DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a non-final office action for application 18/605,888 filed on 15 March 2024. The preliminary amendment dated 31 March 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 23-25, 27-31, 33-40, 42 and 44 are objected to for the following reasons:
Claim 23 and Claim 34 are each objected to for containing multiple sentences. A period should only appear at the end of the claim. In each claim, there is a period at the end of the (ii) section. Claims 24-25, 27-31, 33, 35-40, 42 and 44 are also objected to because they depend upon, and therefore include, Claim 23 or Claim 34.
Claim 23 is further objected to because the claim ends in a semicolon. A period should appear at the end of each claim. Claims 24-25, 27-31 and 33 are also objected to because they depend upon, and therefore include, Claim 23.
Claims 24, 27, 29-30, 35, 37-38 and 40 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 23 and Claim 34, in two places in each claim, please replace “ASTM 638” with “ASTM 1238” to match the melt flow ASTM standards disclosed in the specification (cur spec: Tables 1-2). The ASTM 638 standard is for tensile properties (cur spec: p. 15, lines 5-9).
In Claim 24 and Claim 37, please replace “where in” with “wherein” to maintain consistency with the rest of the claims.
In Claims 27, 35 and 38, please replace “µ” with “μm”.
In Claims 29, 30 and 40, please replace “polymer comprise” with “polymer comprises”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-25, 27-31, 33-40, 42 and 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 23 and 34 each recite in the (i) component a percentage range for the glass fiber and then a percentage range for the interfacial modifier, then each recite that “the percentages based on the glass fiber”. This basis appears to be recited for all of the limitations in the (i) component, but it is not clear how a percentage of glass fiber can be based on the glass fiber itself. If the percentage basis is only for the interfacial modifier, please recite that clearly in the claim language. Claims 24-25, 27-31, 33, 35-40, 42 and 44 are also rejected because they depend upon, and therefore include, Claim 24 or Claim 34.
Claim 25 recites a limitation that the composition comprises 10-20 wt% of polypropylene homopolymer. Claim 25 depends upon, and therefore includes Claim 23. Claim 23 recites (iii) the balance to make 100wt% of polypropylene polymer. Claim 23 does not recite that the polypropylene polymer is a polypropylene homopolymer. It is not clear whether Claim 25 is adding a limitation to the (iii) component of Claim 23, reciting a homopolymer subcomponent of the (iii) polymer, or reciting a new component for the composition. Please clarify so that skilled users can know if they are within the scope of the claim.
Claim 30 recites that the percentage is based on the grafted polypropylene. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the grafted polypropylene” in this claim. The claim earlier recites that the grafted polyolefin polymer comprises a grafted polyethylene but there is no recitation of “a grafted polypropylene” in either Claim 30 or Claim 23 from which Claim 30 depends. Please clarify so that skilled users can know which grafted polymer is being used and the basis for the recited grafting percentage.
Claim 33 recites that the masterbatch pellet can be combined with a polypropylene polymer. Claim 33 depends upon, and therefore includes Claim 23. Claim 23 recites polypropylene polymer for its (iii) component. It is not clear whether the polypropylene polymer combined with the pellet in Claim 33 is the same or is different from the polypropylene polymer in the (iii) component of Claim 23.
The term “increased amount” in Claim 33 and Claim 44 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “increased amount” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no basis amount recited for which the “increased amount” can be compared to.
Claim 37 recites that the composition comprises about 3-8wt% of maleic anhydride grafted polypropylene. Claim 37 depends upon, and therefore includes Claim 34. Claim 34 recites for its (ii) component, 2-5wt% of grafted polypropylene polymer. It is not clear whether the maleic anhydride grafted polypropylene recited in Claim 37 is a limitation on the (ii) component of Claim 34, or if it is a new component. If it is a limitation on the (ii) component, then Claim 37 includes wt% which are outside of the range recited in Claim 34.
