DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 3-5 have been canceled. Claims 12-20 previously were withdrawn. Accordingly, claims 1, 2, 6, and 7-11 remain pending and under current examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/28/26 and 7/23/26 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The amendment to the specification as filed 7/23/2026 has been entered.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
All rejections of canceled claims 3-5 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancelation of the claims.
The objection to claims 7 and 9 on account of minor informalities is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed 7/23/2026.
The rejection of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/23/2026 (hereafter, “Remarks”) have been fully considered and are addressed as follows.
Applicant acknowledges that the double patenting rejections are not addressed at this time. This response does not constitute a proper reply. In the interest of compact prosecution, Applicant’s reply is entered into the record. The rejections are maintained herein as applicable to the claims as amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are persuasive and, as noted above, these rejections have been withdrawn. The examiner thanks Applicant for clarification as to the contextually correct meaning of “contiguous”; support is found in the specification as filed.
Regarding rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant ‘s delineation of MPEP guidance and case law is noted. Applicant argues that in view of the claim amendments filed 7/23/2026, Strothoff does not specify a polyol which is a glycol or glycerin as claimed but rather teaches alternative polyol compounds which are carbohydrates; Applicant concludes that “because one skilled in the art would not find a successful example of using a glycol and/or glycerin anywhere in the Strothoff reference, there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to alter the compositions taught by the Strothoff reference to arrive at the present claims” (page 9 of Remarks). In reply, this argument is not persuasive (1) in view of the new grounds necessitated by amendment and (2) since disclosed examples do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure considered as a whole for what it reasonably would have suggested to an ordinary artisan.
Applicant argues that Hammel’s teaching of propylene glycol as a glycol in a preferred embodiment does not teach a composition comprising glycerin as claimed. Applicant argues that glycerin is used in every example in the present application. In reply, a new reference has been applied to address this limitation, and the relevance of Hammel is maintained as previously applied.
Applicant argues on page 10 of Remarks that Lentsch does not cure the alleged deficiency of Strothoff and Hammel. In reply, this argument is not persuasive in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO01/05930A1 (Strothoff et al., hereafter “Strothoff”) in view of CN107106431A (Ghosh et al., hereafter “Ghosh”). It is noted that WO01/05930A1 was cited by Applicant in the IDS dated 8/12/2024 and was previously cited; Ghosh is newly cited.
The claims are drawn to a solid composition comprising an alkali metal hydroxide; a polyol; and water; wherein the solid has a weight ratio of alkali metal hydroxide to water from about 60:40 to less than about 70:30, wherein the water is from any component of the solid composition and/or water added as a raw material; and wherein the solid is a contiguous solid, powder, or granule, as further specified in dependent claims.
Strothoff teaches alkaline block-shaped cleaning agent formulations containing an acidic complexing agent and an alkalinity donor from the group of alkali metal compounds (see abstract, in particular)(“solid is a contiguous solid” as in claim 1 and “a dimensionally stable cast solid” as in claim 11). Strothoff’s products are in solid form (see Strothoff claim 1). . Strothoff’s Example 2 includes glycerine, EDTA (chelating agent as in claims 7, 9, and 10), surfactant, 44% sodium hydroxide 50% solution (an alkali metal hydroxide as in claim 1; sodium hydroxide as in claim 2), and 21.5% by weight sodium hydroxide prills (total of 43.5 wt% of sodium hydroxide and 22 wt% of water, which is a ratio of 1.98, a value within the instantly claimed range of 60:40 to 70:30 of alkali metal hydroxide to water in the solid form)(ratio range limitation of claim 1).
Strothoff’s Example 2 does not include a polyol, however Strothoff’s Example 1 along with Strothoff’s disclosure as a whole cures this deficiency. Strothoff’s Example 1 is also a solid cast block alkaline cleaning composition and comprises saccharose, which is a polyol having 12 carbon atoms, EDTA, a surfactant, sodium hydroxide, and water.
