DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 03/14/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 11-12, 14-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Talvala (US 2014/0016004 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Talvala discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores computer execution instructions; and the computer execution instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (paragraphs 17-18)
obtain first image data; (abstract, paragraphs 18, 27 and 29: Talvala teaches obtaining first image data by acquiring Initial Sensor Data from either the sensor or from a Raw Input, initiated by an acquire image instruction. Talvala also teaches acquiring a RAW image and reprocessing a stored RAW file from memory.)
determine or generate a target data stream according to a data stream format; and (paragraphs 21 and 30: Talvala teaches generating a target data stream by outputting image-related data and metadata into a structured bundle. Metadata is output to an Output Frame Metadata Queue and, upon a getFrame() request, the RAW image and metadata are moved into a Frame 630 that consolidates the image with associated metadata fields. Additionally , Talvala teaches combining multiple image outputs such as YUV, compressed, video with raw output using a multiplexer and outputting the combined stream to the application.)
perform image processing on the first image data according to the target data stream. (paragraphs 20-21 and 30: Talvala teaches performing image processing by preprocessing the raw input using a preprocessor under a preprocessing instruction, for example noise reduction, demosaic, color correction, producing preprocessed data and converted output (YUV, compressed, video) and further processing for viewable formats (JPEG, YPUV) for display or use by the application.)
Regarding claim 8, Talvala discloses an image processing method, comprising following steps:
S10, obtaining first image data according to a preset rule; (paragraphs 25-29: Talvala teaches obtaining image data according to a rule via a Capture Request containing criteria for sensor control, lens control, 3A control, processing control, and statistics control, and by executing an ordered list of requests in an input request queue to drive acquisition and preprocessing.)
S20, determining or generating a target data stream according to the first image data; and (paragraphs 21 and 30: Talvala teaches that after acquiring and processing an image, the sensor outputs an image and metadata which are assembled into Frame 630 and/or combined through a multiplexer to provide a bundled output stream to the application.)
S30, performing image processing on the first image data based on the target data stream. (paragraphs 20-21, 30: Talvala teaches performing preprocessing and outputting processed formats and further processing into viewable formats, where the application may further process the multiplexer output.)
Regarding claim 2, Talvala discloses the claimed invention wherein the step S3 comprises: parsing the target data stream, and performing image processing on the first image data to obtain second image data and characteristic data of the second image data. (paragraphs 19 and 30: Talvala teaches generating and outputting characteristic data such as statistics (date, resolution, flash) and histogram outputs, and storing metadata and statistical output with the image in frame 630)
Regarding claim 3, Talvala discloses the claimed invention wherein the step S1 comprises at least one of: obtaining the first image data according to an imaging control instruction and/or an image obtaining instruction; (paragraphs 19 and 30: Talvala teaches that the API receives image capture instructions and uses methods such as stream(), capture(), and reprocess() to control acquisition. It also teaches obtaining image data from memory via Raw Input and reprocessing a stored RAW file.) obtaining characteristic data of the first image data. (paragraphs 19 and 30: Talvala teaches obtaining characteristic data by retrieving statistics (date, resolution, flash) and computing a histogram, and also outputting metadata associated with the image and consolidating in in Frame 630 (Basic Metadata, Final Settings, Statistical Output)).
Regarding claim 11, Talvala discloses the claimed invention wherein the step S10 comprises: in response to a call to a first interface, obtaining the preset rule from an entry parameter of the first interface, and obtaining the first image data according to the preset rule. (paragraphs 14, 22, 24-25: Talvala teaches that the camera API is initiated by commands such as getCameraInfo() and open(ID), and that open(ID) enables creation of pipelines and createCaptureRequest(), where the capture request includes criteria that control how image data is acquired.)
