DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In an amendment filed 12/17/2025, Applicant amended claim 5, 10, 13, 16-17. This amendment is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending and are currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Proctor US Pat. No. 6,415,780.
Proctor teaches:
In Reference to Claim 17
A cam assembly for an archery bow (rotatable cam assembly for a compound bow, Fig. 1-5), comprising:
a rotatable member (rotatable cam member 9 with bearing support system 10);
a bearing carriage (a bearing carriage is formed by the left and right bearing carriage portions 18 each holds sealed ball bearings 14 therein); and
a set of bearings comprising:
a first bearing disposed within the bearing carriage; and
a second bearing disposed within the bearing carriage, the first bearing and the second bearing disposed within opposite ends of the bearing carriage (first and second sets of ball bearings 14 are placed within the respective left and right portions of the bearing carriage on opposite ends (left and right) of the rotatable member and collective bearing carriage),
wherein the bearing carriage is configured to be removed from the rotatable member (the bearing carriage (including the left and right portions forming the entire bearing carriage) 18 is removable from the cam member body bore 40 as the carriage inserted portion 36 may be removably coupled to the bore surface 40 via different means, ex. press fitting, threaded portions, or the like, Fig. 1-2, Col. 5 lines 37-67).
In Reference to Claim 18
The cam assembly of claim 17, wherein the bearing carriage is configured to retain the set of bearings when removed from the rotatable member (bearings 14 have an outer surface 42 that is configured to be retained within the bore 44 of the carriage 18 via press fit or the like capable of allowing retention of the bearings of the carriage when the carriage is removed from the cam assembly, Col. 5 lines 37-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proctor as applied to claim 17 above.
In Reference to Claim 19
Proctor teaches:
The cam assembly of claim 17, wherein:
a portion of an exterior surface of the bearing carriage defines an engagement feature (the exterior surface of portion 36 of the carriage may include threading or other similar engagement means, Col. 5 lines 37-54);
a portion of an interior surface of the rotatable member defining a second engagement feature (the interior surface 40 of the rotatable member may include threading or other similar engagement means to connect to the exterior surface of the bearing carriage, Col. 5 lines 37-54); and a threaded fastening is formed between the first engagement feature and the second engagement feature (Col. 5 lines 37-54).
Though Proctor doesn’t specifically teach a separate threaded fastener that contacts both the first and second engagement features (which may be threaded as detailed above), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the fastening means to have included a threaded fastener to engage the first and second engagement means as the resulting structure is essentially the same removable fastening engagement and Proctor teaches that other known fastening means may be used (which a threaded fastener engaging the first and second engagement features would be considered an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art and it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before (removable threaded fastening/engagement between the bearing carriage and the cam bore) involves only routine skill in the art (In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184).
In Reference to Claim 20
Proctor teaches:
The cam assembly of claim 17, wherein:
a portion of an exterior surface of the bearing carriage defines an engagement feature (the exterior surface of portion 36 of the carriage may include threading or other similar engagement means, Col. 2 lines 37-54);
a portion of an interior surface of the rotatable member defining a second engagement feature (the interior surface 40 of the rotatable member may include threading or other similar engagement means to connect to the exterior surface of the bearing carriage, Col. 2 lines 37-54).
Though Proctor doesn’t specifically teach a separate pin member that contacts both the first and second engagement features (which may be threaded or any other connecting means as detailed above), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the fastening means to have included a pin to engage the first and second engagement means as the resulting structure is essentially the same removable fastening engagement and Proctor teaches that other known fastening means may be used (which a pin fastener engaging the first and second engagement features would be considered an obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art and it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before (removable pin fastening/engagement between the bearing carriage and the cam bore) involves only routine skill in the art (In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11, filed 12/17/2025, with respect to claims 1-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1-16 have therefore been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 with respect to claims 17-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., bearing carriage being one piece and extending through an entire length of the bore of the rotatable member or being movable laterally relative to the rotatable member or bearings) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In the broadest reasonable interpretation, the bearing carriage may be considered as the pair of bearing carriage portions that form an entire bearing support for each side of the rotatable member as discussed in the rejection above.
Brief Discussion of Other Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the references cited page for publications that are noted for containing similar subject matter as the applicant. For example, Strother (2025/0297826) teaches a very similar adjustable cam assembly bearing (but does not qualify as a prior art reference) and Grace (12,163,757, 11,536,532, 10,126,087), Hayes (12,130,112), Hansen (11,821,708), McPherson (11,486,674, 9,528,788), Romero (2020/0158461) teach similar bearing cam assemblies with adjustability.
Conclusion
If the applicant or applicant’s representation has any questions or concerns regarding this office action or the application they are welcome to contact the examiner at the phone number listed below and schedule and interview to discuss the outstanding issues and possible amendments to expedite prosecution of this application.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER R NICONOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711