DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Other references could have been used to anticipate the claims including Frolov et al (US 2016/0050012) which was used to reject the claims in continuation application 15/929,276 now patent 11/515,931. However, to minimize multiple rejections, Frolov was not utilized to anticipate the claims in the instant office action. To expedite prosecution, applicants are requested to draft any amendments that overcome Frolov and prior art used in the rejection below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No 11,515,931. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to modify the broaden the claims of the instant application to arrive at the claims of patent 11,515,931.
Claim 1 of the instant application equates to claim 1 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application the system components:
a transmitter configured to wirelessly transmit a data signal along a transmission
a receiver configured to receive the data signal, wherein the receiver is positioned at a different
location along the transmission path than the transmitter
at least two drones arranged in series and positioned along the transmission path between the
transmitter and the receiver
wherein one of the drones is configured to receive the data signal from the transmitter and
transmit the data signal to another of the drones
wherein one of the drones is configured to receive the data signal from another of the drones and
transmit the data signal to the receiver;
since all the components of the system claim in claim 1 of the instant application are a broader recitation of the components in claim 1 in issued patent 11,515,931, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify claim 1 in patent 11,515,931 to arrive at claim 1 in the instant application.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 in the instant application is identical to claim 2 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 in the instant application is recited in claim 1 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 in the instant application is recited in claim 1 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 in the instant application is recited in claim 1 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 in the instant application is recited in claim 1 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 in the instant application is recited in claim 1 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 in the instant application is identical to claim 3 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 in the instant application is identical to claim 4 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 in the instant application is identical in claim 5 in patent 11,515,931.
Claim 12 of the instant application equates to claim 7 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 12 of the instant application the claimed method steps:
launching a series of drones so that the drones travel along a transmission path between a
transmitter and a receive
transmitting a data signal from the transmitter to a drone in the series of drones within range of
the transmitter path;
retransmitting the data signal from the drone that received the data signal from the transmitter to another drone in the series of;
transmitting the data signal to the receiver from a drone in the series of drones within range of
the receiver.
since all the method steps in claim 12 of the instant application are a broader recitation of the method steps in claim 7 in issued patent 11,515,931, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify claim 1 in patent 11,515,931 to arrive at claim 1 in the instant application.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 in the instant application is recited in claim 7 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 in the instant application is recited in claim 7 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 in the instant application is identical in claim 8 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 16, claim 2 in the instant application is recited in claim 7 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 17, claim 3 in the instant application is identical to claim 9 in patent 11,515,931.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 in the instant application corresponds to claim 10 is recited in patent 11,515,931. Claim 18 recites the additional limitation that the steerable antenna is mounted on the drone. Official notice is taken it well known to mount a steerable antenna on the drone to enable more precise location control including when landing of the drone is needed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to include mounting a steerable antenna on a drone for the benefit adding precise location control especially when needed for landing.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 in the instant application corresponds to claim 11 is recited in patent 11,515,931. Claim 18 recites the additional limitation that the steerable antenna is mounted on the drone. Official notice is taken it well known to mount a steerable antenna on the drone to enable more precise location control including when landing of the drone is needed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to include mounting a steerable antenna on a drone for the benefit adding precise location control especially when needed for landing.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 in the instant application is recited in claim 7 in patent 11,515,931.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 12, 13 15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being Anticipated by Tu (US 9,836,049).
Regarding claim 1, Tu teaches A system comprising:
a transmitter configured to wirelessly transmit a data signal along a transmission path [fig 3: transmitter in base station 216 transmits data along a transmission path to drone 102B; col 10 line 62 – col 11 line 35; see control signal col 1 lines 53 - 57];
a receiver configured to receive the data signal, wherein the receiver is positioned at a different
location along the transmission path than the transmitter [fig 3; working drone 214 receives signal from base station 216 via transmission path 108a, 310, 108B; col 10 line 62 – col 11 line35];
at least two drones arranged in series and positioned along the transmission path between the
transmitter and the receiver [fig 3 & col 10 line 62 – col 11 line 35: drones 102A and 102B are positioned in series along the transmission path between mobile drone 214 and base station 216];
wherein one of the drones is configured to receive the data signal from the transmitter and
transmit the data signal to another of the drones [fig 3; col 10 line 62 – col 11 line 35; drone 102A receives signal from base station 216];
wherein one of the drones is configured to receive the data signal from another of the drones and [fig 3; col 10 line 62 – col 11 line 35; drone 102b receives signal from drone 102A]
transmit the data signal to the receiver [col 10 line 62 – col 11 line 35; col 7 lines 35 - 38].
