DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 09/04/2026, with respect to Claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 06/04/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7-8, filed 09/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 20 under U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hsiao et al. [US 20200366019 A1]. See detailed rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu [US 20040115988 A1] in view of Hsiao et al. [US 20200366019 A1].
Regarding Claim 20, Wu discloses a device, comprising: a connector (1) including a housing (cover 3 and base 80) including a top wall (top cover 3), a circuit board (62) inserted into the housing (base 80) and having a plurality of first terminals (signal circuitry, not labeled; see [0032]) located on a pair of opposite sides of the circuit board (62) at a rear end of the circuit board (62), a plurality of wires (lines 44 of cable 42) including a plurality of connecting terminals (442, 444) that are each electrically connected to one of the first terminals (not labeled, see Fig 1-2 and 9), and a fixing mechanism (46) mounted in the housing (base 80) and fixing the wires (lines 44 of cable 42) on the circuit board (62), the connecting terminals (442, 444) and the first terminals (not labeled) are exposed outside the fixing mechanism (46) see Figures 1-2 and 9). Wu does not explicitly disclose the top wall having a fastener mounted in a groove on a top surface of the top wall for fixing a mating connector to the connector. Wu alternatively discloses a fastener (pull tab 82 and latch) mounted between the cover (3) and base (80) instead of on the top surface of cover 3.
However, Hsiao discloses a connector (100, Fig 1) including a housing (110) having a top wall (comprising fixing tongue 112), the top wall having a fastener (120) mounted in a groove (latch holder 113) on a top surface of the top wall for fixing a mating connector to the connector [0034-0035].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu as suggested by Hsiao to provide the top wall having a fastener mounted in a groove on a top surface of the top wall for fixing a mating connector to the connector. A person of ordinary skill in the art would change the mounting arrangement for the fastener to facilitate different mating arrangements for complementary connectors. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that implementing a known fastener arrangement such as the one disclosed by Hsiao in the connector of Wu would have yielded predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-19, and 21 allowed.
Regarding Claim 1, the prior art of record do not explicitly disclose a second fixing member on the wires adjacent to the first fixing member, along with all other limitations of claim 1.
Claims 4-19 are allowable as they are dependent on claim 1.
Regarding Claim 21, the prior art of record do not explicitly disclose a front end of the fixing member abuts against a rear end of the accommodating portion, along with all other limitations of claim 21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THASLIMUR RAHMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834