DETAILED ACTION
The instant office action is in response to communication filed on 03/14/2024.
Claims 1-30 are pending of which claims 1, 17, 29, and 30 are independent.
The IDS(s) submitted on 05/09/2025 has been considered.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16 , 17, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazloum et al (US 20250261115 A1) in view of Xue et al (US 20250358742 A1) and Ang et al (US 20200221384 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mazloum discloses a user equipment (UE) (Figs.1 and 4 shows UE) comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 4 MEM 1022) storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors (Fig. 4 CPU 1021) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, at a low-power wake-up radio of the UE (i.e. paragraphs 5-6 indicates the UE has a low-power receiver (LP-RX) and a main receiver (M-RX). Further low-power reference signal (LP-RS) is received by the LP-RX to support channel measurement), a frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal (See paragraph 69 LP-RS and WUS is modulated continuous wave based on pseudo noise code sequence modulated by on-off keying modulation such as Manchester coding) )via a first bandwidth (see paragraphs 65, 73, 75 and 77 indicate the LP-RS has a first dedicated bandwidth part (BWP)) and associated with a baseband processing capability of the low-power wake-up radio (Fig. 5A box 6005 LP-RS Capability exchange between UE and the BS per paragraphs 61-62 and 103. A user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, at a low-power wake-up radio of the UE, a frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal via a first bandwidth associated with a baseband processing capability of the low-power wake-up radio; and transmit, based at least in part on receiving the frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal via the first bandwidth, a channel state information report comprising channel state feedback associated with a second bandwidth, wherein the second bandwidth comprises the first bandwidth. ).
Mazloum explicitly discloses receiving the low-power reference signals for channel state measurement by the low-power wake up radio as explained above.
Mazloum fails to disclose transmit, based at least in part on receiving the frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal via the first bandwidth, a channel state information report comprising channel state feedback associated with a second bandwidth.
Xue in the same endeavor discloses transmit, based at least in part on receiving the frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal via the first bandwidth, a channel state information report comprising channel state feedback associated with a second bandwidth. (Xue in paragraphs 4 and 222 discloses the low power radio that is also referred as wake up circuit receives in a bandwidth associated with the wake up circuit low power reference signal and measures the low-power reference signal to generate a channel state feedback associated with a bandwidth of the main circuit.)
In view of the above, having Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration and then given the well- established teaching of Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration as taught by Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback, since Xue states in paragraph 05 that the modification results in allowing the UE to determine whether the UE needs to turn on the main circuit to receive scheduling information.
Mazloum modified by Xue fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second bandwidth comprises the first bandwidth, even though Mazloum suggests the limitation in paragraphs 75 and 77.
Ang, in the same endeavor discloses wherein the second bandwidth comprises the first bandwidth. (See paragraphs 64, 67 and 68 the first bandwidth part (BWP) associated with low power reception is included in the wide bandwidth associated with high power)
In view of the above, having Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration modified by Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback and then given the well- established teaching of Ang ’s techniques for bandwidth part association with low/high power operations, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration modified by Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback as taught by Ang ’s techniques for bandwidth part association with low/high power operations, since Ang states in paragraph 07 that the modification results in providing unique techniques for improving power efficiency of the DRX cycle.
Regarding claim 16, Mazloum modified by Xue and Ang disclose the UE of claim 1, including Mazloum disclosing wherein the processing capability of the low-power wake up radio is base band processing capability. (See Mazloum’s paragraphs 36 and 61 )
Regarding claim 17, Mazloum discloses a network entity (BS Figs. 1 and 3), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 3 MEM1012) storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors(Fig. 3 CPU 1011) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: obtain, from a user equipment (UE), a capability report comprising an indication of a capability of a low-power wake-up radio of the UE(i.e. paragraphs 5-6 indicates the UE has a low-power receiver (LP-RX) and a main receiver (M-RX). Further low-power reference signal (LP-RS) is received by the LP-RX to support channel measurement) to perform frequency modulated continuous wave-based channel estimation (See paragraph 69 LP-RS and WUS is modulated continuous wave based on pseudo noise code sequence modulated by on-off keying modulation such as Manchester coding) ); output, in accordance with the capability of the low-power wake-up radio of the UE, a frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal; (Fig. 5A box 6005 LP-RS Capability exchange between UE and the BS per paragraphs 61-62 and 103. A user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, at a low-power wake-up radio of the UE, a frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal via a first bandwidth associated with a baseband processing capability of the low-power wake-up radio; and transmit, based at least in part on receiving the frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal via the first bandwidth, a channel state information report comprising channel state feedback associated with a second bandwidth, wherein the second bandwidth comprises the first bandwidth. )
Mazloum fails to disclose obtain, based at least in part on outputting the frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal, a channel state information report comprising channel state feedback.
Xue in the same endeavor discloses obtain, based at least in part on outputting the frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal, a channel state information report comprising channel state feedback. . (Xue in paragraphs 4 and 222 discloses the low power radio that is also referred as wake up circuit receives in a bandwidth associated with the wake up circuit low power reference signal and measures the low-power reference signal to generate a channel state feedback associated with a bandwidth of the main circuit.)
In view of the above, having Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration and then given the well- established teaching of Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration as taught by Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback, since Xue states in paragraph 05 that the modification results in allowing the UE to determine whether the UE needs to turn on the main circuit to receive scheduling information.
Mazloum modified by Xue fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second bandwidth is wideband, even though Mazloum suggests the limitation in paragraphs 75 and 77.
Ang, in the same endeavor discloses wherein the second bandwidth is wideband. (See paragraphs 64, 67 and 68 the first bandwidth part (BWP) associated with low power reception is included in the wide bandwidth associated with high power)
In view of the above, having Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration modified by Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback and then given the well- established teaching of Ang ’s techniques for bandwidth part association with low/high power operations, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration modified by Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback as taught by Ang ’s techniques for bandwidth part association with low/high power operations, since Ang states in paragraph 07 that the modification results in providing unique techniques for improving power efficiency of the DRX cycle.