Regarding claim 2 (the system of claim 1), Tu teaches wherein the drones are winged [see winged drones in fig 5B and fig 9].
Regarding claim 3 (the system of claim 1), Tu teaches wherein the transmission path is a geodesic line [fig 1; fig 3 on curved space i.e. on the earth (curved) it is noted a geodesic line is defined as a straight line in a curved space].
Regarding claim 5 (the system of claim 1), Tu teaches wherein the drones are launched from a location within range of the transmitter [col 6 lines 26 – 30; see launch from base station].
Regarding claim 7 (the system of claim 1), Tu teaches wherein the drones include a steerable antenna [see col 6 lines 33 – 40: see drone with moveable antenna].
Regarding claim 10 (the system of claim 1), Tu teaches wherein the data signal is transmitted using microwaves [see col 7 lines 38 – 44; communication link maybe microwave radio].
Regarding claim 12 Tu teaches a method comprising:
launching a series of drones so that the drones travel along a transmission path between a
transmitter and a receive [fig 3: transmitter in base station 216 transmits data along a transmission path to drone 102B; col 10 line 62 – col 11 line 35; see control signal col 1 lines 53 – 57; col 6 lines 26 – 30; see launch from base station].
transmitting a data signal from the transmitter to a drone in the series of drones within range of
the transmitter path [fig 3: transmitter in base station 216 transmits data along a transmission path to drone 102B; col 10 line 62 – col 11 line 35; see control signal col 1 lines 53 - 57];
retransmitting the data signal from the drone that received the data signal from the transmitter to another drone in the series of drones [fig 3; col 10 line 62 – col 11 line 35; drone 102b receives signal from drone 102A] ;
transmitting the data signal to the receiver from a drone in the series of drones within range of
the receiver [col 10 line 62 – col 11 line 35; col 7 lines 35 – 38; control data is sent from base station to mobile drone].
Regarding claim 13 (the method of claim 12), Tu teaches further comprising:
launching the drones in a series of drones from a location within range of the transmitter [col 6 lines 26 – 30; see launch from base station].
Regarding claim 15 (the method of claim 12), Tu teaches further comprising:
landing a drone from the series of drones after the drone transmits a data signal to the receiver [col 6 lines 26 – 30; see launch from base station and landing at base station; it is the teaching is implied/implicit that the drone lands at the base station after sending control signal to receiver].
Regarding claim 16 (the method of claim 15), Tu teaches wherein the drones land at a location within range of the receiver [fig 3; drones 102A and 102B land at base station 216; it is noted “within range” is broad term which can be interpreted as “can be reached”; in the instant case, drones 102A and 102B are in “in range” of the working drone 214 to enable communication with working drone 214 as communication can be reaced];
Regarding claim 17 (the method of claim 15), Tu teaches further comprising:
returning a drone that has landed to the location from which the drones in a series of drones are
launched [col 6 lines 26 – 30; see launch from base station and landing at base station; it is the teaching is implied/implicit that the drone lands at the base station after sending control signal to receiver].
Regarding claim 20 (the method of claim 12), Tu teaches wherein the transmission path is a geodesic line [fig 1; fig 3 on curved space i.e. on the earth (curved) it is noted a geodesic line is defined as a straight line in a curved space].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 12-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speasl (US 2016/0364989) in view of Tu (US 9,836,049).
