DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-17) in the reply filed on 9/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examiner has not shown serious burden to perform a complete search and examination on all claim. This is not found persuasive because inventions I-V would require separate fields of search including different search queries. Where it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other inventions (e.g., employing different search queries), a different field of search is shown. See MPEP 808.02. This is sufficient to establish a serious search and/or examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 4, 5 and 8 recite the limitation "the epoxy resin". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of further examination, "the epoxy resin" is interpreted as the “epoxy-functionalized compound” in claim 1.
Claim 8 recited “wherein the anhydride/epoxy resin ratio is about 1.1 to about 0.7” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the ratio is a weight ratio, molar ratio, or any other ratio. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims. See MPEP 2173.06(II). Since the meanings and scopes of claim 8 are not clear, it is not proper to reject claim 8 on the basis of prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al (US 20240279381 A1) in view of Tsutsumi et al (US 20170018693 A1).
Regarding claims 1-6 and 9-17, Fan teaches a polymerizable composition used in adhesives for electronic material [0328, 0341], comprising an ethylenically unsaturated compound [0207] comprising (meth)acrylate-functionalized oligomers [0220, 0240], (meth)acrylate-functionalized monomers [0223], mono(meth)acrylate-functionalized monomers [0229], and a photoinitiator [0257].
The (meth)acrylate-functionalized oligomer includes the reaction products of acrylic or methacrylic acid or mixtures thereof with an epoxy resin (polyglycidyl ether or ester), such as hydrogenated bisphenol A diglycidyl ether [0244], which reads on the claimed a) a saturated epoxy-functionalized compound as specified in claim 4.
The recited “the epoxy resin remains optically clear when exposed to temperatures of about 65° C. for about 1000 hours” in claim 2 is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present.
The recited “having a chemical resistance in alcohol after 72 hr at 65° C. as demonstrated by block shear testing results of about 9 MPa or greater” in claim 3 is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present.
The amount of (meth)acrylate-functionalized oligomer in the polymerizable composition is from 50 to 80% by weight based on the weight of the composition [0250], which overlaps the claimed range of about 60% to about 80% based on the weight of the total composition as specified in claim 5. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
The (meth)acrylate-functionalized monomer comprises triethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate; polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylates; 1,4-butanediol diacrylate; 1,4-butanediol dimethacrylate; diethylene glycol diacrylate; etc. [0233], which read on the claimed c) a predominantly hydrophobic cross-linking (meth)acrylate as specified in claim 12.
The amount of (meth)acrylate-functionalized monomer in the polymerizable composition is from 20 to 50% by weight based on the weight of the composition [0250], which meets the claimed range of about 15% to about 50% by weight of the total composition as specified in claim 13, and therefore meets the limitation of “in amounts sufficient to control the crosslinking density of the composition”.
The photoinitiator comprises hydroxycyclohexyl phenyl ketone [0260], which reads on the claimed d) a photoinitiator as specified in claims 14-15.
The amount of photoinitiator in the polymerizable composition is from 0.05 to 10% by weight based on the weight of the polymerizable composition [0262], meeting the claimed range of about 0.05% to about 10% based on the weight of the total composition as specified in claim 16.
The mono(meth)acrylate-functionalized monomer comprises 2-ethylhexyl (meth)acrylate, isobornyl (meth)acrylate, lauryl (meth)acrylate etc. [0229], which read on the claimed an mono-(meth)acrylate selected from the group as specified in claim 17.
Fan does not teach the claimed b) a heat cure system comprising an alicyclic anhydride and a cationic catalyst. However, Fan teaches that “[c]uring may be accelerated or facilitated by supplying energy to the polymerizable composition, such as by heating the polymerizable composition” [0331]. This provides a motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to find a heat cure system for Fan’s composition.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsutsumi teaches a heat-curable epoxy resin composition for optical semiconductor element, comprising epoxy resins (A-1), (A-2) and (A-3) and an acid anhydride curing agent (A-4) [abstract]. The acid anhydride curing agent comprises hexahydrophthalic anhydride and methylhexahydrophthalic anhydride [0051]. The composition comprises a curing catalyst for an epoxy resin composition including phosphine compounds and methyltributylphosphonium-dimethylphosphate [0054].
The acid anhydride curing agent reads on the claimed alicyclic anhydride as specified in claim 6; the curing catalyst reads on the claimed cationic catalyst as specified in claims 9-11.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add Tsutsumi’s acid anhydride curing agent and catalyst in Fan’s composition in order to accelerate or facilitate the curing of the epoxy resin as desired by Fan [0331], as the acid anhydride curing agent and catalyst are expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
The recited “wherein the cured composition provides an optical transmittance of at least 95% and a yellowness (*b) of <1%” is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan in view of Tsutsumi as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Kondos et al (US 20190010309 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Fan in view of Tsutsumi teaches the composition in claim 1 as stated above. Fan in view of Tsutsumi does not teach the amount of the anhydride curing agent based on the total weight of the composition.
Pertinent to the same problem, Kondos teaches an adhesive composition comprising an epoxy resin (b) such as hydrogenated diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A [0053] a curing agent component (c) such as tetrahydrophthalic anhydride, methyltetrahydrophthalic anhydride, hexahydrophthalic anhydride, nadic methyl anhydride [0079], and a catalyst such as tin catalyst [0187]. The curing agent (c) is added in an amount of 1-95 wt% based on the total weight of components [0082].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form an adhesive composition according to Fan in view of Tsutsumi including the anhydride curing agent an amount of 1-95 wt% based on the total weight of components, as Kondos demonstrates this range to be suitable for similar adhesive composition. This represents the use of a suitable range of anhydride curing agent in an adhesive composition which are compositionally similar used in similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
The anhydride curing agent an amount of 1-95 wt% based on the total weight of components overlaps the claimed range of about 15% to about 30% based on the weight of the total composition. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762