Regarding claim 29, Mazloum discloses a method for a wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (Figs.1 and 4 shows UE) comprising:
receiving, at a low-power wake-up radio of the UE (i.e. paragraphs 5-6 indicates the UE has a low-power receiver (LP-RX) and a main receiver (M-RX). Further low-power reference signal (LP-RS) is received by the LP-RX to support channel measurement), a frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal (See paragraph 69 LP-RS and WUS is modulated continuous wave based on pseudo noise code sequence modulated by on-off keying modulation such as Manchester coding) )via a first bandwidth (see paragraphs 65, 73, 75 and 77 indicate the LP-RS has a first dedicated bandwidth part (BWP)) and associated with a baseband processing capability of the low-power wake-up radio (Fig. 5A box 6005 LP-RS Capability exchange between UE and the BS per paragraphs 61-62 and 103. A user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, at a low-power wake-up radio of the UE, a frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal via a first bandwidth associated with a baseband processing capability of the low-power wake-up radio; and transmit, based at least in part on receiving the frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal via the first bandwidth, a channel state information report comprising channel state feedback associated with a second bandwidth, wherein the second bandwidth comprises the first bandwidth. ).
Mazloum explicitly discloses receiving the low-power reference signals for channel state measurement by the low-power wake up radio as explained above.
Mazloum fails to disclose transmitting, based at least in part on receiving the frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal via the first bandwidth, a channel state information report comprising channel state feedback associated with a second bandwidth.
Xue in the same endeavor discloses transmit, based at least in part on receiving the frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal via the first bandwidth, a channel state information report comprising channel state feedback associated with a second bandwidth. (Xue in paragraphs 4 and 222 discloses the low power radio that is also referred as wake up circuit receives in a bandwidth associated with the wake up circuit low power reference signal and measures the low-power reference signal to generate a channel state feedback associated with a bandwidth of the main circuit.)
In view of the above, having Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration and then given the well- established teaching of Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration as taught by Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback, since Xue states in paragraph 05 that the modification results in allowing the UE to determine whether the UE needs to turn on the main circuit to receive scheduling information.
Mazloum modified by Xue fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second bandwidth comprises the first bandwidth, even though Mazloum suggests the limitation in paragraphs 75 and 77.
Ang, in the same endeavor discloses wherein the second bandwidth comprises the first bandwidth. (See paragraphs 64, 67 and 68 the first bandwidth part (BWP) associated with low power reception is included in the wide bandwidth associated with high power)
In view of the above, having Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration modified by Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback and then given the well- established teaching of Ang ’s techniques for bandwidth part association with low/high power operations, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration modified by Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback as taught by Ang ’s techniques for bandwidth part association with low/high power operations, since Ang states in paragraph 07 that the modification results in providing unique techniques for improving power efficiency of the DRX cycle.
Regarding claim 30, Mazloum discloses a method for wireless communication by a network entity (BS Figs. 1 and 3), comprising:
obtaining, from a user equipment (UE), a capability report comprising an indication of a capability of a low-power wake-up radio of the UE(i.e. paragraphs 5-6 indicates the UE has a low-power receiver (LP-RX) and a main receiver (M-RX). Further low-power reference signal (LP-RS) is received by the LP-RX to support channel measurement) to perform frequency modulated continuous wave-based channel estimation (See paragraph 69 LP-RS and WUS is modulated continuous wave based on pseudo noise code sequence modulated by on-off keying modulation such as Manchester coding) );
outputting, in accordance with the capability of the low-power wake-up radio of the UE, a frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal; (Fig. 5A box 6005 LP-RS Capability exchange between UE and the BS per paragraphs 61-62 and 103. A user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, at a low-power wake-up radio of the UE, a frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal via a first bandwidth associated with a baseband processing capability of the low-power wake-up radio; and transmit, based at least in part on receiving the frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal via the first bandwidth, a channel state information report comprising channel state feedback associated with a second bandwidth, wherein the second bandwidth comprises the first bandwidth. )
Mazloum fails to disclose obtaining, based at least in part on outputting the frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal, a channel state information report comprising channel state feedback.
Xue in the same endeavor discloses obtaining, based at least in part on outputting the frequency modulated continuous wave-based low-power reference signal, a channel state information report comprising channel state feedback. . (Xue in paragraphs 4 and 222 discloses the low power radio that is also referred as wake up circuit receives in a bandwidth associated with the wake up circuit low power reference signal and measures the low-power reference signal to generate a channel state feedback associated with a bandwidth of the main circuit.)
In view of the above, having Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration and then given the well- established teaching of Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration as taught by Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback, since Xue states in paragraph 05 that the modification results in allowing the UE to determine whether the UE needs to turn on the main circuit to receive scheduling information.
Mazloum modified by Xue fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second bandwidth is wideband, even though Mazloum suggests the limitation in paragraphs 75 and 77.
Ang, in the same endeavor discloses wherein the second bandwidth is wideband. (See paragraphs 64, 67 and 68 the first bandwidth part (BWP) associated with low power reception is included in the wide bandwidth associated with high power)
In view of the above, having Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration modified by Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback and then given the well- established teaching of Ang ’s techniques for bandwidth part association with low/high power operations, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Mazloum ‘s Low-Power Reference Signal reception configuration modified by Xue ’s techniques for channel state feedback as taught by Ang ’s techniques for bandwidth part association with low/high power operations, since Ang states in paragraph 07 that the modification results in providing unique techniques for improving power efficiency of the DRX cycle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-15 and 18-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474