Regarding claim 1, Speasel teaches A system comprising:
a transmitter configured to wirelessly transmit a data signal along a transmission path [fig 1A & para 0045; base module 105 (transmitter) communicates with UAV 100 during flight]
a receiver configured to receive the data signal, wherein the receiver is positioned at a different
location along the transmission path than the transmitter [fig 1A & para 0045; receiver is second base station; the receiver configured to receive the data will be taught later]
at least two drones arranged in series and positioned along the transmission path between the
transmitter and the receiver [para 106: see below; two drones act as a hop between transmitter and receiver]
wherein one of the drones is configured to receive the data signal from the transmitter and
transmit the data signal to another of the drones [para 106: see below; transmitting the received data to the other drone will be taught later];
wherein one of the drones is configured to receive the data signal from another of the drones and [para 106: see below]
transmit the data signal to the receiver [para 0106: The UAV 100 may include a communications transceiver 530 as described in relation to FIG. 1A. Additionally, some UAVs 100 may communicate with other UAVs 100, either as an end destination to a communication or as a "hop" along to communicating with another device such as the base module 105 or manager device 600; transmit data to the other receiver will be taught later].
Although Speasl teaches receiving data from a transmitter at a drone, and sharing data between drones, and hoping data from one drone to second drone to a base station [para 0106] and information may travel through a network between it reaches a particular base station [0134], Speasl does not clearly teach that transmitting the same data from a transmitter to a receiver via multiple drones as claimed.
In analogous art, Tu teaches transmitting data from a transmitter to a receiver via drones [Fig 3: base station 216 (transmitter) sends control signals and data to work drone 214 (receiver) via drones 102A and 102B] and teaches this enables transmitter to receiver communication which boosts communication signal strength [see col 4 lines 12 -22] in situations where the base stations can’t communicate with each other [col 5 lines 5-15: see maintaining line of sight]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a receiver configured to receive the data signal, wherein the receiver is positioned at a different location along the transmission path than the transmitter, as taught by Tu, to enable boosting of signal strength and/or establishing another means for a transmitter and receiver stations to communicate with each other in instances where direct communication is not possible.
Regarding claim 2 (the system of claim 1), Speasl teaches wherein the drones are winged [para 0052; fig 4 E; see “winged UAV”].
Regarding claim 3 (the system of claim 1), Speasl teaches wherein the transmission path is a geodesic line [fig 10; para 0151: drones 100A, 100B and 100C form a straight line on property 1000 on curved space i.e. property 1000 on the earth (curved) it is noted a geodesic line is defined as a straight line in a curved space].
Regarding claim 4 (the system of claim 1), Speasl teaches wherein the drones are launched from a location upwind of the receiver receiver [para 0051: The base module 105 of fig 1A includes take-off/landing surface 115 on which UAV may land or take off from; since drones are launched from the receiver (base station 105) it is inherent/implicit that an upwind would be present at the receiver (or base station 105); para 0042 teaches launching] .
Regarding claim 5 (the system of claim 1), Speasl teaches wherein the drones are launched from a location within range of the transmitter [para 0042 & para 0047 UAV are launched from base station 105 thus withing range of the transceivers in base station 105; see drones 100A, 100B and 100C in fig 10].
Regarding claim 6 (the system of claim 1), Speasl teaches wherein the drones land at a location within range of the receiver [para 0045 & para 0046; base module 105 assists the UAV in landing; para 0051 & 0052; base module 105 has a landing surface for UAV].
Regarding claim 7 (the system of claim 1), the combination of Speasl and Tu teach wherein the drones include a steerable antenna [Tu: see col 6 lines 33 – 40: see drone with moveable antenna; the reasons for combining and motivation are provided in claim 1].
Regarding claim 10 (the system of claim 1), Speasl teaches wherein the data signal is transmitted using microwaves [para 0063: The communications transceiver 145 s of the base module 105 and of the UAV 100 may be compatible with various types of wireless network connections, such as….microwave-frequency network connections, ultra-high-frequency (UHF) sound based connections, radar-based communications, or satellite-based network connections].
