Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20110035808 to Butler et al. (hereinafter Butler).
Regarding claim 1, Butler teaches,
A computer system comprising
a processor in communication with a memory structure; ([0068] teaches the processor in communication with disk and memory. Abstract, teaches Rootkit-resistant disks (RRD) label all immutable system binaries and configuration files at installation time. To upgrade, the host is booted into a safe state and system blocks can only be modified if a security token is attached to the disk controller. Thus, immutability (read-only) is enforced on all configurations / boot code, unless a token is provided to allow for updating / modification.)
the processor retrieving and executing executable code stored in the memory structure thereby to process data stored in and retrieved from the memory structure; ([0023] teaches the RRD protect all portions of the boot process that use immutable code or data, including the master boot record (MBR). See also, Abstract.)
the memory structure including at least an area designated as an executable application code storage area and a separate area designated as a data storage area; ([0040] teaches only using tokens to allow for installations / modifications to boot / configuration files, while not enforcing / forcing the use of tokens for changes to files such as documents in the user's home directory. Similarly, [0015] teaches RRD intermixes mutable and immutable data on same drive, and allows upgrading and patching. See also [0059-60] teaching immutable and mutable blocks of data.)
structuring computer hardware and firmware on a computing platform of the computer system (fig. 2 teaches structure of disk RRD. [0023] teaches BIOS / “firmware”, and [0043] teaches protecting BIOS. [0057] teaches BIOS loading at boot time.) so as to test certain aspects of a block of code and the environment in which it is located prior to a binary loader of the computing platform loading and executing the block of code. (Abstract, teaches enforcing immutability at the disk controller, which is before boot loading. [0057-58] teach RRD being loaded at boot time. [0059-60] teach how the MBR, boot loader, kernel and any kernel modules must be immutable to prevent overwriting by kernel level rootkits, and that booting is performed. Abstract, teaches that system blocks may only be modified if the security token is attached)
Regarding claim 2, Butler teaches,
The computer system of claim 1
wherein in instances where the block of code fails one or more of the tests then the block of code is not loaded and/or is not executed by the binary loader. ([0082-83] teaches the failure of the rootkit to update the disk due to the RRD. Abstract, teaches the RRD enforces immutability at the disk, and prevents infection / compromise of operating system. [0015] teaches the RRD enforcing the immutability of some, but not all data.)
Regarding claim 3, Butler teaches,
A method of operating a computer system; the computer system comprising
a processor in communication with a memory structure;
the processor retrieving and executing executable code stored in the memory structure thereby to process data stored in and retrieved from the memory structure;
the memory structure including at least an area designated as an executable application code storage area and a separate area designated as a data storage area;
the method comprising structuring computer hardware and firmware on a computing platform of the computer system so as to test certain aspects of a block of code and the environment in which it is located prior to a binary loader of the computing platform loading and executing the block of code.
Claim 3 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Butler teaches,
The method of claim 3 wherein in instances where the block of code fails one or more of the tests then the block of code is not loaded and/or is not executed by the binary loader.
Claim 4 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, Butler teaches,
A computer system comprising
a processor in communication with a memory structure;
the processor retrieving and executing executable code stored in the memory structure thereby to process data stored in and retrieved from the memory structure;
the memory structure including at least an area designated as an executable application code storage area and a separate area designated as a data storage area.
Claim 5 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Butler teaches,
The system of claim 5 wherein the executable application code storage area is switchable by a memory state switch structure between at least a first state and a second state; (fig. 2, teaches physical token. Abstract, teaches that system blocks may only be modified if the security token is attached.)
whereby in the first state the memory in the executable application code storage area is read enabled and write enabled; ([0015] teaches intermixing immutable (read only) with mutable (read/write) data. See also, [0058-61] for additional teaching regarding boot code being immutable while user documents are mutable.)
whereby in the second state the memory in the executable application code storage area is read enabled and write disabled. ([0015] teaches intermixing immutable (read only) with mutable (read/write) data. See also, [0058-61] for additional teaching regarding boot code being immutable while user documents are mutable.)
Conclusion
/B.W.A./
/FARID HOMAYOUNMEHR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2495