Claim 33 and Claim 44 each recite yielding 15-85 wt% of the glass fiber following combining the masterbatch pellet with a polypropylene polymer at a ratio of about 10 to 2 parts by weight of polymer per part by weight of pellet. Claim 33 comprises the masterbatch composition of Claim 23 which contains 70-97 wt% of fiber. Claim 44 comprises the masterbatch composition of Claim 34 which contains 76-90 wt% of fiber. Following combining 10 to 2 parts of polymer with one part of the masterbatch pellet calculates to ranges of possible glass fiber yields in the combined composition of 6.4-32.3wt% for Claim 33 and 6.9-30wt% for Claim 44. It is not clear how yields as high as 85wt% glass fiber could be obtained by the recited compounding for either Claim 33 or Claim 44.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 40 recites that the grafted polypropylene polymer comprise a maleic anhydride grafted polypropylene that comprises about 0.5-3wt% of grafted maleic anhydride. Claim 40 depends upon, and therefore includes, Claim 39 and Claim 34. Claim 34 recites that its grafted polypropylene as 1-2wt% of a grafted polar side group. The range recited for the grafted maleic anhydride in Claim 40 is broader than the range recited for the grafted polar side group in Claim 34. Claim 40 fails to include all the limitations of the claims from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-25, 27-29, 31, 33-40, 42 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOSHINO (US-5514745-A) as evidenced by SYBRIDGE (Know Your Materials (2021)).
Regarding Claim 23, YOSHINO teaches a master batch in the form of pellets containing long glass fibers in polypropylene resin, where the master batch pellets have a glass fiber content of about 60-90 wt% (Abstract), preferably about 70-85wt% (Col 6: 52-53). YOSHINO exemplifies masterbatch pellets with 75wt% glass fiber (Col 9: 27-28) which satisfies the requirement that the glass fiber content is at least 70wt%. YOSHINO teaches that its glass fibers must be surface-finished with a finishing agent containing a coupling agent (Col 4: 31-32). This is interpreted as satisfying the interfacial modifier component of (i) as recited by the claim.
YOSHINO teaches that its masterbatch composition contains a modified polypropylene resin with a functional group capable of chemically bonding with the coupling agent and having a melt flow rate of 70-300 g/10min as measured by ASTM 1238 (Abstract; Col 5: 58-61) which satisfies the requirement of (ii) a grafted polyolefin polymer in an amount that overlaps the requirement that the melt flow index is greater than 80g/10min. YOSHINO generally teaches that its functional group is grafted onto the polypropylene in an amount of 0.01-5wt% and is preferably a maleic-anhydride modified polypropylene grafted with about 0.02-1.5 wt% of maleic anhydride (Col 5: 6-17) which overlaps the 0.2-5wt% recited by the claim. YOSHINO exemplifies a maleic anhydride modified polypropylene with a melt flow rate of 120g/10min and a grafted maleic anhydride content of 1.2 wt% (Col 9: 3-5) which are within the ranges recited by the claim.
YOSHINO exemplifies mixing the modified polypropylene resin with polypropylene homopolymer in a 20wt%/80wt% ratio and then blending with the glass fibers to form 75wt% glass masterbatch pellets (Col 9: 6-7 and 27-28). The non-glass resin portion of the exemplary pellets being the remaining 25wt% which include modified polypropylene and polypropylene homopolymer in a 20/80 weight ratio calculates to 25*0.2 = 5wt% of modified polypropylene and 25*0.8 = 20wt% of polypropylene homopolymer in the masterbatch pellet. These are within the ranges recited by the (ii) and (iii) components recited by the claim. YOSHINO exemplifies polypropylene homopolymer having a melt flow rate of 8 g/10min (Col 8: 65-66) which satisfies the requirement that the melt flow rate is less than 80 g/10 min. Note that this polypropylene homopolymer forms the basis of the (ii) component before modification (Col 8:65-67 to Col 9:5) and then is combined back with in a 80/20 ratio with that modified polypropylene as the (iii) component (Col 9: 6-11). YOSHINO does not teach the flex modulus of its polypropylene homopolymer. Here, SYBRIDGE is used as an evidentiary reference to disclose that the Flexural modulus of standard homopolymer polypropylene is 180,000 psi (p. 4), which corresponds to 1241 MPa which satisfies the requirement that the flex modulus is greater than 700 MPa.