Regarding claim 12 Speasl teaches a method comprising:
launching a series of drones so that the drones travel along a transmission path between a
transmitter and a receive [para 0042: Some base modules 105 can be used to store, launch, and recover multiple unmanned aerial vehicles 100 (UAVs 100), as illustrated in the exemplary base modules 105 of FIG. 3А and FIG. 3B. [0043]; see fig 2A and 2B for multiple base stations; para [0106] The UAV 100 may include a communications transceiver 530 as described in relation to FIG. 1A. Additionally, some UAVs 100 may communicate with other UAVs 100, either as an end destination to a communication or as a "hop" along to communicating with another device such as the base module 105 or manager device 600 (communication is hoped to base module 105/manager device 600 (which is enterpreted as the receiver)].
transmitting a data signal from the transmitter to a drone in the series of drones within range of
the transmitter path [fig 1A & para 0045; base module 105 (transmitter) communicates with UAV 100 during flight];
retransmitting the data signal from the drone that received the data signal from the transmitter to another drone in the series of drones [para 106: see below; transmitting the received data to the other drone will be taught later]; ;
transmitting the data signal to the receiver from a drone in the series of drones within range of
the receiver [para 0106: The UAV 100 may include a communications transceiver 530 as described in relation to FIG. 1A. Additionally, some UAVs 100 may communicate with other UAVs 100, either as an end destination to a communication or as a "hop" along to communicating with another device such as the base module 105 or manager device 600; transmit data to the other receiver will be taught later].
Although Speasl teaches receiving data from a transmitter at a drone, and sharing data between drones, and hoping data from one drone to second drone to a base station [para 0106] and information may travel through a network between it reaches a particular base station [0134], Speasl does not clearly teach that transmitting the same data from a transmitter to a receiver via multiple drones as claimed.
In analogous art, Imai teaches transmitting data from a transmitter to a receiver via drones [fig 6: transmitter 300 transmit data to drone 100 which receives and transmits data to second drone 100 which in turn transmits data to a second base station 300] and teaches this enables base station to base station communication in situations where the base stations cant communicate with each other [para 0064]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a receiver configured to receive the data signal, wherein the receiver is positioned at a different location along the transmission path than the transmitter, as taught by Imai, to enable another means for base stations to communicate with each other in instances where direct communication is not possible.
Regarding claim 13 (the method of claim 12), Speasl teaches further comprising:
launching the drones in a series of drones from a location within range of the transmitter [para 0042 & para 0047 UAV are launched from base station 105 thus withing range of the transceivers in base station 105; series of drones 100A, 100B, 100C
are shown in fig 10]
Regarding claim 14 (the method of claim 12), Speasl teaches further comprising:
launching the drones in a series of drones from a location upwind of the receiver [para 0051: The base module 105 of fig 1A includes take-off/landing surface 115 on which UAV may land or take off from; since drones are launched from the receiver (base station 105) it is inherent/implicit that an upwind would be present at the receiver (or base station 105); para 0042 teaches launching].
Regarding claim 15 (the method of claim 12), Speasl teaches further comprising:
landing a drone from the series of drones after the drone transmits a data signal to the receiver
[para 0047: A takeoff/landing guidance system 285 can help the base module 105 position itself as appropriate to aid a UAV 100 with takeoff or landing procedures. For example. the base module 105 may use cameras, radar, or sonar to identify positioning and angle of approach of a landing UAV 100, or may receive positioning and angle of approach data from the UAV 100, may compare this to the base module 105's own position and angle as detected via GPS receiver onboard the base module 105, and may direct the base module 105's wheels 135 to reposition the base module 105 of FIG. 1A as necessary to ensure that a proper and safe landing UAV 100].
Regarding claim 16 (the method of claim 15), Speasl teaches wherein the drones land at a location within range of the receiver [para 0045 & para 0046; base module 105 assists the UAV in landing; para 0051 & 0052; base module 105 has a landing surface for UAV].
