DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “the amount charging” in line 12-13 is suggested to change to - - the amount of charging - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saboury et al. (US 2026/0031632).
Regarding claim 1, Saboury teaches a battery pack charger (claim 15, line 1), comprising: a housing (claim 15, line 2); a first receptacle incorporated in the housing for receiving a battery pack (claim 15, lines 3-4); a second receptacle incorporated in the housing for receiving a battery pack (claim 15, lines 5-6); a first AC to DC power supply housed within the housing (claim 15, line 7); a second AC to DC power supply housed within the housing (claim 15, lines 8-9); a processing unit housed within the housing, the processing unit electrically coupled to the first power supply to enable the processing unit to configure the first power supply to provide an amount of charging current and electrically coupled to the second power supply to configure the second power supply to provide an amount of charging current (claim 15, lines 10-16); and a bridge assembly circuit housed within the housing, the bridge assembly circuit electrically coupled to the first power supply and the second power supply to receive the amount charging current from the first power supply and the amount of charging current from the second power supply and electrically coupled to the processing unit to enable the processing unit to configure the bridge assembly circuit to direct all of or less than all of the amount of charging current from the first power supply to the first receptacle and all of or less than all of the amount of charging current from the second power supply to the first receptacle and all of or less than all of the amount of charging current from the first power supply to the second receptacle and all of or less than all of the amount of charging current from the second power supply to the second receptacle (claim 15, lines 17-33).
Regarding claim 2, Saboury further teaches wherein the bridge assembly circuit directs all of the amount of charging current from the first power supply and all of the amount of charging current from the second power supply to the first receptacle (claim 16).
Regarding claim 3, Saboury further teaches wherein the bridge assembly circuit directs all of the amount of charging current from the first power supply and less than all of the amount of charging current from the second power supply to the first receptacle and less than all of the amount of charging current from the second power supply to the second receptacle (claim 17).
Regarding claim 4, Saboury further teaches wherein the bridge assembly circuit comprises at least one current limiting circuit (claim 18).
Regarding claim 6, Saboury further teaches wherein the bridge assembly circuit comprises a first switch and a second switch to direct the amount of charging current from the first power supply and the amount of charging current from the second power supply to the first receptacle and/or the second receptacle (claim 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saboury in view of Maalouf et al. (US 2018/0138735).
Regarding claim 5, Saboury teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above except for a buck converter as claimed.
However, Maalouf teaches battery charger comprising current limiting circuit is a buck converter circuit (415, [0048]).
In view of Maalouf’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Saboury by incorporating the teaching as taught by Maalouf in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
References: Saboury et al. (2023/0097967); Siverhus et al. (US 2022/0344952) and Jones et al. (US 2012/0019190) are cited because they are related to battery charger.
/TUYEN K VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876