al. to include the plurality of antennas that transmit NLFM signals through a Tansec waveform as taught by Longman et al… The suggestion/motivation to do so would (“resolve beam skew error by compensating for additional phase variation beam skew error” [0021]).
Conclusion
45. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
46. The relevance of this prior art, “JOINT SENSING AND COMMUNICATIONS WITH DEEP NEURAL NETWORKS” Document ID WO 2024259042 A1; The invention involves radar systems to include waveforms such as frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW), linear frequency modulation (LFM), or non-linear frequency modulation (NLFM). The invention transmits and receive deep neural network (DNN) structures to perform joint sensing and communication.
47. The relevance of this prior art, “Scalable Sequence Creation, Detection Method And Apparatus In UAV Cellular Network” Document ID WO KR 102308982 B1; The invention involves solving interference problems in UAC cellular networks. A base station tracks line of sight (LOS) direction of the UAX and adjust antenna towards the UAV. The invention comprises of NLFM signals.
48. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAUL THANH TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-9841. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri Flex 8:00am-5:00pm.
/PAUL THANH TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
March 19, 2026
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465