YOSHINO generally teaches that the surface finishing agent on its glass fibers, that satisfies the interfacial modifier component in (i), is present in an amount of about 0.05-3wt% (Col 4: 56-57) which encompasses the 0.5-2wt% that is recited by the claim. YOSHINO exemplifies 0.2wt% of y-aminopropyltriethoxysilane which is below the recited range, but it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the examples of YOSHINO and use amounts of surface finishing agent within the range taught in its specification that are also within the range recited by the claim. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974). For more discussion see MPEP 2144.05-I.
Regarding Claim 24, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 23. YOSHINO teaches glass fibers having a diameter of about 3 to about 40 µm (Col 4: 23-24) and exemplifies 16 µm (Col 9: 17) which is within the recited range. YOSHINO teaches pellets having a length of 2-50 mm (Col 3: 66-67) with glass fibers extending substantially through a distance equal to the length of the pellet (Col 4: 1-2) and exemplifies 10 mm pellets with fibers having the same length as the pellets (Col 9: 25 and 28-30) which satisfies the requirement of a length of 1-10 mm.
The recited 80-90wt% glass fiber overlaps the general teachings of 60-90wt% taught by YOSHINO (Abstract), but is not exemplified. The recited 1.2-1.6wt% of interfacial modifier is encompassed by the general teachings of 0.05-3wt% (Col 4: 56-57) but is not exemplified. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to further modify the examples of YOSHINO and use amounts of glass fiber and interfacial modifier that are within the teachings of its specification that are also within the range recited by the claim.
Regarding Claim 25, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 23. The Claim 23 rejection calculates that YOSHINO exemplifies 20wt% of polypropylene homopolymer which satisfies the requirement of 10-20wt% of polypropylene homopolymer.
Regarding Claim 27, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 23. YOSHINO teaches glass fibers having a diameter of about 3 to about 40 µm (Col 4: 23-24) and exemplifies 16 µm (Col 9: 17) which is within the recited range. YOSHINO teaches pellets having a length of 2-50 mm (Col 3: 66-67) with glass fibers extending substantially through a distance equal to the length of the pellet (Col 4: 1-2) which overlaps the recited range of 1-5 mm. YOSHINO does not exemplify a fiber length within the recited range, but it would be obvious to modify the examples of YOSHINO and use fiber lengths within the 2-50 mm taught in its specification that are also within the 1-5 mm recited by the claim.
Regarding Claim 28, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 23. YOSHINO teaches that its glass fiber can be an E-glass fiber (Col 4: 18-19).
Regarding Claim 29, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 23 where YOSHINO teaches maleic anhydride-modified polypropylene with about 0.02-1.5wt% maleic anhydride (Col 5: 15-17) and exemplifies 1.2 wt% maleic anhydride (Col. 9: 3-5).
Regarding Claim 30, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 23. YOSHINO teaches that the surface finishing agent for its glass fiber, used in the Claim 23 rejection to represent recited interface modifier, can be a modified polyolefin such as a polyethylene grafted with an acid anhydride (Col 4: 49-54). YOSHINO teaches maleic anhydride as a preferred acid anhydride modifier for a different modified polyolefin component (Col 5: 2; 14-16). Although YOSHINO teaches a grafted polyethylene as a surface finishing agent, it would still be present in the composition in amounts of 0.05-3wt% of the weight of the fibers which is 60-90wt% (Col 4: 56-57; Col 6:41-42) which calculates to an amount of 0.03-2.7wt% in the composition. Following the example of YOSHINO, the modified polyolefin component being present in an amount of 20% of the resin (Col 9:6) in a composition with 60-90wt% fibers Col 6:41-42) which calculates to 20% of the remaining 10-40% resin which calculates to 2-8wt% of modified polypropylene. The sum of the grafted polyethylene in the finishing agent and the modified polypropylene is 2.05-11wt% of modified polyolefin in the composition which overlaps the 3-8wt% recited by the claim. It would be obvious to use amounts of modified polyolefin within the ranges taught by YOSHINO that are also within the ranges recited by the claim. This satisfies the requirement that the grafted polyolefin polymer comprises a maleic anhydride polyethylene.