Regarding claim 12, Talvala discloses the claimed invention wherein the step S20 comprises: in response to a data request from an algorithm module to which a data stream flows, obtaining data required by the algorithm module; (paragraph 30: Talvala teaches that metadata is stored in an Output Frame Metadata Queue and, when requested by getFrame(), the RAW image and metadata are delivered into Frame 630.)and after obtaining the data required by the algorithm module, assigning the obtained data to the data stream to obtain the target data stream. (paragraph 30: Talvala teaches assigning the RAW image and its metadata into Frame 630, which consolidates the image with associated field (Capture Request, Final Settings, Basic Metadata, Statistical Output, ByteBuffer)).
Regarding claim 14, Talvala discloses the claimed invention wherein the step S30 comprises: parsing the target data stream, (paragraph 30: Talvala teaches that, upon a getFrame() request, image and metadata are moved into Frame 630 with defined subfields, enabling access of the contents.) and performing image processing on the first image data to obtain second image data and/or characteristic data of the second image data. (paragraphs 19-21 and 30: Talvala teaches second image data via preprocessing and conversion outputs and characteristics data via statistics and metadata in Frame 630.)
Regarding claim 16, Talvala discloses the claimed invention wherein the computer execution instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: parse the target data stream, (paragraph 30: Talvala teaches that image and metadata are packaged in Frame 630 when requested by getFrame(), enabling structures access to the contents.) and perform image processing on the first image data to obtain second image data and characteristic data of the second image data. (paragraphs 19-21 and 30: Talvala teaches producing processed image outputs and producing characteristic data.)
Regarding claim 17, Talvala discloses the claimed invention wherein the computer execution instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform at least one of: obtaining the first image data according to an imaging control instruction and/or an image obtaining instruction; (paragraphs 5, 18, 26 and 29: Talvala teaches capture instructions via API and acquisition control via stream(), capture(), reprocess(), including obtaining image data from memory.) obtaining characteristic data of the first image data. (paragraphs 19 and 30: Talvala teaches generating characteristic data such as statistics and outputting metadata consolidated in frame 630.)
Regarding claim 19, Talvala discloses the claimed invention wherein a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores computer execution instructions; and when the computer execution instructions are executed by the processor, the image processing method according to claim 8 is implemented. (paragraphs 17-18)
Regarding claim 20, Talvala discloses the claimed invention wherein a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein computer execution instructions are stored in the computer-readable storage medium, and when the computer execution instructions are executed by a processor, the image processing method according to claim 1 is implemented. (paragraphs 17-18)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 9-10, 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talvala (US 2014/0016004 A1) in view of Newman (US 9,681,111 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Talvala discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the characteristic data of the first image data comprises at least one of: basic image information, imaging information and semantic information of the first image data; after the obtaining the characteristic data of the first image data, the method comprises at least one of: assigning the basic image information of the first image data to the target data stream; assigning the imaging information of the first image data to the target data stream; assigning the semantic information of the first image data to the target data stream.
In related art, Newman discloses the characteristic data of the first image data comprises at least one of: basic image information, imaging information and semantic information of the first image data; (col. 5, line 53 to col. 6, line 25; also see table 3: Newman teaches metadata captured with video, including image acquisition parameters and other metadata like motion, orientation, position and highlight, activity-type metadata.) after the obtaining the characteristic data of the first image data, the method comprises at least one of: assigning the basic image information of the first image data to the target data stream; assigning the imaging information of the first image data to the target data stream; assigning the semantic information of the first image data to the target data stream. (col. 2, lines 1-24; Newman teaches embedding metadata into a combined multimedia stream by generating a sensor track and combining it with the video track, i.e., assigning the characteristic data into the multimedia stream.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Newman into the teachings of Talvala for effective capturing and storing of video content.
Regarding claim 5, Talvala, as modified by Newman, discloses the claimed invention wherein the obtaining the characteristic data of the first image data comprises at least one of: obtaining the basic image information of the first image data through an imaging module of a photography system; obtaining the imaging information of the first image data through at least one of the imaging module and an auxiliary imaging module of the photography system. (col. 1, lines 48-67)
Regarding claim 6, Talvala discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the step S2 comprises at least one of: determining or generating the target data stream by arranging at least two data items sequentially in a first specific order; determining or generating the target data stream by arranging respective pieces of characteristic information in a third specific order.
