DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KATO (US 2015/0334384 A1).
As of claim 14, KATO teaches a light source device 600 [fig 6] comprising: a light source 101 R, G, B [fig 6] configured to emit light [0051]; and a transmissive optical part 108 (rotating prism) [fig 6] [0047] which is rotatably supported [0086], and which is configured to transmit the light emitted from the light source 101 R, G, B [fig 6], wherein the light source includes a first light emitting unit 101 R [fig 6] configured to emit a first colored light beam (red light) [0048], a second light emitting unit 101 G [fig 6] configured to emit a second colored light beam (green light) [0048] different from the first colored light beam (red light) [0048], and a third light emitting unit 101 B [fig 6] configured to emit a third colored light beam (blue light) [0048] different from the first colored light beam (red light) [0048] and the second colored light beam (green light) [0048], the transmissive optical part 108 [fig 6] rotates centering on a rotational axis (shown with fig. 6 as a small circle in the center of the rotating prism 108) extending along a first direction crossing an incident direction of the light (rotating prism 108 receives light from the illuminating lens 107) [fig 6] , a cross-sectional shape of the light 102 B, 102 R [fig 6] perpendicular [fig 6] to a principal ray of the light emitted from the light source 101 R, B [fig 6] is a shape having a long axis extending along the first direction (from the rotation axis towards illuminating lens 109) [fig 6], the light emitted from the light source 101 R, G, B [fig 6] enters the transmissive optical part 108 [fig 6] without being separated according to a wavelength band (color-composing dichroic mirror 106 composes: red lights R1, R2 passed through illuminating lens 105R; green lights G1, G2 passed through illuminating lens 105G; and blue lights B1, B2 passed through illuminating lens 105B, and emits the composed light to illuminating lens 107) [0084], and in the transmissive optical part 108 [fig 6], a plane of incidence (top right plane of rotating prism 108) [fig 6] which the light emitted from the light source enters 102 R, 102 G, 102 B [fig 6], and an exit surface (bottom left plane of rotating prism 108) [fig 6] from which the light entering the plane of incidence is emitted are parallel to each other (incident light at the rotating prism 108 is parallel to exiting light from the rotating prism 108) [fig 6].
As of claim 16, KATO teaches a projector 600 [fig 6] comprising: a light modulation device 601 R, G, B (DMDs) [fig 6] [0122] configured to modulate the light beam emitted from the transmissive optical part of the light source device 120 [fig 6] based on image information (stereoscopic image signal) [fig 1]; and a projection optical device 112 [fig 6] configured to project the light modulated by the light modulation device 601 R, G, B [fig 6].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13, 15 are allowed.
As of claim 1, the closest prior art KATO (US 2015/0334384 A1) teaches a projector 100 having a color splitting prism 103R separates the red light emitted from rod integrator 102R into the shorter-wavelength light and the longer-wavelength light, of the wavelength band of the red light. Here, as shown in FIG. 3, if wavelength band of the light emitted from rod integrator 102R is called R, color splitting prism 103R splits the light into the shorter-wavelength light (wavelength band R1) and the longer-wavelength light (wavelength band R2), from wavelength band R. That is, the shorter-wavelength light (wavelength band R1) and the longer-wavelength light (wavelength band R2) (hereinafter referred to as red light R2) of wavelength band R are definitely red in color, and the two lights are so called ‘of the same color.’ In order to separate the light in this manner, it is desirable to design the wavelength selective film formed on color splitting prism 103R to have the property of reflecting light of wavelength band R1 and transmitting light of wavelength band R2, as shown in FIG. 4A. Color splitting prism 103G separates the green light emitted from rod integrator 102G into light of shorter-wavelength side and light of longer-wavelength side, of wavelength band of the green light. KATO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a cross-sectional shape of the first light beam perpendicular to a principal ray of the first light beam emitted from the first light source is a shape having a long axis extending along the first direction, a cross-sectional shape of the second light beam perpendicular to a principal ray of the second light beam emitted from the second light source is a shape having a long axis extending along the first direction, a cross-sectional shape of the third light beam perpendicular to a principal ray of the third light beam emitted from the third light source is a shape having a long axis extending along the first direction, the first light beam enters the transmissive optical part at a first position, the second light beam enters the transmissive optical part at a second position different from the first position, the third light beam enters the transmissive optical part at a third position different from the first position and the second position, and in the transmissive optical part, a plane of incidence which the first light beam enters and an exit surface from which the first light beam entering the plane of incidence is emitted are parallel to each other, a plane of incidence which the second light beam enters and an exit surface from which the second light beam entering the plane of incidence is emitted are parallel to each other, and a plane of incidence which the third light beam enters and an exit surface from which the third light beam entering the plane of incidence is emitted are parallel to each other.
