Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1, 6-8, 10-13 in the reply filed on 6/4/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-5, 9 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Please note: Applicant elected figures 4-6 directed to 1 and 6-13, however, claim 9 is drawn to figure 8, thus has been included with the withdrawn claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hirose et al. (USP 6,626,075).
Regarding claim 1, Hirose discloses a machine tool, in particular a lathe, comprising a machine frame having an upper tool carrier support portion and a lower tool carrier support portion, each of the upper tool carrier support portion and the lower tool carrier support portion accommodating at least one linear movable tool carrier assembly (tool rest 6 on the upper tool carrier support portion and tool turrets 9L/9R on the lower tool carrier support portion) configured to carry a milling unit (Col. 5, lines 52-56); a first milling unit arranged on a tool carrier assembly of the upper tool carrier support portion; a second milling unit (figure 3 and col. 5, lines 5-7) arranged on a tool carrier assembly of the lower tool carrier support portion; at least one work spindle (9L) provided to receive a workpiece; wherein the first and the second milling units are configured to jointly machine the workpiece received by the at least one work spindle (figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 6, Hirose discloses wherein the machine frame has a spindle
support portion arranged between the upper and the lower tool carrier support portions, the spindle support portion accommodating at least one spindle carrier on which the at least one work spindle (29L) is arranged (figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Hirose discloses wherein the at least one work spindle (29L) has a horizontally arranged spindle axis (figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Hirose discloses wherein the at least one spindle carrier is configured to move the at least one work spindle (29L/29R) in a Z-axis direction extending horizontally in a direction parallel to the main extending direction of the machine frame (figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Hirose discloses wherein a main spindle and a counter
spindle (29L/29R) are each arranged on a spindle carrier accommodated by the spindle support portion, the main spindle and the counter spindle facing each other (figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, Hirose discloses wherein the main spindle and the counter spindle (29L/29R) each have a horizontally arranged spindle axis, the axis of the counter spindle being arranged coaxially with the spindle axis of the main spindle (figures 1-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 6/23/26