DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The argument that non-elected claims would not be expected to require a separate search or raise issues distinct from those addressed in examination of the elected claims is not persuasive because the composition as claimed can be made from different method such as a method which is operated at high pressure and temperature. Also, the technical feature common to all the independent claim is rendered obvious by Ziebarth. According, the special technical feature liking the three inventions does not provide a contribution over the prior art, and no single general inventive concepts exist. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 45 depends from claim 7 and recites that “aluminum includes particles having an average size from about 5 nm to about 30 nm diameter dispersed in gallium.” However, claim 7 requires applying pressure to a mixture of gallium and aluminum until the aluminum has dispersed, thereby forming an alloy. Claim 45 does not specify whether the recited aluminum particles having an average size of 5–30 nm are present prior to the pressure-applying step of claim 7 or are formed as a result of the pressure-applying step. Thus, it is unclear whether the nanoscale dispersion is an initial condition of the method or an outcome of the claimed process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Ziebarth et al. (International Journal of Hydrogen Energy, Vol. 36, pp. 5271–5279, 2011)
Ziebarth discloses Al–Ga binary and Al–Ga–In–Sn alloys in which a gallium-based liquid phase exists at near-ambient temperatures and enables aluminum transport/dispersion through the liquid phase, with reaction onset for Al–Ga binaries at ~26–27 °C corresponding to eutectic melting (see pp. 5274–5275; Figs. 1–2; discussion at pp. 5275–5276). Ziebarth teaches combining gallium and aluminum to form Ga-rich Al–Ga alloys (e.g., 28 wt.% Al–72 wt.% Ga; 50 wt.% Al–50 wt.% Ga) (Table 1; p. 5272) and teaches that at ~26–27 °C a liquid gallium phase exists which solvates aluminum and enables its transport/dispersion through the liquid phase (pp. 5274–5276; Figs. 1–2; Section 4.2).
While Ziebarth does not expressly recite “applying pressure.” However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Ziebarth by applying pressure as claimed to promote intimate contact between a solid aluminum phase and a liquid gallium phase to accelerate dispersion is a routine process optimization.
Claim 8 Ziebarth teaches cooling molten Al–Ga alloys to room temperature and handling alloys that solidify upon cooling (pp. 5272–5273; Section 2.1)
Claims 9–10 Ziebarth teaches aluminum present as solid regions/grains supplying aluminum to a Ga-rich liquid phase (pp. 5275–5276; SEM/EDX discussion, Section 3.2.4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Ziebarth by using thin aluminum feed forms (foil) as claimed to facilitate contact and dispersion is an obvious design choice.
Claims 11–12 Ziebarth discloses aluminum present as solid grains that enter a liquid gallium phase and are transported to reaction sites (pp. 5275–5276; Section 4.2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Ziebarth by selecting particle size to facilitate dispersion is routine optimization.
Claims 13–14 Ziebarth teaches that aluminum metal is the reactive constituent and that gallium enables its transport irrespective of aluminum source (pp. 5275–5276; Section 4.2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Ziebarth by using scrap aluminum (e.g., cans or wrappers) is an obvious source selection motivated by availability and cost.
Claims 15–16 Ziebarth discloses Ga-rich compositions having ratios within claimed ranges. (Table 1; pp. 5272–5273)
Claims 17–20 Ziebarth teaches that gallium does not participate in hydrogen formation and functions as a transport medium for aluminum (pp. 5275–5276; Section 4.2), thereby motivating recovery and reuse of gallium.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziebarth as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Giri et al. (US 11,198,923 B2)
The process of Ziebarth is as discussed above.
Ziebarth does not teach the use a nanoscale aluminum as claimed.
Giri teaches that aluminum-based compositions for hydrogen generation benefit from nanometer-scale aluminum features, expressly defining nano-scale aluminum as having particle diameters less than 100 nm and even less than 10 nm, and explains that reducing aluminum feature size disrupts aluminum passivation and increases reaction kinetics. (See abstract; col. 6, lines 11-13)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Ziebarth by employing nanoscale aluminum as suggested by Giri, rather than larger-scale aluminum particles, in the gallium-based aluminum dispersion system of Ziebarth in order to further enhance oxide-layer disruption, increase exposed reactive surface area, and improve aluminum utilization during hydrogen generation. The selection of aluminum particle sizes within the claimed 5–30 nm range represents a result-effective variable and constitutes a predictable optimization of aluminum size within the system taught by Ziebarth.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771