DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 3/15/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to Claim 1, it is unclear what structure exists within the lens element which allows the lens element to convert first circularly polarized light into second circularly polarized light. It is not clear if the lens itself is changing the polarization of the light or if the layers disposed on the lens is changing the polarization of the light. For the purpose of examination, the limitation “a lens element which faces the third retardation film and has a lens effect of condensing first circularly polarized light and converting first circularly polarized light into second circularly polarized light” will be interpreted as “a lens element which faces the third retardation film and has a lens effect of condensing first circularly polarized light and light which has been converted from first circularly polarized light into second circularly polarized light”
Claims 2-8 depend on claim 1 and therefore inherit the same deficiency.
With respect to Claim 2, the term “aerial layer” is indefinite because it is not structurally defined in the specification or claims nor is there a standard definition of “aerial layer” in the art. It is unclear if an aerial layer is an air gap or air interface, a layer which contains adhesive/bonding materials, or a space with no materials present. For the purpose of examination “aerial layer” is interpreted as “air interface”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 20190079234 A1) in view of Takagi (US 20190265493 A1, hereinafter 2Takagi).
With respect to Claim 1, Takagi discloses a display device comprising:
a display module (Fig. 9-- element 10, image display unit; [0049]) configured to emit display light which is linearly polarized light ([0049]: element 12 converts light emitted by element 10 to linearly polarized light);
a first retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 13, first ¼ wavelength plate; [0047]) which faces (Fig. 9-- element 13 faces element 11) the display module (Fig. 9-- element 10, image display unit; [0049]);
a second retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 22, may include second ¼ wavelength plate; [0057]);
a reflective polarizer (Fig. 9-- element 23, semi-transmissive polarizing plate; [0051]) which faces (Fig. 9-- element 23 faces element 22) the second retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 22, may include second ¼ wavelength plate; [0057]) and is configured to reflect first linearly polarized light and transmit second linearly polarized light ([0067]: element 23 transmits p-polarized light and reflects s-polarized light);
a third retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 224, light converting member which serves as a third ¼ wavelength plate; [0083]) which faces (Fig. 9-- element 224 faces element 23) the reflective polarizer (Fig. 9-- element 23, semi-transmissive polarizing plate; [0051]); and
a lens element (Fig. 9-- element L1, first lens; [0083]) which faces (Fig. 9-- element L1 faces element 224) the third retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 224, light converting member which serves as a third ¼ wavelength plate; [0083]) and has a lens effect of condensing first circularly polarized light and converting first circularly polarized light into second circularly polarized light ([0083]: circularly-polarized light is incident on element L1 after being correctly polarized via elements 23 and 22).
However, Takagi does not disclose a holographic optical element which faces the first retardation film and is configured to reflect first circularly polarized light having a specific incident angle and transmit light having an incident angle which is different from the specific incident angle, and a second retardation film which faces the holographic optical element.
Takagi and 2Takagi are related as both pertaining to the field of image display devices. 2Takagi discloses a display device comprising: a holographic optical element ([0087]: element 21 may provide an optical function surface such as a volume hologram grating) which faces (Fig. 1—element 13 faces element 21) the first retardation film (Fig. 1—element 13, polarization conversion member; [0035]) and is configured to reflect first circularly polarized light having a specific incident angle ([0032] and [0043]: circularly polarized light is reflected via element 13 after receiving p-polarized light transmitted by element 12) and transmit light having an incident angle which is different from the specific incident angle ([0060]: light is circularly polarized and transmitted by element 13), and a second retardation film (Fig. 1—element 22, polarization conversion member; [0037]) which faces (Fig. 1-- Element 22 faces element 21) the holographic optical element ([0087]: element 21 may provide an optical function surface such as a volume hologram grating). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Takagi with the volume holographic grating surface of Takagi2 in order to create a device which is capable of utilizing a folded optical path and a wide angle of view (2Takagi, [0045]).
With respect to Claim 4, Takagi and 2Takagi disclose the display device of claim 1, and Takagi further discloses wherein the first retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 13, first ¼ wavelength plate; [0047]), the second retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 22, may include second ¼ wavelength plate; [0057]) and the third retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 224, light converting member which serves as a third ¼ wavelength plate; [0083]) are quarter-wave plates ([0047], [0057], and [0083]: elements 13, 22, and 224 are quarter-wave plates).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 20190079234 A1) in view of Takagi (US 20190265493 A1, hereinafter 2Takagi) further in view of Gay (US 20100177113 A1).
With respect to Claim 2, Takagi and 2Takagi disclose the display device of claim 1,and Takagi further discloses wherein the first retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 13, first ¼ wavelength plate; [0047]) and the second retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 22, may include second ¼ wavelength plate; [0057]) are stacked (Fig. 9—elements 13 and 22 are disposed side by side along the optical axis), the reflective polarizer (Fig. 9-- element 23, semi-transmissive polarizing plate; [0051]), the third retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 224, light converting member which serves as a third ¼ wavelength plate; [0083]) and the lens element (Fig. 9-- element L1, first lens; [0083]) are stacked (Fig. 9—elements 23, 224, and L1 are all stacked).
