Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the papers filed on 09 April 2026.
CLAIMS UNDER EXAMINATION
Claims 1-21 are pending and have been examined on their merits.
PRIORITY
Provisional Application 60/793,472, filed on 19 April 2006, is acknowledged.
It does not support the amounts of gas flowing through the tracheal interface recited in claims 3 and 14-18. The Provisional Application does not provide support for the limitations recited in claims 19-21. Support is found in Application 11/788865, filed on 19 April 2007.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
The previous rejections have been withdrawn due to claim amendment.
REJECTIONS
New grounds of rejection have been necessitated by claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 12-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wierup et al. (Ex Vivo Evaluation of Nonacceptable Donor Lungs The Annals of Thoracic Surgery, 81, 460-466) in view of Lampotang et al. (Gas Blender. US5887611A).
Wierup et al. teach a method for ex vivo evaluation of a lung (Background section on page 460). Figure 1 discloses a circuit for lung perfusion and ventilation. Lungs are perfused with Stein solution (perfusion fluid) (Methods section on page 460). An oxygenator is connected to the circuit to maintain normal mixed venous blood gas levels (Methods section on page 460). Weirup teaches the oxygenator is used to deoxygenate the solution (see page 462, right column, first paragraph; see text of Figure 1). Gas is supplied to through gas mixers (page 462, right column, first paragraph).
The temperature of the solution is increased to 37 degrees (page 463, left column, line 14).
Figure 1 discloses a ventilator connected to the airway (trachea).
Wierup teaches the pulmonary artery is cannulated and connected to the corresponding tube of the extracorporeal circuit (Wierup, p. 462, right column, “Preparation of the Donor Lungs”, first paragraph). Wierup also teaches cannulating the left atrium through the left ventricle with a venous cannula, with the tip of the cannula positioned in the middle of the left atrium (id.).
Regarding inflow measurement: Wierup obtains blood-gas values in the deoxygenated evaluation solution that is pumped into the pulmonary artery (see page 462, right column, first paragraph). Fig. 1 and its caption identify the solution as “deoxygenated” and says it is pumped into the pulmonary artery.
Regarding the outflow measurement: During ex vivo assessment, after the evaluation solution exiting the left atrium reached 37°C and steady-state conditions were established, blood gases were registered, including PaO₂ and PaCO₂ (Wierup, p. 463, Ex Vivo Assessment of Donor Lung Function, left column, lines 19-21).
The deficiency of Wierup is:
the art does not explicitly teach the oxygenator is halted once the perfusion fluid reaches a specific oxygen content level.
Lampotang teaches a gas blender for mixing gases and controls gases so they are maintained at the desired level (column 1, lines 5-10). Lampotang teaches an isolated test lung connected to a gas blender (see Figure 3). The blender has a plurality inlet gas ports in fluid communication with a supply of a desired gas (column 4, lines 23-34).
The art teaches nitrogen, carbon dioxide and oxygen can be supplied as gases (column 6, lines 44-46). The flow of gases can be regulated by a flow valve (column 6, lines 47-49). The flow valve can be either fully open or fully closed (column 6, lines 55-59). The art teaches a feedback means adjusts at least one regulating means so that the percentage composition of the desired gas is maintained at the desired predetermined level (column 7, lines 17-31).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of the prior art by using a gas mixer that allows gas to be halted in the method taught by Weirup. Wierup uses a gas mixer and teaches adjusting the gases to deoxygenate a fluid. Lampotang teaches the flow of individual gases supplied by a gas blender may be independently regulated using valves that can be “fully closed”. One would halt the flow of a gas once the desired oxygen condition was obtained in order to avoid further increasing the oxygen content beyond the condition sought by Wierup. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Lampotang teaches gas valves can be closed to regulate gas flow. One would have expected similar results since both references are directed to isolated lungs connected to gas mixers. Claim 1 is rendered obvious.
Wierup teaches an oxygenator (supra). The art teaches a gas mixture comprising carbon dioxide (see Figure 1). Therefore claim 2 is included in this rejection.
Wierup teaches an oxygenator (supra). The art evaluates oxygenation at different inspired oxygen fractions (FiO2 values), including FiO2=1.0 (100 % oxygen) (see Table 2). Claim 3 is included in this rejection.
Weirup teaches an oxygenator. Weirup provides a ventilation gas to the lung (Figure 1; see Table 2). Halting gas is rendered obvious on the grounds set forth above.
It would have been obvious to ventilate the lung in Wierup with an oxygen-containing gas after halting application of the gas to the perfusion fluid. Wierup teaches conditioning the perfusate to blood-gas values resembling normal mixed venous blood and subsequently ventilating the lung and evaluating its oxygenation capacity. One would have been motivated to ventilate the lung after gas is halted to evaluate the lung’s ability to oxygenate the perfusion fluid following deoxygenation. Therefore claim 12 is rendered obvious.