Regarding Claim 31, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 23. YOSHINO teaches that its masterbatch compositions have melt flow rates from 82g/10min to 280 g/10min (Col 9: 30-32), but YOSHINO does not measure a viscosity for its masterbatch compositions. But given that the recited viscosity range of 10,000 cP to 5,000,000 cP is so broad, no temperature or shear rate is disclosed for the viscosity measurement, and that YOSHINO teaches very similar compositions to those in the instant invention with similar amounts of glass fiber, grafted polyolefin and polypropylene homopolymer as those disclosed in the instant examples, one would inherently expect that the masterbatch compositions taught by YOSHINO would be within the recited viscosity range of 10,000 cP to 5,000,000 cP.
Regarding Claim 33, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 23. YOSHINO teaches pellets of a length of about 2-50 mm, preferably 3-25 mm (Col 6:58-62). YOSHINO exemplifies 10 mm pellets (Col 9:25) which is within the 1-50 mm recited by the claim. YOSHINO teaches that its pellets may be circular in section (Col 6: 61-62) which is interpreted as being a cylindrical pellet. YOSHINO teaches that the aspect ratio of its pellets is preferably about 1 to 10 (Col 6: 63-65) which when applied to the 2-50mm range calculates to a cylindrical diameter of 0.2-5 mm which overlaps the recited range and when applied to the exemplary 10 mm calculates to a diameter of 1 mm which is within the 1-20 mm that is recited by the claim.
YOSHINO teaches that its masterbatch pellets are blended with polypropylene in a composition consisting essentially of 5-70wt% masterbatch pellets and 30-95wt% polypropylene resin (Abstract) which corresponds to a range of weight ratio of 95/5 to 30/70, of 19 to 0.42 parts polypropylene resin per part of masterbatch pellets. YOSHINO obtains 40 wt% glass fiber in its exemplary combined compositions (Table 1). The recitation that the pellet can be combined with a polypropylene polymer in the recited ratio is an intended use. Case law holds that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The masterbatch pellets taught by YOSHINO are presumed suitable for the intended use of combining with polypropylene polymer in the recited ratios.
Regarding Claim 34, YOSHINO teaches a master batch in the form of pellets containing long glass fibers in polypropylene resin, where the master batch pellets have a glass fiber content of about 60-90 wt% (Abstract), preferably about 70-85wt% (Col 6: 52-53) which overlaps the recited range. YOSHINO exemplifies masterbatch pellets with 75wt% glass fiber (Col 9: 27-28) which is outside the 76-90wt% range recited by the claim, but it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the examples of YOSHINO and use amounts of glass fiber within the 60-90wt% range taught it its specification that is also within the 76-90wt% range recited by the claim. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974). For more discussion see MPEP 2144.05-I.
YOSHINO teaches that its glass fibers must be surface-finished with a finishing agent containing a coupling agent (Col 4: 31-32). This is interpreted as satisfying the interfacial modifier component of (i) as recited by the claim.
YOSHINO teaches that its masterbatch composition contains a modified polypropylene resin with a functional group capable of chemically bonding with the coupling agent and having a melt flow rate of 70-300 g/10min as measured by ASTM 1238 (Abstract; Col 5: 58-61) which satisfies the requirement of (ii) a grafted polyolefin polymer in an amount that overlaps the requirement that the melt flow index is greater than 80g/10min. YOSHINO generally teaches that its functional group is grafted onto the polypropylene in an amount of 0.01-5wt% and is preferably a maleic-anhydride modified polypropylene grafted with about 0.02-1.5 wt% of maleic anhydride (Col 5: 6-17) which overlaps the 1-2 wt% recited by the claim. YOSHINO exemplifies a maleic anhydride modified polypropylene with a melt flow rate of 120g/10min and a grafted maleic anhydride content of 1.2 wt% (Col 9: 3-5) which are within the ranges recited by the claim.