Ghosh cures Strothoff’s deficiency. Ghosh teaches glycerol (another name for glycerin) and saccharose alike as water-miscible polyols which are desirably used in the alternative or in mixture thereof in a solid cleaning product; Ghosh subsequently specifies glycerol is a preferred embodiment from among the acceptable water-miscible polyols (see “Polyhydric alcohols” section, first five paragraphs).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine components from Strothoff’s Example 1 and Example 2 into a single embodiment, with a reasonable expectation of success, and, subsequently, to substitute one known and preferred water-miscible polyol for another water-miscible polyol known to be desirably beneficial in a solid cleaning formulation. One would have been motivated to do so to provide the desired functional properties and/or benefits as well as the desired physical stability and character as a solid form, as taught by Strothoff and as suggested by Ghosh.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO01/05930A1 (Strothoff et al., hereafter “Strothoff”) in view of CN107106431A (Ghosh et al., hereafter “Ghosh”) as applied to claims 1, 2, 7, and 9-11 above, and further in view of US 11,441,107 (Hammel et al., “Hammel”).
The teachings of Strothoff have been delineated above. Strothoff does not specify a polyol which is a glycol as in claim 6.
Hammel cures this deficiency. Hammel teaches solid alkaline cleaning compositions (see title, in particular) wherein said compositions comprise propylene glycol, sodium hydroxide, and water.
Strothoff and Hammel both pertain to solid cleaning formulations comprising sodium hydroxide and water, as well as additional functional formulation components. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add propylene glycol as taught by Hammel to the formulations of Strothoff, and Ghosh, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so since Hammel specifies propylene glycol to be a preferred processing aid for powder solid compositions (see column 11, lines 22 and lines 32-33). Hammel teaches that such suitable processing aids desirably provide flowable powder compositions and/or reduced aeration of cast solid compositions (column 11, lines 15-20).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO01/05930A1 (Strothoff et al., hereafter “Strothoff”) in view of CN107106431A (Ghosh et al., hereafter “Ghosh”) as applied to claims 1, 2, 7, and 9-11 above, and further in view of US 2005/0003979A1 (Lentsch et al., “Lentsch”).
The teachings of Strothoff have been delineated above. Strothoff does not specify a specific surfactant as in claim 8.
Lentsch cures this deficiency. Lentsch teaches detergent compositions including a cleaning agent, an alkaline source, and a corrosion inhibitor (see abstract, in particular). Lentsch’s formulations include alkali metal hydroxide and water (see examples, claims and [0006]-[0009] and [0024] in particular). Non ionic surfactants including polyalkylene oxide block copolymers including an ethylene oxide/propylene oxide block polymer such as those commonly available under the trademark PLURONIC TM and similar may be desirably included (see [0031]). It is noted that the instant specification at paragraph [0170] defines Pluronic 25R2 as a long chain EO/PO block copolymer which appears to be the support for the surfactant of claim 8; see also Table 17 and Formula 5 in the instant specification as filed. Pluronic surfactants as taught by Lentsch appear to read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 8.
Both Strothoff and Lentsch pertain to cleaning formulations which include for instance sodium hydroxide and water and which may include a surfactant component. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a specific surfactant of Lentsch such as those ethylene oxide/propylene oxide block polymers such as those commonly available under the trademark PLURONIC TM as suggested by Lentsch in the formulations of Strothoff, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so to provide known benefits of these particular surfactants and copolymers including defoamer and surfactant effects in aqueous and/or emulsion formulations. As to the claim language describing intended uses of components, “for protein soil defoaming” and “for protein soil removal from wares”, it is the examiner’s position that these effects would naturally follow from the aforementioned substitution of Lentsch’s specific surfactant suggestion for Strothoff’s generic surfactant suggestion in a formulation comprising sodium hydroxide and water.
Maintained Rejections
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 7-11 provisionally are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 7-9, 12, 13, and 14 of copending Application No. 18605918 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims encompass a solid composition comprising an alkali metal hydroxide and water in a range of ratios overlapping one another. Regarding claim 1, the claims differ in that the copending claims further require a protease enzyme, while the instant claims further require a polyol which is only further mentioned in claim 12 of the copending claims.
As to instant claim 2, from the recitation “alkali metal hydroxide” as addressed above in regard to claim 1, the ordinary artisan would have immediately envisaged the alkali metal hydroxides recited in instant claim 2 based on the recitation in claim 1 of the copending application.
As to instant claim 7, at least issued claims 6 and 8 recite the requisite components instantly claimed.
As to instant claim 8, copending claims 1-5 describe the same features instantly claimed.
As to instant claims 9 and 10, copending claim 6 teaches the claimed chelating agents.
As to instant claim 11, the issued claims encompass solid form also at least at claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUDREA B CONIGLIO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617