However, Takagi does not disclose the holographic optical element or an aerial layer is interposed between the second retardation film and the reflective polarizer.
Takagi and 2Takagi are related as both pertaining to the field of image display devices. 2Takagi discloses a display device comprising: a holographic optical element ([0087]: element 21 may provide an optical function surface such as a volume hologram grating; element 21 is stacked between a first and second retardation film, elements 13 and 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Takagi with the volume holographic grating surface of Takagi2 in order to create a device which is capable of utilizing a folded optical path and a wide angle of view (2Takagi, [0045]).
Takagi, 2Takagi, and Gay are related as pertaining to the field of image display devices. Gay discloses that optical components constituting the optical system of the curved-appearance display may be either separated from each other by an air interface or in contact with each other by means of index-matching between layers using an element ([0096]).
Furthermore, with the provision that optical components may be separated by an air interface or in contact with each other by means of index-matching between layers using an element as taught by Gay ([0096)], this is a genus of only 2 species, (a) there is an air interface between elements, (b) the elements are in contact with each other by means of index-matching between layers using an element. Thus, because this is a genus with only two species all of them would be at once envisaged by an ordinary skilled artisan.
See MPEP § 2131.02(III). A reference disclosure can anticipate a claim when the reference describes the limitations but "'d[oes] not expressly spell out' the limitations as arranged or combined as in the claim, if a person of skill in the art, reading the reference, would ‘at once envisage' the claimed arrangement or combination." Kennametal, Inc. v. Ingersoll Cutting Tool Co., 780 F.3d 1376, 1381, 114 USPQ2d 1250, 1254 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (quoting In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 681(CCPA 1962)).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 20190079234 A1) in view of Takagi (US 20190265493 A1, hereinafter 2Takagi) further in view of Popovich (US 20120218481 A1).
With respect to Claim 3, Takagi and 2Takagi disclose the display device of claim 1,but Takagi does not disclose wherein the holographic optical element comprises Bragg surfaces which incline in a same direction on a whole surface.
Takagi and 2Takagi are related as both pertaining to the field of image display devices. 2Takagi discloses a display device comprising: a holographic optical element ([0087]: element 21 may provide an optical function surface such as a volume hologram grating; element 21 is stacked between a first and second retardation film, elements 13 and 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Takagi with the volume holographic grating surface of Takagi2 in order to create a device which is capable of utilizing a folded optical path and a wide angle of view (2Takagi, [0045]).
Takagi, 2Takagi, and Popovich are related as pertaining to the field of image display devices. Popovich discloses holographic optical element (Fig. 1—element 10, DOE; [0087]) comprising Bragg surfaces (Fig. 1—element 30, slanted fringes; [0087]) which incline in a same direction on a whole surface (See Fig. 1—the grates are disposed at the same angle across the surface of element 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Takagi with the grating of Popovich in order to create a device which is capable of high refractive index modulation and high diffraction efficiency for P-polarized light (Popovich, [0087]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 20190079234 A1) in view of Takagi (US 20190265493 A1, hereinafter 2Takagi) further in view of Kamo (US 20220326526 A1).
With respect to Claim 5, Takagi and 2Takagi disclose the display device of claim 1, and Takagi further discloses wherein the lens element (Fig. 9-- element L1, first lens; [0083]).
However, Takagi does not disclose wherein the lens element comprises a liquid crystal layer which is cured in a state where alignment directions of a plurality of liquid crystal molecules are fixed, the liquid crystal layer comprises, in plan view, a first annular area in which a plurality of first liquid crystal molecules are aligned in a same direction, and a second annular area in which a plurality of second liquid crystal molecules are aligned in a same direction on an external side relative to the first annular area, and the alignment direction of the first liquid crystal molecules is different from the alignment direction of the second liquid crystal molecules.
Takagi, 2Takagi, and Kamo are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Kamo discloses wherein
a liquid crystal layer ([0596]: liquid crystal layer) which is cured in a state where alignment directions of a plurality of liquid crystal molecules are fixed ([0597]: regions of the liquid crystal component may be formed with a uniformed alignment),
the liquid crystal layer ([0596]: liquid crystal layer) comprises, in plan view, a first annular area in which a plurality of first liquid crystal molecules are aligned in a same direction, and a second annular area in which a plurality of second liquid crystal molecules are aligned in a same direction on an external side relative to the first annular area,
and the alignment direction of the first liquid crystal molecules is different from the alignment direction of the second liquid crystal molecules ([0598]: the liquid crystal layer may be formed with any pattern of different alignment regions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Takagi and 2Takagi with the liquid crystal layer of Kamo in order to create a device with high transmittance to visible light and is easily produces (Kamo, [0480]).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 20190079234 A1) in view of Takagi (US 20190265493 A1, hereinafter 2Takagi) further in view of Hisatake (JP 2000193962 A).