Wierup evaluates oxygenation at different inspired oxygen fractions (FiO2 values), including FiO2=1.0 (100 % oxygen) (see Table 2). Claim 13 is included in this rejection.
Wierup teaches gas comprising less than 100% oxygen (0.21; see Table 2). Claim 14 is included in this rejection.
Wierup teaches gas comprising less than 75% oxygen (0.21; see Table 2). Claim 15 is included in this rejection.
Wierup teaches gas comprising less than 50% oxygen (0.21; see Table 2). Claim 16 is included in this rejection.
Wierup teaches gas comprising less than 25% oxygen (0.21; see Table 2). Claim 17 is included in this rejection.
Therefore Applicant’s invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claims 9-10 and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wierup in view of Lampotang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ide et al. (Regulation of pulmonary circulation by alveolar oxygen tension via airway nitric oxide. J Appl Physiol (1985). 1999 Nov;87(5):1629-36).
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds set forth above. The teachings of the prior art are reiterated. Wierup does not teach measuring oxygen partial pressure in the perfusion fluid flowing into (claim 9) and out of (claim 10) the lung.
Ide perfuses a lung (Figure1). The art teaches an oxygenator connected to a gas blender (Figure 1). Ide measures partial pressure of oxygen, pre-lung and post-lung (see Table 2, PvO2 and PaO2).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of the Weirup and Ide by measuring the partial pressure of oxygen in the fluid moving into and out of the lung. One would have bene motivated to do so to determine the oxygen condition of the perfusate supplied to the lung. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Ide teaches the partial pressure of oxygen can be measured in fluid entering and leaving the lung. One would have expected similar results since Weirup and Ide are both directed to lung perfusion circuits. Therefore claims 9-10 are included in this rejection.
Weirup teaches an oxygenator (supra). The art does not teach a ventilation gas with no oxygen.
Ide studies airway hypoxia (see page 1631, Protocol 2). Ide ventilates a lung with a gas which does not contain oxygen (Figure 1, 5% CO2 and 95% N2).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wierup and Ide by ventilating with a gas comprising no oxygen through the tracheal interface. Ide ventilates a lung with a gas containing no oxygen. One would have been motivated to do evaluate lung function under airway hypoxia. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Ide teaches a lung can be ventilated with a gas which does not contain oxygen. One would have expected similar results since Weirup and Ide are both directed to lung perfusion circuits. Therefore claim 18 is rendered obvious.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claims 4-5 and 8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wierup in view of Lampotang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rees et al. (previously cited; Automatic lung parameter estimator. US7008380 with benefit of PCT WO00/45702 2000).
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds set forth above. The teachings of the prior art are reiterated. Wierup teaches ventilation through the trachea. Wierup teaches ventilating lungs at different inspired oxygen fractions (FiO2) , including 0.21 (hence, 21 % oxygen; Table 2). It is well known that 21% oxygen is the oxygen concentration in ambient air.
The art does not explicitly teach ambient air.
Rees et al. teach a method for determining one or more respiratory parameters (Abstract). Rees teaches supplying atmospheric air as an inspiratory gas the respiratory system (column 6, line 1).
It would have been obvious to use ambient air as the ventilation gas taught by Wierup. Wierup teaches ventilation with 21% oxygen and Rees teaches ventilation with ambient air (21% oxygen). One would do so to evaluate lung function with 21% oxygen as taught in Wierup. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Wierup teaches gas with 21% oxygen can be evaluated. One would have expected similar results since Wierup and Rees are both directed to methods of analyzing lung function. Claim 4 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 5: Rees measures FiO2 (Abstract; Column 5, line 6; lines 43-45).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of the prior art by measuring FiO2 of the gas supplied to the lungs. Wierup evaluates lung gas-exchange at specific FiO2 levels. One would have measured the inspired oxygen content, as taught by Rees to verify the FiO2 at which Wierup’s measurements were obtained. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Rees teaches FiO2 can be measured. One would have expected similar results since Wierup and Rees are both directed to methods of analyzing lung function. Claim 5 is rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 8: Rees measures tidal volume (column 9, line 32).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of the prior art by measuring tidal volume. One would have been motivated to do so to quantify the amount of ventilation delivered to the lung during Wierup’s functional assessment. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Rees teaches tidal volume can be measured. One would have expected similar results since Wierup and Rees are both directed to methods of analyzing lung function. Claim 8 is included in this rejection.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claim 7 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wierup in view of Lampotang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (Delta opioid extends hypothermic preservation time of the lung,
The Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery, Volume 111, Issue 1,
1996, Pages 259-267).
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds stated above. The teachings of the prior art are reiterated. Wierup does not teach measuring an alveolar arterial oxygen gradient.
