DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 4/9/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search for the subject matter of Group I would overlap the search for the subject matter of Group II, thus there is no serious search or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because as described in the election/restriction requirement mailed 2/13/2026, the combination (Group II) does not require the particulars of the subcombination (Group I) – that is, the subcombination requires that the first and second belt systems apply pressure to a tube received in the tube-receiving cavity, and the combination does not. Since the combination does not require this interaction, a wider variety of devices is encompassed by the combination, for example, a device wherein the first and second belt systems do not directly interact with the workpiece.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following feature(s) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
the first support block disposed between the first belt drive and the tube-receiving cavity (see at least claim 3)
the second belt drive disposed on a first end of the first support block and a third belt drive disposed on an opposing second end of the first support block (see at least claim 4)
the second support block disposed between the second belt drive and the tube-receiving cavity (see at least claim 8)
the third belt drive disposed on a first end of the second support block and a fourth belt drive disposed on an opposing second end of the second support block (see at least claim 9)
the fourth belt drive (see at least claim 9)
If the fourth belt drive is shown in the drawings, then the fourth belt drive should be indicated with a reference character(s) to make clear that this feature is illustrated (see MPEP 608.01(o), explaining that in mechanical cases the meaning of every term used in any of the claims should be identified in the descriptive portion of the specification by reference to the drawing, designating the part or parts therein to which the term applies). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: at paragraph [0081], “the first and second belt drives 364, 365” should be amended to read “the first and second belt drives 354, 355” since it appears that elements 364, 365 refer to the first and second belt drives of the second belt system. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1,2, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: at the last line, “receive” should be amended to read “received”
Claim 2:
it is unclear whether the claim is intended to mean that the first belt system includes a first belt that overlays the first belt drive and the first shaft, or if the first belt system simply includes the first shaft as a separate element that is not overlaid by the first belt (at least claim 7 requires similar corrections with respect to the second belt system)
at the last line, “form” should be amended to read “from” (at least claim 7 requires similar corrections)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. First, there is no written description supporting that the first support block is located between the first belt drive and the tube-receiving cavity, or that the second support block is located between the second belt drive and the tube-receiving cavity. Second, the second and third belt drives are not sufficiently described as being disposed “on” the first support block, and are not located at opposing ends of the first support block (likewise, the third and fourth belt drives are also not described as being “on” the second support block, and are not at opposing ends of the second support block). Lastly, there is a lack of written description for the fourth belt drive, as it is only recited once in the specification (see paragraph [0015] of instant specification). Thus, it is not known what structure in the figures corresponds to the fourth belt drive or how it interacts with other structural elements.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 9, since the fourth belt drive does not appear to be shown in the drawings and is not sufficiently described in the specification, it is unclear what structure is disposed on the second end of the second support block. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claim as it pertains to the fourth belt drive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taylor (US 20150135653).
Regarding claim 1, Taylor discloses a tube opening device (the device is capable of opening a tube since it is configured to apply pressure to either side of the tube and rotate; see paragraphs [0048-0049, 0053]) comprising: a body (drive assembly 17; see fig. 3) having a first side (left side including left sub-assembly 19; see paragraph [0048] and fig. 3) and a second side (right side including right sub-assembly 19; see paragraph [0048] and fig. 3) and including a tube-receiving cavity (gap in between sub-assemblies 19; see fig. 3), the first side of the body including a first belt system disposed on a first side of the tube-receiving cavity (left side sub-assembly 19 is on a first, left side of the tube-receiving cavity; see fig. 3) and a second belt system disposed on a second side of the tube-receiving cavity (right side sub-assembly 19 is on a second, right side of the tube-receiving cavity; see fig. 3), the first and second belt systems configured to apply pressure to a tube receive in the tube-receiving cavity (both sub-assemblies 19 engage tubular bag material 27 (which is interpreted as a tube) in order to pull tubular bag material 27 along direction 16; see paragraphs [0047-0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Taylor discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Taylor further discloses wherein the first belt system includes a first belt (left side belt 20; see fig. 3) overlaying at least a portion of a first belt drive (left side belt 20 overlays at least part of left drive pulley 23; see paragraph [0050] and fig. 3) and a first shaft in communication with the first belt drive (control and motor assembly 44 drives left drive pulley 23; see paragraph [0053]), the first shaft being configured to rotate the first belt drive in a first direction and also in a second direction different form the first direction (control and motor assembly 44 is configured to drive tubular bag material 27 in direction 16 and in a direction opposite direction 16; see paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Taylor discloses the limitations of claim 2 as described in the rejection above.