With respect to Claim 6, Takagi and 2Takagi disclose the display device of claim 1, and Takagi further discloses wherein the display module (Fig. 9-- element 10, image display unit; [0049]) comprises a display panel (Fig. 9-- element 11, panel; [0049]), and an illumination device ([0048]: element 11 may include a back light) provided on a back surface of the display panel (Fig. 9-- element 11, panel; [0049]), and the illumination device ([0048]: element 11 may include a back light) comprises a plurality of light emitting elements ([0048]: element 11 may include an OLED element) and is configured to emit illumination light (Fig. 9—GL, image light; [0053]) such that light which is reflected on the reflective polarizer (Fig. 9-- element 23, semi-transmissive polarizing plate; [0051]) enters the previous optical element at the specific incident angle ([0060]: light reflected by element 23 is reflected back into element 21 to be converted to p-polarized light).
However, Takagi does not disclose wherein an illumination device comprises a light guide, and a plurality of light emitting elements facing a side surface of the light guide. Takagi and Hisatake are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Hisatake discloses wherein an illumination device (Fig. 1(a)—element 21, surface light source; [0026]) comprises a light guide (Fig. 1(a)—element 22, light guide plate; [0026]), and a light emitting element (Fig. 1(a)—element 24, linear light source; [0026]) facing a side surface (Fig. 1(a)—light source element 24 is arranged on a side surface of element 22) of the light guide (Fig. 1(a)—element 22, light guide plate; [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Takagi with the light guide of Hisatake in order to create a device in which the utilization efficiency of the light from the linear light source can be extremely increased (Hisatake, [0019]).
However, Takagi does not disclose holographic optical element.
Takagi and 2Takagi are related as both pertaining to the field of image display devices. 2Takagi discloses a display device comprising: a holographic optical element ([0087]: element 21 may provide an optical function surface such as a volume hologram grating; element 21 is stacked between a first and second retardation film, elements 13 and 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Takagi with the volume holographic grating surface of Takagi2 in order to create a device which is capable of utilizing a folded optical path and a wide angle of view (2Takagi, [0045]).
With respect to Claim 8, Takagi, 2Takagi, and Hisatake disclose the display device of claim 6, Takagi further discloses wherein each of the first retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 13, first ¼ wavelength plate; [0047]), the second retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 22, may include second ¼ wavelength plate; [0057]), the reflective polarizer (Fig. 9-- element 23, semi-transmissive polarizing plate; [0051]), the third retardation film (Fig. 9-- element 224, light converting member which serves as a third ¼ wavelength plate; [0083]) and the lens element (Fig. 9-- element L1, first lens; [0083]) comprises a first end portion (See annotated Fig. 9—first end portion) on a side on which the light emitting elements ([0048]: element 11 may include an OLED element) are provided, and a second end portion (See annotated Fig. 9—second end portion) on an opposite side of the first end portion (See annotated Fig. 9—first end portion), and a width from the display panel (Fig. 9-- element 11, panel; [0049]) to the first end portion (See annotated Fig. 9—first end portion) is less than a width from the display panel (Fig. 9-- element 11, panel; [0049]) to the second end portion (See annotated Fig. 9—second end portion) (Fig. 9—the display panel is closer to the first end portion than the second end portion).
However, Takagi does not disclose holographic optical element.
Takagi and 2Takagi are related as both pertaining to the field of image display devices. 2Takagi discloses a display device comprising: a holographic optical element ([0087]: element 21 may provide an optical function surface such as a volume hologram grating; element 21 is stacked between a first and second retardation film, elements 13 and 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Takagi with the volume holographic grating surface of Takagi2 in order to create a device which is capable of utilizing a folded optical path and a wide angle of view (2Takagi, [0045]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (US 20190079234 A1) in view of Takagi (US 20190265493 A1, hereinafter 2Takagi) further in view of Hisatake (JP 2000193962 A) further in view of Waldern (US 20200292745 A1).
With respect to Claim 7, Takagi, 2Takagi, and Hisatake disclose the display device of claim 6, but Takagi, 2Takagi, and Hisatake do not disclose wherein the light emitting elements are laser elements. Waldern is related to Takagi, 2Takagi, and Hisatake as pertaining to the field of image display devices. Waldern discloses wherein the light emitting elements are laser elements ([0031]: light emitting elements may be LED or laser).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Takagi, 2Takagi, and Hisatake with the laser light source of Waldern in order to create a display which may reduce dispersion (Waldern, [0055]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okamoto (US 20050248698 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and [0114]-[0119].
Li (US 20150160492 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. X and [0035].
Liu (US 20190079338 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1a and [0040]-[0046].
Koshelev (US 20210364808 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 5a and [0051].
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872