Wu et al. examine the function of harvested lungs (ex vivo) (Abstract). blood samples from the pulmonary artery and vein were taken simultaneously every 10 minutes for blood gas analysis and alveolar-arterial oxygen difference (gradient) calculation (page 260, right column, second paragraph).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wierup and Wu by measuring an alveolar arterial oxygen gradient. One would have been motivated to do so since Wu teaches it is a known measure for evaluating the oxygenation/gas-exchange function of a perfused lung. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Wu measures the gradient in a perfused lung. One would have expected similar result since both references evaluate ex vivo lung function. Claim 7 is rendered obvious.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claim 6 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wierup in view of Lampotang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Collins et al. (Thromboxane mediates pulmonary hypertension and lung inflammation during hyperacute lung rejection. J Appl Physiol 90: 2257-2268, 2001).
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds stated above. The teachings of the prior art are reiterated. Wierup does not teach measuring an arterial-venous oxygen gradient between the perfusion fluid flowing into and away from the lung.
Collins teaches an ex vivo circuit for lung perfusion (Figure 1). The art teaches the pulmonary vein effluent returns through the left atrium (see page 2259, left column, first paragraph). The lungs are continuously ventilated and gas exchange is quantified by changing the inspired oxygen concentration before collecting samples. The art defines loss of lung function based on “<10 Torr PO2 pulmonary vein-pulmonary artery gradient” (see page 2258, right column, starting at line 3). Table 1 (description) also discloses ΔPO2 as PO2 (pulmonary vein) 2 P O2 (pulmonary artery) measured in samples.
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wierup and Collins by measuring the oxygen gradient between the perfusion fluid entering and leaving the lung. One would have been motivated to do so to quantify the lung’s ability to oxygenate the perfusion fluid as it passes through the lung. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Collins teaches this gradient can be measured in an ex vivo perfused lung. One would have expected similar results since both references are directed to ex vivo lung perfusion. Therefore claim 6 is included in this rejection.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed
Claim 11 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wierup in view of Lampotang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Daniels et al. (US Patent 6179784. Respiratory Profile Parameter Determination Method and Apparatus).
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds set forth above. The teachings of the prior art are reiterated. Wierup ventilates a lung. The art does not explicitly monitor positive end expiratory pressure.
Daniels teaches a method of sampling one or more respiratory profile characteristics and monitoring a variety of respiratory profile parameters (Abstract). Positive-end expiratory pressure is measured (column 7, lines 21-22).
It would have been obvious to measure the positive end-expiratory pressure during Wierup’s lung ventilation as taught by Daniels. One would have been motivated to do so sot monitor the pressure condition under which the lung was ventilated and evaluated. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Daniels teaches the positive end-expiratory pressure of a ventilated lung can be measured. One would have expected similar results since both references monitor respiratory flow. Therefore claim 11 is rendered obvious.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claim 19 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wierup in view of Lampotang as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, further in view of EMS World (previously cited; Clearing the Airway 2004 pages 1-6).
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds set forth above. The teaching of the prior art are reiterated. Wierup teaches an oxygenator. Wierup ventilates a lung. The art teaches the use of tracheal cannula (see page 1837, left column, second paragraph). The art does not teach applying suction through the tracheal interface to clear the alveoli of debris.
EMS teaches suction to remove secretions from the trachea (first paragraph of page 1).
It would have been obvious to use suction to clear the trachea taught Wierup. One would have been motivated to do so since EMS teaches doing so to remove secretions. The skilled artisan would do so to allow prior ventilation of the trachea. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since EMS teaches suction can be used to clear the trachea. One would have expected similar results since both references are directed to methods of providing lung ventilation. Therefore claim 19 is rendered obvious.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claim 20-21 are ejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wierup in view of Lampotang as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, further in view of Bradley et al. (previously cited; Evidence for physical therapies (airway clearance and physical training) in cystic fibrosis: An overview of five Cochrane systematic reviews. Respiratory Medicine (2006) 100, 191–201).
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds set forth above. The teaching of the prior art are reiterated. Weirup teaches an oxygenator. Weirup ventilates a trachea (supra). The art does not teach clearing lung debris using variable volumes of oxygen.
Bradley teaches techniques than can be used for airway clearance (see Table 1). The art teaches autogenic drainage. The art teaches it is a breathing three-level breathing sequence comprising difference lung volumes.
It would have been obvious to use the technique taught by Bradley to clear debris from the lung taught by Wierup. Wierup analyzes lung function and Bradley teaches using breaths with variable volumes to clear a lung. The skilled artisan would do so to allow proper ventilation of the trachea. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Bradley teaches this method of breathing can be used to clear the lungs. One would have expected similar results since both references are directed to methods of ventilating a lung. Therefore claim 20 is rendered obvious. Bradley teaches autogenic drainage comprises beginning at low lung volumes, followed by breathing at mid-lung volumes, followed by deep breathing, huff and coughing. Deep breathing, followed by a huff and a cough is interpreted to read on claim 21.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
The arguments made in the response filed on 09 April 2026 are acknowledged. New grounds of rejection have been necessitated by claim amendment.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/NATALIE M MOSS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1653