Taylor further discloses wherein the first belt system further includes a first support block disposed between the first belt drive and the tube-receiving cavity (left element 38 is located between left drive pulley 23 and the tube-receiving cavity; see fig. 2), the first support block being configured to maintain contact between the first belt and the tube as disposed in the tube-receiving cavity between the first and second belt systems (left element 38 appears to maintain contact between left belt portion 24 of left belt 20 and tubular bag material 27 during operation; see figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 4, Taylor discloses the limitations of claim 3 as described in the rejection above.
Taylor further discloses wherein the first belt system further includes a second belt drive disposed on a first end of the first support block (left idler roller 21 is located on a first end of left element 38; see fig. 2) and a third belt drive disposed on an opposing second end of the first support block (left idler roller 22 is located on an opposite end of left element 38; see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Taylor discloses the limitations of claim 2 as described in the rejection above.
Taylor further discloses wherein the first shaft is configured to be moved in the first and second directions using an automatic operation (control and motor assembly 44 includes a computer-controlled servo motor; see paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 7, Taylor discloses the limitations of claim 2 as described in the rejection above.
Taylor further discloses wherein the second belt system includes a second belt (right side belt 20; see fig. 3) overlaying at least a portion of a second belt drive (right side belt 20 overlays at least part of right drive pulley 23; see paragraph [0050] and fig. 3) and a second shaft in communication with the second belt drive (control and motor assembly 44 drives right drive pulley 23; see paragraph [0053]), the second shaft being configured to rotate the second belt drive in a first direction and also in a second direction different form the first direction (control and motor assembly 44 is configured to drive tubular bag material 27 in direction 16 and in a direction opposite direction 16; see paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 8, Taylor discloses the limitations of claim 7 as described in the rejection above.
Taylor further discloses wherein the second belt system further includes a second support block disposed between the second belt drive and the tube-receiving cavity (right element 38 is located between right drive pulley 23 and the tube-receiving cavity; see fig. 2), the second support block being configured to maintain contact between the second belt and the tube as disposed in the tube-receiving cavity between the first and second belt systems (right element 38 appears to maintain contact between right belt portion 24 of right belt 20 and tubular bag material 27 during operation; see figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 9, Taylor discloses the limitations of claim 8 as described in the rejection above.
As best understood, Taylor further discloses wherein the second belt system further includes a third belt drive disposed on a first end of the second support block (right idler roller 21 is located on a first end of right element 38; see fig. 2) and a fourth belt drive disposed on an opposing second end of the second support block (right idler roller 22 is located on an opposite end of right element 38; see figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 10, Taylor discloses the limitations of claim 7 as described in the rejection above.
Taylor further discloses wherein the second shaft is configured to be moved in the first and second directions using an automatic operation (control and motor assembly 44 includes a computer-controlled servo motor; see paragraph [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US 20150135653).
Regarding claim 6, Taylor discloses the limitations of claim 2 as described in the rejection above.
Taylor does not explicitly disclose wherein the first shaft is configured to be moved in the first and second directions using a manual operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Taylor to use a manual operation to move the first shaft since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art (see In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192). In the instant case, the reverse is true – that is, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to perform the operation of moving the first shaft by hand.
Regarding claim 11, Taylor discloses the limitations of claim 7 as described in the rejection above.
Taylor does not explicitly disclose wherein the second shaft is configured to be moved in the first and second directions using a manual operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Taylor to use a manual operation to move the second shaft since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art (see In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192). In the instant case, the reverse is true – that is, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to perform the operation of moving the second shaft by hand.
Conclusion
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724