DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the cut having a corner form in the direction of the movement of the fiber webs formed in the meeting location of the side part of the cut.” “Meeting location” implies that there should be at least two elements meeting at the location. The claim as presently written recites “the side part of the cut” only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herz et al. (DE 41 24 022 A1) (“Herz”), as understood from the provided translation of the reference and drawings of the reference, with citations to the translation.
With respect to claim 1, Herz discloses a joint for joining together ends of two fiber webs (p. 2, par. 1), wherein the joint comprises a cut penetrating through the ends of the fiber webs, the fiber webs being in an overlapping position (p. 2, par. 1-3, Figs. 1, 3a, and 3b). The cut has a side part and forms a flap, the flap remaining attached to the fiber webs by a folding line (p. 2, last paragraph, Figs. 3a and 3b). The folding line of the flap being substantially aligned with the direction of the movement of the fiber webs (p. 2, last paragraph), the cut having a corner form in the direction of the movement of the fiber webs formed at the location where the side part of the cut and the folding line meet – an area where the flap and folding line meet is interpreted as the corner form (Figs. 3a and 3b).
Herz is silent regarding the at least one substantially straight part extending from the side part. Herz discloses that the tool used to form the cut – the stamping punch S – is bevelled or tapered on one side (p. 2, paragraph 3, and last two paragraphs, Fig. 1), and that the cuts can have various shapes (p. 2, paragraph 3), the cuts providing interlocking of the two webs (p. 3, paragraph 7). Herz discloses that the shape of the tool S, and thus, the resulting cut, depends on the kind of the cut that is desired (p. 2, paragraph 2), thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cut of Herz with at least one substantially straight part extending from the side part if a cut of such shape was desired, as changes in shape are within the purview of a person skilled in the art (MPEP 2144.04), using a tool with an appropriate shape to obtain a cut with at least one substantially straight part.
Regarding the recitation “the cut having a corner form in the direction of the movement of the fiber webs formed in the meeting location of a side part of the cut and the folding line configured to form a carrying part of the joint” in lines 8-11, which is discussed above in the 35 USC 112(b) section of the Office Action, the recitation was interpreted as relating to the corner form configured to form the carrying part of the joint. The recitation “configured to form a carrying part of the joint” has been interpreted as a recitation of intended use. Since the reference teaches all the elements of the joint, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the joint according to the reference is capable to perform as intended.
Regarding claim 2, Herz teaches the joint of claim 1. The claim relates to how the tension of the fiber webs affects the joint, thus, the claim does not provide further structural limitations with respect to the joint. Since Herz discloses the ends of the fiber webs are effectively bonded together (abstr.), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the tension of the fiber webs would tighten the joint.
With respect to claim 3, Herz teaches the joint of claim 1. Hertz discloses that the cut has an arched side part (Figs. 3a and 3b), but does not specify that the cut has two opposite arched side parts and between them there extends a substantially straight part, the cut including two flap parts, which are separated from each other by the substantially straight part extending between the side parts, the flap parts being attached to the fiber webs by the folding lines.
Herz discloses that the tool used to form the cut – the stamping punch S – is bevelled or tapered on one side (p. 2, paragraph 3, and last two paragraphs, Fig. 1), and that the cuts can have various shapes (p. 2, paragraph 3), the cuts providing interlocking of the two webs (p. 3, paragraph 7). Herz discloses that the shape of the tool S, and thus, the resulting cut, depends on the kind of the cut that is desired (p. 2, paragraph 2), thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the cut of Herz, using a tool with an appropriate shape, the cut having two opposite arched side parts and between them extending a substantially straight part, the cut including two flap parts, which are separated from each other by the substantially straight part extending between the side parts, the flap parts being attached to the fiber webs by the folding lines, if a cut of such shape was desired, as changes in shape are within the purview of a person skilled in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 4, Herz teaches the joint of claim 1, wherein several cuts are provided for the ends of the fiber webs to be joined (abstr.).
With respect to claim 5, Herz teaches the joint of claim 5. Herz discloses that no adhesive or tape are used to join the ends of the fiber webs (abstr.).
Regarding claim 6, Herz teaches the joint of claim 1, wherein the fiber webs are pulp webs – raw cellulose (abstr.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on March 3, 2026. have been fully considered.
The Examiner notes that on the paper of the newly submitted claims and in the Remarks’ section a wrong application number has been provided in the upper left corners.
The Applicant argued in Herz the folding lines run normally to the conveying direction of the webs, that is they are perpendicular to the movement of the fiber webs, and thus are not “substantially aligned with the direction of the movement of the fiber webs.”
The Examiner notes claim 1 recites only “direction of the movement of the fiber webs” but does not describe what does the movement relate to. The limitation “direction of the movement of the fiber webs” is a very broad limitation.
The Applicant discussed the benefit of the folding lines being substantially aligned with the direction of the movement of the fiber webs, meaning in the conveying direction of the webs, which provides for improved securing of the joint as no additional movements of the fiber webs are needed. However, claim 1 is a product claim, not a process claim, and the Applicant’s discussion relates to the matter of making the joint.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Joanna Pleszczynska/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783