Claims 2-13 are allowed as being dependent on claim 1.
As of claim 15, the closest prior art KATO (US 2015/0334384 A1) teaches a projector 100 having a color splitting prism 103R separates the red light emitted from rod integrator 102R into the shorter-wavelength light and the longer-wavelength light, of the wavelength band of the red light. Here, as shown in FIG. 3, if wavelength band of the light emitted from rod integrator 102R is called R, color splitting prism 103R splits the light into the shorter-wavelength light (wavelength band R1) and the longer-wavelength light (wavelength band R2), from wavelength band R. That is, the shorter-wavelength light (wavelength band R1) and the longer-wavelength light (wavelength band R2) (hereinafter referred to as red light R2) of wavelength band R are definitely red in color, and the two lights are so called ‘of the same color.’ In order to separate the light in this manner, it is desirable to design the wavelength selective film formed on color splitting prism 103R to have the property of reflecting light of wavelength band R1 and transmitting light of wavelength band R2, as shown in FIG. 4A. Color splitting prism 103G separates the green light emitted from rod integrator 102G into light of shorter-wavelength side and light of longer-wavelength side, of wavelength band of the green light. KATO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a transmissive optical part which is rotatably supported, and which is configured to transmit the first colored light beam, the second colored light beam, and the third colored light beam respectively emitted from the first light source, the second light source, and the third light source, wherein the transmissive optical part rotates centering on a rotational axis extending along a first direction crossing incident directions to the transmissive optical part of the first colored light beam, the second colored light beam, and the third colored light beam, a cross-sectional shape of the first colored light beam perpendicular to a principal ray of the first colored light beam, a cross-sectional shape of the second colored light beam perpendicular to a principal ray of the second colored light beam, and a cross-sectional shape of the third colored light beam perpendicular to a principal ray of the third colored light beam are each a shape having a long axis extending along the first direction, the first light source, the second light source, and the third light source are configured to emit the first colored light beam, the second colored light beam, and the third colored light beam in respective periods different from each other, and in the transmissive optical part, a plane of incidence which the first colored light beam enters, and an exit surface from which the first colored light beam entering the plane of incidence is emitted are parallel to each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art Nakao et al. (US 20230059268 A1) teaches a light source apparatus which can avoid double-counting of particles in a flow cytometer for measuring and analyzing a plurality of particles flowing in a flow cell. A light source apparatus for a flow cytometer includes a semiconductor laser for emitting a laser beam, a collimating lens for collimating the laser beam emitted from the semiconductor laser in a spread light state, a first beam conversion unit composed of prisms and a second beam conversion unit composed of prisms for matching a flow cell length direction with a slow axis direction of the collimated laser beam in a flow cell after reducing the beam diameter in a fast axis direction and increasing the beam diameter in the slow axis direction, and a focusing lens for focusing the laser beam passed through these beam conversion units in the flow cell;
- Prior Art DONG et al. (US 20210263303 A1) teaches scanning an optical beam in two dimensions (e.g. azimuth and elevation) and for increasing or decreasing a field-of-view (FOV) of the scanned beam. Scanning may be performed by various configurations of prisms, rotatable mirrors, and/or rotatable polygonal mirrors. In some configuration, changes to the FOV of the scanned beam may be performed by prisms positioned with a predetermined angular relationship and may include other optical components, as well. Depending on the predetermined angular relationship, the prisms can expand the FOV along one or more axis and/or may compress the FOV along one or more axis.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882