Regarding claim 17 (the method of claim 15), Speasl teaches further comprising:
returning a drone that has landed to the location from which the drones in a series of drones are
launched [para 0042 and 0046: drones are launched and recovered/landed at base station].
Regarding claim 20 (the method of claim 12), wherein the transmission path is a geodesic line [fig 10; para 0151: drones 100A, 100B and 100C form a straight line on property 1000 on curved space i.e. property 1000 on the earth (curved) it is noted a geodesic line is defined as a straight line in a curved space].
Claim(s) 8, 9, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speasl (US 2016/0364989) in view of Tu (9,836,049), and further in view of Frolov et al (US 2016/0050012).
Regarding claim 8 (the system of claim 7), Although the combination of Speasl and Tu teach a steerable antenna, the combination fails to teach wherein the steerable antenna is configured to monitor the position of other drones.
In analogous art, Frolov teaches/suggests ensuring distances and maximum separation between drones to ensure proper cell or base station coverage using antennas and GPS technology to ensure the drones are in correct position in regards to serving cell and neighboring drones [para 0066, 0076, 0080, 0121, 0122]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination of Speasl and Tu based on the teaching of Frolov to include a steerable antenna configured to monitor the position of the other drones to ensure in proper position so that adequate and proper cell coverage is provided.
Regarding claim 9 (the system of claim 7), Although the combination of Speasl and Tu teach a steerable antenna, the combination fails to teach wherein the steerable antenna is configured to monitor the spacing of one of the drones with respect to the other drones.
In analogous art, Frolov teaches/suggests ensuring distances and maximum separation (spacing) between drones to ensure proper cell or base station coverage using antennas and GPS technology to ensure the drones are in correct position in regards to serving cell and neighboring drones [para 0066, 0076, 0080, 0121, 0122]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination of Speasl and Tu based on the teaching of Frolov to include a steerable antenna configured to monitor the spacing of one of the drones with respect to the other drones to ensure in proper position so that adequate and proper cell coverage is provided.
Regarding claim 18 (the method of claim 12), Although the combination of Speasl and Tu teach a steerable antenna, the combination fails to teach comprising: monitoring the position of the drones within the series of drones with a steerable antenna positioned on at least one of the drones.
In analogous art, Frolov teaches/suggests ensuring distances and maximum separation between drones to ensure proper cell or base station coverage using antennas and GPS technology to ensure the drones are in correct position in regards to serving cell and neighboring drones [para 0066, 0076, 0080, 0121, 0122]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination of Speasl and Tu based on the teaching of Frolov to include monitoring the position of the drones within the series of drones with a steerable antenna to ensure in proper position so that adequate and proper cell coverage is provided.
Regarding claim 19 (the method of claim 12), Although the combination of Speasl and Tu teach a steerable antenna, the combination fails to teach further comprising: monitoring the spacing of the drones within the series of drones with a steerable antenna positioned on at least one of the drones.
In analogous art, Frolov teaches/suggests ensuring distances and maximum separation (spacing) between drones to ensure proper cell or base station coverage using antennas and GPS technology to ensure the drones are in correct position in regards to serving cell and neighboring drones [para 0066, 0076, 0080, 0121, 0122]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the combination of Speasl and Tu based on the teaching of Frolov to include monitoring the spacing of the drones within the series of drones with a steerable antenna positioned on at least one of the drones to ensure in proper position so that adequate and proper cell coverage is provided.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speasl (US 2016/0364989) in view of Tu (9,836,049), and further in view of Pan et al (US 2013/0285440].
Regarding claim 11 (the system of claim 1), Speasl teaches the base station for the drone has solar panels [0071] but the combination of Speasl and Tu fails to teach wherein at least one of the drones includes a solar panel.
In analogous art, Pan teaches addressing the endurance and operational power of UAB by using solar panels on winged UAV adds endurance to the UAV thus enabling operational effectiveness [Fig 1, fig 2, para 0033, para 0034]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the UAV of Speasl and the combination of Speasl and Tu to include solar powers in the drones, as taught by Pan, to improve endurance and operational effectiveness of the drone.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449