DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
With regard to the prior 112(b) rejection for claim 3, applicant’s statement on the record in view of the specification has overcome the rejection. See below regarding a new 112(b) rejection necessitated by amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/25, with the exception of the 112(b) argument note above, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
Applicant asserts that Vogel fails to disclose the amended claim. Applicant is incorrect. See the rejection below for details. Applicant argues that Voegel does not disclose an elongate tubular pillow because the reference shows a u-shaped pillow. The two are not mutually exclusive, however. The u-shaped pillow shown is elongate and it is tubular. The claim language does not prevent the shape from having a curve such as a U. Further, the reference discloses other shapes which are also elongate and tubular as shown in the rejection below. Applicant points to figure 1 of the reference to assert that “the U-shaped pillow contacts the blanket at all points of the pillow,” rather than at only one end. Figure 1 does not depict what applicant describes. Further, the rejection refers to the depiction in figures 7-10, not figure 1. Each blanket is at one end. Note that the end may be a portion / region / area. There is nothing which requires the end to be solely a particular point, for example. The reference depicts and describes the two ends with a gap in the middle. Each blanket is coupled to only one end as shown and described. The claim language is therefore met. See the rejection below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a pillow portion for receiving a pillow” followed by “wherein said pillow portion comprises a pillow...” It is unclear how the pillow portion can be for receiving a pillow while also comprising the pillow itself. The claim appears to recite that a pillow portion comprising a pillow is for receiving a pillow / that a portion which is for receiving a pillow also comprises the pillow, which is unclear and does not seem to make logical sense. The claim is therefore indefinite. Any and all claims rejected below are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Voegel (US PG Pub. No. 20230414015).
Re Claim 1
Voegel discloses:
A combination pillow and blanket (10) comprising:
a pillow portion (12 in combination with 14) for receiving a pillow (note that 14 may comprise a pillow as necessary under the BRI; further, this recitation is mere intended use and does not positively recite or require a pillow; It has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).),
wherein said pillow portion comprises a first end and a second end (first end proximate to 40);
a blanket only coupled to said first end of said pillow portion (first end being the left side in fig. 9 and the blanket being 40; see also figs. 7-8 and 10);
wherein said pillow portion (12 in combination with 14) comprises a pillow (14), and wherein said pillow is elongated and tubular (see figs. 7-10, elongated tubular shape curved as a U; further, see paragraph [0021] regarding other shapes which are also elongated and tubular such as rectangular prism, annular, and cylindrical).
Re Claim 2
Voegel discloses:
wherein said pillow portion and said blanket comprise the same material ([0037]).
Re Claim 3
Voegel discloses:
wherein said pillow portion and said blanket are permanently coupled ([0028]).
Re Claim 5
Voegel discloses:
wherein said pillow portion further comprises a pillow insert (36) for inserting said pillow (this recitation is mere intended use and does not positively recite or require a pillow; It has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).).
Re Claims, 6, 7, and 8
Voegel discloses:
wherein said pillow portion further comprises a pocket (38).
wherein a portion of said blanket is stored within said pocket ([0029]; see all figs.).
wherein said blanket is stored within said pocket ([0029]; see all figs.).
Re Claim 9
Voegel discloses:
further comprising a second blanket coupled to said second end of said pillow portion (second end being the right side in fig. 9 and the second blanket being 42; see also figs. 7-8 and 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voegel (US PG Pub. No. 20230414015).
Re Claim 4
Voegel discloses all claim limitations, see above, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein said pillow portion and said blanket are temporarily coupled.
Voegel teaches sewing the blanket to the pillow portion ([0028]), stating that “the blanket 16 may be sewn into a seam of the cover 12 that extends along the radially outward side 34. Accordingly, the pillow 10 is arranged to provide improved support and comfort for a user and the pillow 10 is simpler to manufacture because the pillow 10 does not require additional fasteners to secure the blanket.” The disclosure supports and suggests the option of using other attachment means even though the preferred means is a sewn attachment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to replace the sewn coupling with a temporary coupling as suggested in the reference as a mere simple substitution (e.g. snaps, buttons, clasps, hook and loop fasteners, or a similar fastener) for the purpose of facilitating repair, maintenance, cleaning, or the preference of a user to use either portion of the apparatus (i.e. blanket vs. pillow) individually.
Re Claim 9
Claim 9 is rejected under 102 above. The claim is alternatively rejected as obvious here over Voegel. Under the BRI, it is reasonable to interpret 40 and 42 as first and second blankets. They are described in the reference as first and second sections of overall blanket 16, however. Therefore, to the extent necessary, examiner states that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to split the overall blanket into two separate elements, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177,179. Such a modification would have been obvious for the purpose of facilitating ease of manufacturing, and/or to facilitate cleaning, repair, and/or maintenance of the elements of the apparatus. The modification would yield the required “a second blanket coupled to said second end of said pillow portion” as described above; see above.
Re Claim 12
Voegel discloses all claim limitations, see above, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein said pillow portion and said blanket are integrally made from a single piece of cloth.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have the pillow portion and the blanket integrally made from a single piece of cloth, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). Further, it has been held that the term “integral” is sufficiently broad to embrace constructions united by such means as fastening and welding. In re Hotte, 177USPQ 326, 328 (CCPA 1973).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID E. SOSNOWSKI/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/David E Sosnowski/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673