YOSHINO exemplifies mixing the modified polypropylene resin with polypropylene homopolymer in a 20wt%/80wt% ratio and then blending with the glass fibers to form 75wt% glass masterbatch pellets (Col 9: 6-7 and 27-28) which is just below the recited range of 76-90wt% glass fiber. In the obvious modification above extending these ranges to 76-90 wt% glass fiber, that corresponds to 10-24wt% of the remaining resin and the 20/80 weight ratio of modified polypropylene to polypropylene homopolymer corresponds to ranges of 2-4.8wt% for the modified propylene and 8-19.2wt% of the polypropylene homopolymer. These are within the ranges recited by the (ii) and (iii) components recited by the claim. YOSHINO exemplifies polypropylene homopolymer having a melt flow rate of 8 g/10min (Col 8: 65-66) which satisfies the requirement that the melt flow rate is less than 80 g/10 min. Note that this polypropylene homopolymer forms the basis of the polypropylene in the (ii) component before modification (Col 8:65-67 to Col 9:5) and then is combined back with in a 80/20 ratio with that modified polypropylene as the (iii) component (Col 9: 6-11). YOSHINO does not teach the flex modulus of its polypropylene homopolymer. Here, SYBRIDGE is used as an evidentiary reference to disclose that the Flexural modulus of standard homopolymer polypropylene is 180,000 psi (p. 4), which corresponds to 1241 MPa which satisfies the requirement that the flex modulus is within the range of 1000-1500 MPa.
YOSHINO generally teaches that the surface finishing agent on its glass fibers, that satisfies the interfacial modifier component in (i), is present in an amount of about 0.05-3wt% (Col 4: 56-57) which encompasses the 0.5-2wt% that is recited by the claim. YOSHINO exemplifies 0.2wt% of y-aminopropyltriethoxysilane which is below the recited range, but it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the examples of YOSHINO and use amounts of surface finishing agent within the range taught in its specification that are also within the range recited by the claim.
Regarding Claim 35, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 34. YOSHINO teaches glass fibers having a diameter of about 3 to about 40 µm (Col 4: 23-24) and exemplifies 16 µm (Col 9: 17) which is within the recited range. YOSHINO teaches pellets having a length of 2-50 mm (Col 3: 66-67) with glass fibers extending substantially through a distance equal to the length of the pellet (Col 4: 1-2) and exemplifies 10 mm pellets with fibers having the same length as the pellets (Col 9: 25 and 28-30) which satisfies the requirement of a length of 1-10 mm.
The recited 1.2-1.6wt% of interfacial modifier is encompassed by the general teachings of 0.05-3wt% (Col 4: 56-57) but is not exemplified. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to further modify the examples of YOSHINO and use amounts of interfacial modifier that are within the teachings of its specification that are also within the range recited by the claim.
Regarding Claim 36, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 34. The Claim 34 rejection calculates that when the exemplary 20/80 weight ratio of modified polypropylene to polypropylene homopolymer is applied to the remaining 10-24wt% of resin, that calculates to a 8-19.2wt% of the polypropylene homopolymer which largely overlaps the recited 10-20wt% polypropylene homopolymer that is recited by the claim. It would be obvious to further modify the examples to use amounts of polypropylene homopolymer taught in the specification that are also within the range recited by the claim.
Regarding Claim 37, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 34. In the Claim 34 rejection, a range of 2-4.8wt% for the maleic anhydride modified propylene is calculated. This overlaps the recited range of 3-8 wt%. It would be obvious to further modify the examples to use amounts of maleic anhydride modified propylene taught in the specification that are also within the range recited by the claim.
Regarding Claim 38, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 34. YOSHINO teaches glass fibers having a diameter of about 3 to about 40 µm (Col 4: 23-24) and exemplifies 16 µm (Col 9: 17) which is within the recited range. YOSHINO teaches pellets having a length of 2-50 mm (Col 3: 66-67) with glass fibers extending substantially through a distance equal to the length of the pellet (Col 4: 1-2) which overlaps the recited range of 1-5 mm. YOSHINO does not exemplify a fiber length within the recited range, but it would be obvious to modify the examples of YOSHINO and use fiber lengths within the 2-50 mm taught in its specification that are also within the 1-5 mm recited by the claim.
Regarding Claim 39, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 34. YOSHINO teaches that its glass fiber can be an E-glass fiber (Col 4: 18-19).
Regarding Claim 40, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 39. YOSHINO teaches maleic anhydride-modified polypropylene with about 0.02-1.5wt% maleic anhydride (Col 5: 15-17) and exemplifies 1.2 wt% maleic anhydride (Col. 9: 3-5).