In related art, Newman discloses at least one of: determining or generating the target data stream by arranging at least two data items sequentially in a first specific order; (col. 1, lines 48-67: Newman teaches creating a combined multimedia stream with multiple items (tracks, records) in a defined structure (video track and text track) and within the metadata track, records are written in a defined sequence.) determining or generating the target data stream by arranging respective pieces of characteristic information in a third specific order. (col. 12, lines 30-42: Newman teaches a self-describing metadata record structure with fields arranged in a prescribed order and tag, type, size, repeat describing how to parse payload.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Newman into the teachings of Talvala for effective capturing and storing of video content.
Regarding claim 7, Talvala, as modified by Newman, discloses the claimed invention wherein further comprising at least one of: each of the data items comprises at least one type of characteristic information; respective pieces of characteristic information in each of the data items are arranged in a second specific order. (Newman: table 3)
Regarding claim 9, Talvala discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the step S10 comprises at least one of: if the preset rule instructs to add basic image information to a data stream, obtaining basic image information of the first image data through an imaging module of a photography system; if the preset rule instructs to add imaging information to a data stream, obtaining imaging information of the first image data through the imaging module and/or an auxiliary imaging module of the photography system; if the preset rule instructs to add at least one type of semantic information to a data stream, obtaining at least one type of semantic information of the first image data.
In related art, Newman discloses step S10 comprises at least one of: if the preset rule instructs to add basic image information to a data stream, obtaining basic image information of the first image data through an imaging module of a photography system; (Newman: table 3) if the preset rule instructs to add imaging information to a data stream, obtaining imaging information of the first image data through the imaging module and/or an auxiliary imaging module of the photography system; (col. 9, line 52 to col. 10, line 22) if the preset rule instructs to add at least one type of semantic information to a data stream, obtaining at least one type of semantic information of the first image data. (col. 6, lines 14-25)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Newman into the teachings of Talvala for effective capturing and storing of video content.
Regarding claim 10, Talvala, as modified by Newman, discloses the claimed invention wherein if the preset rule instructs to add at least one type of semantic information to a data stream, obtaining at least one type of semantic information of the first image data comprises at least one of: if the preset rule instructs to add basic semantic information to a data stream, obtaining basic semantic information of the first image data; if the preset rule instructs to add optional semantic information to a data stream, obtaining at least one type of optional semantic information of the first image data. (col. 17, lines 1-20)
Regarding claim 13, Talvala discloses the claimed invention except for wherein in response to the data request from the algorithm module to which the data stream flows, obtaining the data required by the algorithm module comprises: in response to a call to a second interface from any algorithm module, determining or obtaining the data required by the algorithm module according to an input parameter of the second interface, and transmitting the obtained data to the algorithm module.
In related art, Newman discloses in response to the data request from the algorithm module to which the data stream flows, obtaining the data required by the algorithm module comprises: in response to a call to a second interface from any algorithm module, determining or obtaining the data required by the algorithm module according to an input parameter of the second interface, and transmitting the obtained data to the algorithm module. (col. 23-col. 24, see “Listing 14”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Newman into the teachings of Talvala for effective capturing and storing of video content.
Regarding claim 18, Talvala discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the computer execution instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform at least one of: determining or generating the target data stream by arranging at least two data items sequentially in a first specific order; determining or generating the target data stream by arranging respective pieces of characteristic information in a third specific order.
In related art, Newman discloses the computer execution instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform at least one of: determining or generating the target data stream by arranging at least two data items sequentially in a first specific order; (col. 8, lines 49-55) determining or generating the target data stream by arranging respective pieces of characteristic information in a third specific order. (Table 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Newman into the teachings of Talvala for effective capturing and storing of video content.
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665