Regarding Claim 42, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 23. YOSHINO teaches that its masterbatch compositions have melt flow rates from 82g/10min to 280 g/10min (Col 9: 30-32), but YOSHINO does not measure a viscosity for its masterbatch compositions. But given that the recited viscosity range of 10,000 cP to 5,000,000 cP is so broad, no temperature or shear rate is disclosed for the viscosity measurement, and that YOSHINO teaches very similar compositions to those in the instant invention with similar amounts of glass fiber, grafted polypropylene and polypropylene homopolymer as those disclosed in the instant examples, one would inherently expect that the masterbatch compositions taught by YOSHINO would be within the recited viscosity range of 10,000 cP to 5,000,000 cP.
Regarding Claim 44, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 23. YOSHINO teaches pellets of a length of about 2-50 mm, preferably 3-25 mm (Col 6:58-62). YOSHINO exemplifies 10 mm pellets (Col 9:25) which is within the 1-50 mm recited by the claim. YOSHINO teaches that its pellets may be circular in section (Col 6: 61-62) which is interpreted as being a cylindrical pellet. YOSHINO teaches that the aspect ratio of its pellets is preferably about 1 to 10 (Col 6: 63-65) which when applied to the 2-50mm range calculates to a cylindrical diameter of 0.2-5 mm which overlaps the recited range and when applied to the exemplary 10 mm calculates to a diameter of 1 mm which is within the 1-20 mm that is recited by the claim.
YOSHINO teaches that its masterbatch pellets are blended with polypropylene in a composition consisting essentially of 5-70wt% masterbatch pellets and 30-95wt% polypropylene resin (Abstract) which corresponds to a range of weight ratio of 95/5 to 30/70, of 19 to 0.42 parts polypropylene resin per part of masterbatch pellets. YOSHINO obtains 40 wt% glass fiber in its exemplary combined compositions (Table 1). The recitation that the pellet can be combined with a polypropylene polymer in the recited ratio is an intended use. Case law holds that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The masterbatch pellets taught by YOSHINO are presumed suitable for the intended use of combining with polypropylene polymer in the recited ratios.
Claim 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOSHINO (US-5514745-A) in view of KESSLER (WO-2022258218-A1) as evidenced by SYBRIDGE (Know Your Materials (2021)).
Regarding Claim 30, Claim 30 is rejected above under the argument that a maleic anhydride-modified polyethylene could be used as the surface finishing agent (interfacial modifier) in amounts that are within the ranges recited by the claim.
To the extent that YOSHINO does not teach that the grafted polyolefin is a maleic anhydride grafted polyethylene with the recited characteristics, modified YOSHINO teaches the invention of Claim 23 above. YOSHINO teaches that the surface finishing agent for its glass fiber, used in the Claim 23 rejection to represent recited interface modifier, can be a modified polyolefin such as a polyethylene grafted with an acid anhydride (Col 4: 49-54) but YOSHINO teaches compositions containing maleic anhydride grafted polypropylene as the component to chemically bond with the finishing agent on its glass fibers (Abstract) and not maleic anhydride grafted polyethylene. KESSLER, in an invention of a composition comprising a propylene polymer and glass fibers (Abstract), teaches that its composition may contain a compatibilizer (Abstract) where the compatibilizer is polyethylene and/or a polypropylene grafted with maleic anhydride (MAH-g-PP and/or MAH-PE)([0117]) where the maleic anhydride is grafted at amounts of 0.5-3wt% ([0119]) which is within the range recited by the claim. The “and/or” is interpreted as meaning that MAH-g-PP and MAH-PE can be used in combination. KESSLER teaches that its compatibilizer is preferably included to increase the compatibility of the glass fibers with the other components which includes the propylene polymer component (A)([0113]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the invention of YOSHINO with the teachings of KESSLER and include a maleic anhydride modified polyethylene along with the maleic anhydride modified polypropylene taught by YOSHINO for the purpose of increasing the compatibility of the glass fiber with the polypropylene resin. This satisfies the requirement that the grafted polyolefin polymer comprises a maleic anhydride polyethylene.
Conclusion
/D.R.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764